E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-20-2013, 01:28 PM   #8339
Mit_Boost
Lieutenant
Germany
22
Rep
540
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by napeHbNYC View Post
I dropped it off at Tenafly, last time I did it the car had Vanguard exhaust, intake and suspention and they did not say anything.
Good luck. I've used Morristown/Open Road and as long as the tune isn't installed, they've never given me any trouble.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2013, 02:47 PM   #8340
acj75
First Lieutenant
acj75's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
386
Posts

Drives: '07 E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: DFW Texas

iTrader: (0)

Tinkering around with DashWare this morning, I added a new logging parameter to my usual track layout, Load Req. & Load Act. Not sure if it adds any value to the video, but I thought it might be interesting to see. All the positional data in the vid was logged with my AiM SOLO GPS, but I used the COBB for all the engine data.

I'm also working on an overlay with the default logging parameters, I'll post an example once I go out and do a pull. My temps are unusually low in this video for a track day because it was only 37 degrees outside

__________________
'07 E92 BMW 335i

Last edited by acj75; 01-10-2014 at 11:46 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2013, 12:15 AM   #8341
Jeffman
Lieutenant
Jeffman's Avatar
10
Rep
456
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi E90
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Somewhere in America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by acj75 View Post
Tinkering around with DashWare this morning, I added a new logging parameter to my usual track layout, Load Req. & Load Act. Not sure if it adds any value to the video, but I thought it might be interesting to see. All the positional data in the vid was logged with my AiM SOLO GPS, but I used the COBB for all the engine data.

I'm also working on an overlay with the default logging parameters, I'll post an example once I go out and do a pull. My temps are unusually low in this video for a track day because it was only 37 degrees outside

Very cool! Is the Cobb data loaded into DashWare after your run, or somehow combined during the run?
Also, I couldn't tell if you were using your paddle shifters - or were you in S mode.
Thanks for sharing!
__________________
MHD Self-Tuned E20 Map | Helix IC | Fuel-It Stage 2 LPFP | BMS DCI | BMS Thermostat Delete | CP-E Charge Pipe | Forge DV | Apex Arc-8 Hyper Silver | Michelin PSS | Cool Carbon Brake Pads | SS Brakelines | Z4 35is 2-Piece Front Rotors | Alpina B3 TCU Flash | KW-V1 Coilovers | Strut Brace | Lux Angel Eyes | CF Kidneys | Scoops | Rockford Fosgate P300-2 | Earthquake SWS-8xi | iStreamer DAC | BavSound Stage 1 Speaker Upgrade
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2013, 12:57 AM   #8342
acj75
First Lieutenant
acj75's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
386
Posts

Drives: '07 E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: DFW Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffman View Post
Very cool! Is the Cobb data loaded into DashWare after your run, or somehow combined during the run?
Also, I couldn't tell if you were using your paddle shifters - or were you in S mode.
Thanks for sharing!
Yes, I load the .csv files from the AiM and the COBB into DashWare along with my video file and sync them after my run. DashWare lets you do data files from multiple sources which is nice. You're right, I used the paddles for every shift. I keep the car in DS mode on the track.
__________________
'07 E92 BMW 335i
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2013, 11:29 AM   #8343
napeHbNYC
Captain
United_States
13
Rep
663
Posts

Drives: 2007 e60 550i RWD 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NY,NY

iTrader: (7)

Got the car back from the dealer, I had 2 leaking injectors :/
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2013, 03:53 PM   #8344
Mit_Boost
Lieutenant
Germany
22
Rep
540
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by napeHbNYC View Post
Got the car back from the dealer, I had 2 leaking injectors :/
Probably best to replace all 6, especially if the 2 failing ones are on separate banks
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2013, 05:39 PM   #8345
Give_Em_The_DD
Major
Give_Em_The_DD's Avatar
146
Rep
1,034
Posts

Drives: 2010 black 335xi coupe
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: IL

iTrader: (0)

Anyone having issues with the cobb site?
__________________
RB Turbo 335xi
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2013, 10:48 PM   #8346
napeHbNYC
Captain
United_States
13
Rep
663
Posts

Drives: 2007 e60 550i RWD 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NY,NY

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mit_Boost View Post
Probably best to replace all 6, especially if the 2 failing ones are on separate banks
They replaced all 6 and all the spark plugs too
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2014, 08:15 PM   #8347
Nigelo
Lieutenant
8
Rep
521
Posts

Drives: E92 335i se
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northern Ireland

iTrader: (1)

I'm sure the answer is in this thread somewhere, but I can't find it :-(

Anyone know if you can use the troubleshoot menu on a 335i other than the one the accessport is married to?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2014, 10:50 PM   #8348
e90Mark
Captain
e90Mark's Avatar
Philippines
9
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Detroit

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigelo View Post
I'm sure the answer is in this thread somewhere, but I can't find it :-(

Anyone know if you can use the troubleshoot menu on a 335i other than the one the accessport is married to?

Thanks!
Gonna guess yes, since you can use the troubleshoot menu without it being married to a car.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2014, 12:33 AM   #8349
DallasBoosted
Captain
DallasBoosted's Avatar
20
Rep
864
Posts

Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by e90Mark View Post
Gonna guess yes, since you can use the troubleshoot menu without it being married to a car.
I've done it at the track with my AP to read other people's codes. Very helpful.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2014, 08:01 PM   #8350
Nigelo
Lieutenant
8
Rep
521
Posts

Drives: E92 335i se
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northern Ireland

iTrader: (1)

Thanks gents!
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2014, 05:55 AM   #8351
3rdgear
Private
China
2
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: black 1m gt 535i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: shanghai

iTrader: (0)

Guys, ran into a problem with my Cobb, I had stage 1+ sport linear throttle set for my 1m, along with the intercooler, intake n mid pipe plus muffler. From time to time the ref will go up and down slighter then stall on me. So I have reset it to stock map and everything is working fine, this also happened when I was on stage 1. Has anyone had this problem, there are no codes indicated neither. Pls advise as I can't stand driving with stock map. Thank you
Appreciate 1
      01-28-2014, 12:37 PM   #8352
COBB Tuning
Major
COBB Tuning's Avatar
175
Rep
1,050
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rdgear View Post
Guys, ran into a problem with my Cobb, I had stage 1+ sport linear throttle set for my 1m, along with the intercooler, intake n mid pipe plus muffler. From time to time the ref will go up and down slighter then stall on me. So I have reset it to stock map and everything is working fine, this also happened when I was on stage 1. Has anyone had this problem, there are no codes indicated neither. Pls advise as I can't stand driving with stock map. Thank you
Try to capture the behavior in a log and send it over to us.

-Josh
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2014, 03:33 AM   #8353
3rdgear
Private
China
2
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: black 1m gt 535i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: shanghai

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Josh, yr helpline team suggested I do a data log when the stalling happens so do I keep the accessport plugged in at all time with data log activated till I get it recorded? Stalling happens once in a while but instable rpm is more often
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2014, 03:14 PM   #8354
COBB Tuning
Major
COBB Tuning's Avatar
175
Rep
1,050
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rdgear View Post
Thanks Josh, yr helpline team suggested I do a data log when the stalling happens so do I keep the accessport plugged in at all time with data log activated till I get it recorded? Stalling happens once in a while but instable rpm is more often
If its not consistent, that's probably your best bet. Once it happens, stop the log and we'll know that we need to focus on the end portion of it. Remember to clear logs occasionally if they are big/long... there's only so much memory on the AP.

-Josh
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2014, 02:31 AM   #8355
Sean335i
New Enthusiast & Photographer
Sean335i's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
105
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 E90 335i  [0.00]
not the best at understanding all the variables, but i can see my car is lagging as all hell

http://datazap.me/u/sean335i/stage-2...zoom=3494-5494

Boost is hitting in the higher RPM ranges which seems atypical for our cars. Thoughts?

Edit: closer view on pull, this is freeway to work driving, may not be the best example

http://datazap.me/u/sean335i/stage-2...zoom=4189-4320
__________________
Sean
My Flickr Car Gallery

Cobb AP Stage 2+ FMIC Sport / BMS DCI / VRSF 7" FMIC / VRSF 3" DP / RPI Scoops / Alpina B3 Trans Flash
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2014, 09:56 AM   #8356
Fillyo75
Lieutenant
Fillyo75's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
457
Posts

Drives: 2009 e90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, IL (South Burbs)

iTrader: (0)

I just bought a Cobb and received it yesterday. Recently I had a coil replaced and a bank of injectors under my CPO. I am still convinced my car is not running smooth so I am hesitant to install the Cobb thinking I will throw some codes, plus its been so cold here in Chicago. If I install the Cobb, do I have to flash a map? Or can I use to read codes and log data stock to make sure all is ok first? This is my first venture into Cobb and AP modules. Thanks for any feedback.
__________________
//|Phil
Current: 2011 Audi S4
Gone: 2009 e90 335 |6MT
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2014, 10:04 AM   #8357
bigtigga01
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charleston, SC

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fillyo75 View Post
I just bought a Cobb and received it yesterday. Recently I had a coil replaced and a bank of injectors under my CPO. I am still convinced my car is not running smooth so I am hesitant to install the Cobb thinking I will throw some codes, plus its been so cold here in Chicago. If I install the Cobb, do I have to flash a map? Or can I use to read codes and log data stock to make sure all is ok first? This is my first venture into Cobb and AP modules. Thanks for any feedback.
You can install the cobb and run Stage 0 which is stock like settings. You also have to install it to run data logs, but you are able to read codes without it installed.
__________________
Sandlapper BMWCCA #481069
07 e90 6AT, Cobb V3 protuned by PTF, Aquamist HFS-4, AFE Stage 2 DCI, ER CP/Tial BOV, AA DPs, AA Sport Intercooler, 19" BBS CH-R, MTEC V4, BMW Performance interior pieces
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2014, 01:07 AM   #8358
Fillyo75
Lieutenant
Fillyo75's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
457
Posts

Drives: 2009 e90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, IL (South Burbs)

iTrader: (0)

Error Codes

I plugged in my new cobb and did an error code read and got this. H codes I believe are historic. Quick background, I just had the cylinder 5 coil replaced, the cylinder 5 spark plug, as well as the 3 injectors in that bank under my CPO. Previously, I replaced my plugs about 5000 miles ago, the leaking injector fouled plug 5. My car seems to studder a little on the highway when I floor in 5th or 6th gear, but I only have 1 P error code, which I believe is nothing. I want to try out the Cobb but I am paranoid something else is wrong. Do I have anything to worry about with these codes?
Attached Images
  
__________________
//|Phil
Current: 2011 Audi S4
Gone: 2009 e90 335 |6MT
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2014, 01:15 AM   #8359
Sean335i
New Enthusiast & Photographer
Sean335i's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
105
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 E90 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean335i View Post
not the best at understanding all the variables, but i can see my car is lagging as all hell

http://datazap.me/u/sean335i/stage-2...zoom=3494-5494

Boost is hitting in the higher RPM ranges which seems atypical for our cars. Thoughts?

Edit: closer view on pull, this is freeway to work driving, may not be the best example

http://datazap.me/u/sean335i/stage-2...zoom=4189-4320
anyone? feels like my car struggles to load boost until high RPM...
__________________
Sean
My Flickr Car Gallery

Cobb AP Stage 2+ FMIC Sport / BMS DCI / VRSF 7" FMIC / VRSF 3" DP / RPI Scoops / Alpina B3 Trans Flash
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2014, 03:20 AM   #8360
Mit_Boost
Lieutenant
Germany
22
Rep
540
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fillyo75 View Post
My car seems to studder a little on the highway when I floor in 5th or 6th gear, but I only have 1 P error code, which I believe is nothing. I want to try out the Cobb but I am paranoid something else is wrong. Do I have anything to worry about with these codes?
What's the P-code or fault code description?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean335i View Post
anyone? feels like my car struggles to load boost until high RPM...
What map are you using? You're also not getting a complete data set, try to get 2 quality logs, from 2.5k to 6k. I'm not sure what the V3's default data log list is, but I usually switch Cylinder Timing to Cylinder 2, and then log Timing Corrections for Cylinders 3, 4, 5 & 6.
__________________

Results >
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST