E90Post
 


Heel & Toe Apparel
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Alarm Coding Changes



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-22-2011, 01:41 PM   #1
reficuliu
Private First Class
reficuliu's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 Montego Blue 335i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Alarm Coding Changes

Hi,

I have already installed the physical alarm on my car, and got the clown nose blinking. I know I have yet to code the alarm to fully integrate it, but I had a few questions regarding the coding.

I know there are options that you are able to access after coding, and certain differences. However, I was wondering if anyone had a comprehensive list on the changes after coding versus just leaving it installed without coding. From what i have been reading, this is what i've noticed:

-Panic enable
-IDrive menu chirp enable on lock

After installing the alarm my clown nose has already been activated. Also, is it even necessary to code to have the alarm "function"? The reason i ask is, there have already been several occasions where my car's alarm was set off. My friend walked by my car when the windows were down, and the alarm went off. Also, it went of previously in a garage due to a loud exhaust (yes, it was a meet )

Sorry if this has been covered in other threads, but i haven't found anything comprehensive regarding this topic quite yet.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 02:33 PM   #2
txusa03
Major General
224
Rep
6,567
Posts

Drives: TS330iPPSP6MT
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (3)

did you see this post...that is pretty comprehensive down to the different values you can compare with what you have. It would be interesting to see what values you have before you make any changes.

Sound like your alarm is configure at a very sensitive level but I did not see any configuration for sensitivity in coding the alarm.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=504338
__________________
under construction!
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 04:30 PM   #3
reficuliu
Private First Class
reficuliu's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 Montego Blue 335i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Thx!

Yeah i saw that thread with the values.
My main confusion is regarding the functionality of the alarm.

It seems the alarm "works" without coding in the event someone tries to steal or move my car.
However, coding is required for access to options and settings.
Correct me if i'm wrong?
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 04:50 PM   #4
Dracon
United_States
315
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 2013 F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Out and About

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by reficuliu View Post
Thx!

Yeah i saw that thread with the values.
My main confusion is regarding the functionality of the alarm.

It seems the alarm "works" without coding in the event someone tries to steal or move my car.
However, coding is required for access to options and settings.
Correct me if i'm wrong?
Yes, the basic features of the alarm work without coding. But if you want to control settings like the adjusting the volume and such using the control stalk and/or iDrive, coding is required.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 06:00 PM   #5
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
59
Rep
3,361
Posts

Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

You are missing out on other features.


The tilt feature isn't activated, the beep when you lock the cars isn't activated and the hood switch isn't activated.

Coding the car will get you these other features that come with the alarm.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2011, 08:02 PM   #6
reficuliu
Private First Class
reficuliu's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 Montego Blue 335i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Thx guys for all your input!
All your responses were very very helpful!
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2011, 03:41 AM   #7
BobsM3Coupe
Captain
United_States
26
Rep
866
Posts

Drives: M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
Yes, the basic features of the alarm work without coding. But if you want to control settings like the adjusting the volume and such using the control stalk and/or iDrive, coding is required.
I don't believe the alarm volume can be adjusted through the idrive or the control stalk. This can only be done with a programmer attached to the vehicle.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2011, 08:20 PM   #8
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
1QuikWS6's Avatar
United_States
254
Rep
5,931
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage ->M6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

iTrader: (88)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
I don't believe the alarm volume can be adjusted through the idrive or the control stalk. This can only be done with a programmer attached to the vehicle.
It most definitely cannot be adjusted by using the stalk (iDrive IDK). You can/have to change the alarm chirp volume thru coding in the DWAS module under BUZZER_HIGH_LEVEL
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//LUX 160 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//AA Stage3//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2012, 05:25 PM   #9
e92oholic
Banned
United_States
25
Rep
853
Posts

Drives: 2013 MINI JCW GP
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Buffalo NY

iTrader: (6)

I just installed my alarm and did the coding. It was really quiet so I went in and changed to wert_08 still really quiet. So i ended up coding with a blank MAN file and now its really loud. Worked great!
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2013, 07:33 AM   #10
ChristianF
Enlisted Member
ChristianF's Avatar
1
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: E92 335d
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Sorry to resurrect this thread, but when you say it was a blank MAN file, which part was blank?
If it was all blank then the alarm would not function at all surely.

Do you mean the specific coding parameter for BUZZER_HIGH_LEVEL?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2013, 08:04 AM   #11
pweber
Banned
pweber's Avatar
Germany
5
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianF View Post
Sorry to resurrect this thread, but when you say it was a blank MAN file, which part was blank?
If it was all blank then the alarm would not function at all surely.

Do you mean the specific coding parameter for BUZZER_HIGH_LEVEL?
He means recode your module. You don't have to use blank (empty) FSW_PSW.man to do this, you can use EXPERTMODUS profile, select ECU and EXECUTE JOB with SG_CODIEREN.
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2013, 08:12 AM   #12
ChristianF
Enlisted Member
ChristianF's Avatar
1
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: E92 335d
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

I can code it via NETTODAT if I know what the HEX is. If the OP can read his file and tell me what the HEX is i'll do it that way. Its the only other way I know.

I assume if its blank it will be either 00 or FF at the HEX address?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2013, 04:44 AM   #13
ChristianF
Enlisted Member
ChristianF's Avatar
1
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: E92 335d
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****** View Post
He means recode your module. You don't have to use blank (empty) FSW_PSW.man to do this, you can use EXPERTMODUS profile, select ECU and EXECUTE JOB with SG_CODIEREN.
I'm fairly new to this still and i'm not sure what this actually means. /
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2013, 12:35 PM   #14
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
59
Rep
1,590
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianF View Post
Sorry to resurrect this thread, but when you say it was a blank MAN file, which part was blank?
If it was all blank then the alarm would not function at all surely.

Do you mean the specific coding parameter for BUZZER_HIGH_LEVEL?
He means recode your module. You don't have to use blank (empty) FSW_PSW.man to do this, you can use EXPERTMODUS profile, select ECU and EXECUTE JOB with SG_CODIEREN.

Does this essentially resets the module to factory or just performs a restart of the specific module only?
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2013, 12:51 PM   #15
BMW..
Captain
43
Rep
804
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 /E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boca Raton FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ******
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianF View Post
Sorry to resurrect this thread, but when you say it was a blank MAN file, which part was blank?
If it was all blank then the alarm would not function at all surely.

Do you mean the specific coding parameter for BUZZER_HIGH_LEVEL?
He means recode your module. You don't have to use blank (empty) FSW_PSW.man to do this, you can use EXPERTMODUS profile, select ECU and EXECUTE JOB with SG_CODIEREN.

Does this essentially resets the module to factory or just performs a restart of the specific module only?
Resets the specific module to favtory
__________________
Mystic Blue E90
Phoenix Yellow E46
South Florida BMW Coding
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2013, 12:52 PM   #16
ChristianF
Enlisted Member
ChristianF's Avatar
1
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: E92 335d
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Can someone provide a fools guide to doing this?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2013, 04:35 PM   #17
pweber
Banned
pweber's Avatar
Germany
5
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianF View Post
Can someone provide a fools guide to doing this?
Load EXPERT MODUS profile
F1
F3
Select Chassis
CAS or NFRM/FRM
F6
F4 - select ECU you want reset
F2 - change job to SG_CODIEREN (Should be as default)
F3 Execute JOB

ECU is reseted.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2016, 09:08 PM   #18
NiNeTyOne
Touring cars rock
United_States
70
Rep
407
Posts

Drives: 07 e91 Alpine
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: SEA

iTrader: (0)

Going to resurrect this thread once more as I am trying to code my alarm on my 2007 e91 Sportwagon.

I have had no issues writing the VO code using FA_WRITE to CAS, however when selecting the ECU to do an FA_WRITE to LMA I do not see LMA as an option in the selection menu. I'm wondering if on the e91's in '07 if it needs to be written elsewhere?

Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2016, 10:13 PM   #19
Rickygst
Second Lieutenant
5
Rep
226
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (5)

I just coded an alarm for my 07 e90. I only added the VO to CAS and FRM. Everything seem to be working find with mine.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:34 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST