E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-25-2014, 04:14 PM   #8471
sickem
Freude am fahren
sickem's Avatar
25
Rep
1,952
Posts

Drives: in the fast lane
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: People's Republic of New Jersey

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan
Probably been asked 100 times already...but is it possible to buy a used Cobb AP or these cars?
Absolutely, you just need to make sure it is "un married" from the seller's car. Check the classifieds in here, they're FS all the time.
__________________
Cobb E40 PROtune by Jake@PTF/RR catless DPs/aFe DCI/ETS 5" FMIC/ER CP/Forge DVs/Alpina B3 TCU flash/BMW Perf. Exhaust./BMW Performance Style 313s/M-Tech Rear
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2014, 08:34 PM   #8472
924er
Lieutenant
15
Rep
575
Posts

Drives: e92 335i '10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (0)

how does my log look?

running 5in FMIC and DCI with 20%e85 and 80% 91 octane stage 1 sport

http://datazap.me/u/moswissa/20-e859...-18&mark=55-51
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2014, 10:55 PM   #8473
Chromey
Private First Class
Canada
1
Rep
194
Posts

Drives: 09 335i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Victoria bc

iTrader: (0)

Can anyone explain why the default data log has to many items?? It says 16 is all I can have yet the default is 18??? Anyone know how to fix this or why this is...
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2014, 09:15 AM   #8474
COBB Tuning
Major
COBB Tuning's Avatar
112
Rep
1,045
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromey View Post
Can anyone explain why the default data log has to many items?? It says 16 is all I can have yet the default is 18??? Anyone know how to fix this or why this is...
You can definitely log the default list, but you may need to switch to less gauges (if using a V3). Every monitor on the gauge list is something extra to poll from the DME. When logging, switch to the single gauge mode to increase the amount of monitors you can log. Also, its not a certain amount of monitors you can log, there is a byte limit. Some monitors are 16 bit, some 8 bit, some are compound monitors (like boost) and need a lot of bytes.

-Josh
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2014, 03:02 PM   #8475
labedra
First Lieutenant
labedra's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i E92 6 MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere on Planet Earth for now.

iTrader: (2)

Hello I got stage II custom map loaded on my 335i e92 and I got a red-brake light for brake sensors. I disconnected my battery and reconnected it and reset all maintenance intervals, soon after I got the brake sensor light as brakes are past due mantenance. All brake pads are new except I got old brake sensors. I want to reset them using INPA. I'm trying to reset the sensors via INPA EDIABAS Tool32 and for some reason doesn't clear. I can read everything etc. Brake sensors are not triggered. I have disconnected them and connected them back in. But cant clear. My instrument cluster is showing ----- for brake sensor so I'm trying cbs_reset using this procedure but it is not working. Do i have to uninstall COBB in order to do that?

Plug your OBDII cable into your laptop and car.

Open up Tool32.exe (in the C:\EDIABAS\BIN folder).
Open File (or just press F3) 'DSC_87.PRG' (in the ECU folder).
In the left Column, under Jobs, choose CBS_RESET.

I go through brake pads quick as I track my car and replacing the damn sensor when it is still good is just a waste of money.

To reset Front brake pad sensors, under center column (Arguments), type:
Br_v;100;31;255;255;8000h;Fh;FFh;FFh;00h
Click Jobs menu and select Start Job Once Only (or just press F5)

To reset Rear brake pad sensors, under center column (Arguments), type:
Br_h;100;31;255;255;8000h;Fh;FFh;FFh;00h
Click Jobs menu and select Start Job Once Only (or just press F5)

Turn off the car
Disconnect the OBDII cable
Put the key back in your pocket
Start the car (press brake and push start)

If your problem was the same as mine, it should now be fixed.
Front brakes should read 25,000 miles
Rear brakes should read 31,000 miles

Reference:
http://www.m5board.com/vbulletin/e60...ng-tool32.html

Thanks!
__________________

.../// TURBO! Why in the world would you choose anything else?... ///
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2014, 03:42 PM   #8476
Chromey
Private First Class
Canada
1
Rep
194
Posts

Drives: 09 335i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Victoria bc

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBB Tuning View Post
You can definitely log the default list, but you may need to switch to less gauges (if using a V3). Every monitor on the gauge list is something extra to poll from the DME. When logging, switch to the single gauge mode to increase the amount of monitors you can log. Also, its not a certain amount of monitors you can log, there is a byte limit. Some monitors are 16 bit, some 8 bit, some are compound monitors (like boost) and need a lot of bytes.

-Josh

Cheers Josh , that solves that
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2014, 02:10 AM   #8477
georgelb
nsomneeak
georgelb's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
485
Posts

Drives: E92 RB 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: DFW, TX

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2007 335i  [4.00]
Hey Josh, is there any development around flex fuel capability for the 335i like you guys now have for the GT-R?
__________________

RB Turbos w/ N20 TMAP Sensor | 93 Octane Protune by Cobb Plano | Alpina TCU Flash | BMS DCI | STETT CP | Forge DVs | Helix FMIC | CP-E Catted DPs | Walbro 450 | RB PCV | M3 Control Arms | M3 Subframe Bushings | Defiv Lockdown Kit | Cool Carbon Pads | BBS CH | Conti DWS
Hixson BMW of Monroe, LA - Shady Dealer | Got E85? Make sure you have it right.
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2014, 10:59 AM   #8478
Jeffman
Lieutenant
Jeffman's Avatar
5
Rep
441
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi E90
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Somewhere in America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgelb View Post
Hey Josh, is there any development around flex fuel capability for the 335i like you guys now have for the GT-R?
Great question!
+1
__________________
Cobb ATR Self-Tuned E40 Map | Helix IC | BMS DCI | BMS Thermostat Delete | CP-E Charge Pipe | Forge DV | Apex Arc-8 Hyper Silver | Michelin PSS | Alpina B3 TCU Flash | KW-V1 Coilovers | Lux Angel Eyes | CF Kidneys | Scoops | Rockford Fosgate P300-2 | Earthquake SWS-8xi | iStreamer DAC | "Keep On A Rockin' Me Baby!"
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2014, 06:40 PM   #8479
srcstc
Major
United_States
27
Rep
1,324
Posts

Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RWThorpe View Post
New to this tuning.... I have Cobb AP and installed stage 2 sport LT to clear dp codes. Struggling with misfires now on hard pulls. What are the difference between a stage 1 Vs stage 2? Have DCI, catless DP, no FMIC yet.
Misfires could be plugs, coils or injectors. With mine it turned out to be injectors.
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2014, 06:41 PM   #8480
srcstc
Major
United_States
27
Rep
1,324
Posts

Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by N88888_dawg View Post
Hi gents. I was just wondering if anyone could help me locate a standard rom file for my n54 135i

The car was already flashed, and now after adding cobb I have lost the cruise control function, and I've also got an emissions error code (this may be unlinked)
Here is my original thread: http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=973723


I have emailed cobb directly but had no reply. I may be being a bit impatient as it was only Thursday last week (I think) when I emailed them.
My cobb request is https://cobbtuning.zendesk.com/hc/requests/48434
Re: cruise control, was traction control turned off?
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2014, 11:16 AM   #8481
RWThorpe
Private
United_States
0
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: '11 328xi 2014 FJC
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: VT

iTrader: (1)

I have replaced all the coil packs and installed NGK plugs gapped at 022. In park, ran RPMs up to 4,000 no issue. Shutdown and came back about two hours later. Started up and immediately got multiple misfires hadn't driven at all. I am going to try stage two driver Vs stage two sport and see if that has any affect.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2014, 12:22 AM   #8482
Brule
Brendan
Australia
9
Rep
372
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i e92 6sp man
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Darwin

iTrader: (0)

I have flashed over a PTF tune while trying to go back to stock using ***********.

First of all I had a bms pumpflash via ***********, it was throwing codes for emissions (US and Australia are not compatible)

I then got a map from PTF and used cobb to flash it over the existing bms pump flash..

I was still getting the US codes so I used *********** to flash back my stock bin.

Now I cannot use my cobb ap to flash.

While in current map it has PTF listed as the map, but when i go to change maps it is not installed.

What do I do now to continue using cobb? It is a V2
__________________
6 spd man and RB's
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2014, 12:30 AM   #8483
135Pats
The World Champion New England Patriots...
135Pats's Avatar
United_States
76
Rep
5,863
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RWThorpe View Post
I have replaced all the coil packs and installed NGK plugs gapped at 022. In park, ran RPMs up to 4,000 no issue. Shutdown and came back about two hours later. Started up and immediately got multiple misfires hadn't driven at all. I am going to try stage two driver Vs stage two sport and see if that has any affect.
Post logs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brule View Post
I have flashed over a PTF tune while trying to go back to stock using ***********.

First of all I had a bms pumpflash via ***********, it was throwing codes for emissions (US and Australia are not compatible)

I then got a map from PTF and used cobb to flash it over the existing bms pump flash..

I was still getting the US codes so I used *********** to flash back my stock bin.

Now I cannot use my cobb ap to flash.

While in current map it has PTF listed as the map, but when i go to change maps it is not installed.

What do I do now to continue using cobb? It is a V2
What rom are you? Is the BB flash actually on the car? Or did it freeze after a partial write.

I'd start from scratch and re-install the AP.
__________________
E88 N54 Alpinweiss/Coral Red/Motiv HTA 3586r Tial .82AR/Motiv Port Fuel/Meisterschaft Race/Berk Resonated/ER CP/Synapse/VRSF FMIC/Rob Beck PCV Valve + Cap/ST Coilovers/M3 FCA + Tension Rods/M3 Subframe Bushings/M3 FSB/AA Strutbrace/DINAN Camber Plates/Apex ARC-8/Project Kics/VAC Hubs/Rogue Transmission Mounts/Alpina TCU Flash/Icarbon/Kerscher/BMW Performance
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2014, 12:34 AM   #8484
Brule
Brendan
Australia
9
Rep
372
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i e92 6sp man
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Darwin

iTrader: (0)

BB flash is on the car, i think, its was like normal a full write 10 minutes. 18aos, had jb4 and been using bb for a while.

I can't do anything with the cobb ap, i cant uninstall it because it is already uninstalled.
But the PTF map is still on the ap.
__________________
6 spd man and RB's

Last edited by Brule; 06-03-2014 at 12:47 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2014, 06:06 PM   #8485
Brule
Brendan
Australia
9
Rep
372
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i e92 6sp man
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Darwin

iTrader: (0)

The ap is locked. I am waiting for a reply from cobb i just emailed them yesterday.

Hoping i can send it back to the US and upgrade to V3 while its there
__________________
6 spd man and RB's
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2014, 10:59 PM   #8486
007_e350
Major
007_e350's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
1,214
Posts

Drives: 335i 2008 <Cobb> / x5d
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (3)

hey guys I reset adaptations using v2 and the RPM would fluctuate like hell on idle, changed map to stg0 and it was fine... anyone knows how to reset correctly ?
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2014, 12:48 AM   #8487
fmonteiro444
First Lieutenant
fmonteiro444's Avatar
3
Rep
396
Posts

Drives: 09 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007_e350
hey guys I reset adaptations using v2 and the RPM would fluctuate like hell on idle, changed map to stg0 and it was fine... anyone knows how to reset correctly ?
Just turn the car off and back on. The fluctuation happens. Scared the crap out of me the first time.
__________________
09 e92 335xi - AFE Stage 2 Intake, VRSF CP w/HKS BOV, COBB V3 w/ Wedge tune, VRSF 7" FMIC. downpipes, E45, 50/50 meth, Alpina Flash - 12.4 @115
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2014, 06:32 PM   #8488
davidwarren
Second Lieutenant
davidwarren's Avatar
3
Rep
221
Posts

Drives: '01 325i '06 325i '10 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Louisville, ky

iTrader: (0)

I know this has probably been asked a million times, I just can't find it now. On stage 2+ aggressive, is it ok to run a few (as in 2-3 gallons) of e85 with the rest 93? Just to make sure I am above 93 octane total (i.e. to account for octane variations).
__________________
2010 335i e90 Le Mans Blue/Chestnut Brown | M-Sport | 6MT | VRSF 7in FMIC | VRSF DP | ER CP | DCI | Cobb | ECS M3 Control Arm Package |BoostAddict Diff Brace | Whiteline RSB
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2014, 12:08 PM   #8489
bplant13
Private
bplant13's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
87
Posts

Drives: '09 BMW 335i xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

I've just ordered AR cat-less DPs. I'm curious to know if the Stage 2 OTS maps where developed against high flow cats, or cat-less DPs? I've got a email into Cobb's support groups about it, but curious if anyone here knows?

I'm planning on getting a pro-tune done anyways, but I've already had to lower my WGDC tables due to overshoots in Stage 1, and I imagine they'll only get worse with cat-less DPs.
__________________
- Brad
2009 Sapphire Black Metallic E90LCI 335i xDrive: 19" Morr VS8.2 Wheels, KW v1 Suspension, aFe Stage 2 Sealed Intake w/ Scoops, Cobb FMIC, ER Chargepipe with Forge DVs, AR Catless DPs, MOTIV Pro Tune, R1 Concepts' Drilled and Slotted Rotors w/ Hawk HPS Pads, 1M Bumper, Tinted
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2014, 12:48 AM   #8490
Jeffman
Lieutenant
Jeffman's Avatar
5
Rep
441
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi E90
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Somewhere in America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidwarren View Post
I know this has probably been asked a million times, I just can't find it now. On stage 2+ aggressive, is it ok to run a few (as in 2-3 gallons) of e85 with the rest 93? Just to make sure I am above 93 octane total (i.e. to account for octane variations).
I started to slowly add E85 like this to quiet timing corrections. Remember your tank holds ca. 16 gallons so a 10% addition of E85 (my suggestion) is 1.6 gallons. Give it a try!

(You will need to adjust your fuel scalar if adding 2-3 gallons, or more, of E85. I don't think you want to do this.)
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2014, 10:33 AM   #8491
Tzu
Lieutenant Colonel
Canada
16
Rep
1,515
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Can someone explain the Boost Limit Multiplier table, and how it interacts with requested boost? What exactly is the factor multiplying?

The x-axis of the table also begins at a high MAF (170 g/s IIRC), but I'm getting overshoots at low MAF Req (60-80 g/s) due to tight wastegates, and timing will flatline at tip-in throttle and low boost (3-4 PSI). Can I reduce the x-axis to reflect the lower MAF Req, and then use a lower multiplier to set a boost limit? Is that how the table works?
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2014, 11:35 AM   #8492
BuraQ
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
BuraQ's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
3,340
Posts


Drives: 11" E92 335is
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335is  [3.09]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tzu View Post
Can someone explain the Boost Limit Multiplier table, and how it interacts with requested boost? What exactly is the factor multiplying?

The x-axis of the table also begins at a high MAF (170 g/s IIRC), but I'm getting overshoots at low MAF Req (60-80 g/s) due to tight wastegates, and timing will flatline at tip-in throttle and low boost (3-4 PSI). Can I reduce the x-axis to reflect the lower MAF Req, and then use a lower multiplier to set a boost limit? Is that how the table works?
The BLM is exactly as discribed. Its a multiplier factor for boost but "calculated by "Load". It can be used to "tame" boost from overshoots. It would be best to view it as a boost factor for load since our platform is "Load" based.

I always suggest to revert your "WGDC base" table back to stock values and then use the BLM table to trim down the MAF troubled areas that correspond in the X-axis

I preffer this method instead of hacking to death the WGDC base to get rid of overshoots.

Start with 2.300 straight across. Raise or decrease the values based upon if you see overshoots or not. Tuning this requires ONLY a single gear WOT pull since your only trying to weed out the overshoot in the low-mid power range. Take your time and only increase or decrease by one increment using the "+" key after each run.

The values in succession need to be "escalating" to go with the increase of MAF
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST