E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Torque App



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-25-2011, 04:58 PM   #1
GR8DEL
Second Lieutenant
 
GR8DEL's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI

Posts: 285
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Torque App

I was curious about this app and its potential when I saw it. I know it works on many vehicles, just not sure about BMWs. As such I decided to bite the bullet and try it on my 335i. I bought a ELM327 Bluetooth OBDII adapter for $29 and I should have it Tuesday.

As soon as I get it I'll let you all know if it is worth it or not. If it does work, I'll entertain requests, within reason, to test it's true applicability.

Worst case, I waste $30... so I drink a little less tonight. Oh well lol
__________________
Black Sapphire e92 335i 6MT
GR8DEL is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2011, 05:57 PM   #2
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
 
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 1,180
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
not really coding as its only a diagnostic tool. or are you planning to re-code the app to attempt to code the car?
__________________
CasperSYTFU is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2011, 10:54 PM   #3
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Is this what you're referring to?

http://www.appbrain.com/app/torque/org.prowl.torque
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2011, 03:32 PM   #4
GR8DEL
Second Lieutenant
 
GR8DEL's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI

Posts: 285
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
I realize it's not coding, but I thought this section was the best place to put it as it applies to both n/a and turbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by CasperSYTFU View Post
not really coding as its only a diagnostic tool. or are you planning to re-code the app to attempt to code the car?
Yes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neutrino45 View Post
Is this what you're referring to?

http://www.appbrain.com/app/torque/org.prowl.torque
__________________
Black Sapphire e92 335i 6MT
GR8DEL is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2011, 01:45 PM   #5
jkrig
Second Lieutenant
 
jkrig's Avatar
 
Drives: 07' e90 335i (SGM)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Virginia Beach

Posts: 200
iTrader: (0)

Curious about this as well......saw the torque app on Android Market and did some half hearted research.......not sure if the the ELM module works or not but I did read that the OBDkey module worked on a 2008 135i ..but the OBDKey module was 5 times the price, I bit more than I want to spend for something that I'm not 100% sure will work on my year/make......so keep us posted
jkrig is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2011, 03:44 PM   #6
Gavin@MMW
Brigadier General
 
Gavin@MMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MMW Supercharged E90 328i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 818/805

Posts: 3,880
iTrader: (18)

Its awesome, I use it on my HTC thunderbolt.
Gavin@MMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2011, 10:17 AM   #7
Perfectus
Major
 
Perfectus's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NOVA/MD

Posts: 1,240
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin@MMW View Post
Its awesome, I use it on my HTC thunderbolt.
I use it too! Do you have a 335? For some max boost won't go past 2.7PSI. Did you have to make any config changes?
__________________
2007 e92 335i - Monaco Blue
ZPP, ZSP, iDrive, Comfort Access

Injen DCI w/ Cyba Scoop - M-Tech Rear - ///M3 Rear Lip Spoiler - ///M5 SMG Shift Knob & iDrive Knob - BMW Performance Hand Brake - BMWCCA Member
Perfectus is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2011, 01:45 PM   #8
Gavin@MMW
Brigadier General
 
Gavin@MMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MMW Supercharged E90 328i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 818/805

Posts: 3,880
iTrader: (18)

I have a 328, so I havent messed with the boost reading yet
Gavin@MMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2011, 08:42 AM   #9
PTB
Registered
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

Bump.

I have a Kiwi Bluetooth OBDII adapter and a "full" version of Torque.

I just bought a 335i and I'm having trouble getting Boost/Vacuum to work. It's reading over 20psi of Vacuum at idle, and boost maxes out at 3psi. It doesn't even get into the "boost" range until 4k RPM. Everything I've read says that the 335's turbos are kicking in as low as 1400-1500 RPM, and peak (in stock form) at 8psi. So something is wrong.

I monkeyed around with the atmospheric adjustment settings, but they seemed to make the wackiness even worse.

Before the 335i, I had a Mini JCW, which is supposed to max out at 18.9psi (in overboost). The highest I ever got for a reading on Torque was 16psi, and it also had relatively high vaccuum readings.

Anyone have success with Torque? If so, what settings did you use?
PTB is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2011, 11:21 AM   #10
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posts: 584
iTrader: (1)

Interesting thought--->

That aftermarket stereo with GPS/touchscreen everyone without Logic7 seems to be retrofitting is running Android as well and has bluetooth capabilities........

Wish I didn't demand Logic 7 on my car. Grr.
ZZZZ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2011, 01:46 PM   #11
PTB
Registered
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

Alright,

So I turned on a display for current barometric pressure. It turns out, at about 800ft elevation, it's reading 14.4psi.

So I set the turbo boost/vaccum display to a -14.4 correction. It was still reading positive 4-5psi of boost at idle, and running up into the teens under throttle.

I adjusted the correction to -10, and it seems to display about 0psi at idle. I throttled the engine up to 5kRPM, which produced a 7psi reading (but I was in my driveway, so no load). These appear to be about the right ranges, but I suspect load will drive the psi display higher.

I will report back when I actually have a chance to experiment some more.

The question is, once under load, will I be getting readings in excess of 8psi. And if so, WTF?

Also, why would a -10 correction work if I'm actually at 14.4?
PTB is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2011, 01:47 PM   #12
PTB
Registered
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZZZ View Post
Interesting thought--->

That aftermarket stereo with GPS/touchscreen everyone without Logic7 seems to be retrofitting is running Android as well and has bluetooth capabilities........

Wish I didn't demand Logic 7 on my car. Grr.
But it sounds so good.
PTB is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST