E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > Service reset DIY



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-14-2010, 03:16 AM   #133
bmrcfreak
Private First Class
bmrcfreak's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
147
Posts

Drives: '10 335i xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (2)

I know on my car (US) there is one sensor on the drivers side rear wheel behind the liner...I'm not sure if there's one on the passenger side rear wheel too?
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2010, 06:26 AM   #134
dpcc
Registered
United Kingdom
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: BMW 335d M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Derbyshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

PROBLEM SOLVED AT LAST!

I have replaced my rear pad wear sensor, it would seem that although my old sensor looked ok, it was actually missing a chunk of plastic that seems to wear down with the pad. When I replaced the pads I was assuming the sensor should look like the E46 one did, however I now know having bought a new one that the E90 one has a lump on the front which wears down with the pad and must help the computer gauge the mileage left in the pads.

With this replaced, I left the ignition on for a minute or 2, then went into the service reset as described, this time instead of leaving me with ______miles, it now says 24,000miles, and all the warnings disappeared except the Parking Brake light, which cleared after removing key and reinsterting.

Hope this helps somebody else at some point!

Cheers
Dave
(Happy 335d owner with no Dashboard warnings!!)
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2010, 06:43 AM   #135
Dackelone
European Editor
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
3978
Rep
20,465
Posts

Drives: N54 e82
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

I put together a little DIY for our 1er's with photos. You might have a look-see.

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=415111
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2010, 07:08 PM   #136
mikem
Lieutenant Colonel
29
Rep
1,556
Posts

Drives: Z4M
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere

iTrader: (0)

I don`t have an E90 anymore guys (now have a Z4M and X3) but the sensors on the E9X cars wear down along with the pads (this is how the mileage is calculated) they don`t suddenly trigger below a critical point like the older models did. Hence the only way to not have to replace the sensors each time, is to zip tie them back when they`re new and then you can reset them `till your hearts content but obviously you have to monitor pad wear with your eyes, old school style.
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2010, 11:53 PM   #137
Ch3ss
First Lieutenant
United_States
9
Rep
339
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

very helpful thanks
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2010, 12:19 PM   #138
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
I didnt read a response to the question asked about clearing inspection code when you 1st put in the key fob.

Example I got my Vehicle inspection done yesterday for free and want to reset it now so it will be accurate but would like to know how exactly. I read all 7 pages and want to make sure I understand it correctly, I got the rest of the resets figured out pretty much.


Thanks,
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2010, 06:49 PM   #139
dd330i
Private First Class
dd330i's Avatar
Canada
4
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 330i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Toronto Area

iTrader: (0)

today I purchased a microfilter at the dealership and asked the service dept how to clear the code afterwards. They said I will have to bring the car in and it will take up to 45 mins to clear the codes. I could barely contain my laugh...Went home, replaced my microfilter and cleared the code on my 330i. My next microfilter change is now due in 2012.
Thank mikem
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2010, 08:45 AM   #140
ENINTY
Banned
76
Rep
3,415
Posts

Drives: 2006 325i Sport
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dd330i View Post
today I purchased a microfilter at the dealership and asked the service dept how to clear the code afterwards. They said I will have to bring the car in and it will take up to 45 mins to clear the codes. I could barely contain my laugh...Went home, replaced my microfilter and cleared the code on my 330i. My next microfilter change is now due in 2012.
Thank mikem
I'm not trying to bust on you, but 45 minutes seems reasonable. The dealer is counting the time for the Tech to go find your car, hook it up to the GT1, do a full scan of every module in the car, then evalute the scan, then clear the fault codes in all the modules along with resetting the CBS, then clean up your car, and return it to you. It's not like they just go out to your car with a laptop and a BT scanner, plug in and reset the CBS. When I do that with my BT scan tool and scan all the modules it takes at least 20 minutes.
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2010, 11:59 PM   #141
binaryagent
New Member
United_States
4
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: Black 2008 335xi Sport
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (0)

Doesn't Work Anymore

I was regularly entering the service menu back in July but now it just flashes for a sec and then back to the previous display. I can hold it longer and get into the software version menu but the service menu won't show. They upgraded my software to combat a failed fuel pump so that has to be when it changed.

Anyone else with a recent software version able to get into the service menu?

UPDATE: I found it works but only when the car is running.

Last edited by binaryagent; 10-11-2010 at 09:06 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2010, 10:56 AM   #142
WW435
Major
WW435's Avatar
70
Rep
1,122
Posts

Drives: 15 435 xDrive
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: PA

iTrader: (8)

BT Cable

Can you reset the mileage until service and such with the BT cable?
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2010, 11:33 PM   #143
MB330
Major
MB330's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
1,345
Posts

Drives: 330i
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [5.00]
2013 F30 320i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by aflyrice View Post
very helpful thanks
+1! Just reset my service!
__________________
'06 330i Monaco Blue/Gray/Walnut/ZPP/Navi/CA/AT -->ED 2006
'13 320i Alpine White/Black/AT
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2010, 03:00 PM   #144
jguy
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 320D SE
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton UK

iTrader: (0)

Hi, great site!
Was wondering about something thats been troubling me for the last few days. I've have a 06 320D SE and recently had it serviced, oil, filters etc.. also new tyres and brake pads (genuine BMW pads+sensors). The service indicator car on a ramp has gone and the next service date is now Oct 2011, however the countdown mileage to service still shows 1400 miles to go instead of the usual 15000 when i get it serviced, is there anything i can do to reset the mileage?
Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 01:04 PM   #145
konoplya
New Member
0
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

FYI you can get to the reset menu at any point even with the engine running (while car is standing and not driving obviously). i've tried it how OP says and then tried it with the engine running. you can do it either way.
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2010, 01:09 PM   #146
danilloe90
New Member old BMW M owner
danilloe90's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
85
Posts

Drives: 07 335Xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BASSACHUSETTS or Mass

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335XI  [0.00]
awesome, worked for me just fine
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2010, 06:40 PM   #147
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
Can you change and clear the code for the Microfilter when it is yellow but not red? I wanted to swap my filter and clear the code but dont want to mess anything up. So is it ok to reset code and swap BEFORE red light comes on???

Thanks for anyhelp guys...
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2010, 08:46 AM   #148
whitelance78
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Asia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dane12 View Post
Services reset problem

I have switch the spark plugs, with some news, and follow the complete description as written on the website, and it is true that it was reset to 100000km. But my problem is that it will not count down. What have I done wrong.
I am having same problem with Dane, my service counter for oil, aircon filter...all doesn't count down although the date and mileage is changed. Any kind soul can advice? Else i got to bring it to BMW workshop which I am sure will charge me alot of $$$$
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2010, 03:41 PM   #149
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
Has anyone changed MF when yellow? Or would it be best to wait until the red light comes on to clear the code?
Thanks
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2010, 09:46 AM   #150
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
Worked great so yes when light is yellow u can change filter and clear code.. thanks for this, just saved me $100 in labor.
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2011, 01:03 PM   #151
emthreeboy
Captain
emthreeboy's Avatar
17
Rep
918
Posts

Drives: E92 M3 & E46 M3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: socal

iTrader: (2)

does this work for -09 e92 m3? cool DIY though!
__________________
-09 e92 SPACE GRAY/// m3 w/ m-dct!

-06 E46 JET BLACK/// m3 6MT!
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2011, 12:20 PM   #152
WallyF
Private First Class
WallyF's Avatar
United_States
11
Rep
170
Posts

Drives: 2006 325xi & 2011 128i conv
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Rear Brake Reset Problem

mikem,

I followed this procedure and reset my rear brake warning indicator from 3400 miles to - 15,000. That s right; minus 15,000. Now I get a red service warning "Service Car on Lift" and the red "Brake" warning is on.

I drove the car around the block (0.7 miles) and the minus 15,000 dropped to minus 12,000. I was able to go back and retry after letting the "Service - Car on Lift" go out. It keeps resetting the mileage to minus 15,000.

Is this temporary until the OBC re-learns how the brakes wear? Or can it be set to the factory initial setting?

I changed out my rear pads on my 2006 325xi but did not change the wear sensor. Could this be the problem?

Any ideas?

wallyf

Last edited by WallyF; 06-07-2011 at 12:27 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2011, 12:56 PM   #153
bmrcfreak
Private First Class
bmrcfreak's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
147
Posts

Drives: '10 335i xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WallyF View Post
mikem,

I followed this procedure and reset my rear brake warning indicator from 3400 miles to - 15,000. That s right; minus 15,000. Now I get a red service warning "Service Car on Lift" and the red "Brake" warning is on.

I drove the car around the block (0.7 miles) and the minus 15,000 dropped to minus 12,000. I was able to go back and retry after letting the "Service - Car on Lift" go out. It keeps resetting the mileage to minus 15,000.

Is this temporary until the OBC re-learns how the brakes wear? Or can it be set to the factory initial setting?

I changed out my rear pads on my 2006 325xi but did not change the wear sensor. Could this be the problem?

Any ideas?

wallyf
Change your sensors as stated above on this page.
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2011, 10:03 AM   #154
WallyF
Private First Class
WallyF's Avatar
United_States
11
Rep
170
Posts

Drives: 2006 325xi & 2011 128i conv
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Sensor Replacement IS NECESSARY

Thanks for the help.

I replaced the brake sensor (BMW #34356789445) and was able to reset the computer to 31,000 miles. All of the red warnings went away.

So, if you want the E90 onboard computer (OBC) to function correctly when brake pads are replaced, the sensor must be replaced!!!

I measured the DC resistance of the new sensor and old sensor.
New sensor = 0.5 ohms
Old sensor = 450 ohms
So, as the sensor wears down, the resistance goes up. This is in contrast to the E46 sensor that is an open(infinite ohms) or short(zero ohms) situation.

I will write the author of the DYI and make sure the DYI is updated.

Wallyf
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST