E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > How long can a ........????



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-23-2011, 03:06 PM   #1
simples
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: london

Posts: 274
iTrader: (0)

How long can a ........????

u dirty feckers!!!

Seriously

How long can a Rj11 cable be for broadband before it is deemed you you will start having connection probs. basically need to run one from downstairs master to upstairs router..
simples is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 03:32 PM   #2
Raj59
BMW Miniature Collector!
 
Raj59's Avatar
 
Drives: E60 LCI 525i M Sport Auto
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Leicestershire

Posts: 4,845
iTrader: (0)

If you get a good quality high speed cable, (check the speed rating), then there should not be any major problems or you noticing any major reduction in speed, whatever the length.

I had a quick look some time ago for someone, and saw that a decent ADSL RJ11 cable had a max length of around 7m.
That might have changed since then.
__________________
My BMW Miniature Collection: www.bmw-miniatures.co.uk
Raj59 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 04:39 PM   #3
ed335d
Major General
 
ed335d's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Surrey, UK

Posts: 6,899
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
57 e92 M3  [5.00]
2008 e92 335d  [0.00]
Theoretically it could be very long, as regular ADSL is often run over crappy telephone cable over very long distances. If it is a permanent link, run a piece of telephone cable and hardwire it into the back of the master telephone socket. Put a socket on the end of the extension and use the ADSL filter there.
__________________
E92 M3, Jerez Black, Fox Red Novillo, 19'' M Double Spoke, folding mirrors, lumbar support, front seat heating, PDC, USB, DAB, EDC, Bluetooth, Logic 7, High Gloss Shadowline, big smile
ed335d is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:10 PM   #4
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,839
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Mate just get the powered LAN plugs about 60 for two good ones just plug one in downstairs and one upstairs use the existing wiring.

MUCH easier.

Otherwise.. Get Cat 6 and 50 meters should be fine without a booster!
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:12 PM   #5
toxicnerve
Colonel
 
Drives: E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 2,834
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raj59 View Post
If you get a good quality high speed cable, (check the speed rating), then there should not be any major problems or you noticing any major reduction in speed, whatever the length.

I had a quick look some time ago for someone, and saw that a decent ADSL RJ11 cable had a max length of around 7m.
That might have changed since then.
Sorry mate but what a load of tosh.

The RJ-11 connection is used for the phone connection. It's not "speed-rated" as such.

OP, I assume you're just trying to move your ADSL from where it currently is into a more convenient location? If that is the case then any telephone extension cable as suggested above will do. The extra 10 meters or so that you put onto it will have no affect considering it's probably come 50-100m from the exchange on shitty old twisted pair copper wires

If you're trying to extend the Ethernet side of it then you need an RJ-45 terminated CAT5(E) cable, again this can be pretty long and within a residential setting you have nothing to worry about by just using a long pre-made lead.

If you're trying to do something else, post back with a bit more detail and I am sure we can help.

EDIT:

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGA View Post
Mate just get the powered LAN plugs about 60 for two good ones just plug one in downstairs and one upstairs use the existing wiring.

MUCH easier.

Otherwise.. Get Cat 6 and 50 meters should be fine without a booster!
Another absolute myth. CAT6 is utter shit for this kind of thing. It's got ridiculous bend-radi, it's brittle as fuck and you can't cable tie it because if you pinch the cable you fuck it. CAT6 works at such high frequency it turns in a wave guide and does not act as a conventional conducter for the signals. Deform it in the slightest and you fuck up the wave-guide properties and you will never get rated speed down it. Everyone seems to think CAT6 is the next great thing. It isn't. It's a ballache to install and there's little to no benefit. CAT5E or shielded CAT5E is just as good and has none of the bullshit installation issues.
toxicnerve is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:18 PM   #6
ed335d
Major General
 
ed335d's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Surrey, UK

Posts: 6,899
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
57 e92 M3  [5.00]
2008 e92 335d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGA View Post
Mate just get the powered LAN plugs about 60 for two good ones just plug one in downstairs and one upstairs use the existing wiring.

MUCH easier.

Otherwise.. Get Cat 6 and 50 meters should be fine without a booster!
It's not the LAN connection he's trying to extend!

FYI 10Mb Ethernet will run about 150m over Cat 6, 100Mb about 130m
__________________
E92 M3, Jerez Black, Fox Red Novillo, 19'' M Double Spoke, folding mirrors, lumbar support, front seat heating, PDC, USB, DAB, EDC, Bluetooth, Logic 7, High Gloss Shadowline, big smile
ed335d is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:22 PM   #7
ed335d
Major General
 
ed335d's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Surrey, UK

Posts: 6,899
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
57 e92 M3  [5.00]
2008 e92 335d  [0.00]
'Another absolute myth. CAT6 is utter shit for this kind of thing. It's got ridiculous bend-radi, it's brittle as fuck and you can't cable tie it because if you pinch the cable you fuck it. CAT6 works at such high frequency it turns in a wave guide and does not act as a conventional conducter for the signals. Deform it in the slightest and you fuck up the wave-guide properties and you will never get rated speed down it. Everyone seems to think CAT6 is the next great thing. It isn't. It's a ballache to install and there's little to no benefit. CAT5E or shielded CAT5E is just as good and has none of the bullshit installation issues.'

Not strictly true. You can bend the absolute fuck out of Cat 6. It might not achieve a full performance test, but it will more than likely pass a Cat 5e test with flying colours.
__________________
E92 M3, Jerez Black, Fox Red Novillo, 19'' M Double Spoke, folding mirrors, lumbar support, front seat heating, PDC, USB, DAB, EDC, Bluetooth, Logic 7, High Gloss Shadowline, big smile
ed335d is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:24 PM   #8
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,839
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed335d View Post
It's not the LAN connection he's trying to extend!

Well. He could put the router downstairs and run ethernet upstairs or is there some insane sideways logic that forces him to have the router upstairs?
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:24 PM   #9
willhollin
Major General
 
willhollin's Avatar
 
Drives: VW T5
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Worcestershire

Posts: 9,915
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Geeeeeeeeeeeeeeekkkkkkkkkkkkkssssssssssssssssss
__________________
willhollin is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:25 PM   #10
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,839
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Additionally.. Cable is cable. So powered lan will still work even if it's dirty internet running through it and not an ethernet set up. Surely.
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:27 PM   #11
ed335d
Major General
 
ed335d's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Surrey, UK

Posts: 6,899
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
57 e92 M3  [5.00]
2008 e92 335d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGA View Post
Additionally.. Cable is cable. So powered lan will still work even if it's dirty internet running through it and not an ethernet set up. Surely.
Not necessarily. ADSL will work very happily over 5e/6, LAN will not work at much distance over telephone cable.
__________________
E92 M3, Jerez Black, Fox Red Novillo, 19'' M Double Spoke, folding mirrors, lumbar support, front seat heating, PDC, USB, DAB, EDC, Bluetooth, Logic 7, High Gloss Shadowline, big smile
ed335d is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:29 PM   #12
Hotcoupe
Major General
 
Hotcoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: Don't know yet!
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK

Posts: 6,105
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGA View Post
Well. He could put the router downstairs and run ethernet upstairs or is there some insane sideways logic that forces him to have the router upstairs?
I'd put the router under the stairs, the ethernet in the bin and use next doors wireless connection, simples
Hotcoupe is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:29 PM   #13
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,839
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
FFS I know that. That is the opposite of the point I was trying to make anyway.

You can carry an ADSL signal through any powered LAN style device.. As it smply has an RJ45 on both sides.
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:30 PM   #14
willhollin
Major General
 
willhollin's Avatar
 
Drives: VW T5
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Worcestershire

Posts: 9,915
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
__________________
willhollin is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:31 PM   #15
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,839
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
I share will sentiments. For the second time tonight I'm going to get angry at semantics. Only this time I will go to sleep rather than wait around for further replies.


OP: Good luck seeing the wood for the trees. A bunch of techies have started arguing in your topic
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:32 PM   #16
ed335d
Major General
 
ed335d's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Surrey, UK

Posts: 6,899
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
57 e92 M3  [5.00]
2008 e92 335d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGA View Post
FFS I know that. That is the opposite of the point I was trying to make anyway.

You can carry an ADSL signal through any powered LAN style device.. As it smply has an RJ45 on both sides.
But then it's not ADSL any longer, it's Ethernet
__________________
E92 M3, Jerez Black, Fox Red Novillo, 19'' M Double Spoke, folding mirrors, lumbar support, front seat heating, PDC, USB, DAB, EDC, Bluetooth, Logic 7, High Gloss Shadowline, big smile
ed335d is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:34 PM   #17
ed335d
Major General
 
ed335d's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Surrey, UK

Posts: 6,899
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
57 e92 M3  [5.00]
2008 e92 335d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGA View Post
I share will sentiments. For the second time tonight I'm going to get angry at semantics. Only this time I will go to sleep rather than wait around for further replies.


OP: Good luck seeing the wood for the trees. A bunch of techies have started arguing in your topic
You call them semantics, I call them technical accuracy

Sheesh Dave, you're no fun tonight
__________________
E92 M3, Jerez Black, Fox Red Novillo, 19'' M Double Spoke, folding mirrors, lumbar support, front seat heating, PDC, USB, DAB, EDC, Bluetooth, Logic 7, High Gloss Shadowline, big smile
ed335d is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:34 PM   #18
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,839
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Considering the tone of this conversation, I'll end with this.

if (!(Apple.equals(Orange))) {
System.out.println("Stop this.. ");
}


Dave
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:34 PM   #19
toxicnerve
Colonel
 
Drives: E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 2,834
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed335d View Post
'Another absolute myth. CAT6 is utter shit for this kind of thing. It's got ridiculous bend-radi, it's brittle as fuck and you can't cable tie it because if you pinch the cable you fuck it. CAT6 works at such high frequency it turns in a wave guide and does not act as a conventional conducter for the signals. Deform it in the slightest and you fuck up the wave-guide properties and you will never get rated speed down it. Everyone seems to think CAT6 is the next great thing. It isn't. It's a ballache to install and there's little to no benefit. CAT5E or shielded CAT5E is just as good and has none of the bullshit installation issues.'

Not strictly true. You can bend the absolute fuck out of Cat 6. It might not achieve a full performance test, but it will more than likely pass a Cat 5e test with flying colours.
I agree but then what's the point of using CAT6


Quote:
Originally Posted by ed335d View Post
Not necessarily. ADSL will work very happily over 5e/6, LAN will not work at much distance over telephone cable.
Explain why, I dare ya

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGA View Post
Additionally.. Cable is cable. So powered lan will still work even if it's dirty internet running through it and not an ethernet set up. Surely.
Nope, different cables will be rated to different bandwidths over different distances. It's all to do with noise resistance, noise-cancelling and the frequencies at which these various technologies work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGA View Post
FFS I know that. That is the opposite of the point I was trying to make anyway.

You can carry an ADSL signal through any powered LAN style device.. As it smply has an RJ45 on both sides.
NFI what you mean by that. ADSL is what is provided to you by the ISP/your telephone company and runs different signals to Ethernet (which is typically what people mean when they say LAN. So no, you couldn't "route" ADSL signals over an Ethernet switch.
toxicnerve is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:35 PM   #20
toxicnerve
Colonel
 
Drives: E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 2,834
iTrader: (2)

ed,

you're clearly clued up, what do you do for a living?
toxicnerve is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:38 PM   #21
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,839
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Quote:
Originally Posted by toxicnerve View Post
I agree but then what's the point of using CAT6




Explain why, I dare ya



Nope, different cables will be rated to different bandwidths over different distances. It's all to do with noise resistance, noise-cancelling and the frequencies at which these various technologies work.



NFI what you mean by that. ADSL is what is provided to you by the ISP/your telephone company and runs different signals to Ethernet (which is typically what people mean when they say LAN. So no, you couldn't "route" ADSL signals over an Ethernet switch.
Yes i fucking know cables aren't actually all the same. OH WHY IS THE KETTLE LEAD WITH THE PLUG AT THE END NOT ROUTING INTERNET. Gurgles.

Honestly. FWIW I'm a sysadmin in control of about 70 boxes, a Sun SAN several Cisco PIX servers /Checkpoint and juniper firewalls - an enterprise ESX server and whatever else you can think of. Hosted across 3 bluesquare and 2 C&W data centers in central. With SC clearance due to .gov projects. And the rest of it. Just as we are playing the pissing contest game.

The OP's actual question has long since fallen beneath a shroud of "I am the best nerd" and frankly it is pathetic.
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2011, 05:39 PM   #22
willhollin
Major General
 
willhollin's Avatar
 
Drives: VW T5
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Worcestershire

Posts: 9,915
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by toxicnerve View Post
ed,

you're clearly clued up, what do you do for a living?
He wanks turkeys off.
__________________
willhollin is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST