E90Post
 


ProTUNING Freaks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > Australia > JB4 help needed! Bloody map 4



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-15-2015, 06:59 PM   #1
bmwheath
Private
0
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

JB4 help needed! Bloody map 4

3 FRESH LOG'S ADDED DOWN THE BOTTOM OF PAGE!!!!
Getting thrown to map4

My 335i specs at present:
JB4 ISO, running map 2
7'' cooler
bms intake
catless downpipes
Alpina trans flash

Car was serviced by bmw 2000km's ago. Ive pulled out no.1 spark plug and appeared almost new condition, though looks very very slightly lean to me.
Ive done a code check and the only code that comes up is "catless downpipes fitted", i clear the code, but my issue keeps happening.

Im wanting to take it down the 1/4 mile this weekend and not wanting to have this happen and get a map 4 half way down the dragstrip, how embarrassing that would be

Last edited by bmwheath; 04-17-2015 at 12:53 AM.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2015, 07:15 PM   #2
Scotty89
Still giggling like a little school girl...
Scotty89's Avatar
Australia
13
Rep
569
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

You need to be data logging.

The switch to map4 is a safety feature, ignoring it is not a good idea. read up on n54tech, it explains the situations that cause a map 4 switch. The number of times it flashes the dash indicators when switching tells you what fail safe is engaging.

You will need to data log and get it to switch to map 4 to see what is really wrong.

Did you replace spark plugs and coil packs when you installed JB4?
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2015, 07:35 PM   #3
7smurfs
Lieutenant
7smurfs's Avatar
Australia
9
Rep
555
Posts

Drives: SGM 135i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Sounds like a misfire or you are overshooting the target boost (target boost could have been set too low).

Start logging it and post the .csv file in n54tech forums

Also... try updating to the latest firmware and resetting 'user adjustments' back to default which is the screenshot of the firmware page on n54tech. I did this and it fixed all my issues as somehow my settings had weird values in it.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2015, 08:10 PM   #4
bmwheath
Private
0
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the replies guys. Yes the car had new plugs put in about 2 months before the JB4 got installed. Scotty89, its very hard to see anything flash on the dash when this happens, i try and look at the dash for an indication but it happens randomly and quickly! 1 time i did see my indicator lights flash once, but they may have flashed more than that i dont know (my steering wheel partially blocks my view i think).
Ive done some logs on my iphone JB4 app before but it never works out very well, either the car kicks back to 2nd gear when im trying to do a 3rd gear pull, or there is to much traffic around to rev it all the way out in 3rd gear (think its like 170km/h from memory)! Dont really want to loose my licence just to do a couple of 3rd gear pulls
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2015, 08:32 PM   #5
bmwheath
Private
0
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7smurfs View Post
Sounds like a misfire or you are overshooting the target boost (target boost could have been set too low).

Start logging it and post the .csv file in n54tech forums

Also... try updating to the latest firmware and resetting 'user adjustments' back to default which is the screenshot of the firmware page on n54tech. I did this and it fixed all my issues as somehow my settings had weird values in it.
Thanks for those details. I do not own a laptop but i bought the JB4 bluetooth thing with the JB4 phone app so its like a laptop on my phone i suppose. How do i check the boost target?? I have a feeling this might be the issue
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2015, 08:37 PM   #6
waterbottle1
Captain
waterbottle1's Avatar
19
Rep
738
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth AUSTRALIA

iTrader: (3)

i had this exact same issue once, once was my AFR to high, and once was misfiring issues (spark plugs), once was LPFP failing
even if it goes back to map4 while logging its fine, then you look back at the log and see what wen wrong at the time it changed to map4.

go from 3rd without hitting the kickback behind the accelerator.

do a log late at night... scout the strip for any hidden cameras first... and just STOP wen you see a set of car lights coming. lol
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2015, 09:28 PM   #7
fo55il
i was a terra thru da public school era ;)
Australia
26
Rep
890
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Melbourne Australia

iTrader: (0)

without connect a laptop, u will be pondering forever what the issue could be.
__________________
Boat People Run this Place!
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2015, 09:57 PM   #8
7smurfs
Lieutenant
7smurfs's Avatar
Australia
9
Rep
555
Posts

Drives: SGM 135i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwheath View Post
Thanks for those details. I do not own a laptop but i bought the JB4 bluetooth thing with the JB4 phone app so its like a laptop on my phone i suppose. How do i check the boost target?? I have a feeling this might be the issue
You will need to do some logging and check whether or not when the CEL is thrown it shows that you are overshooting the target boost.

You can adjust the target boost on the 'User Adjustment' page - it should be set at 18-19psi as default.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2015, 03:06 AM   #9
_ink
Major
_ink's Avatar
Australia
23
Rep
1,289
Posts

Drives: 335i 09' DCT M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7smurfs
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwheath View Post
Thanks for those details. I do not own a laptop but i bought the JB4 bluetooth thing with the JB4 phone app so its like a laptop on my phone i suppose. How do i check the boost target?? I have a feeling this might be the issue
You will need to do some logging and check whether or not when the CEL is thrown it shows that you are overshooting the target boost.

You can adjust the target boost on the 'User Adjustment' page - it should be set at 18-19psi as default.
On map 2, the max you should be seeing is 14.5psi, boost isn't the issue here.

Misfire is most likely the cause.

What fuel do you use?
__________________
... Check out the garage
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2015, 04:23 AM   #10
bmwheath
Private
0
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by _ink View Post
On map 2, the max you should be seeing is 14.5psi, boost isn't the issue here.

Misfire is most likely the cause.

What fuel do you use?
I use BP98 at a minimum. I think i have seen around 15psi or so on map 2.
I have just emailed myself the log graph's from my JB4 iphone onto my desktop and it displays as a fully detailed log, YAY
I just have to find somewhere to do a good clean log, not easy to find as im in the middle of the Gold Coast and revving it right out in 3rd gear is a quick way to find myself in jail lol
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2015, 06:27 AM   #11
bmwheath
Private
0
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

CHECK THE 3 NEW LOG'S BELOW

Last edited by bmwheath; 04-17-2015 at 01:20 AM.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2015, 10:41 PM   #12
_ink
Major
_ink's Avatar
Australia
23
Rep
1,289
Posts

Drives: 335i 09' DCT M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Those logs are pretty useless, you have throttle closures all over the place.

Need a solid 3rd gear pull.
__________________
... Check out the garage
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2015, 12:38 AM   #13
bmwheath
Private
0
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by _ink View Post
Those logs are pretty useless, you have throttle closures all over the place.

Need a solid 3rd gear pull.
Yeah i know, sorry about that. I have just done 3 fresh pulls in 3rd to 4th.
I cannot seem to send my csv files from my iphone app, was hoping to get them to Steve from Bms.
I triggered map4 on 1 of the pulls (maybe 1st or 2nd pull)
Was running map2, im full bolt on's apart from charge pipe (still waiting for that to turn up)
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2015, 01:19 AM   #14
kOncept
Private First Class
kOncept's Avatar
4
Rep
157
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: AUS

iTrader: (0)

Trims/AFR looks a bit strange, can you post logs showing FP L and FP H plots?
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2015, 01:21 AM   #15
Scotty89
Still giggling like a little school girl...
Scotty89's Avatar
Australia
13
Rep
569
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Create a data zap account and upload the cvs files there.

http://www.datazap.me
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2015, 01:54 AM   #16
JD75
Lieutenant
Australia
17
Rep
428
Posts

Drives: N54 135i coupe'
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwheath View Post
Yeah i know, sorry about that. I have just done 3 fresh pulls in 3rd to 4th.
I cannot seem to send my csv files from my iphone app, was hoping to get them to Steve from Bms.
I triggered map4 on 1 of the pulls (maybe 1st or 2nd pull)
Was running map2, im full bolt on's apart from charge pipe (still waiting for that to turn up)
Hey mate,

when the JB4 reverted to Map 4, did the SES light flash twice?

Your AFR's are pretty damn lean. If you have an AFR of 14:1 or leaner on either bank for more than a second above 4,500rpm, the JB4 will revert to Map 4 to protect the engine as a function of its lean-run safety feature.

Your fuel trims are maxed between 3,000rpm and 4,500rpm too.

Cheers,

JD.

P.S. please email the .csv files from those 3 pulls to justin_dean75@yahoo.com.au and I'll review them via datazap.

P.P.S. are the datalogs posted in order of pulls or was it the bottom log where the JB4 reverted to Map 4?

Last edited by JD75; 04-17-2015 at 02:23 AM. Reason: Revision
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2015, 02:14 AM   #17
_ink
Major
_ink's Avatar
Australia
23
Rep
1,289
Posts

Drives: 335i 09' DCT M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Wow, you mid range timing is in the 8's - something is seriously up.

Don't do any more WOT pulls, and leave it in stock map.

Have you made any changes in the JB4 settings interface?
__________________
... Check out the garage
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2015, 04:13 AM   #18
bmwheath
Private
0
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD75 View Post
Hey mate,

when the JB4 reverted to Map 4, did the SES light flash twice?

Your AFR's are pretty damn lean. If you have an AFR of 14:1 or leaner on either bank for more than a second above 4,500rpm, the JB4 will revert to Map 4 to protect the engine as a function of its lean-run safety feature.

Your fuel trims are maxed between 3,000rpm and 4,500rpm too.

Cheers,

JD.

P.S. please email the .csv files from those 3 pulls to justin_dean75@yahoo.com.au and I'll review them via datazap.

P.P.S. are the datalogs posted in order of pulls or was it the bottom log where the JB4 reverted to Map 4?
CSV files emailed Justin for your thorough analysis
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2015, 04:17 AM   #19
bmwheath
Private
0
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by _ink View Post
Wow, you mid range timing is in the 8's - something is seriously up.

Don't do any more WOT pulls, and leave it in stock map.

Have you made any changes in the JB4 settings interface?
As far as i know i have not touched any of the setting besides holding the exhaust flap open, and i think i slightly adjusted the wastegate setting to eliminate some of the rattle.
My car was full stock, then i originally added the JB4 and cone intakes and have been getting map4 on and off ever since.. I dont drive my car ofter so it hasn't been a big issue but i now want it soughted asap..
I have a stage 2 fuel it pump sitting here, does anybody see any fuelling issues where this pump might help at the moment??
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2015, 05:32 AM   #20
_ink
Major
_ink's Avatar
Australia
23
Rep
1,289
Posts

Drives: 335i 09' DCT M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

You can't see fuel issues with a screen shot

Do you not own a computer at all?
__________________
... Check out the garage
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2015, 06:21 PM   #21
JD75
Lieutenant
Australia
17
Rep
428
Posts

Drives: N54 135i coupe'
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwheath View Post
CSV files emailed Justin for your thorough analysis
Ok, so I was also a bit puzzled by the pre-boost/boost target on the above graphs but I thought it may have been referring to DME boost, but after looking at the .csv files on datazap I can tell you all it wasn't.

It turns out the last graph was the pull in which the JB4 reverted to Map 4 and the subsequent pulls/graphs were also done in Map 4, hence the very low Pre-Boost and Target numbers.

The last graph shows both bank 1 and bank 2 lean out to an AFR of 20:1 after the fuel trims were maxed out early in the run. The LPFP and HPFP numbers were fine, as such I asked Heath to check the FOL number and as it turns out it was set at 40. He didn't comment if the FOL auto tuning feature was disabled via FUD =2, but for the moment he has adjusted the FOL setting to 70 and will grab some more datalogs today.

Justin.
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2015, 06:26 PM   #22
bmwheath
Private
0
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by _ink View Post
You can't see fuel issues with a screen shot

Do you not own a computer at all?
Logs have been checked and apparently my fuel open loop setting was set at 40 by default, but should be at 70-80. Obviously causing the trims to max out and run lean causing it to throw to map4.
I have just changed this setting, i will go out later today and do a couple logs and report back with files to check that everything is ok!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST