E90Post
 


Supreme Power Parts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Torque App



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-25-2011, 05:58 PM   #1
GR8DEL
Second Lieutenant
GR8DEL's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
285
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Torque App

I was curious about this app and its potential when I saw it. I know it works on many vehicles, just not sure about BMWs. As such I decided to bite the bullet and try it on my 335i. I bought a ELM327 Bluetooth OBDII adapter for $29 and I should have it Tuesday.

As soon as I get it I'll let you all know if it is worth it or not. If it does work, I'll entertain requests, within reason, to test it's true applicability.

Worst case, I waste $30... so I drink a little less tonight. Oh well lol
__________________
Black Sapphire e92 335i 6MT
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2011, 06:57 PM   #2
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
No_Country
13
Rep
1,180
Posts

Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
not really coding as its only a diagnostic tool. or are you planning to re-code the app to attempt to code the car?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2011, 11:54 PM   #3
Neutrino45
Major
Neutrino45's Avatar
31
Rep
1,446
Posts

Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

iTrader: (2)

Is this what you're referring to?

http://www.appbrain.com/app/torque/org.prowl.torque
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2011, 04:32 PM   #4
GR8DEL
Second Lieutenant
GR8DEL's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
285
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
I realize it's not coding, but I thought this section was the best place to put it as it applies to both n/a and turbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by CasperSYTFU View Post
not really coding as its only a diagnostic tool. or are you planning to re-code the app to attempt to code the car?
Yes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neutrino45 View Post
Is this what you're referring to?

http://www.appbrain.com/app/torque/org.prowl.torque
__________________
Black Sapphire e92 335i 6MT
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2011, 02:45 PM   #5
jkrig
Second Lieutenant
jkrig's Avatar
7
Rep
226
Posts

Drives: 07' e90 335i (SGM)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (0)

Curious about this as well......saw the torque app on Android Market and did some half hearted research.......not sure if the the ELM module works or not but I did read that the OBDkey module worked on a 2008 135i ..but the OBDKey module was 5 times the price, I bit more than I want to spend for something that I'm not 100% sure will work on my year/make......so keep us posted
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2011, 04:44 PM   #6
Gavin@MMW
Brigadier General
Gavin@MMW's Avatar
United_States
138
Rep
3,879
Posts

Drives: MMW Supercharged E90 328i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 818/805

iTrader: (18)

Its awesome, I use it on my HTC thunderbolt.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2011, 11:17 AM   #7
Perfectus
Major
Perfectus's Avatar
17
Rep
1,242
Posts

Drives: e92 335i/F10 528XI
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NOVA/MD

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin@MMW View Post
Its awesome, I use it on my HTC thunderbolt.
I use it too! Do you have a 335? For some max boost won't go past 2.7PSI. Did you have to make any config changes?
__________________
2012 528XI Saphire Black
Stock for now
2007 e92 335i - Monaco Blue
Injen DCI w/ Cyba Scoop - M-Tech Rear - ///M3 Rear Lip Spoiler - ///M5 SMG Shift Knob & iDrive Knob - BMW Performance Hand Brake - BMWCCA Member
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2011, 02:45 PM   #8
Gavin@MMW
Brigadier General
Gavin@MMW's Avatar
United_States
138
Rep
3,879
Posts

Drives: MMW Supercharged E90 328i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 818/805

iTrader: (18)

I have a 328, so I havent messed with the boost reading yet
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2011, 09:42 AM   #9
PTB
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Bump.

I have a Kiwi Bluetooth OBDII adapter and a "full" version of Torque.

I just bought a 335i and I'm having trouble getting Boost/Vacuum to work. It's reading over 20psi of Vacuum at idle, and boost maxes out at 3psi. It doesn't even get into the "boost" range until 4k RPM. Everything I've read says that the 335's turbos are kicking in as low as 1400-1500 RPM, and peak (in stock form) at 8psi. So something is wrong.

I monkeyed around with the atmospheric adjustment settings, but they seemed to make the wackiness even worse.

Before the 335i, I had a Mini JCW, which is supposed to max out at 18.9psi (in overboost). The highest I ever got for a reading on Torque was 16psi, and it also had relatively high vaccuum readings.

Anyone have success with Torque? If so, what settings did you use?
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2011, 12:21 PM   #10
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
8
Rep
584
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Interesting thought--->

That aftermarket stereo with GPS/touchscreen everyone without Logic7 seems to be retrofitting is running Android as well and has bluetooth capabilities........

Wish I didn't demand Logic 7 on my car. Grr.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2011, 02:46 PM   #11
PTB
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Alright,

So I turned on a display for current barometric pressure. It turns out, at about 800ft elevation, it's reading 14.4psi.

So I set the turbo boost/vaccum display to a -14.4 correction. It was still reading positive 4-5psi of boost at idle, and running up into the teens under throttle.

I adjusted the correction to -10, and it seems to display about 0psi at idle. I throttled the engine up to 5kRPM, which produced a 7psi reading (but I was in my driveway, so no load). These appear to be about the right ranges, but I suspect load will drive the psi display higher.

I will report back when I actually have a chance to experiment some more.

The question is, once under load, will I be getting readings in excess of 8psi. And if so, WTF?

Also, why would a -10 correction work if I'm actually at 14.4?
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2011, 02:47 PM   #12
PTB
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZZZ View Post
Interesting thought--->

That aftermarket stereo with GPS/touchscreen everyone without Logic7 seems to be retrofitting is running Android as well and has bluetooth capabilities........

Wish I didn't demand Logic 7 on my car. Grr.
But it sounds so good.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2015, 03:23 PM   #13
Psyrick
New Member
Canada
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i 4 door stock
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: ON

iTrader: (0)

I recently got a ELM327 and torque pro. I too am seeing my boost pressure never reach beyond 3.5psi. I've been doing as much research as I can in search of the answer for this. Most of what I read surrounds 2 possibilities. Many people seem to have low boost readings from this same app gauge. 2.7psi being the most common report. I've read mention that 2.7psi is a read-out limit for the OBDII interface on BMWs and a totally different sensing method is needed for accurate boost gauge. Since we see in this thread some reports of greater than 2.7psi reading, the 2.7psi limit premise seems debunked right there. I'm more inclined to believe a different theory: These readings are accurate and almost none of us are getting proper performance out of our turbos. The cause: That rattling wastegate. My stock 2008 335i with 256Mm has the wastegate rattles and has since I bought it last winter, though at the time I thought it was normal. I've watched the rear actuator rod while the car is parked in neutral and an assistant revs the engine up and down. The rear actuator seems not to be vibrating and remains in the closed position until the engine is shut down. The rattling sound seems to be coming from the front turbo (hard luck). Carefull listening reveals that while the rattle is present at all running times: Sart-up, idle, revving up, revving down, and shut-down, it can be heard most clearly during rev-down. During rev-down the gate should be fully open and make no sound of flapping about the gate opening. Unless, of course, if the target boost was never reached, and thus, the system makes no attempt to vent pressure. My belief is that the gate actuator rod is improperly adjusted, and never allows the wastegate to fully close on atleast one of the two turbos. I'd like to request anyone with torque app and an n54 report their max boost reading AND whether or not they have wastegate rattle. This would help us all shed some light on two common issues.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2015, 04:53 PM   #14
techwhiz
Colonel
techwhiz's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
2,168
Posts

Drives: e90 335i Sedan - Arctic
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay Area, Ca

iTrader: (3)

It's not low boost. You would get a warning.
It's the App/OBD2 or something.
The app reads the sensor but the sensor raw value is not boost. So you need to put in an offset to get it to read correctly.

Not sure what that is though.
__________________
Arctic Metallic\CF Splitters\CF Spoiler\Blacklines\LSD\Tinted\Coded\Apex EC7-19"\LED Angel Eyes\Gloss Black Grill\Integrated V1 & Galaxy Tab\M-Performance Brakes\Cobb Tuned and -> is your friend.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2015, 04:41 PM   #15
Psyrick
New Member
Canada
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i 4 door stock
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: ON

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by techwhiz View Post
It's not low boost. You would get a warning.
It's the App/OBD2 or something.
The app reads the sensor but the sensor raw value is not boost. So you need to put in an offset to get it to read correctly.

Not sure what that is though.
Did some more looking into the matter. While I still believe my wastegates are infact lagging out my low-end boost, it definetly can be pushed above 3psi. However, the boost reading in Torque app on BMW engines can't read above 17.4psi absolute pressure. It's because BMW uses 2 different sensors for the ECU's vac/boost reading. The MAP sensor that the app shows as vac/boost is really meant to be the manifold vacuum sensor and gives precise readings from absolute vacuum up to about 3psi above atmospheric. The ECU has with it a TMAP sensor for manifold pressure above atmospheric and it integrates the two readings for its own measurements, but since Torque is a universal app, it's not programmed to list or process this sensor variable. A good way to see this is to use the graphing module to do a line plot of boost pressure and record as you floor it, accelerating from 0 for the first few gears. For me, I see the 1st gear pulse peak just under 3psi and all following pulses spike up steeply but are clearly saturated as they flatten right off at the 3psi reading limit.

You can not fix this with an offset.

Last edited by Psyrick; 07-06-2015 at 04:58 PM. Reason: post-post proof-reading
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:17 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST