E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > How to Code Your Vehicle - for FREE



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-26-2011, 01:17 PM   #45
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
108
Rep
4,449
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

You're #13 is like that because you try to outline retrofitting the CIC in #10 but only say to add to the VO.
If you correctly retrofit by adding to the VO and then coding the whole car or each module in expert mode it would've been fixed already.
Please update with a note as this is pretty important information for those that don't want to botch their DIY endeavors.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2011, 01:57 PM   #46
jasonn
JDM Slut
jasonn's Avatar
United_States
86
Rep
4,234
Posts

Drives: 07 e90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: CA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
You're #13 is like that because you try to outline retrofitting the CIC in #10 but only say to add to the VO.
If you correctly retrofit by adding to the VO and then coding the whole car or each module in expert mode it would've been fixed already.
Please update with a note as this is pretty important information for those that don't want to botch their DIY endeavors.
So essentially:
  1. Install CIC
  2. Add to Vehicle Order.
  3. Recode car in Expert Profile.

Bimmer Retrofit told me the CIC was precoded and PNP. So essentially this is false, because a full recoding with NCSExpert Profile is necessary for all modules to be communicating correctly. I do not disagree. However, the issue is not so simple:

Then another question, to access CIC, Production Date needs to be changed. Changing to a newer production date and then recoding the entire car with the wrong production date is not advised correct?

Further, with new production date...FRM becomes NFRM. There will be errors if re-coding the entire car.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2011, 02:14 PM   #47
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
108
Rep
4,449
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Yes the CIC may be but for exactly the reason outlined in #13, the Kombi and possibly other options need to be recoded per the VO but yes, I understand concern with the date change.

It just leads me to believe there are more modules connected that should be updated to communicate with the CIC than solely the Kombi
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2011, 03:09 PM   #48
veightkiller
Brigadier General
veightkiller's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
4,154
Posts

Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver,B.C

iTrader: (3)

Thanks for this info!
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2011, 05:41 PM   #49
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
mkPOTO's Avatar
286
Rep
16,323
Posts

Drives: 2002 Lexus GS300
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

iTrader: (24)

Garage List
great write up!
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2011, 02:26 PM   #50
Bender1012
Private
United_States
0
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Hamilton, MA

iTrader: (0)

Gonna give a free bump to this thread, it was useful to me when I was looking for updated drivers for my cable.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2011, 10:29 PM   #51
binjijiloo0
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

awesome man, thanks for the info!
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2012, 03:20 PM   #52
lordofthering
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 535xi
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

This is excellent DIY. It can save big $$$ since any shop can demand big who does the same. I do not think many shop out there can do coding on BMW. Nice to know this so we are not dependent....

Downloaded the software and ordered USB Cable from eBay http://www.ebay.com/itm/220922491870...84.m1439.l2649 for $51.73 (supports BMW's build from 1998 - 2010). Once it comes will test it out. Original Poster has recommended expensive $99 one but now a days there is no rocket science in Chinese making exact same cable which is working same or better. For any reason, it does not work I will return and buy expensive one.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2012, 06:53 PM   #53
Neutrino45
Major
Neutrino45's Avatar
31
Rep
1,445
Posts

Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordofthering View Post
Once it comes will test it out. Original Poster has recommended expensive $99 one but now a days there is no rocket science in Chinese making exact same cable which is working same or better.
You're actually wrong about this. On the original coding post, the manufacturer actually created an account and explained why not all cables are the same.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2012, 08:14 PM   #54
lordofthering
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 535xi
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neutrino45 View Post
You're actually wrong about this. On the original coding post, the manufacturer actually created an account and explained why not all cables are the same.
You could be right and yet to be seen. If I would be manufacturer I would do the same for market my cable. Personally I do not see reason why it can't do the same..will find out the same. As long as it can do what i intend to do, I will be happy.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2012, 01:36 PM   #55
DRWS10
Enlisted Member
United_States
0
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2007 White BMW 328xi
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

iTrader: (0)

Subscribing, this is amazing! Thanks
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2012, 08:46 PM   #56
ootrtfx
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 3
Join Date: May 2009
Location: us

iTrader: (0)

Im following the pdf and I'm stuck on step 67. There is no BC_DIGITAL_V in my FSW_PSW.MAN file. Also, my FSW_PSW>MAN file looks different from the screenshot. I believe it says "e90" and "limousine" somewhere at the beginning. Any ideas?


Edit:figured it out

Last edited by ootrtfx; 01-15-2012 at 10:00 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2012, 06:33 AM   #57
m0mo
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: los angeles, ca

iTrader: (0)

thanks!
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2012, 01:54 PM   #58
BMWNTHZST
Enthusiast
BMWNTHZST's Avatar
Canada
22
Rep
1,032
Posts

Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (25)

Garage List
Can someone chine in and confirm whether the software issues I'm experiencing are with the 64-bit processor or the 64-bit operating system?

I can always install a 32-bit version of Windows on a 64-bit processor, but if it's the hardware then I'm screwed

Thanks!
__________________
2011 E70 X5 ///M Black Sapphire Metallic / Black
2008 E93 335i Black Sapphire Metallic / Saddle Brown
1997 840Ci Jet Black / Black
2004 E46 ///M3 Laguna Seca Blue / Black
2011 E92 ///M3 Alpine White / Black (gone but not forgotten )
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2012, 04:09 PM   #59
axis
First Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
343
Posts

Drives: 2011 Steel Gray C 300
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWNTHZST View Post
Can someone chine in and confirm whether the software issues I'm experiencing are with the 64-bit processor or the 64-bit operating system?

I can always install a 32-bit version of Windows on a 64-bit processor, but if it's the hardware then I'm screwed

Thanks!
You just need a 32 bit OS. 64 bit processor doesn't matter.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2012, 04:47 PM   #60
BMWNTHZST
Enthusiast
BMWNTHZST's Avatar
Canada
22
Rep
1,032
Posts

Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (25)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by axis View Post
You just need a 32 bit OS. 64 bit processor doesn't matter.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2012, 10:39 PM   #61
jrdnlc
Captain
jrdnlc's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
639
Posts

Drives: E90 328i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (3)

Awesome diy. Thanks OP
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2012, 07:38 PM   #62
Barrique_Red
Private
Barrique_Red's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado 1876

iTrader: (0)

Received my cable from one-stop elec 20 days after ordering it. Installed the software, waded thru the driver init, and finally plugged it into my vehicle today to see how things work. I followed a tutorial pdf file and every step worked fine << I didn't do any actual coding, only followed the "read" car values portion of the tutorial >>.

One thing I notice is the tutorial was going to show how I could turn on the digital speed display using the BC wand. However, the option BC_DIGITAL_V was already set to "actif" in our file. Now I am not sure I followed all the directions correctly, because I certainly do not have digital speed display.

Anyone else notice this on a USA E90 325xi from 2006?

tia
mikey.
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2012, 01:05 PM   #63
BMWNTHZST
Enthusiast
BMWNTHZST's Avatar
Canada
22
Rep
1,032
Posts

Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (25)

Garage List
Can anyone tell me the memory requirements of INPA Coding software?
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2012, 11:32 AM   #64
Barrique_Red
Private
Barrique_Red's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado 1876

iTrader: (0)

I may have overlooked something, hope someone can answer this.

I have a cable, and am able to load up the software and run it enough to read my vehicle information. Haven't done any actual coding, although I did register my new battery yesterday.

But, one thing I'd like to be able to do is clear the CC codes. You know, like they do with a standard OBD-II reader. If a code comes up, I want to clear it to see if it comes back (is persistent?).

I tried searching the forums, but I don't know what to call it, and I get tons of hits where people are talking about actual coding (changing options and features of their cars).

Can someone point me to a thread or discussion on dealing with the codes themselves?

thanks.

Last edited by Barrique_Red; 01-25-2012 at 11:38 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2012, 03:30 AM   #65
jcf118
New Member
Canada
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GTA

iTrader: (0)

Does the cable work on the 2011 328i xdrive cars? In the description it says 'This Interface allows FULL diagnostic of BMW's build from 1998 - 2010' but doesn't mention 2011.
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2012, 03:51 AM   #66
GB///M5
Captain
GB///M5's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
723
Posts

Drives: E90 335i, F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M5  [5.00]
2008 335i  [5.00]
Thank you!!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:56 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST