E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-20-2014, 12:28 PM   #8449
sickem
Freude am fahren
sickem's Avatar
28
Rep
1,968
Posts

Drives: E90 N54
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Doylestown, PA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarv20s View Post
Hey Guys,

Used the forum search and was directed here.

Car: 08 335xi 6-MT Coupe

Mods: Cobb Stg 1 Agg and DCI's.

Issue: Car is sputtering in higher gears 4-6th, I'm thinking the coil packs need to be changed but I wanted to see if I could do some Data Logging with the AP and see if i can tell exactly which coil (if it's just one) is giving me the issue.

Question: What parameters should I set the Cobb for Data Logging, Ignition? and Boost? Just curious what other people's data logging experiences were and what methods they used for diagnosis.

Thanks Buds!
first thing to do is read the fault codes (if any). If no codes then follow the sticky on the N54 main page for diagnosing misfires. first step is to move coil pack to another cyl. if the misfire follows then it's the coilpack. next step is to move the spark plug. again, if it follows it's the plug. if it doesn't follow it is probably an injector.
__________________
Cobb E40 PROtune by Jake@PTF/RR catless DPs/aFe DCI/ETS 5" FMIC/ER CP/Forge DVs/Alpina B3 TCU flash/BMW Perf. Exhaust./BMW Performance Style 313s/M-Tech Rear
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2014, 06:39 PM   #8450
ajsalida
Colonel
ajsalida's Avatar
93
Rep
2,235
Posts

Drives: 95 M3, 02 R1150GSA, 09 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SW USA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarv20s View Post
Hey Guys,

Used the forum search and was directed here.

Car: 08 335xi 6-MT Coupe

Mods: Cobb Stg 1 Agg and DCI's.

Issue: Car is sputtering in higher gears 4-6th, I'm thinking the coil packs need to be changed but I wanted to see if I could do some Data Logging with the AP and see if i can tell exactly which coil (if it's just one) is giving me the issue.

Question: What parameters should I set the Cobb for Data Logging, Ignition? and Boost? Just curious what other people's data logging experiences were and what methods they used for diagnosis.

Thanks Buds!
How old are your plugs?
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 09:43 AM   #8451
jcarv20s
Private First Class
2
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Danbury, CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sickem View Post
first thing to do is read the fault codes (if any). If no codes then follow the sticky on the N54 main page for diagnosing misfires. first step is to move coil pack to another cyl. if the misfire follows then it's the coilpack. next step is to move the spark plug. again, if it follows it's the plug. if it doesn't follow it is probably an injector.
Thanks for the reply! Unfortunately it isn't throwing any codes so I don't know which coil/spark plug it could be. I changed the spark plugs 12K ago so they aren't that old.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 10:03 AM   #8452
sickem
Freude am fahren
sickem's Avatar
28
Rep
1,968
Posts

Drives: E90 N54
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Doylestown, PA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarv20s
Quote:
Originally Posted by sickem View Post
first thing to do is read the fault codes (if any). If no codes then follow the sticky on the N54 main page for diagnosing misfires. first step is to move coil pack to another cyl. if the misfire follows then it's the coilpack. next step is to move the spark plug. again, if it follows it's the plug. if it doesn't follow it is probably an injector.
Thanks for the reply! Unfortunately it isn't throwing any codes so I don't know which coil/spark plug it could be. I changed the spark plugs 12K ago so they aren't that old.
Have you ever had the intake valves walnut shell blasted?
__________________
Cobb E40 PROtune by Jake@PTF/RR catless DPs/aFe DCI/ETS 5" FMIC/ER CP/Forge DVs/Alpina B3 TCU flash/BMW Perf. Exhaust./BMW Performance Style 313s/M-Tech Rear
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 11:51 AM   #8453
labedra
First Lieutenant
labedra's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i E92 6 MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere on Planet Earth for now.

iTrader: (2)

Hey quick question I run Stage 2 custom map with COBB. Does COBB Block Read Access to DME when tunned such as EDIABAS/INPA ? Don't know if it is my setup but can't communicate with my DME via INPA MSD80. Want to ask before I unsintall COBB and test this without COBB. I can communicate fine with my e46 m3 so not my INPA setup at least don't think so.
__________________

.../// TURBO! Why in the world would you choose anything else?... ///
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 12:40 PM   #8454
deeLow
DOPE
deeLow's Avatar
66
Rep
681
Posts

Drives: Probably a 335i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: 732

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by labedra
Hey quick question I run Stage 2 custom map with COBB. Does COBB Block Read Access to DME when tunned such as EDIABAS/INPA ? Don't know if it is my setup but can't communicate with my DME via INPA MSD80. Want to ask before I unsintall COBB and test this without COBB. I can communicate fine with my e46 m3 so not my INPA setup at least don't think so.
Nope, should work fine. No problems on my end with Cobb and inpa
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 02:01 PM   #8455
labedra
First Lieutenant
labedra's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i E92 6 MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere on Planet Earth for now.

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingdLo View Post
Nope, should work fine. No problems on my end with Cobb and inpa
I see Power ON ignition OFF, any ideas?
__________________

.../// TURBO! Why in the world would you choose anything else?... ///
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 03:32 PM   #8456
labedra
First Lieutenant
labedra's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i E92 6 MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere on Planet Earth for now.

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by labedra View Post
I see Power ON ignition OFF, any ideas?
Never mind I googled I need a D CAN Cable not the one I use in case anyone wonders.
__________________

.../// TURBO! Why in the world would you choose anything else?... ///
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2014, 12:44 AM   #8457
007_e350
Lieutenant Colonel
007_e350's Avatar
United_States
45
Rep
1,550
Posts

Drives: 335i 2008 JB4'd / x5d E70
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (3)

Hey cobbers, quick question:

1- how to reset adaptations with V2 ?
2- My cyl 3 shows slightly different behavior in timing than other cyls, this is the same cylinder that had oil in leaking from valve cover gasket that I replaced last month ... any advise on what d the issue be now (put new plugs + cleaned coils and put dielectric grease)
3- had some issues datalogging, is there a limit to the # of parameters I can log ?

thanks
Appreciate 0
      05-25-2014, 03:44 PM   #8458
Milan
First Lieutenant
33
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Boise, ID

iTrader: (2)

Probably been asked 100 times already...but is it possible to buy a used Cobb AP or these cars?
Appreciate 0
      05-25-2014, 05:14 PM   #8459
sickem
Freude am fahren
sickem's Avatar
28
Rep
1,968
Posts

Drives: E90 N54
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Doylestown, PA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan
Probably been asked 100 times already...but is it possible to buy a used Cobb AP or these cars?
Absolutely, you just need to make sure it is "un married" from the seller's car. Check the classifieds in here, they're FS all the time.
__________________
Cobb E40 PROtune by Jake@PTF/RR catless DPs/aFe DCI/ETS 5" FMIC/ER CP/Forge DVs/Alpina B3 TCU flash/BMW Perf. Exhaust./BMW Performance Style 313s/M-Tech Rear
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2014, 09:34 PM   #8460
924er
Lieutenant Colonel
160
Rep
1,775
Posts

Drives: e92 335i '10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (0)

how does my log look?

running 5in FMIC and DCI with 20%e85 and 80% 91 octane stage 1 sport

http://datazap.me/u/moswissa/20-e859...-18&mark=55-51
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2014, 11:55 PM   #8461
Chromey
First Lieutenant
Canada
24
Rep
353
Posts

Drives: 09 335i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Victoria bc

iTrader: (0)

Can anyone explain why the default data log has to many items?? It says 16 is all I can have yet the default is 18??? Anyone know how to fix this or why this is...
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2014, 10:15 AM   #8462
COBB Tuning
Major
COBB Tuning's Avatar
172
Rep
1,050
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromey View Post
Can anyone explain why the default data log has to many items?? It says 16 is all I can have yet the default is 18??? Anyone know how to fix this or why this is...
You can definitely log the default list, but you may need to switch to less gauges (if using a V3). Every monitor on the gauge list is something extra to poll from the DME. When logging, switch to the single gauge mode to increase the amount of monitors you can log. Also, its not a certain amount of monitors you can log, there is a byte limit. Some monitors are 16 bit, some 8 bit, some are compound monitors (like boost) and need a lot of bytes.

-Josh
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2014, 04:02 PM   #8463
labedra
First Lieutenant
labedra's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i E92 6 MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere on Planet Earth for now.

iTrader: (2)

Hello I got stage II custom map loaded on my 335i e92 and I got a red-brake light for brake sensors. I disconnected my battery and reconnected it and reset all maintenance intervals, soon after I got the brake sensor light as brakes are past due mantenance. All brake pads are new except I got old brake sensors. I want to reset them using INPA. I'm trying to reset the sensors via INPA EDIABAS Tool32 and for some reason doesn't clear. I can read everything etc. Brake sensors are not triggered. I have disconnected them and connected them back in. But cant clear. My instrument cluster is showing ----- for brake sensor so I'm trying cbs_reset using this procedure but it is not working. Do i have to uninstall COBB in order to do that?

Plug your OBDII cable into your laptop and car.

Open up Tool32.exe (in the C:\EDIABAS\BIN folder).
Open File (or just press F3) 'DSC_87.PRG' (in the ECU folder).
In the left Column, under Jobs, choose CBS_RESET.

I go through brake pads quick as I track my car and replacing the damn sensor when it is still good is just a waste of money.

To reset Front brake pad sensors, under center column (Arguments), type:
Br_v;100;31;255;255;8000h;Fh;FFh;FFh;00h
Click Jobs menu and select Start Job Once Only (or just press F5)

To reset Rear brake pad sensors, under center column (Arguments), type:
Br_h;100;31;255;255;8000h;Fh;FFh;FFh;00h
Click Jobs menu and select Start Job Once Only (or just press F5)

Turn off the car
Disconnect the OBDII cable
Put the key back in your pocket
Start the car (press brake and push start)

If your problem was the same as mine, it should now be fixed.
Front brakes should read 25,000 miles
Rear brakes should read 31,000 miles

Reference:
http://www.m5board.com/vbulletin/e60...ng-tool32.html

Thanks!
__________________

.../// TURBO! Why in the world would you choose anything else?... ///
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2014, 04:42 PM   #8464
Chromey
First Lieutenant
Canada
24
Rep
353
Posts

Drives: 09 335i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Victoria bc

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBB Tuning View Post
You can definitely log the default list, but you may need to switch to less gauges (if using a V3). Every monitor on the gauge list is something extra to poll from the DME. When logging, switch to the single gauge mode to increase the amount of monitors you can log. Also, its not a certain amount of monitors you can log, there is a byte limit. Some monitors are 16 bit, some 8 bit, some are compound monitors (like boost) and need a lot of bytes.

-Josh

Cheers Josh , that solves that
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2014, 03:10 AM   #8465
georgelb
nsomneeak
georgelb's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
487
Posts

Drives: E92 RB 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: DFW, TX

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2007 335i  [4.00]
Hey Josh, is there any development around flex fuel capability for the 335i like you guys now have for the GT-R?
__________________

RB Turbos w/ N20 TMAP Sensor | 93 Octane Protune by Cobb Plano | Alpina TCU Flash | BMS DCI | STETT CP | Forge DVs | Helix FMIC | CP-E Catted DPs | Walbro 450 | RB PCV | M3 Control Arms | M3 Subframe Bushings | Defiv Lockdown Kit | Cool Carbon Pads | BBS CH | Conti DWS
Hixson BMW of Monroe, LA - Shady Dealer | Got E85? Make sure you have it right.
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2014, 11:59 AM   #8466
Jeffman
Lieutenant
Jeffman's Avatar
9
Rep
449
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi E90
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Somewhere in America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgelb View Post
Hey Josh, is there any development around flex fuel capability for the 335i like you guys now have for the GT-R?
Great question!
+1
__________________
Cobb ATR Self-Tuned E40 Map | Helix IC | BMS DCI | BMS Thermostat Delete | CP-E Charge Pipe | Forge DV | Apex Arc-8 Hyper Silver | Michelin PSS | Cool Carbon Brake Pads | SS Brakelines | Z4 35is 2-Piece Front Rotors | Alpina B3 TCU Flash | KW-V1 Coilovers | Strut Brace | Lux Angel Eyes | CF Kidneys | Scoops | Rockford Fosgate P300-2 | Earthquake SWS-8xi | iStreamer DAC | BavSound Stage 1 Speaker Upgrade | "Keep On A Rockin' Me Baby!"
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2014, 07:40 PM   #8467
srcstc
Major
United_States
32
Rep
1,325
Posts

Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RWThorpe View Post
New to this tuning.... I have Cobb AP and installed stage 2 sport LT to clear dp codes. Struggling with misfires now on hard pulls. What are the difference between a stage 1 Vs stage 2? Have DCI, catless DP, no FMIC yet.
Misfires could be plugs, coils or injectors. With mine it turned out to be injectors.
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2014, 07:41 PM   #8468
srcstc
Major
United_States
32
Rep
1,325
Posts

Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by N88888_dawg View Post
Hi gents. I was just wondering if anyone could help me locate a standard rom file for my n54 135i

The car was already flashed, and now after adding cobb I have lost the cruise control function, and I've also got an emissions error code (this may be unlinked)
Here is my original thread: http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=973723


I have emailed cobb directly but had no reply. I may be being a bit impatient as it was only Thursday last week (I think) when I emailed them.
My cobb request is https://cobbtuning.zendesk.com/hc/requests/48434
Re: cruise control, was traction control turned off?
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2014, 12:16 PM   #8469
RWThorpe
Private
United_States
0
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: '11 328xi 2014 FJC
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: VT

iTrader: (1)

I have replaced all the coil packs and installed NGK plugs gapped at 022. In park, ran RPMs up to 4,000 no issue. Shutdown and came back about two hours later. Started up and immediately got multiple misfires hadn't driven at all. I am going to try stage two driver Vs stage two sport and see if that has any affect.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2014, 01:22 AM   #8470
Brule
Brendan
Australia
52
Rep
1,085
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i e92 6sp man
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Darwin

iTrader: (0)

I have flashed over a PTF tune while trying to go back to stock using ***********.

First of all I had a bms pumpflash via ***********, it was throwing codes for emissions (US and Australia are not compatible)

I then got a map from PTF and used cobb to flash it over the existing bms pump flash..

I was still getting the US codes so I used *********** to flash back my stock bin.

Now I cannot use my cobb ap to flash.

While in current map it has PTF listed as the map, but when i go to change maps it is not installed.

What do I do now to continue using cobb? It is a V2
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST