E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > List of I-Drive Voice Commands



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-25-2007, 02:18 PM   #67
parkpo31
Enlisted Member
 
parkpo31's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Jet Black 335i Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by David325Australia View Post
Although my voice commands are limited to the Communications by phone, I thank you for the time you spent.

Cheers
So if you do not have idrive but do have assist/bluetooth then you can use voice/speech commands for "communication"?

Can you use voice commands for any other functions if you don't have idrive?

Thanks!
parkpo31 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2007, 10:30 PM   #68
6SpeedMan
Poor rich kid working
 
6SpeedMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i soon to be M3
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bellevue, Washington

Posts: 829
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
this will be very helpful thanks alot.
__________________
6SpeedMan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-09-2007, 01:00 PM   #69
jingai00
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: FL

Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)

I have a Feb 2007 production car I just recently took delivery of. I also had the iPod adapter installed at the same time.

If I do:

>New Destination<
>Enter Address<
>City Spelling<

It responds with "Please use the controller to continue."

Surely I have the latest software installed, given my car was built in February. Any ideas?

Oh, and how can I check the software revision, btw?
__________________
2007 E92 328i Space Grey over Coral Red with Grey Poplar trim
Premium / Sport / Steptronic / Comfort Access / iDrive / Park Distance Control / Power Rear Sunshade
iPod Adapter / Chrome Exhaust Tips / Cargo Organizer / Clean Bag / Roundel Valve Stem Caps
jingai00 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2007, 05:01 PM   #70
DanMardik
Captain
 
Drives: 08 INFINITI G37S
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Irvine, CA

Posts: 729
iTrader: (0)

great write up. Thanks!
__________________
RIP 2007 335i Sedan
DanMardik is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2007, 10:16 PM   #71
poiney
Captain
 
Drives: 328i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SJ

Posts: 798
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jingai00 View Post
I have a Feb 2007 production car I just recently took delivery of. I also had the iPod adapter installed at the same time.

If I do:

>New Destination<
>Enter Address<
>City Spelling<

It responds with "Please use the controller to continue."

Surely I have the latest software installed, given my car was built in February. Any ideas?

Oh, and how can I check the software revision, btw?
I have this identical trouble, but seem to have less trouble when I make entries via address book, rather than destination. In that case, I sometimes make it the whole way. Here is a related one that may be of interest. I suspect that one reason not many others complain about this problem is because more users may use the display rather than the verbal command. At least you figured out to say "spelling".

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44492
poiney is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2007, 12:07 AM   #72
poiney
Captain
 
Drives: 328i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SJ

Posts: 798
iTrader: (0)

killerbee,
So I guess Navi has a built-in for home, but no other one? I presume you didn't do anything to get this to work. Since it can listen to any city/street ,etc. I'm not sure why it can't listen to the address names. Afterall, bluetooth names work well. Bizarre.
poiney is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2007, 11:25 AM   #73
panzer948
Second Lieutenant
 
panzer948's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i E92
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, N.C.

Posts: 289
iTrader: (0)

So bascially, as long as you have a destination entered into the navigation system, whether that be from your programmed navi button, voice command for home, or manually entered for anywhere using I-drive, I can press the voice command button and say "traffic info".

But this will not work if navigation isn't directing me to a destination.
__________________
E92 335i coupe, Sport Package, Premium Package, Steptronic, I-drive, Comfort Access, Satellite Radio, Park Distance Control, Power Sunshades, Heated Front Seats, Front Aero Lip & Hamann Side Skirts

My ED Trip Report My Online Photo Album Short Video of ED
panzer948 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2007, 04:05 PM   #74
Kimo
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: e90 e85 e46 e31
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Maryland

Posts: 358
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by killer_bee View Post

Oh "FM" or "AM" goes to 1st preset stations No need to say "FM on" or "FM presets".
Got Sirius? If so, are you aware that you can now say "Sat Radio Channel XX" and the radio will switch to Channel XX. This is a new function.
__________________
Kimo --
His: ............2001 (e46) 330i, Jet Black
Hers:...........2006 (e90) 330i, Sapphire Black
Ours #1:....2008 (e85) Z4 3.0si, Jet Black
Ours #2:....1992 (e31) 850i, Jet Black
Kimo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2007, 08:17 PM   #75
poiney
Captain
 
Drives: 328i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SJ

Posts: 798
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by killer_bee View Post
"Navigation Home" routes to home.
Unfortunately I can't get it to route to other named addresses like "Work" through my voice command....yet

p.s. yes I know how to get to work and home but I actually use RTTI

Are you sure this is correct? I have a recent update of Navi, but it doesn't have this feature. I've tried various permutations of what you mentioned, but nothing worked.

I'm interested in knowing because I have a lot of trouble inputting the home address. Evidently because it is first with a special icon I have trouble getting the mouse to take me down to that listing.
poiney is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-26-2007, 12:11 AM   #76
killer_bee
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: like a Maniac!
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: L.A.

Posts: 253
iTrader: (0)

I went back and deleted confusing posts. This is VERY easy

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335inSC View Post
Does anyone know if there is a comman that will take you directly to the Traffic Info?
1. Start fresh from the main menu. Hit Menu button or say "Menu"
2. blip: "Navigation"
3. blip: "Traffic Info" (leave a gap between "Traffic" and "Info", it understands better)

Quote:
Originally Posted by panzer948 View Post
But this will not work if navigation isn't directing me to a destination.
That's what I thought but as you can see above, you don't have to input a destination and wait for it to calculate a route.

Attached Images
  

Last edited by killer_bee; 05-26-2007 at 12:28 AM.
killer_bee is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-26-2007, 06:53 AM   #77
poiney
Captain
 
Drives: 328i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SJ

Posts: 798
iTrader: (0)

Nominally, I've done all that, and it doesn't work. However, it's been a while, so I'll edit my home address again to see if it works this time.
poiney is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-26-2007, 10:00 PM   #78
killer_bee
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: like a Maniac!
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: L.A.

Posts: 253
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by poiney View Post
Nominally, I've done all that, and it doesn't work. However, it's been a while, so I'll edit my home address again to see if it works this time.
Shit, you are right, doesn't work. Since I stop guidance when I pull into my driveway, it was just re-routing me home. I'm gonna go shoot myself now.
killer_bee is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2007, 08:02 AM   #79
Jimbert
Jim
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 335xi, M Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Eagan, Minnesota

Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to Jimbert Send a message via Yahoo to Jimbert
No i-Drive Manual

I just got a 335xi, produced in May '07. It came with about a 4 page reference guide to the i-Drive. There was no manual for it and nothing about it in the owner's manual. The dealer gave me a 5 series owner's manual that they say is "close" but not exactly like the 335. I have not found an online 335 manual. Has anybody else run into this? I can't believe they don't include a manual for the most complicated option on the car!!!!!!!!!! That's just dumb.

Jim
20007 335xi, Montego Blue, Terra leather, almost all options
Jimbert is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-20-2007, 02:00 PM   #80
4-series
The best BMW ever!
 
4-series's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Bay, CA

Posts: 246
iTrader: (0)

Latest Voice Commands from the manual

sharing.. not sure what is different.
Attached Images
    
4-series is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2007, 07:14 PM   #81
Surfer01
Private
 
Surfer01's Avatar
 
Drives: Montego 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

Aux menu not working

does anyone have the problem when they say vc aux menu it takes u to time
Surfer01 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2007, 09:23 PM   #82
dsb102
Registered
 
Drives: 330xi
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

I believe the vc is "Audio Aux"
dsb102 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2007, 09:07 AM   #83
yatesey
Private
 
yatesey's Avatar
 
Drives: 320 SE cab
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NWest UK

Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
hi guys.....sorry if this has been mentioned b4...but theres a cute set of voice command cards for the ashtray, available from tec accessories....forget how i stumbled over it...take a look at the link below

its mainly for the USA market so not all the commands work in the uk..but worth a look..nifty pen included too

http://www.tecaccessories.com/produc...duct.php?II=15

cheers
__________________



"sex on legs!...well.. wheels!!..."
yatesey is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2007, 09:09 AM   #84
yatesey
Private
 
yatesey's Avatar
 
Drives: 320 SE cab
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NWest UK

Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
actually the link for the ashtray with the pen and cards is

http://www.tecaccessories.com/produc...duct.php?II=18

sorry
__________________



"sex on legs!...well.. wheels!!..."
yatesey is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2007, 08:22 PM   #85
EST-E90
**NEW MEMBER**
 
Drives: '08 328i - MANUAL
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Geeeez!!! That was so nice of you! I love my new E-90 and its Navi/Bluetooth, etc. See you at Bimmerfest in Santa Barbara.
EST-E90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2008, 03:15 PM   #86
CRZ410S
First Lieutenant
 
CRZ410S's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 335i Vert
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Suburbs of Philly

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

Appreciate the PDF file. Thanks!!
__________________
E93 08 335i Vert | 6 spd | Barbera Red ext/Blk Int | Sprt/Prem pkgs | Comfort/Nav/Ipod/Sirius | + some custom work
CRZ410S is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2008, 09:38 PM   #87
xcougar
Registered
 
Drives: 2006 325i sparkling graphite
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

looking for voice commands for 2006 bluetooth option, without idrive

Hello,
I just bought a 2006 325i without navigation or idrive.
It does have trainable voice commands, much fewer than the full set as noted here, seems to be limited to phone.
"Help" lists a few commands like "save a name" "delete"
which are not on the list here and some listed here for the phone like "phone" "A to Z" "options" dont work.

I was wondering where I can read about the full capabilities of this. The manuals I have and the online videos don't cover voice commands. One online video recommends reading the manual for voice commands. Previous owner gave me what they had as far as I can see.
Thanks!
xcougar is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2008, 05:35 PM   #88
laurenty
Private
 
laurenty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside, CA

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 328is  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfer01 View Post
does anyone have the problem when they say vc aux menu it takes u to time
"Aux Menu" never works for me. I used "options" while in the entertainment screen and used exactly what they say... and it takes me to "time"
laurenty is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST