E90Post
 


Evolve Automotive
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Alpine Retrofit Not Working



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-09-2011, 11:05 AM   #1
andy c
Private
 
andy c's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 320D
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London

Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)

Alpine Retrofit Not Working

Hi all, so today i finished installing the alpine hifi retrofit kit, all installed without a problem, and was working perfectly fine,

Untill i went out for a drive, about 5 mins into my drive it decided to just stop working.

Anybody have any idea on why this has happened? Or has experienced this?
__________________
[SIGPIC]
andy c is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2011, 12:35 PM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,148
iTrader: (0)

Start checking you wiring

Sounds like something may have come loose
and fuses
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2011, 01:18 PM   #3
andy c
Private
 
andy c's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 320D
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London

Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)

i have checked the two fuses, one on the amp itself, and the other on the feed from the battery,

Im not sure about the connections, because both sides of the car went, at the same time, if it would of been one side then i would put it down to a loose connection, but i dont understand how both have gone..

The amp flashes red and green light, randomly between the two, is this normal?
__________________
[SIGPIC]
andy c is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2011, 05:39 PM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,988
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy c View Post
i have checked the two fuses, one on the amp itself, and the other on the feed from the battery,

Im not sure about the connections, because both sides of the car went, at the same time, if it would of been one side then i would put it down to a loose connection, but i dont understand how both have gone..

The amp flashes red and green light, randomly between the two, is this normal?
I guess that the amp has an internal problem -a red or just unlit LED when on is never a good thing in any amp.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2011, 08:28 PM   #5
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Sounds like something may have come loose
and fuses
What radio do you have?

BMW Business CD radio, SA 662, should have the amp switch set to position 1.

All other options, Business Nav (SA 606), Pro Nav (SA 609), BMW Pro radio (SA 663), should be at position 2.

Switch is located under the amp, I think.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2011, 12:40 AM   #6
montr
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 335d
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 267
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
What radio do you have?

BMW Business CD radio, SA 662, should have the amp switch set to position 1.

All other options, Business Nav (SA 606), Pro Nav (SA 609), BMW Pro radio (SA 663), should be at position 2.

Switch is located under the amp, I think.
The switch only control the level to the subwoofer. Position #2 is about 4dB less bass than position #1.
montr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2011, 12:51 AM   #7
Imperator
Major
 
Imperator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 1,129
iTrader: (7)

How is the amp grounded? Did you use the earth post on the body at the RH-side rear wheel well?

How did you splice the connections into the branch audio connector?
Imperator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2011, 01:52 AM   #8
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by montr View Post
The switch only control the level to the subwoofer. Position #2 is about 4dB less bass than position #1.
Wow...I thought that was so much more important than it really was.

Anyway according to this thread, the newest Alpine retrofit kit should be set to position 1 regardless of HU.

EDIT: So I guess I forgot to link to the thread.....it was on a 1-series forum. Can't find it now.

Last edited by fdriller9; 01-10-2011 at 11:56 AM.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2011, 02:01 PM   #9
andy c
Private
 
andy c's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 320D
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London

Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)

i grounded the amp with the bolt that holds the battery brace into place, on the right hand side wheel well

And with regards to splicing i used the through crimps provided.

today when driving home, i noticed that with a certain song, the front speakers would pick up one specific part of the beat... maybe now thinking it could be the amp? brand new though
__________________
[SIGPIC]
andy c is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2011, 02:17 PM   #10
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,988
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy c View Post
i grounded the amp with the bolt that holds the battery brace into place, on the right hand side wheel well

And with regards to splicing i used the through crimps provided.

today when driving home, i noticed that with a certain song, the front speakers would pick up one specific part of the beat... maybe now thinking it could be the amp? brand new though
Something is loose, perhaps the ground.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2011, 02:46 PM   #11
Imperator
Major
 
Imperator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 1,129
iTrader: (7)

Try a different place for the ground- not the battery unless you just want to do a quick test.

There's a good bare-metal ground post on the body, just forward of the wheel well behind the rear seat bolster. You'll find a ground distribution junction screwed into that post.

You might also note the Alpine amp will pick up some power/alternator noise with the high-level inputs running parallel to the power wire along the last portion of the wire loom. You can eliminate this with a pair of ferrite chokes-- add one on each side of the harness, somewhat close to the amp but independent of the power wire where the loom begins to split off.
Imperator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2011, 03:57 PM   #12
andy c
Private
 
andy c's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 320D
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London

Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)

yep your right guys, it was the ground, Thanks for all the help!!!
__________________
[SIGPIC]
andy c is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2011, 04:10 PM   #13
andy c
Private
 
andy c's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 320D
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London

Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)

Ok, so now this little project is finished im thinking of upgrading the rear speakers,

Is it the same procedure as installing the alpine amp? (splice into the cables from the head unit for the rear speakers and run new cables out to the boot?)

Thanks again guys.
__________________
[SIGPIC]
andy c is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
alpine, hifi, retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST