E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Are satellite images available for 2009+ idrive?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-08-2011, 09:57 PM   #1
TomBMW
First Lieutenant
TomBMW's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
305
Posts

Drives: IB DCT e92 ///M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Miami Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Are satellite images available for 2009+ idrive?

On the 3 series? Anyone?
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2011, 03:34 AM   #2
BMWDude49120
Second Lieutenant
BMWDude49120's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: 2014 X3 35i M Sport
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Niles, MI

iTrader: (0)

I'm not sure what you're asking. My 2011 came with satellite images pre-installed. Didn't the 09's come with these, too?
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2011, 09:46 AM   #3
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
531
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomBMW View Post
On the 3 series? Anyone?
Satellite images over 1 mile of scale is a MY2010-on iDrive software feature... however, if you get your iDrive updated at your dealer right now the software that they will install is MY2011.5 and that may have the Satellite images enabled for MY2009.

My MY2009 iDrive was just updated with the MY2011.5 software but the Sat images are not shown so far, but I will try to see if I can enable by custom coding that feature somehow as it is there.
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2011, 08:03 PM   #4
TomBMW
First Lieutenant
TomBMW's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
305
Posts

Drives: IB DCT e92 ///M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Miami Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Ya, because it's a checkbox in one of the option menus to enable satellite images. I don't have this check box. Also, are the 3d buildings more dense in the later versions? right now it's really sparce, few and far between.
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2011, 08:42 PM   #5
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
531
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomBMW View Post
Ya, because it's a checkbox in one of the option menus to enable satellite images. I don't have this check box. Also, are the 3d buildings more dense in the later versions? right now it's really sparce, few and far between.
The checkbox do nothing in both MY2009 software and MY2011.5 software in a MY2009 CIC hardware, so far.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2011, 05:42 AM   #6
Steveo
Lieutenant
Steveo's Avatar
Scotland
19
Rep
542
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

I would have thought that the sat images would be on the Nav DVD that has to be loaded into the CIC, so it would have to be the latest Nav DVD set loaded in order to work???
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2011, 08:37 AM   #7
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
531
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
I would have thought that the sat images would be on the Nav DVD that has to be loaded into the CIC, so it would have to be the latest Nav DVD set loaded in order to work???
I have the latest USA 2010.1 maps with MY2011.5 CIC software and still no Sat images; Sat images display seem to be a combination of CIC coding issue with map software version.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2011, 01:54 PM   #8
Steveo
Lieutenant
Steveo's Avatar
Scotland
19
Rep
542
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Technic,

I managed to get the option of satellite images in the IDrive menu coded in,
but even when selected and at 2.5 mile zoom, still no sat images, i have 2010 maps Europe

Still needs work....
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2011, 08:39 PM   #9
David1
Brigadier General
David1's Avatar
United_States
112
Rep
3,062
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 09 X5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: City With No Room For Ludicris Speed!

iTrader: (0)

I don't think the Satellite images are a big deal. My loaner 535 had it and after 5 minutes, I was like big deal.
__________________
09 335i Coupe LBM - Black Dakota/Glacier aluminum-6spd|Nav|M-Sport|Premium|Logic7|Heated Seats|CA|BMW Performance Suspension & M3 Control Arms|M3 lip spoiler|Avant Garde M510 Wheels
07 335 coupe - Sold
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2011, 11:20 PM   #10
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
531
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
Technic,

I managed to get the option of satellite images in the IDrive menu coded in,
but even when selected and at 2.5 mile zoom, still no sat images, i have 2010 maps Europe

Still needs work....
Do you know exactly the name of the variable to be coded and which ECU? I cannot see anything in the CIC TRC file that even resembles Satellite view.
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2011, 01:27 PM   #11
Steveo
Lieutenant
Steveo's Avatar
Scotland
19
Rep
542
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Do you know exactly the name of the variable to be coded and which ECU? I cannot see anything in the CIC TRC file that even resembles Satellite view.
Well if you can let me know how i get my video in motion working again that was coded by Patryk but is now not working since i used the latest daten files I'll send you my TRC file
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2011, 01:39 PM   #12
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
531
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
Well if you can let me know how i get my video in motion working again that was coded by Patryk but is now not working since i used the latest daten files I'll send you my TRC file
I don't have the video in motion activated much less know how to code it as it takes something else other than NCS to enabled it.

Patryk should fix that for you once he's back from vacation this weekend.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2011, 10:01 PM   #13
TomBMW
First Lieutenant
TomBMW's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
305
Posts

Drives: IB DCT e92 ///M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Miami Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

LOL yeah, but it sucks to know it's there but can't be used..

Quote:
Originally Posted by David1 View Post
I don't think the Satellite images are a big deal. My loaner 535 had it and after 5 minutes, I was like big deal.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2012, 10:22 AM   #14
JustinGTP
Captain
JustinGTP's Avatar
Canada
29
Rep
606
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta

iTrader: (0)

I would like to know if this has been done by anyone with a 2009-2010.

Also, if you update the CIC software will it also change how songs are displayed from a USB device? If so, then I won't update the software as I prefer how the 2009 displays tracks as a list rather than as a single song.

(I know the 2011 can show a "directory" but it isn't the same as the 2009. 2009 has browse directory also.) The "Current Playback" screen is what I'm referring to and it looks nicer on the 09 than the 11.
__________________
'09 LCI 335i E90 in BSM over Oyster Dakota Leather, 6 spd, Sport, Navigation, Individual Audiophile, Executive, Active Steering, JB4 + MHD BEF, 335is Exhaust w/AWE Tuning Tips, AFE DCI, Euro Tails/Fog Light Switch, various painted and other OEM + mods, 19" M5 reps summer, 18" M6 GC reps winter.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2012, 10:35 AM   #15
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
531
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

The Sat images "activation" in a 2009 CIC is a combination of a software update (to post MY2010) and a maps update after the software update.

In other words, if the CIC is updated without updating the maps afterwards then it will not be any sat images activation. The CIC update will "enable" the sat image partition in the map update.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 04:46 PM   #16
GetSomeE92
Major
United_States
16
Rep
1,175
Posts

Drives: '09 Space Gray E92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The Sat images "activation" in a 2009 CIC is a combination of a software update (to post MY2010) and a maps update after the software update.

In other words, if the CIC is updated without updating the maps afterwards then it will not be any sat images activation. The CIC update will "enable" the sat image partition in the map update.
Is this something that has to be done at the dealer? I'm trying to decide when and how I should update, as there is a lot of road work and highway building going on here in Miami.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 06:15 PM   #17
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
531
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GetSomeE92 View Post
Is this something that has to be done at the dealer? I'm trying to decide when and how I should update, as there is a lot of road work and highway building going on here in Miami.
Forum vendor BimmerTech can do that for you, and more.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2012, 03:26 PM   #18
GetSomeE92
Major
United_States
16
Rep
1,175
Posts

Drives: '09 Space Gray E92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Forum vendor BimmerTech can do that for you, and more.
Any idea on what that would cost?
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2012, 05:10 PM   #19
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
161
Rep
1,786
Posts


Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GetSomeE92 View Post
Any idea on what that would cost?
Please send us your VIN at info@bimmer-tech.net and we would be happy to send you a quote.
__________________
BimmerTech
Phone (USA): (646) 439-7920 (7:00am - 3:00pm ET) :: info@bimmer-tech.net :: www.bimmer-tech.net
Installation facilities worldwide.

Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST