E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > DIY - change rear brake pads

01-08-2011, 07:35 AM   #1
V1_R
Captain
Rep
Drives: G30 530i

Garage List
2007 335i Coupe  [10.00]
Post DIY - rear brake pads + brake pad sensor

There is a tutorial for replacing the front brake pads on this forum thanks to Mr5, and although changing the rears are very similar I thought I would document my change as a few people have been asking for the rears.

Please note: I am not a professional mechanic and have posted this information for the sake of just that... information

Step 1: Jack your car up. If your car is lowered like mine you will have trouble getting the jack in the usual location, so I used the chassis where the rear wishbones connect. (I suspect they are not actually called rear wishbones so I'll let the pictures do the talking)

Step 2a: Remove the Brake Pad Sensor. It comes with a small clip that slides into the inner pad. The clip will probably not come out with the sensor and stay on the inner pad. Remember to remove it when you take off the pad.

Step 2b: Remove the front clip.

Step 3: Crack open the 2 bolts holding the calipers in place. I used a 5/8 socket.

PLEASE NOTE - The following pictures are now from the other side of the car (left side)

Step 4: With the 2 bolts removed, the caliper will slide out. It may be held in place from slight piston pressure. A bit of strength won't hurt here. Put a fuel can or a paint can under the hub so you can rest the caliper. DON'T LET IT HANG ON THE BRAKE LINE!!

Step 5: Remove the pads. They will slide out. The outside one isn't held by any clips.

The inside pad may resist as it has the clips inside the piston.

Step 6: Pull the caliper bracket out, and clean. Ensure the sliders are clean of rust and free to slide in an out. Some Water Displacement (WD40 or similar) spray works a treat.

... and clean