E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Official Dynavin BMW E9X Review, Pics, Questions, etc.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-28-2011, 09:04 PM   #441
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by davedave1234 View Post
Any word on the Android version for our cars? They have it for the E46 I believe but not us at this point. I wonder if there is a update yet? The last I heard was Q4 so it could be soon. I would definitely consider it then.
From what i have heard from CarAudioCraze, they will be one of the first distributors/testers of the E9X kit as they were some of the first to test the initial E9X kit.

Id email them and see what they have knowledge of.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2011, 07:36 PM   #442
320beemer
New Member
Australia
0
Rep
23
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 320I M Sport Manual
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Newcastle NSW

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by uweric5985 View Post
When the system was first installed, volume of the parking sensor is 10x louder than original, then shop put in two "filters" which help to reduce the volume. Now the volume of is like 2x louder than original.

Same thing happens to Radio, DVD and iPod mode. I am fine by setting the volume level at 3 but then I cannot hear the instruction of the navigation system.

What is the possible cause of the problem? The shop can't help much that's why I am posting here.
Did you sort the problem with the volume on the Nav yet? check my posts as I had answered someone else on this a couple of days ago
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2011, 07:37 PM   #443
320beemer
New Member
Australia
0
Rep
23
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 320I M Sport Manual
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Newcastle NSW

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mosx View Post
Thats just the way it fits. Kinda ugly isn't it? There's no way to do it better when mounting the climate controls below the stereo though. The climate controls are too deep to fit in the slot below a double DIN so it has to stick out.

A small price to pay for a pretty versatile unit
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2011, 11:34 AM   #444
pkirk
Private First Class
2
Rep
149
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 320beemer View Post
A small price to pay for a pretty versatile unit
Agreed. I've had mine installed since March. It's a damn good looking aftermarket install. So good that one of the techs at the dealership asked me if it was OEM!
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2011, 02:42 PM   #445
HellsBells
Private First Class
2
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Anyone experience this issue... As soon as I lose a GPS signal - Go in my work garage, home garage, etc... my Navigation side locks up and won't restart unless I do a complete reset of the system - getting old.
I am wondering if it has to do with the startup file. I have a 16gb card so i know it isn't that, anyone have this issue??
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2011, 10:45 PM   #446
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HellsBells View Post
Anyone experience this issue... As soon as I lose a GPS signal - Go in my work garage, home garage, etc... my Navigation side locks up and won't restart unless I do a complete reset of the system - getting old.
I am wondering if it has to do with the startup file. I have a 16gb card so i know it isn't that, anyone have this issue??
What software are you running? IGO?
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2011, 06:50 AM   #447
HellsBells
Private First Class
2
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
What software are you running? IGO?
Yes, primo..
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2011, 11:19 AM   #448
jim.e.
Lieutenant
8
Rep
526
Posts

 
Drives: 07 E90
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brampton//Markham

iTrader: (4)

correct me if I'm wrong, but the relocation of the OEM HU is only to retain the gong/chimes and no other errors will occur (i.e. no wonky yellow exclamation errors)?

If that's the case I'm installing it this weekend.

EDIT: I don't have BMW assist...pretty sure

Last edited by jim.e.; 10-14-2011 at 11:27 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2011, 11:30 AM   #449
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,322
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

This is dated but at least don't throw away/sell your old head unit.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

Quote:
Originally Posted by psychoactive View Post
Oh, is the OEM deck part of the optical buss thing that if I remove one item, every device on it will stop working?
Thanks again!
It's not easy to replace the headunit in e9x.
This are findings about it (I have Eur Spec car)

The problems with removal of the MID ( it's not just a headunit).
1) You will have to replace all Amps and probably the speakers(for l7)
2) You will lose the OEM bluetooth, cd changer (if you have it)
3) You will lose the PDC (sounds cames from the speakers)
4) Steering wheel buttons
5) The dealer wont be able to upgrade/diagnose the software in the car


5) There isn't solution yet, just keep your OEM headunit and install it when you need to upgrade/diagnose the car software.

There was thread on here recently of a guy that bought a car that had
a aftermarket unit and no OEM
He had to have an anitlock break sensor replaced it needed new software values and it couldn't be written to the cars computers
do to the head unit not being installed in the car.
Some people just swap there old unit in when they need something like
this done.

Last edited by ctuna; 10-14-2011 at 11:54 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2011, 03:40 PM   #450
HellsBells
Private First Class
2
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
What software are you running? IGO?
IGO Primo
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2011, 07:49 PM   #451
jaredlevy
Private First Class
1
Rep
196
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Long Island, New York

iTrader: (0)

Hey guys... hoping you could help me with this. I just installed the Dynavin e9x into my car and now when I turn it on, it immediately cycles through every source. I can't get it to stop and thus, I can't use the unit properly.

Anybody know what the source of the problem would be?

Video of problem can be seen here:


Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2011, 09:52 PM   #452
jaredlevy
Private First Class
1
Rep
196
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Long Island, New York

iTrader: (0)

heated seat relocation upgrade

Hey guys,

I just installed my Dynavin e9x unit and wanted to share my idea with you guys. I enjoy the look of my wood trim and didn't like the idea of relocating my heated seats to where the ashtray is. Instead, I scoured eBay and found the automatic climate control off a newer e90 (I think the 2010-11 revamp had the newer climate) and ordered it. It condenses the heated seats into the climate control unit and does away with the button strip altogether. The result, in my opinion, is a more finished looking product.

I just took one quick picture with my iPhone to show you the results. Curious to see your thoughts:
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2011, 12:13 PM   #453
homieG
Captain
homieG's Avatar
Canada
10
Rep
883
Posts

 
Drives: F
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: T.O.

iTrader: (5)

that's brilliant! Will def do the same!!

does anyone know how to get rid of the do not operate while driving msg when i play a dvd!! drives me mental!!
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2011, 09:20 AM   #454
HellsBells
Private First Class
2
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by homieG View Post
that's brilliant! Will def do the same!!

does anyone know how to get rid of the do not operate while driving msg when i play a dvd!! drives me mental!!
Go to the tools menu and uncheck brake.
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2011, 09:28 AM   #455
HellsBells
Private First Class
2
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
This is dated but at least don't throw away/sell your old head unit.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

Quote:
Originally Posted by psychoactive View Post
Oh, is the OEM deck part of the optical buss thing that if I remove one item, every device on it will stop working?
Thanks again!
It's not easy to replace the headunit in e9x.
This are findings about it (I have Eur Spec car)

The problems with removal of the MID ( it's not just a headunit).
1) You will have to replace all Amps and probably the speakers(for l7)
2) You will lose the OEM bluetooth, cd changer (if you have it)
3) You will lose the PDC (sounds cames from the speakers)
4) Steering wheel buttons
5) The dealer wont be able to upgrade/diagnose the software in the car


5) There isn't solution yet, just keep your OEM headunit and install it when you need to upgrade/diagnose the car software.

There was thread on here recently of a guy that bought a car that had
a aftermarket unit and no OEM
He had to have an anitlock break sensor replaced it needed new software values and it couldn't be written to the cars computers
do to the head unit not being installed in the car.
Some people just swap there old unit in when they need something like
this done.
This information is not entirely correct...
1. you have to replace the amp ONLY if you have l7. I replaced mine with a MS-8.
You DO NOT need to replace any speakers.
2. The Dynavin HU unit replaces the bluetooth, DVD, CD
3. Yes you lose, PDC ( I love this)
4. Dynavin comes with an adapter for the Steering wheel controls
5. True, you do need this, which I think is STUPID on BMW's part. That is why most of us have reconnected the OEM HU and moved it to the trunk.
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2011, 09:52 AM   #456
HellsBells
Private First Class
2
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim.e. View Post
correct me if I'm wrong, but the relocation of the OEM HU is only to retain the gong/chimes and no other errors will occur (i.e. no wonky yellow exclamation errors)?

If that's the case I'm installing it this weekend.

EDIT: I don't have BMW assist...pretty sure
If you don't have BMW assist or L7 amp then the only thing you would lose it the gong (which I personally am happy to lose).
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2011, 10:34 AM   #457
mapleridge
Banned
43
Rep
2,681
Posts

 
Drives: E90 N52 AT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (4)

I emailed dynavin solutions and they should have android versions in about a month.
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2011, 11:52 AM   #458
Donia330i
Major
Donia330i's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,194
Posts

 
Drives: 06 330i SGM
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (7)

What exactly does one with Logic 7 have to do to get this installed and work correctly? What features will I lose? Any major problems?
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2011, 07:51 PM   #459
qubansailor
Lieutenant
qubansailor's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
415
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donia330i View Post
What exactly does one with Logic 7 have to do to get this installed and work correctly? What features will I lose? Any major problems?
Thats what I been trying to find out too!! Someone please chime in.
__________________
E92 335i
Engine: RB//SPEC 2+ SMFW//COBB V2//AA FMIC//AP DP//BMS DCI//BMS CDV Mod//AA BOV//AE Exhaust//
Body: MTEC body w/ M3 side skirts/M3 style CF hood/LCI tails/CSL trunk lid/OSS AE/Stoptech Cross drilled rotors & steel braided brake lines
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2011, 08:00 PM   #460
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,322
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

At a minimum you have to replace the amp

Because the BMW uses a proprietary fiberoptic connection between the Head Unit and amp you have to replace it . And its 9 channels so the only thing that comes close is the MS-8 .

You need to mount the original head unit in the trunk or at least keep it to remount it if you need any programming done to the car.
This is by far the worst effect of changing to any aftermarket head unit in these cars.

Go back to entry 449 its not that far back.
and start reading foward this has been explained in this thread a lot
of times.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

Last edited by ctuna; 11-07-2011 at 08:07 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2011, 08:11 PM   #461
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Just heard from the company i got mine from that they have Android E9X units coming in within the next 7-10 business days. I am debating upgrading to one of these...

If anyone else is interested in one, you can email them (Sales@caraudiocraze.com).

Has anyone had experience with the E46 android unit? I would imagine they are very similar?
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2011, 08:17 PM   #462
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Maybe we can get a GB going on these, i dont think the guys would mind giving us a good rate.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST