E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Official Dynavin BMW E9X Review, Pics, Questions, etc.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-13-2011, 09:39 PM   #287
NJ330i
Major
 
NJ330i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Electric Red 330i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 1,367
iTrader: (29)

Garage List
2006 BMW  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jred22 View Post
too bad it doesn't work with logic 7 or i might have given this a try.
Why doesnt it work with logic 7?
I have logic 7, so I cant use this?
NJ330i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-13-2011, 10:32 PM   #288
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,089
iTrader: (0)

Logic 7 uses a fiberoptic connection to the amp

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1209780605

The dynavin uses a common analog connection Head Unit out amplification of the type found in most Head Units.

The BMW l7 amp will only accept fiberoptic signals from the BMW Head Unit

If you want to replace the BMW amp you could do it but you would have to run
new wiring to the trunk ,install new amps and figure out an amping scheme for the speakers.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2011, 07:43 PM   #289
Havok_2011
 
Havok_2011's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 2011 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 2,933
iTrader: (7)

Hey guys,

Is it too late to get a deal on this unit??? Anyone know? Or should i just try and contact them direct.

I just read all 14 pages, but I see no indication of how one is supposed to know if they have Logic7....i'm new, and just bought a 2007 BMW 328i coupe...any insight on the matter would be greatly appreciated.
Havok_2011 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2011, 09:47 PM   #290
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,089
iTrader: (0)

FYI

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1266451970

There are three systems world wide that are documented and another called the Dirac or personal audio that I haven't seen documentation on .

The base system or stereo system only made it to the US in 2010 2011
but has been distributed in other countries for I don't know how long. It has no tweeters in the front door sills next to the rear view mirrors.

the other two common systems Hi Fi and L7 have tweeters in the door sills and either in the rear doors or deck,

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=407085
The way to tell the HI Fi from logic 7 is is it logic 7 has a center speaker in the dash and the radio has an equalizer rather than simple
bass and treble controls.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-16-2011, 09:53 PM   #291
Havok_2011
 
Havok_2011's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 2011 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 2,933
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1266451970

There are three systems world wide that are documented and another called the Dirac or personal audio that I haven't seen documentation on .

The base system or stereo system only made it to the US in 2010 2011
but has been distributed in other countries for I don't know how long. It has no tweeters in the front door sills next to the rear view mirrors.

the other two common systems Hi Fi and L7 have tweeters in the door sills and either in the rear doors or deck,

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=407085
The way to tell the HI Fi from logic 7 is is it logic 7 has a center speaker in the dash and the radio has an equalizer rather than simple
bass and treble controls.
Thank you kindly for the clarification.

Seems like I got the logic 7 version, so this system is not an option for me. Too bad
Havok_2011 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2011, 11:54 AM   #292
pkirk
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)

I finally connected the Dynavin HU directly to my JL XD600/6 with separtate RCA cables. The quality and sound performance is much better than it was using harness outputs. Before reqiring I could only turn the HU up to about 6 out of 40 because of the amplified output signal feeding my amp.

Now I can comfortably turn it up to 20. Front and rear amp gains set to zero, subs (SWS-8 2ohm) running about 50% gain. Amp X-overs set at about 150HZ. Before rewiring I experienced a loud hissing noise when using any HU bass or treble. It's completely gone now.

I have a coupe and ran the wires under the lip of the center console trim on the passenger side. I popped up the rear passenger seat and ran the wires under the rear center console and into the trunk. Should have taken less than 1 hour, but of course ended up being about 3 by the time i was finished tweaking everything.

For anyone who has the Dynavin HU and plans to pull it out of the dash for any reason, be aware that it might not come out like it went in. The metal clips that screw into the assembly below climate control are designed to engage against a lip that sticks up in the lower part of the HU location. There is no way to pull straight out.

Carefully pull the upper part of the HU back using a small diameter metal hook. Once pulled away enough to grasp with fingers continue to gentle pull back and up. This motion will foce the metal clips to bend enough to allow the HU to slip up and over the trapping edge.

Before reinstalling the HU I removed the clips and actually bent the parts that lock in so that they won't lock. The unit compresses inside the dash enough without needing the clips to lock in place. My HU is defective and is going to be replaced with a new one within the next coupld weeks - I didn't want to go through the awful removal process again.
pkirk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2011, 12:06 PM   #293
pkirk
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)

Another update - I tried the Bluetooth music streaming using a Droid2 phone. Sound quality and frequency range was impressive. The only dissapointment was that when toggling to Navi mode the music cuts out. When connected to a call the Navi mode works without dropping call. I think it happens with streaming music becuase the system is not in a call - it is basically in stand-by mode when not in calls. It's in this stand-by mode while streaming music.
pkirk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2011, 02:14 PM   #294
scubasteve2365
Private First Class
 
Drives: 07 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky

Posts: 119
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkirk View Post

Now I can comfortably turn it up to 20. Front and rear amp gains set to zero, subs (SWS-8 2ohm) running about 50% gain.
That likely is not optimal. An amplifier's gain is really just an input sensitivity adjustment. In fact I wished they weren't even called gains because it misleads people.

The gain knob allows the amplifier to connect to different pre-amplifiers that may have varied output line levels. Your amp likely has voltage values written around the knob. Perhaps something in the millivolt range up to whole volt numbers. (100mV to 2V, or something like that). That voltage should match, likely at 1kHz, the voltage present on the RCA cables.

Realistically the average end user will not understand nor have the ability to measure voltage on the RCAs. My point in explaining this is that perhaps you shouldn't have the gain "all the way down". You might be doing yourself a disservice. Of course I don't know what speakers you have, the may be really sensitive and as such require the amp to be down.
scubasteve2365 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2011, 03:41 PM   #295
pkirk
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
That likely is not optimal. An amplifier's gain is really just an input sensitivity adjustment. In fact I wished they weren't even called gains because it misleads people.

The gain knob allows the amplifier to connect to different pre-amplifiers that may have varied output line levels. Your amp likely has voltage values written around the knob. Perhaps something in the millivolt range up to whole volt numbers. (100mV to 2V, or something like that). That voltage should match, likely at 1kHz, the voltage present on the RCA cables.

Realistically the average end user will not understand nor have the ability to measure voltage on the RCAs. My point in explaining this is that perhaps you shouldn't have the gain "all the way down". You might be doing yourself a disservice. Of course I don't know what speakers you have, the may be really sensitive and as such require the amp to be down.
The JL amp has no labels around the gain adjustment. I am trying to be cautious with my front and rear speakers as they're all OEM. No doubt the sound is remarkably better than with the OEM amp and upgraded subs, but I really don't want to blow my door speakers since there is no easy drop-in for e92.
pkirk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2011, 05:23 PM   #296
NJ330i
Major
 
NJ330i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Electric Red 330i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 1,367
iTrader: (29)

Garage List
2006 BMW  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkirk View Post
The JL amp has no labels around the gain adjustment. I am trying to be cautious with my front and rear speakers as they're all OEM. No doubt the sound is remarkably better than with the OEM amp and upgraded subs, but I really don't want to blow my door speakers since there is no easy drop-in for e92.
Hi, do you have logic 7?
I have it and im confused about getting this HU.
Thanks for any help
NJ330i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2011, 05:42 PM   #297
biz77
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Spokane, WA

Posts: 313
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ330i View Post
Hi, do you have logic 7?
I have it and im confused about getting this HU.
Thanks for any help

You can use this in a car with L7, it's just not an easy undertaking.

Your biggest hurdles are:

a. You will need to keep the OEM head unit tucked away in the car.
b. Your factory L7 amp will not work. You will need to power the factory speakers from the Dynavin unit and/or additional amplifiers. Your L7 system has 14 individual drivers, powered by nine independent channels. The Dynavin headunit has only 4-channels of power. Do you want to add additional amplifiers, give up some speakers or a combination of both?
biz77 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2011, 08:18 PM   #298
NJ330i
Major
 
NJ330i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Electric Red 330i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 1,367
iTrader: (29)

Garage List
2006 BMW  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by biz77 View Post
You can use this in a car with L7, it's just not an easy undertaking.

Your biggest hurdles are:

a. You will need to keep the OEM head unit tucked away in the car.
b. Your factory L7 amp will not work. You will need to power the factory speakers from the Dynavin unit and/or additional amplifiers. Your L7 system has 14 individual drivers, powered by nine independent channels. The Dynavin headunit has only 4-channels of power. Do you want to add additional amplifiers, give up some speakers or a combination of both?

So why the guys at jlevi tell me its a plug and play?
NJ330i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2011, 08:43 PM   #299
Alpine328i
Noob
 
Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

Posts: 288
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ330i View Post
So why the guys at jlevi tell me its a plug and play?
Its plug and play IF you DONT have L7.
Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 09:21 AM   #300
NJ330i
Major
 
NJ330i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Electric Red 330i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 1,367
iTrader: (29)

Garage List
2006 BMW  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ330i View Post
So why the guys at jlevi tell me its a plug and play?
Its plug and play IF you DONT have L7.
But I told them that I do have L7 and they still say it's plug and play
__________________
NJ330i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 09:55 AM   #301
canucklion
pull my finger to get your kinderฎ surprise
 
canucklion's Avatar
 
Drives: circles around you
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 10,454
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ330i View Post
But I told them that I do have L7 and they still say it's plug and play
It would be great if you could read all the replies before asking the same question over and over again.

Here's biz77's response to you a few posts up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by biz77 View Post
You can use this in a car with L7, it's just not an easy undertaking.

Your biggest hurdles are:

a. You will need to keep the OEM head unit tucked away in the car.
b. Your factory L7 amp will not work. You will need to power the factory speakers from the Dynavin unit and/or additional amplifiers. Your L7 system has 14 individual drivers, powered by nine independent channels. The Dynavin headunit has only 4-channels of power. Do you want to add additional amplifiers, give up some speakers or a combination of both?
__________________
canucklion is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 11:54 AM   #302
NJ330i
Major
 
NJ330i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Electric Red 330i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 1,367
iTrader: (29)

Garage List
2006 BMW  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by canucklion View Post
It would be great if you could read all the replies before asking the same question over and over again.

Here's biz77's response to you a few posts up.

Like i said Im looking for plug and play and what he says seems a bit complicated.

I might as well just leave it alone
NJ330i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 01:55 PM   #303
Alpine328i
Noob
 
Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

Posts: 288
iTrader: (1)

Maybe they are mistaken, but it is NOT plug and play with L7. Maybe in the future as i heard the Dynavin is making optical-compatible units soon!
Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 02:20 PM   #304
Hedges
Major General
 
Hedges's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 C63 AMG
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto

Posts: 5,181
iTrader: (8)

Order placed at pretty good price

Guess I will be looking over these threads for coolest upgrades on them
__________________
Hedges is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 02:30 PM   #305
Hedges
Major General
 
Hedges's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 C63 AMG
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto

Posts: 5,181
iTrader: (8)

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showpos...&postcount=424
__________________
Hedges is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 03:04 PM   #306
NJ330i
Major
 
NJ330i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Electric Red 330i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 1,367
iTrader: (29)

Garage List
2006 BMW  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
Maybe they are mistaken, but it is NOT plug and play with L7. Maybe in the future as i heard the Dynavin is making optical-compatible units soon!

Cool I will wait a little more then.
Thanks
NJ330i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 03:57 PM   #307
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
Maybe they are mistaken, but it is NOT plug and play with L7. Maybe in the future as i heard the Dynavin is making optical-compatible units soon!
Yeah, that will be very entertaining. I got $20 says it never happens...
VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 05:14 PM   #308
carrot
Private First Class
 
carrot's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 E90 323i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by halofox View Post
Yes.... they did the job for me today...
But my factory USB port doesn't work now....
1. Is there any way to integrate the Factory USB port into the Dynavin?

2. Aside from losing BMW Assist, Bluetooth, and Chimes, do I lose anything else by removing OEM HU? (I don't want to relocate HU.)

3. Do all the steering wheel buttons work, particularly with ipod/iphone?

4. Artwork shown with ipod/iphone on Dynavin?

Right now I really like my Voice Commands, and how my iphone connects via USB flawlessly into the HU (i.e. displays playlists, steering wheel controls, etc).

Thanks all!
__________________
11 E90 323i 6MT • AW|Black|Satin • BMW Performance Grill • F1 Pinnacle 30 • |Coded: M3 Digital Speedometer • Corner Light Del • AE-DRL | • Mtec H7 • Mtec H8 • RDash AE LED V2 • M3 Lip Spoiler • BMW SSK • Gloss Black Roof
carrot is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST