E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Brand new turbos now this...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-16-2012, 07:18 PM   #1
4doorbmwpower
Captain
4doorbmwpower's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
699
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue E90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Skype™ to 4doorbmwpower
Brand new turbos now this...

Just got brand new turbos installed from BMWNA, I get the car back seems to run good no wastegate rattle or anything, although when i stomp it in Map 5 right into limp mode, shut the car off back on and limp mode is gone, in map 0 it wont throw limp mode but it seems to have less power, hooked it up to my laptop tried a pull, looks like its only hitting 7psi before it goes into limp the following codes i pulled off the DME DED2, F9E3, 2FD2. No check engine light no other symptoms and I got a friend who is a tech (he installed the turbos) he said the turbos ARE NOT spooled from the factory and need to be broken in hints the reason in a brand new 335i you dont have full boost until the computer recognizes your 1st oil change. he said that may be a sensor implaced to prevent turbos from powering up too much before they are broken in.. anyone have any insight? do you think that is whats going on, oh and there was a smalll smalll oil spot under my car when i pulled out of the garage nothing crazy tho, and It asked for a quart he said that it lost a lot of blood in the transplant so might be settleing into the new turbo oil lines.
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2012, 09:14 PM   #2
Mahhvinn
EUROPROJEKTZ
Mahhvinn's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
7,953
Posts

 
Drives: backwards
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Jose, CA (Bay Area)

iTrader: (15)

Garage List
2008 E90 335i  [3.50]
I think you should break in your turbos before beating the crap out of them but that's just my opinion. Also, your friend might be right about the car cutting power and going into limp mode.

I'm sure someone with more knowledge and understanding will chime in and answer your question.

Good luck op and congrats on the new turbos!
__________________
LTMW|SPEEDELEMENT|EUROPROJEKTZ

#TeamStretchNPoke
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 12:12 PM   #3
4doorbmwpower
Captain
4doorbmwpower's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
699
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue E90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Skype™ to 4doorbmwpower
no one? any input? no one has had problems with limp mode when getting new turbos?
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 12:34 PM   #4
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
94
Rep
7,331
Posts

 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

did you search here what those codes mean?
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 01:29 PM   #5
4doorbmwpower
Captain
4doorbmwpower's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
699
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue E90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Skype™ to 4doorbmwpower
I couldnt find anything for them, and I had my BMW tech look them up he couldnt find anything in BMW's master computer eitheR>?
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 01:50 PM   #6
Gugs
Cynical
Gugs's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
439
Posts

 
Drives: E92 JetBlack
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Long island

iTrader: (1)

Your not getting any description at all with the codes?

And there is no "break-in" period for turbo. They should be functioning fine.

There shouldn't be loss of oil or filling the lines. They should have just done a full oil change. Somethings fishy. Take it back to dealer. Your friend has no clue what so ever.
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 02:32 PM   #7
Eric335
Colonel
Eric335's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
2,493
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E92 SG 335i 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SW Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [3.83]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gugs View Post
Your not getting any description at all with the codes?

And there is no "break-in" period for turbo. They should be functioning fine.

There shouldn't be loss of oil or filling the lines. They should have just done a full oil change. Somethings fishy. Take it back to dealer. Your friend has no clue what so ever.
Yeah, i doubt theres a break-in period for a turbo. Im almost certain they spin the turbos at close to 220k RPM at the factory before they ship them out.

Plus ive never seen someone like Shiv/HPF do a 'break in period' after a massive ST job.....
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 04:30 PM   #8
BMWM.D.
Stupid Idiot
BMWM.D.'s Avatar
8
Rep
687
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i & C6 Grand Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Santa Barbara

iTrader: (1)

Ummmm.... How long has your friend been doing what he does? I don't mean to insult, but it sounds like he's pretty green when it comes to these cars. And changing those turbos isn't a job for an inexperienced tech or someone who isn't very thorough. Just my 2-cents from being a BMW tech for the last 10 years and doing quite a few N54 turbo jobs.

As far as the "break-in" period, the DME has no idea the engine has new turbos. It won't limit anything, nor will it limit boost before the 1st oil change. I might take it easy on them for a few heat-cycles, but that's about it.

As for what's going on with the boost thing......I'm guessing something wasn't put back together quite right. There are a TON on o-rings that should be replaced during the job (oil and coolant feed/return lines, charge pipe, etc.). It's possible that one got pinched, causing a small leak.

The new turbos come pre-adjusted, so there isn't anything the screw up there. One thing that I have seen -- on the V-band style clamps that hold the cat-pipes to the turbos: if they aren't clocked properly, the wastegate rod can hit and prevent the wastegate valve from closing all the way. Just a thought.

And yeah, the engine does lose some oil during the repair. The turbos, lines, etc. all hold oil that is lost during the job. Your friend should have checked the oil level when he got it running. The last one I did lost around 1 quart if I remember right. You could also have a leak from one of the 4 oil lines that go to the turbos. Hopefully not, though.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 04:33 PM   #9
Gugs
Cynical
Gugs's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
439
Posts

 
Drives: E92 JetBlack
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Long island

iTrader: (1)

^ it is due to install error on the techs part. That much is obvious. And i agree can be anything including the V bands. As far as a the oil leak. Fix that But a small leak caused by a o-ring will not throw any error codes. Just leaks.
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 09:23 PM   #10
BMWM.D.
Stupid Idiot
BMWM.D.'s Avatar
8
Rep
687
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i & C6 Grand Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Santa Barbara

iTrader: (1)

Yeah, the oil leak isn't likely related to the boost problem. It could even just be residual oil that was on the side of the block if the tech didn't clean things up.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2012, 09:06 PM   #11
4doorbmwpower
Captain
4doorbmwpower's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
699
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue E90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Skype™ to 4doorbmwpower
Found the issue today when I put the car up in the shop, I discovered a boost leak. Cold side Intercooler plumbing was barely hanging in there.
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2012, 09:06 PM   #12
4doorbmwpower
Captain
4doorbmwpower's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
699
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue E90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Skype™ to 4doorbmwpower
Back to 15psi and cars LOVING THE NEW TURBOS!
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2012, 09:39 PM   #13
Tony@vargasturbotech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Tony@vargasturbotech's Avatar
49
Rep
1,222
Posts


 
Drives: N54
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Turbos have no break in period. Break in periods are for things to seat, such as piston rings that go up an down in a freshly bored cylinder, main and rod bearings after being torqued to spec, etc. The piston rings in turbos are stationary and the parts spin around them, and the journal bearings are a free float design with room on both sides. As I stated before there is a carbon dam on the turbine wheel that can use a little heat to build up some carbon to help keep the oil from getting past the turbine side piston ring, but thats it.
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2012, 10:16 PM   #14
rush jamaica
Captain
rush jamaica's Avatar
6
Rep
697
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330i bmw
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ga

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 E90  [0.00]
:Hey just want to say I learned so much from this thread u guys are the best.
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2013, 02:16 AM   #15
Lankster
Sigma Alpha Epsilon
United_States
9
Rep
425
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Encinitas

iTrader: (1)

Totally answered my question. SEARCH FTW (searched for breaking-in period for new turbos)
__________________
Forum Bible http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/posting
JB4, BMS DCI, Dimisa 4" tips, VMR 710 Matt Black, Plasti-Dip Mod
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2013, 09:57 AM   #16
Bme30
Captain
Bme30's Avatar
14
Rep
859
Posts

 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 'Merika'

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
I just got my new turbos from BMWna also. I have wg rattle during acceleration at about 25-30ish % throttle. Wot no rattle and no rattle at startup.
To be honest the car sounds like shit. I'm going to bring the car back in this week, my SA asked me to drive it for a week to see if things change, but I have a feeling BMW is going to tell me this is "normal" (and we all know it isn't)!
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2013, 10:07 AM   #17
sammy_0559
Lieutenant Colonel
sammy_0559's Avatar
United_States
47
Rep
1,948
Posts

 
Drives: e93 2008 Montego Metallic 335i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FortWorth, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 E93 335i  [1.83]
i was gonna say... the only thing you need to wait for oil temp to heat up the beat the Shit out of it glad it's fixed.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST