E90Post

GetBMWParts

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > E90 Logic 7 upgrade questions

02-18-2011, 08:22 PM   #1
austinjsb8
Private
Rep

Drives: 2008 335i

E90 Logic 7 upgrade questions

Okay guys,

I hate to make a NEW post as there are SO MANY concerning these issues but i have spent the last two days reading things on the internet and i simply cannot get the direction i am looking for.

My goal is to upgrade the Logic 7 stereo as i think the aftermarket 4 speaker + subwoofer system in my Seqouia sounds WAY better... so much for the 13 speakers I also install everything myself as i enjoy it and value what i learn. I am no professional but i can handle the install, it'll just take me a while

Here is what i gathered from reading other posts:
- Simply adding an aftermarket Subwoofer is quite simple with a TRUNK-PAC LOC, amplifier and sub. I am currently planning to install my 13w6 in sealed box with a JL 500/1 this weekend.
- Upgrading the speakers and factory amp is MUCH more difficult.
- From what I can tell there are really three main options:
1) Easiest option would be to purchase the BSW stage 1, and possibly stage 2
2) Purchase a JL Cleansweep or Rockford 3sixty.2 etc. which will give me the ability to fully replace the speakers and factory amp to my preferences, along with countless equilizer settings, etc.
3) Pruchase a JL HD amp or similar which i think i read connects to the factory speakers without a Cleansweep/3sixty.2? Not sure if this is correct.

So here are my questions:
1) SUBWOOFER: I have the SOEM-T PAC LOC and it can handle 60watts. Is this adequate? i've read you should have 70+? Also my 330 does not have fold down rear seats. Will i even be able to hear the JL Sub or will all the sound simply stay in the trunk? Also is dynamatting worth the time and is it really difficult?