E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > Service reset DIY



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-23-2009, 05:31 PM   #89
billgti
Lieutenant
12
Rep
506
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

this worked for my 06 330. the only thing is that i don't think you really need to hold on to the odometer button for that long. for me, i only held it for 1-2 seconds and the yellow abs warning icon comes on for a split second, and then you already see the engine oil sign in orange, at which point you can let go of the odometer button and start scrolling thru the service menu and choosing which item you want to reset.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2009, 12:27 PM   #90
ziplex
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: E91 330d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bristol

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by billgti View Post
this worked for my 06 330. the only thing is that i don't think you really need to hold on to the odometer button for that long. for me, i only held it for 1-2 seconds and the yellow abs warning icon comes on for a split second, and then you already see the engine oil sign in orange, at which point you can let go of the odometer button and start scrolling thru the service menu and choosing which item you want to reset.
Yep....that's how it goes on mine I cannot get it recounting though, the check box is ticked and the date is now 2014, tryed all ways to get it reset but it won't budge?!
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2009, 01:33 PM   #91
m3beemer16
Private
2
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 2006 E90 AW, 1995 M3 AW
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: soCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevbhoy View Post
So, outcome of re-visit to garage...

They have managed to get the mileage in the service info reset which is good. However, I still have the red car on the lift, the handbrake light still remains on and I still have the exclamation mark in the triangle next to the odometer.

So, I called the BMW dealer and spoke to the service dept. They think it could be a diagnostics problem (I didn't mention another garage changing my brake pads lol) so it is booked in with them a week on Monday to have a look.

Hopefully it will be a simple reset. Unfortunately, the car is no longer covered under warranty so fingers crossed I don't get a huge bill!!!

Did you get this fixed? I did this tutorial to fix a license plate light error and Service due error and now I have "Car on Lift" and E-Brake light staying on all the time.

Any have any ideas??
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2009, 01:35 PM   #92
cgnahc
Major
cgnahc's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
1,258
Posts

Drives: TiAg E90 ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Westlake Village, CA

iTrader: (9)

Did this for my brake warning, and it worked perfectly.
It was on a 60K mile cycle.

There is another warning showing the rear of the car and exhaust fumes with a double S symbol. What is that? I'd search, but don't even know what to call this icon. Anybody know?
This was on a date (~3yr) cycle.
__________________
9/2011 Need someone to install angle eye bulbs.
9/2011 WTB: an OEM 17" front rim.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2009, 06:43 PM   #93
voltron1011
Colonel
voltron1011's Avatar
58
Rep
2,912
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i, FJR-1300
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wiesbaden

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgnahc View Post
Did this for my brake warning, and it worked perfectly.
It was on a 60K mile cycle.

There is another warning showing the rear of the car and exhaust fumes with a double S symbol. What is that? I'd search, but don't even know what to call this icon. Anybody know?
This was on a date (~3yr) cycle.
That's the one that BMW put in for the local Smog check... It's just a reminder and is not tied to anything actually on the car. For some reason they chose 3 year cycles...
You should be able to reset that one as well.
__________________
'06 E90 325i (Delivered May '05) 6-spd manual, Nav, Xenons, 18' 162's, sport-suspension, 15mm RE spacers,
NURBURGRING:
http://www.e90post.com/forums/album.php?albumid=3270
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2009, 09:14 PM   #94
cgnahc
Major
cgnahc's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
1,258
Posts

Drives: TiAg E90 ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Westlake Village, CA

iTrader: (9)

thanks, I did some searching and found that it is some European requirement to perform an emissions inspection. A software glitch for US versions.
__________________
9/2011 Need someone to install angle eye bulbs.
9/2011 WTB: an OEM 17" front rim.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2009, 06:26 PM   #95
DAN
Private First Class
11
Rep
127
Posts

Drives: F30 320d M Estorial Blue
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

A guy at my local garage reset my general mot (car on ramp) indicator but it has 2013 and 37000 miles as the next inspection. I have tried this diy with my system date changed to 2005 but I'm getting nowhere. I get as far as the 'reset' message with a tick, press the bc button again for 3 secs, but it just returns to my mot symbol with 2013 and 37000 miles displayed.

Is it that I can't reset it after it's already been done once, or is 2013 the default reset for some reason?

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks

dan
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2009, 11:15 AM   #96
xEcUtEr
Private
xEcUtEr's Avatar
Portugal
3
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 05' E91 320d
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to xEcUtEr
Thanks!!!
__________________
..::ThatEuroLook::..
Carbon is a LifeStyLe
smoke tyrEz not drugz!
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2009, 06:51 PM   #97
Higgs1
Lieutenant
Higgs1's Avatar
United_States
17
Rep
422
Posts

Drives: E90 330i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Boston, MA

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2006 330i  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to Higgs1
just wanna say thanks this is the only place i found how to reset them, even my SA (who is very knowledgeable & helpful) told me that the only way he knew how to do it was to plug it in to the system (he offered to do it for me next time i came in) but glad i found this instead
__________________
06 E90 330i
Alpine White | Terra Dakota Leather | Carbon Fiber Trim | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | Navi | PDC
Sirius Radio | Xenon | GP Thunder 7500k Fogs | Lux 5.0 Angel Eyes | 18% Tint | Blacklines
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2009, 08:49 PM   #98
dnifong
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: dublin, georgia

iTrader: (0)

yes thats it. thank you very much. dale
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2009, 06:00 PM   #99
Tunna_uk
Captain
Tunna_uk's Avatar
23
Rep
796
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d Le Mans Blue
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Teesside UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I have the same problem as some on here, the rear pads were changed but not the sensor, and when the miles for the rear pads were re-set, I got the car on ramp and brake warning light for park brake on.......
Does it have to have a new sensor, and if so why??? The sensor did not hit the disc and is in perfect condition.....
Any help or advice please
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2009, 10:40 AM   #100
SGxi
Major General
Canada
96
Rep
6,805
Posts

Drives: E90 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 328xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tunna_uk View Post
I have the same problem as some on here, the rear pads were changed but not the sensor, and when the miles for the rear pads were re-set, I got the car on ramp and brake warning light for park brake on.......
Does it have to have a new sensor, and if so why??? The sensor did not hit the disc and is in perfect condition.....
Any help or advice please
Try disconnecting the sensor and reconnect it. Apparently, BMW made it such that the sensor has to be replaced in order to reset the brakes (that's the print out I got from a shop I used). They reset it after they changed it out.
__________________
MY07 A22 E90 N52Nxi
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2009, 12:58 PM   #101
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
Wont the dealer know you messed with the settings the next time you have to bring your car into the dealership???
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2009, 09:15 AM   #102
tres
Major
tres's Avatar
United_States
17
Rep
1,372
Posts

Drives: 2011 bmw 335is 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: maryland

iTrader: (6)

great diy
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 10:11 AM   #103
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDummy View Post
Wont the dealer know you messed with the settings the next time you have to bring your car into the dealership???
ANYONE have experience with this question so I can get an answer?

Thanks
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 03:48 AM   #104
hybris
Private
hybris's Avatar
Norway
2
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320d E90 M-sport
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 320d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDummy View Post
Wont the dealer know you messed with the settings the next time you have to bring your car into the dealership???
If you are talking about replacing brake pads (or something similar) and then resetting the service information accordingly, I wouldn't call that "messing with the settings" ?

I don't know how this works in the US, but at least over here it's not against any law or regulation to service your car yourself or somewhere else than BMW.

Of course if your car is under warranty stating that you have to do everything at BMW, I might reconsider doing these things myself.
__________________
Thorbjorn
07 BMW E90 320d M-sport
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 07:44 PM   #105
piele_bps
Enlisted Member
piele_bps's Avatar
0
Rep
46
Posts

Drives: E90 335i '07
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

Ii did it to my 335i 2007. It worked perfectly.
Thousands of thanks !
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 07:52 PM   #106
mosenn
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: BMW 2006 325i sedan
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Worked great for me!! AWESOME.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2009, 01:06 AM   #107
Estoril73
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2004 BMW X5
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SD

iTrader: (0)

2004 X5 3.0i

Hi,

I'm new here and just got a used X5 and wondering if this method will also work on my 2004 X5

Thanks,
Anthony
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2009, 04:14 PM   #108
voltron1011
Colonel
voltron1011's Avatar
58
Rep
2,912
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i, FJR-1300
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wiesbaden

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Estoril73 View Post
Hi,

I'm new here and just got a used X5 and wondering if this method will also work on my 2004 X5

Thanks,
Anthony
No, this only works for new-gen cars like the E60 5 series and the E90 3 series.
__________________
'06 E90 325i (Delivered May '05) 6-spd manual, Nav, Xenons, 18' 162's, sport-suspension, 15mm RE spacers,
NURBURGRING:
http://www.e90post.com/forums/album.php?albumid=3270
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2009, 04:44 AM   #109
mudbug
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: Black
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: norway

iTrader: (0)

Hi!
Please help. My car is a E60 EURO. I got the Vechile check remind on the instrument cluster. I used the procedure above but:
1. key in postion II, Vechile check appear
2. Wait 10 sec after Vechile check disappeared
3. Press and hold the odometer
4. triangel appear, continued holding odometer
5. Vechile check sympol appear again
6. Use knop (on I Drive) to scroll down to Vechile check on the service menu
7. press BC button. Nothing happende.

Did I something wrong??. Please help.Thanks in advance
Best regards
Mudbug
Appreciate 0
      09-27-2009, 11:27 PM   #110
likecars
New Member
0
Rep
25
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is Convertible
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego!

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hybris View Post
Used this tutorial to reset my brake fluid warning after replacing brake fluid - worked exactly like described. Thanks

A small note - it seemed like I had to have my drivers door closed for this to work, as long as the door was open when I pushed start, I just got a huge exclamation mark instead of the regular service info(which you get when you start the engine)

This "small note" is key to getting this to work. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:16 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST