E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > How to Code Your Vehicle - for FREE



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-25-2012, 10:23 PM   #89
mp1472
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: e60
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa

iTrader: (0)

ty for this
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2012, 09:41 PM   #90
hackR
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 m3, 2008 328xi wagon
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central NY, USA

iTrader: (0)

confused...can this be done using a windows 7 x64 operating system laptop?...
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 11:39 PM   #91
antzcrashing
Major
antzcrashing's Avatar
72
Rep
1,342
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston MA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackR10 View Post
confused...can this be done using a windows 7 x64 operating system laptop?...
EDIABAS and INPA will work on win7 64 - that is what I am doing. NCSEXPERT requires 32 bit, so many are using a virtual machine to run XP or other backroute approach. I am still trying to determine how I will do it.

Much props to OP for writing this, got me started and I am very excited to have this. I would add to the tutorial it is imperitive that COM1 is used, source of my confusion - and it can be changed in COM settings, advanced settings, and using the drop down menu to select COM 1 if it is anything else

FYI I bought this one for $45 from amazon:
Interface USB OBD2 OBD II for BMW - INPA/Ediabas - K+DCAN
sold by: OBD-HotSales
shipping was faster than estimated (I have no affiliation to them btw)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o00_s00_i00
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2013, 03:17 PM   #92
PhoenixRising
Important text here
United_States
7
Rep
130
Posts

Drives: 2013 M3 Conv
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
What a great writeup! I should have my cable this weekend. I'm looking to tweak some settings on my 2013 E93 M3. I know that this is the e90 forum and I'm wondering if these instructions apply to all E9x models?

Thanks in advance for your help!
__________________

2009 AM V8 Vantage Conv - Berwick Bronze, Quicksilver Exhaust
2013 M3 Conv - (RIP) thanks to uninsured a-hole
2004 Porsche 911 C4S Conv
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2013, 09:51 PM   #93
PhoenixRising
Important text here
United_States
7
Rep
130
Posts

Drives: 2013 M3 Conv
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BostonBeemah View Post
im having the exact same issues except im trying on an 08 135i.. Any solution yet
I'm also having issues in Windows 7.

When setting up the ports I changed the cable to port1(COM) and set the latency to '1', but I don't see any areas to update FIFO and am worried this is holding me up. (see pic)

When I launch INPALOAD it connects and shows the 2 black circles.
I select E90 for my M3.
Select Karosserie, then airbag. F5 doesn't do anything, so I hit enter and get this message below in the attachment.

I should state that my car is a 2013 E93 M3. I know that it's on the newer side, but I did update the datens with the LADEN.BAT files. Am I missing something else here?

Usually I'm very good at figuring this stuff out. Thanks in advance for your help!
Attached Images
 
__________________

2009 AM V8 Vantage Conv - Berwick Bronze, Quicksilver Exhaust
2013 M3 Conv - (RIP) thanks to uninsured a-hole
2004 Porsche 911 C4S Conv
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2013, 02:48 AM   #94
comaing83
Private
United_States
0
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 328i E92
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Haslett, MI

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know where can i get the softwares(NCSExpert, Inpa, Ediabas)?
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2013, 02:58 AM   #95
comaing83
Private
United_States
0
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 328i E92
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Haslett, MI

iTrader: (0)

is there any way to download NCSExpert, Inpa, Ediabas????
Help Plz......
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2013, 03:31 AM   #96
Ruhnie
Private First Class
Ruhnie's Avatar
17
Rep
160
Posts

Drives: 2015 m235i 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by comaing83 View Post
is there any way to download NCSExpert, Inpa, Ediabas????
Help Plz......
Try the download at this link, looks like someone zipped up all the original software you need:

Click Me
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2013, 05:43 PM   #97
xFlaTLinE
Enlisted Member
xFlaTLinE's Avatar
No_Country
1
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: 2011 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central Jersey

iTrader: (0)

To OP: would you happen to have the code for digitally displaying your speed in real time on the LED display above the steering wheel?

In addition, would i be able to run this on Mac?
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 12:39 PM   #98
ajh77
Private
1
Rep
80
Posts

Drives: 2010 328i coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

The software links don't work:

2. What else do I need?
NCSExpert, Inpa, Ediabas. Download here | MediaFire Mirror

4. Ok I bought the cable, now what?
Follow xxxjecxxx's PDF guide. Download here | MediaFire Mirror


Neither links work...please fix
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 02:07 PM   #99
ajh77
Private
1
Rep
80
Posts

Drives: 2010 328i coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

# 2 & 4 Links Don't Work...

The number 2 link does not work (software download link)
The number 4 link does not work (PDF)

Please fix
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 07:50 AM   #100
Gangsta
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI 320D SE MY09
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London, Chingford

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajh77 View Post
The number 2 link does not work (software download link)
The number 4 link does not work (PDF)

Please fix
Search google for the files, the type the complete name, worked first time for me!

My problem is the cable, I bought one and it does not work, yes it was alternative china copy for 22 (looks exactly same! hence).

INPA does connect, but only 1 black dot for battery, the ignition dot does not go black.

I opened the box to have a look at the circuit board, to see if its the pin 8 K-line issue, as I have a MY11/2009 E90 which is DCan with Ethernet on pin 8. Any way I was amazed to find both pin 7 and 8 together (as expected) but they do not connect on the circuit board at all (some one is china is having a laugh!) I will post a pick.

Im just going to buy the one from one stop shop (automotive-tool on eBay), I wonder whats the lowest offer I can make?
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2013, 07:16 AM   #101
Saty
Registered
Saty's Avatar
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 Pre LCI 2008 320d
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: India

iTrader: (0)

Another cable to be ordered soon

Have already ordered two cables and even though they seem to be fine, haven't managed to get them to work. First was from China( Cheap 30 one) second from UK, from eBay. Seller has sold tons of cables and has almost all positive feedback. Will try for a bit more to make the cables work or another cable shall soon be on its way!
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2013, 07:47 PM   #102
Gangsta
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI 320D SE MY09
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London, Chingford

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saty View Post
Have already ordered two cables and even though they seem to be fine, haven't managed to get them to work. First was from China( Cheap 30 one) second from UK, from eBay. Seller has sold tons of cables and has almost all positive feedback. Will try for a bit more to make the cables work or another cable shall soon be on its way!
It works out 65 buying from one stop shop, so in hindsight it would be cheaper to buy one that we know allegedly works?

I would like to know if anyone has managed to get the china copies to work, I've tried all the things posted without any luck.

I think the china copies work on per LCI cars, cars with most interface on pin 8 don't work with the cheaper copies, m guessing, any one got any evidence to refute or support this?
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2013, 06:13 AM   #103
Saty
Registered
Saty's Avatar
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 Pre LCI 2008 320d
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: India

iTrader: (0)

I couldn't agree more with you that One Stop should have been the way to go right from the start, but some people just don't listen do they? :-)

Anyways, will be opening both the cables to have a look at their guts and see if I can figure anything out. Also, will download new software (only INPA) Just need to clear some restraint error. No really interested in coding yet! I think you might have a point about the cheap Chinese cables working only on pre 03/2007 cars
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2013, 04:03 PM   #104
smc325xi
Enlisted Member
smc325xi's Avatar
1
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: 2006 e91 325xi
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington

iTrader: (0)

Can one of the owners of the code spreadsheet unhide the year colums? Only column F shows. Also, the header row is missing?
Thanks,
SMc
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2013, 06:18 AM   #105
Gangsta
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI 320D SE MY09
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London, Chingford

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saty View Post
I couldn't agree more with you that One Stop should have been the way to go right from the start, but some people just don't listen do they? :-)

Anyways, will be opening both the cables to have a look at their guts and see if I can figure anything out. Also, will download new software (only INPA) Just need to clear some restraint error. No really interested in coding yet! I think you might have a point about the cheap Chinese cables working only on pre 03/2007 cars
Okay to undo my error of buying the China copy, I bought the recomended one from onestopshop direct rather than their ebay shop (worked 10 cheaper at 65) actually its been a while since i tried the new cable (the urge seems to have worn off) because when I connect it, drums... both dots stayed white (at thas point id given up hope) I put down to my blufin remap, as they had to unlock my ECU which I thought may have made it non standard! any way made one last attempt the other day and thought it may have been the installation that was causing the problems, and I was right, you have to make sure that your windows is on C: my laptop had another partition which was given the C: drive id, i did change the path to ediabas D:\ediabas\bin, but there must be other references in the Zip contents (see post link below) that I copied to my D:

Anyway its worked fine when Formated my hd, fresh intalled xp on C:, prior to this i had failed attempts when I intalled on My desktop with multiboot partitions such as win7 64bit, winxp 64bit etc, winxp 32bit, I now think all failed for same reason. I want to try out the chinese one too incase that does work after all.

I done the airbag test that was successful, I have reduced xxxjexxx NCS_DIY.pdf to 6 pages and put in all the advice from post (http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ghlight=coding), to make easy to follow on device like ipad...

Last edited by Gangsta; 06-18-2013 at 06:40 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 04:36 PM   #106
jasonn
JDM Slut
jasonn's Avatar
United_States
90
Rep
4,233
Posts

Drives: 07 e90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: CA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
FWIW I have changed my opinion of the blank .man approach.

Expert Profile --> Gets everything communicating properly, all modules shake hands and cooperate based on Vehicle Code. Your coding doesn't change.

Blank .man Approach --> Resets everything. Default values provided. Coding changes gone.

Also, all the warnings should be taken with a grain of salt. I have never heard of any disasters with coding. Anything and everything can be reset back to original worst case scenario.

Programming, on the other hand, you should be more careful. But there are checks and balances there too. WinKFP won't let you proceed without the proper prep anyway. Just make sure you have a stable voltage. That's primary concern with programming from my experience.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2013, 11:17 PM   #107
acid_byte
New Member
acid_byte's Avatar
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: E92 [320d]
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Luxembourg

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Smile Thank you!

This is amazing, thank you so much for taking the time writing this up. Great info indeed.

I'm planning on doing some retrofitting soonish myself and this will come in very handy.

Appreciate 0
      08-23-2013, 02:30 PM   #108
Jhelgesen
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 06 325i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte NC

iTrader: (0)

Looking forward to trying this out. Thanks for sharing.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2013, 01:56 PM   #109
tonyteam
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: 535d E60 272hp
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

to code my E90 with sirena alarm, BC_digital, WelcomeLight need ista sp-E89 daten? or it needn't?
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2013, 02:21 PM   #110
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
United_States
24
Rep
861
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyteam View Post
to code my E90 with sirena alarm, BC_digital, WelcomeLight need ista sp-E89 daten? or it needn't?
Needed ..............
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:57 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST