E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Adaptive headlight error? Coding issue?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-01-2011, 03:42 AM   #1
usafjay1976
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Adaptive headlight error? Coding issue?

I apologize for the duplicate post, but someone suggested I try posting elsewhere, so I thought maybe I'd try here? I'm lost!

Help! Adaptive headlight error / aftermarket lights

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all, I'm new to this site and new to doing some mods to my car! Please see below.

I have a 2006 BMW 325i with adaptive xenon headlights. I bought these aftermarket lights from www.carid.com

http://www.carid.com/2006-bmw-3-seri...tor-83777.html


They are beautiful (clear lens) lights but the problem is, I have the 'adaptive headlight error' message on my Navigation screen.

The biggest problem is, my high beams will NOT come on. They will flash when I pull the switch back, but when I push it forward (like to keep them on) they will not stay on, yet my dash shows them on.

Any suggestions on how to make these lights work? How do I get this error message to go away and make the high beams function again?


I hope this makes sense. Please let me know if you need further clarification.
Any help would be more than greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time!!!
usafjay1976 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-04-2011, 06:05 AM   #2
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
 
1QuikWS6's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

Posts: 4,637
iTrader: (82)

Garage List
Well, from the CarId description, I would say those light assemblies are NOT adaptive (i.e. no auto-leveling) as the lights that came with your car from factory.

That's why you are getting the error messages - car is looking for adaptive headlights that no longer exist.

You are gonna need to go in and code the Adaptive Headlight option out of your car...

Adaptive Headlight Error
Module: NFRM
Code Line: CHECK_SMC_ERROR
Removes the adaptive headlight error check
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//DTEC V7 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//Vishnu OFT//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X
1QuikWS6 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-26-2011, 11:44 AM   #3
BMW4Life2112
Private
 
BMW4Life2112's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego, California

Posts: 96
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Sorry to thread jack, but today I tried to code out the adaptive headlight errror using NCSExpert and had no luck.

Car was a 2007 e92 335i and after I turned off the adaptive headlight check in the NFRM module it did nothing to stop the headight error. Any suggestions? Help is appreciated. I just downloaded new daten files for NCSExpert maybe that will help (but I doubt that was the problem). Thank you for your help!
__________________

Last edited by BMW4Life2112; 06-07-2011 at 07:37 PM.
BMW4Life2112 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-26-2011, 01:21 PM   #4
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Try a retrofit to add in the option to the VO and code linked modules.
Cheers!
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-06-2011, 11:58 PM   #5
BMW4Life2112
Private
 
BMW4Life2112's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego, California

Posts: 96
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Try a retrofit to add in the option to the VO and code linked modules.
This will be my first time coding the VO. I understand VO coding process, but how do I know which modules are linked to any given VO option.
__________________

Last edited by BMW4Life2112; 06-12-2011 at 02:45 PM.
BMW4Life2112 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2011, 11:17 AM   #6
bazookajoe
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 530xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denver

Posts: 112
iTrader: (0)

you need to take out $522 and $524 in the VO then code the frm with a blank man file and the error will be gone.
bazookajoe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2011, 11:54 AM   #7
blue335xi
Captain
 
blue335xi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Saint Louis,MO

Posts: 626
iTrader: (26)

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by usafjay1976 View Post
I apologize for the duplicate post, but someone suggested I try posting elsewhere, so I thought maybe I'd try here? I'm lost!

Help! Adaptive headlight error / aftermarket lights

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all, I'm new to this site and new to doing some mods to my car! Please see below.

I have a 2006 BMW 325i with adaptive xenon headlights. I bought these aftermarket lights from www.carid.com

http://www.carid.com/2006-bmw-3-seri...tor-83777.html


They are beautiful (clear lens) lights but the problem is, I have the 'adaptive headlight error' message on my Navigation screen.

The biggest problem is, my high beams will NOT come on. They will flash when I pull the switch back, but when I push it forward (like to keep them on) they will not stay on, yet my dash shows them on.

Any suggestions on how to make these lights work? How do I get this error message to go away and make the high beams function again?


I hope this makes sense. Please let me know if you need further clarification.
Any help would be more than greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time!!!
Dose Are not adaptive lights they are halogens.
To get error light of take car to bmw dealer and have them code your car.
To get high beam working you need to jump 2 wires on your wire connectors like i did mine had the same problem but is fixed now.
jump white/blue wire with braun/yellow together and it should work you need to do this on both connectors.
I took a picture to show you how to do it.
Attached Images
 
blue335xi is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2011, 07:52 PM   #8
BMW4Life2112
Private
 
BMW4Life2112's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego, California

Posts: 96
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Thanks for the help, will be making some changes to the car's VO. I just don't understand how to code a blank .man file. How exactly do I go about doing this? Am I overthinking it?
Quote:
you need to take out $522 and $524 in the VO then code the frm with a blank man file and the error will be gone.
__________________
BMW4Life2112 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-08-2011, 04:33 PM   #9
bazookajoe
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 530xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denver

Posts: 112
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW4Life2112 View Post
Thanks for the help, will be making some changes to the car's VO. I just don't understand how to code a blank .man file. How exactly do I go about doing this? Am I overthinking it?
just go into the fswpsw.man file and delete everything from it. then save the empty file and then code the frm with that file. it will reset the module and no more error
bazookajoe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-08-2011, 11:10 PM   #10
BMW4Life2112
Private
 
BMW4Life2112's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego, California

Posts: 96
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Thanks!
__________________
BMW4Life2112 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2011, 12:52 PM   #11
Bender1012
Private
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Hamilton, MA

Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bazookajoe View Post
you need to take out $522 and $524 in the VO then code the frm with a blank man file and the error will be gone.
I've been trying to code out my adaptive headlights error as well, and I just tried the blank .man file. The error went away, but a new error took its place, the general low-beam headlights error. As I understand it $522 is the VO for xenons, while $524 is for the adaptive feature, so all I took out was $524. Why do you suggest taking out $522?
Bender1012 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2011, 12:58 PM   #12
nomis_nehc
Banned
 
Drives: BMW E60
Join Date: May 2011
Location: W. San Jose

Posts: 256
iTrader: (0)

Well, assuming what is said above is correct (since the link in the first post doesn't work), the headlights are no longer xenon. Which means the way the car powers the wiring is different now, which would explain why certain function(s) are acting wonky.
nomis_nehc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2014, 11:40 AM   #13
ceexwinn
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335xi sedan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Worcester, MA

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

having this problem.
ceexwinn is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2014, 03:45 PM   #14
joepcrepairs2
Banned
 
joepcrepairs2's Avatar
 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 128
iTrader: (0)

just disable the adaptive headlights thru coding

dont need to remove any hardware
joepcrepairs2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2014, 05:20 PM   #15
joepcrepairs2
Banned
 
joepcrepairs2's Avatar
 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 128
iTrader: (0)

:)

set this to nicht_aktiv on your frm/nfrm module



ALC_FAHRZEUG
joepcrepairs2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-13-2014, 10:54 PM   #16
ceexwinn
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335xi sedan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Worcester, MA

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue335xi View Post
Dose Are not adaptive lights they are halogens.
To get error light of take car to bmw dealer and have them code your car.
To get high beam working you need to jump 2 wires on your wire connectors like i did mine had the same problem but is fixed now.
jump white/blue wire with braun/yellow together and it should work you need to do this on both connectors.
I took a picture to show you how to do it.
what size wire did you use to jump the two wires?
ceexwinn is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST