E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > e92 ENGINE STOPPED



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-20-2011, 01:10 AM   #1
woosolow
Private First Class
Canada
1

 
Drives: BMW F80 (2015 M3)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto


Posts: 113
iTrader: (1)

Unhappy e92 ENGINE STOPPED

Hey guys,

I've installed an AFE intake on my e92 328xi 6MT few weeks ago, everything was running smooth until last night... engine was stopped on hwy 401...

FYI: AFE oiled intake: http://www.**********s.com/aFe-Stage...2-54-11862.htm

i was driving at around 120km/hr on 6th gear, while i was heading to an exit, i shifted to N and gently applied brake on the ramp... i was staring at the tachometer needle, it dropped to 0.5 rpm (somehow abit lower) after i shifted to N...then the engine stopped completely with engine light appeared on the dashboard ...


anyone experienced the same situation? suggestions will be highly appreciated.

thanks everyone.

Last edited by woosolow; 03-20-2011 at 11:57 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 01:25 AM   #2
ttam
Major
United_States
14

 
ttam's Avatar
 
Drives: Chevrolet movie theater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SoCal


Posts: 1,094
iTrader: (19)

Garage List
2009 328i  [3.17]
Wow, that sounds pretty scarry. Did SES or CEL come on before the car shut down?
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 01:38 AM   #3
e90pilot
Freight Dawg
United_States
40

 
e90pilot's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oakland, CA


Posts: 2,109
iTrader: (3)

I can't tell you how many times I've read AFEs doing this. It seems to be attributed to improper installation, but I have my doubts. The AFE seems to mess things up for the MAF sensor. I'm not sure exactly what's going on, but I do think your problem is related to your AFE.
__________________
--Marcelo
'06 Arctic Metallic 325i | Sport Package | 6MT | Dinan Stage III suspension | Dinan exhaust | 330i manifold swap! Click here! | Active Autowerke tune | 135i Brake Calipers | Deiselboost caliper brackets | E46 M3 front rotors
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 02:05 AM   #4
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
100

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC


Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
The only way I can see the afe being the cause of this is if there was a vacuum leak...AT or MT?
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 02:10 AM   #5
sneaks
Lieutenant
Canada
4

 
sneaks's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 24 Sussex


Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
I remember with a different car that had an aftermarket filter installed, it created a problem because it was installed with too much oil in the filter media.
The maf is a thin wire. The wire was contaminated with oil and gave out of range readings which threw a code. The car also ran rough at idle.
Now, I know absolutely nothing about the afe intake and whether it is a wet filter or not but an engine stalling out after moderate constant throttle could definitely be a maf sensor issue.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 02:11 AM   #6
woosolow
Private First Class
Canada
1

 
Drives: BMW F80 (2015 M3)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto


Posts: 113
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
The only way I can see the afe being the cause of this is if there was a vacuum leak...AT or MT?
i will double check tomorrow morning, it's 328xi 6MT...
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 02:11 AM   #7
sneaks
Lieutenant
Canada
4

 
sneaks's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 24 Sussex


Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
The only way I can see the afe being the cause of this is if there was a vacuum leak...AT or MT?
^^^^^or this,
is it possible the manifold was cracked during install
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 02:12 AM   #8
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
100

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC


Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
^ the thing is, our cars can run without a maf. Horribly but they will run with generic values. If it is that dirty...don't know if it could stall like that.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 08:28 AM   #9
E90slow
Private First Class
1

 
E90slow's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: GA


Posts: 170
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
^ the thing is, our cars can run without a maf. Horribly but they will run with generic values. If it is that dirty...don't know if it could stall like that.
You are right but, a dirty one will give it false readings making it not run at all. Try disconnecting the maf and see if it runs. If it does you know your problem right there. Next check some of the connections for air leaks.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 11:21 AM   #10
sneaks
Lieutenant
Canada
4

 
sneaks's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 24 Sussex


Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
I see you edited your first post.
I think there is oil on your MAF.
I would guess it worked fine up until that nice warm spell we had, which loosened up the oil on the new filter, and your extended cruise was enough to pull the oil off the filter onto the sensor.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 11:55 AM   #11
woosolow
Private First Class
Canada
1

 
Drives: BMW F80 (2015 M3)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto


Posts: 113
iTrader: (1)

yeah, thanks for all the suggestions and comments...

i will check if there is any air leaks on the connections...

how to get remove the oil on the maf sensor if it was contaminated?


in additional, after i switched to N at about 120km/hr, the tachometer needle dropped to 0.5 rpm only, is this normal? like after 2 or 3 seconds it popped back up to around 1.0 rpm.... so in this case, it could be wrong reading and cause the engine stopped?!?!
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2011, 09:19 PM   #12
woosolow
Private First Class
Canada
1

 
Drives: BMW F80 (2015 M3)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto


Posts: 113
iTrader: (1)

i took my ride to do a full check up today. Surprisingly there was no error code and apparently, the installation was 100% correct.

maf sensor checked, no problem... no air leaks... ~~

sigh so what to do now?!
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2011, 09:25 PM   #13
///M3NACE
Banned
60

 
///M3NACE's Avatar
 
Drives: E36 M3, E36 Vert , E90 N52
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Downers Grove, IL


Posts: 3,907
iTrader: (5)

my buddies e36 M had this problem with the intake off a ramp also. Intake is dirty or not properly installed the sensor isn't reading it properly due to dirtyness or improper instal
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 08:22 AM   #14
woosolow
Private First Class
Canada
1

 
Drives: BMW F80 (2015 M3)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto


Posts: 113
iTrader: (1)

oh well, i took to 2 garages to check already... no sign of error.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 10:26 AM   #15
3002 tii
Major General
United_States
134

 
3002 tii's Avatar
 
Drives: flat out
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NNJ


Posts: 8,491
iTrader: (49)

Garage List
over oiled?
__________________

Recaro | Volk | AST | Vorshlag | Quaife | Stoptech | Active Autowerke | BMW Performance

Click here for my track videos
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 01:41 PM   #16
woosolow
Private First Class
Canada
1

 
Drives: BMW F80 (2015 M3)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto


Posts: 113
iTrader: (1)

How do i know if it's over oiled?

i just installed the AFE intake straight from the sealed box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubbedown View Post
over oiled?
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 02:17 PM   #17
Gavin@MMW
Brigadier General
United_States
117

 
Gavin@MMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MMW Supercharged E90 328i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 818/805


Posts: 3,880
iTrader: (18)

Im banking on the aFe does not let the same amount of air through as the stock box does, so when you put it in N and coast it starves the engine for air in general. No air = No go.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 02:43 PM   #18
psre08
Second Lieutenant
Canada
4

 
Drives: 330i E90 & 330Ci E46
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ottawa


Posts: 204
iTrader: (3)

I hate to ask... I really do, but... is it possible you just stalled without knowing it? Obviously you can drive the car normally right now. So if there's no error code or warning light...
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 02:56 PM   #19
ttam
Major
United_States
14

 
ttam's Avatar
 
Drives: Chevrolet movie theater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SoCal


Posts: 1,094
iTrader: (19)

Garage List
2009 328i  [3.17]
Quote:
Originally Posted by psre08 View Post
I hate to ask... I really do, but... is it possible you just stalled without knowing it? Obviously you can drive the car normally right now. So if there's no error code or warning light...
Its pretty hard to stall by throwing it into N.... Its also hard to stall while you are already going... So I dont think stalling caused the issue OP posted.

It probably has to do with what everyone else has said on the lack of air going into the engine.
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2011, 11:17 PM   #20
woosolow
Private First Class
Canada
1

 
Drives: BMW F80 (2015 M3)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto


Posts: 113
iTrader: (1)

hey guys.....

thanks for ALL who comments on my thread,

today i went to my dealer to install the BMW performance exhaust.. and i've mentioned the situation regarding to my engine stalled.

they checked everythin and they found out that the "INTAKE VANOS" and "SOLENOID VALVE" had problems... i dunno what the hack was that. ... anyway they replaced a new 1 for me (warranty covered) ^^~

so in this case, there is nth wrong w/ the intake or the MAF sensor.... but it just happened right after i installed the intake, so i mis lead u guys , i apologize about it

once again, thanks everyone and enjoy ur ride~
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2011, 11:27 PM   #21
AlpineSwift
Colonel
United_States
26

 
AlpineSwift's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335Xi Coupé
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Castle Rock, CO


Posts: 2,109
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by woosolow View Post
hey guys.....

thanks for ALL who comments on my thread,

today i went to my dealer to install the BMW performance exhaust.. and i've mentioned the situation regarding to my engine stalled.

they checked everythin and they found out that the "INTAKE VANOS" and "SOLENOID VALVE" had problems... i dunno what the hack was that. ... anyway they replaced a new 1 for me (warranty covered) ^^~

so in this case, there is nth wrong w/ the intake or the MAF sensor.... but it just happened right after i installed the intake, so i mis lead u guys , i apologize about it

once again, thanks everyone and enjoy ur ride~
I've had a similar situation where mine damn near stalled due to a faulty MAF reading when I threw it in N. I have the same model and tranny as you so I can relate. Never once had an issue like with with my stock box and still haven't with my K&N drop in.

I'm just curious how your car is running now with the aFe vs the stock box. I have pretty much swore that there is no way in hell I will ever put the aFe back on unless I have a tune that can function properly with it. So, mine sits in my lounge closet, in its box, chillin.
__________________
E92 '08 335Xi 6AT - Cobb AP V2, ar design DP's, Race Cats in the mids, Stock cans, VRSF CP w/Tial BOV, VRSF 7" FMIC, BMS DCI, BMS Cowl, H&R Coilovers, Renn Motorsport RS-51's, Alpina TCU Flash, Turner Boost Gauge, Fully Coded.
Best 1/4mi: 13.201 @ 106.93 / 2.0 60' / DA=9300ft

Tanya: The Build Thread
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2011, 10:30 PM   #22
woosolow
Private First Class
Canada
1

 
Drives: BMW F80 (2015 M3)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto


Posts: 113
iTrader: (1)

well... the afe intake works well on my car and i found it alot smoother

u should try to install ur afe intake instead of dusting in ur closet

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpineSwift View Post
I've had a similar situation where mine damn near stalled due to a faulty MAF reading when I threw it in N. I have the same model and tranny as you so I can relate. Never once had an issue like with with my stock box and still haven't with my K&N drop in.

I'm just curious how your car is running now with the aFe vs the stock box. I have pretty much swore that there is no way in hell I will ever put the aFe back on unless I have a tune that can function properly with it. So, mine sits in my lounge closet, in its box, chillin.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST