E90Post
 


Horizon LED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-09-2013, 02:50 PM   #7283
Rombinhood@OpenFlash
Private
8
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cupertino, CA

iTrader: (0)

Another potentially noobish question here: Does the Cobb flash change the software ID so that the dealership diagnostic computer can't communicate with the DME? Is this why (or at least one reason) uninstalling it completely/un-marrying it is suggested?
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2013, 03:48 PM   #7284
marv85
Colonel
marv85's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
2,558
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335i MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RombinHood2 View Post
Another potentially noobish question here: Does the Cobb flash change the software ID so that the dealership diagnostic computer can't communicate with the DME? Is this why (or at least one reason) uninstalling it completely/un-marrying it is suggested?
the dealership will be able to communicate and read codes/clear codes. You don't want them to flash though or have issues with flashing.

the only reason you wouldn't uninstall it is because you are lazy or going in for an oil change...
__________________
'10 E92 335i , COBB
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2013, 05:07 PM   #7285
Rombinhood@OpenFlash
Private
8
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cupertino, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marv85 View Post
the dealership will be able to communicate and read codes/clear codes. You don't want them to flash though or have issues with flashing.

the only reason you wouldn't uninstall it is because you are lazy or going in for an oil change...
Thank you for the info. Unfortunately, I worded my question ambiguously I was referring to the read/write flash communication, not the request code command which is a much lower authority request. Has it been verified that a dealership diagnostic/programming computer is able to re-flash a DME that is programmed with a Cobb flash? Or does it log an error saying that it's an unrecognizable DME? I have reason to suspect that Cobb changes the software ID and/or the initialization code to keep their ROM from being read through OTS ROM reading devices. Would seem to be the smart thing to do when it comes to IP protection.
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2013, 06:10 PM   #7286
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,679
Posts

 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by marv85 View Post
the dealership will be able to communicate and read codes/clear codes. You don't want them to flash though or have issues with flashing.

the only reason you wouldn't uninstall it is because you are lazy or going in for an oil change...
I uninstall my COBB For Oil Changes. Something may come up, "oh Mr. Marquez, we got a new DME Flash Upgrade for you, let's do it while we have you in for an oil change"
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2013, 06:19 PM   #7287
marv85
Colonel
marv85's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
2,558
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335i MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 View Post
I uninstall my COBB For Oil Changes. Something may come up, "oh Mr. Marquez, we got a new DME Flash Upgrade for you, let's do it while we have you in for an oil change"
could happen lol
__________________
'10 E92 335i , COBB
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2013, 06:20 PM   #7288
marv85
Colonel
marv85's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
2,558
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335i MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RombinHood2 View Post
Thank you for the info. Unfortunately, I worded my question ambiguously I was referring to the read/write flash communication, not the request code command which is a much lower authority request. Has it been verified that a dealership diagnostic/programming computer is able to re-flash a DME that is programmed with a Cobb flash? Or does it log an error saying that it's an unrecognizable DME? I have reason to suspect that Cobb changes the software ID and/or the initialization code to keep their ROM from being read through OTS ROM reading devices. Would seem to be the smart thing to do when it comes to IP protection.
oh I see what you're saying and it definitely makes sense. However, I don;t think anyone tried to attempt that, at least no one posted that it happened with him
__________________
'10 E92 335i , COBB
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2013, 11:57 AM   #7289
DallasBoosted
Captain
DallasBoosted's Avatar
11
Rep
864
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Cobb: Any chance of disabling the underboost codes so that we can simply bypass the stock boost control system? Set it @ 18 or 20 psi or whatever in the DME and then use an EBC to control boost? The DME would still respond to the actual boost (just like it does if you underboost currently) but if it just didn't code/limp then it would enable the EBC usage with external wastegates etc.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2013, 12:05 PM   #7290
Ænema
Captain
10
Rep
961
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

iTrader: (0)

There's more to it than just the 30FF code. The DME will also probably throw a 30FC code for "wastegate control." However, i have no idea how much coding and logic reworking is required to that so that actually might be a possible workaround.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2013, 12:33 PM   #7291
DallasBoosted
Captain
DallasBoosted's Avatar
11
Rep
864
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
There's more to it than just the 30FF code. The DME will also probably throw a 30FC code for "wastegate control." However, i have no idea how much coding and logic reworking is required to that so that actually might be a possible workaround.
Yea I'm thinking more along the lines of "disable/bypass the entire boost control system" and then see what codes pop up, and go from there.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2013, 12:51 PM   #7292
Ænema
Captain
10
Rep
961
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasBoosted View Post
Yea I'm thinking more along the lines of "disable/bypass the entire boost control system" and then see what codes pop up, and go from there.
As appealing as this sounds i have a feeling it may take A LOT of effort to make happen. Since almost everything the DME does is based on load(boost via MAF) and is closed loop i would think that bypassing the boost control system wouldn't be practical. However, like you said, just disabling the limp modes for underboost/WG control(like we can disable misfire detection) and using the DME to set a "boost ceiling" may work out just fine.

Of course, it may also be possible to just use an EWG and spend a lot of time working backwards dialing in the requested load to the actual boost. Unfortunately, in that situation you still have the DME complaining about the WGs not reacting to it's requests.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2013, 01:32 PM   #7293
DallasBoosted
Captain
DallasBoosted's Avatar
11
Rep
864
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
As appealing as this sounds i have a feeling it may take A LOT of effort to make happen. Since almost everything the DME does is based on load(boost via MAF) and is closed loop i would think that bypassing the boost control system wouldn't be practical. However, like you said, just disabling the limp modes for underboost/WG control(like we can disable misfire detection) and using the DME to set a "boost ceiling" may work out just fine.

Of course, it may also be possible to just use an EWG and spend a lot of time working backwards dialing in the requested load to the actual boost. Unfortunately, in that situation you still have the DME complaining about the WGs not reacting to it's requests.
I thought about the second method, but then if the weather changes and the DME requests more/less boost you'd probably run into 30FF/throttle closures.

The other thing I was thinking about is the DME requests different boost based on throttle position so trying to go say 50% throttle (depending on your map, of course) and it requests half boost, which is totally possible with full DME control of the wastegates, would crap out if an ordinary EBC let the turbos spool up fully like they would.

Hmmm...
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2013, 02:29 PM   #7294
Ænema
Captain
10
Rep
961
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasBoosted View Post
I thought about the second method, but then if the weather changes and the DME requests more/less boost you'd probably run into 30FF/throttle closures.

The other thing I was thinking about is the DME requests different boost based on throttle position so trying to go say 50% throttle (depending on your map, of course) and it requests half boost, which is totally possible with full DME control of the wastegates, would crap out if an ordinary EBC let the turbos spool up fully like they would.

Hmmm...
Even if the boost control could be worked out, you still run into the problem with O2 sensor placement for a single. Putting the sensors post turbo isn't going to work. Putting them pre-turbo in collectors for each bank isn't exactly ideal... i think the vishnu ST are going to be seeing issues as they start putting some age on the sensors, especially if they ever get to the point of actually running them like they have the capability to run.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2013, 03:56 PM   #7295
DallasBoosted
Captain
DallasBoosted's Avatar
11
Rep
864
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
Even if the boost control could be worked out, you still run into the problem with O2 sensor placement for a single. Putting the sensors post turbo isn't going to work. Putting them pre-turbo in collectors for each bank isn't exactly ideal... i think the vishnu ST are going to be seeing issues as they start putting some age on the sensors, especially if they ever get to the point of actually running them like they have the capability to run.
Well, if replacing o2 sensors now and then is the worst part, thats not so bad.
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2013, 12:25 PM   #7296
buylongterm
Private
buylongterm's Avatar
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 BMW 335XI M package
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Ordered the COBB AP for my 2010 335XI yesterday. Good news it will be here tomorrow. Bad news is I paid 130.00 for priority shipping. (I'm very impatient).

I'm sure Stage 2 will be right around the corner.

Quick question. Did I completely waste my money buying the aFe Cold Air intake system (Stage-2, Magnum FORCE PRO 5R 54-11472)?

Seems from everything that I read it's a complete waste of money.
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2013, 09:10 PM   #7297
E92mech
E92
United_States
2
Rep
121
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E92 Le Mans M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

When you install/uninstall Cobb, does this also reset engine adaptations at the same time, or do you have to do this manually?

Conversely, when you re-install Cobb after a dealer visit, do you have to wait for re-adaptation to take place?
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2013, 09:16 PM   #7298
335iRlz
Major
16
Rep
1,350
Posts

 
Drives: f10m5 gone, m4, GTR, Raptor
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by buylongterm View Post
Ordered the COBB AP for my 2010 335XI yesterday. Good news it will be here tomorrow. Bad news is I paid 130.00 for priority shipping. (I'm very impatient).

I'm sure Stage 2 will be right around the corner.

Quick question. Did I completely waste my money buying the aFe Cold Air intake system (Stage-2, Magnum FORCE PRO 5R 54-11472)?

Seems from everything that I read it's a complete waste of money.
OMG bro... Most of the sellers on here already over overnight/2day with a purchase+discount.

no performance part is a waste
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2013, 09:25 PM   #7299
buylongterm
Private
buylongterm's Avatar
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 BMW 335XI M package
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335iRlz View Post
OMG bro... Most of the sellers on here already over overnight/2day with a purchase+discount.

no performance part is a waste
Ouch. This one hurts. I should say something. Seriously. That's BS.

Thanks for the heads up and I guess I'll try the intake.
__________________
2010 335XI Coupe | M Package
COBB Stage 1+ Aggressive FMIC | aFe DCI | Helix FMIC
2011 535XI

Appreciate 0
      04-11-2013, 10:20 PM   #7300
Jeffman
Lieutenant
Jeffman's Avatar
5
Rep
442
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335xi E90
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Somewhere in America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by buylongterm View Post
Ordered the COBB AP for my 2010 335XI yesterday. Good news it will be here tomorrow. Bad news is I paid 130.00 for priority shipping. (I'm very impatient).

I'm sure Stage 2 will be right around the corner.

Quick question. Did I completely waste my money buying the aFe Cold Air intake system (Stage-2, Magnum FORCE PRO 5R 54-11472)?

Seems from everything that I read it's a complete waste of money.
The very next and best bang for the buck mod is a new FMIC to take you to Stage 1+. It's more power than Stage 2 and keeps your inlet temps nice and cool. Better for the engine too. I have a Helix. Good luck!
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2013, 09:13 PM   #7301
Phantom 335i
Second Lieutenant
Canada
2
Rep
270
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmonton

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
hey I don't know how to attach a log but would like someone to have a look at a log i just did and tell me what they think. if anyone is willing to look please pm me a email addy

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2013, 09:52 PM   #7302
Ænema
Captain
10
Rep
961
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom 335i View Post
hey I don't know how to attach a log but would like someone to have a look at a log i just did and tell me what they think. if anyone is willing to look please pm me a email addy

Thanks
Create a .zip folder and then copy the log into the folder and attach that.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2013, 10:07 PM   #7303
Phantom 335i
Second Lieutenant
Canada
2
Rep
270
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmonton

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Ok I will look into that I just have the csv file on my iPad right now
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2013, 11:13 PM   #7304
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,679
Posts

 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom 335i View Post
Ok I will look into that I just have the csv file on my iPad right now
Um... how did you get it on your iPad? Did you email it to yourself?

You can even Change the file extension it to a .txt
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST