E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography > *OFFICIAL* general photography conversation thread



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-03-2013, 09:36 AM   #4599
druu
Second Lieutenant
7
Rep
228
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 AW e92 335i xdrive Msport
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Big fan of lensrentals, plus roger's blog is awesome/
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2013, 01:19 PM   #4600
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
United_States
44
Rep
1,941
Posts

 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
So I just got the 100-400L (exciting) and the 2.0 TC ...

And it doesn't work with the TC at all ... shows 00 where aperture should display, and shutter won't depress - any ideas? I'll try and do the 6D firmware from April to see if it fixes.

Coming to think of it, my 6D does the same thing with my Kenko 1.5x TC -- I thought it was incompatible because it's an old TC, but maybe there's something wrong with my 6D when it comes to recognizing a TC in general? Sort of bummed but the 100-400L will still be kick-ass to use at the track and better than my 70-300 (non L).
__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup

Last edited by ddk632; 10-04-2013 at 01:52 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2013, 02:01 PM   #4601
dcstep
Major General
United_States
65
Rep
5,031
Posts

 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddk632 View Post
So I just got the 100-400L (exciting) and the 2.0 TC ...

And it doesn't work with the TC at all ... shows 00 where aperture should display, and shutter won't depress - any ideas? I'll try and do the 6D firmware from April to see if it fixes.

Coming to think of it, my 6D does the same thing with my Kenko 1.5x TC -- I thought it was incompatible because it's an old TC, but maybe there's something wrong with my 6D when it comes to recognizing a TC in general? Sort of bummed but the 100-400L will still be kick-ass to use at the track and better than my 70-300 (non L).

The 6D will only AF with apertures as small as f/5.6. A 2x TC is going to get you out to f/8, where you'll need a 5D MkIII, a 1D X or a 1D IV-III-II.

The 6D has an entirely different AF system from the 5D3 and the 1D X. I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for f/8 AF on the 6D. That's part of the reason it's so much less expensive.

The 100-400mm is a great, workhorse lens.

Dave
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2013, 02:05 PM   #4602
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
United_States
44
Rep
1,941
Posts

 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstep View Post
The 6D will only AF ...

The 100-400mm is a great, workhorse lens.

Dave
Thanks Dave, not looking for AF just looking for it to work. Here's the info I just posted on POTN:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddk632 on POTN
Ok I've got an interesting issue with my 6D:

It doesn't function at all when I install a TC on it.

- What I've done to test:
> Tried it with 2 TC's
-> Kenko 1.5x TC (not a typo, I have the older 1.5x)
-> Canon 2.0x TC III (I thought it was the old Kenko so I rented the Canon and same thing)
-> I've successfully used both of the TC's with my 400D/Rebel XTi (the 00 shows for aperture when the TC is mounted without a lens, but then shows correct aperture when a lens is mounted) I am able to shoot with the Rebel and either TC!

- Symptoms
> Cannot depress shutter at all - cannot take a shot
> Cannot change ANY settings such as ISO, aperture, shutter speed, etc.
> Aperture displays 00
> Does this with or without a lens mounted on the TC with both TC's
> Basically it looks like it thinks there is no lens on the TC even though there is

The only thing I haven't done is update to the April 2013 firmware release. It was some date/time fix so I'm not sure it'll make a difference but will try later tonight.

Questions --

Anyone else experience this or something similar?

If so, is this some sort of a fault where I need to send camera to Canon or was it fixed with firmware?

Am I missing something really, really dumb here?
__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup

Last edited by ddk632; 10-04-2013 at 02:14 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2013, 02:15 PM   #4603
dcstep
Major General
United_States
65
Rep
5,031
Posts

 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Fyi, MF doesn't work worth a shit with these lenses. The VF isn't designed to allow MF. I've tried it, thought I was getting close, and the final images sucked.

Have you tried taping off the pins on the TCs, so it can't report to the camera? I did that once, but don't remember which pins.

Is the camera in Manual mode when you try to MF and push the shutter. You want to stop all reporting from the lens to the camera, so you tape the pins and put the camera in Manual mode so it's not looking for an aperture reading.

Dave
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2013, 02:19 PM   #4604
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
United_States
44
Rep
1,941
Posts

 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Yeah I tried manual, bulb, and aperture priority, all the same.
Haven't tried taping off pins, will check into that as I've heard of it before.

It works flawlessly on my Rebel! I love that thing man, it's a freaking tank. That XTi will always be there in my time of need!!!

Thanks for the MF is shit comment - I would not have thought of that off the cuff.
I may just drop the TC idea in which case I have 400mm with AF. I'm planning on doing a bunch of test shots tonight. Definitely do not want to get home with 500 blurry images of bikes!
__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2013, 03:04 PM   #4605
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
126
Rep
5,076
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
According to The Digital Picture site, the 100-400L should be compatible with the Canon TCs, although no AF on the 6D. Still, it should work. I've used both my Kenko TCs at the same time with my 6D and 400 f5.6, so I see no reason for just one not to work with your 6D.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2013, 03:13 PM   #4606
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
United_States
44
Rep
1,941
Posts

 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Neither of the TC's works on my 6D
Both of them work on the Rebel

I think it might be an issue with my copy of the 6D.
__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2013, 03:27 PM   #4607
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
United_States
44
Rep
1,941
Posts

 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
OK issue is fixed based on a response on POTN

I was mounting the TC on to the camera, and then mounting the lens onto the TC and it didn't register the lens.

The solution was to mount the TC and lens together first, then mount the Lens+TC combo onto the camera, and bada-bing!

Thanks for the help guys, I figured it was either a big, bad problem, or something really dumb. Turns out, it was something really dumb!

__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2013, 06:01 PM   #4608
druu
Second Lieutenant
7
Rep
228
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 AW e92 335i xdrive Msport
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

New firmware for the aging x100. Good stuff so far.

http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digi...100/index.html
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2013, 07:10 PM   #4609
Itsed65
Major
Itsed65's Avatar
24
Rep
1,429
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 X1 28i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SF East Bay

iTrader: (0)

Good to see, thanks! I love my Fuji, but I have to say my Nex 6 has kind of taken its place as my go to small camera. And now I just ordered a 5d3 too. I need to have a sale!
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2013, 07:58 PM   #4610
dcstep
Major General
United_States
65
Rep
5,031
Posts

 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
That new Sony mirrorless, full-frame has me thinking about it as a travel camera.

Dave
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2013, 08:29 PM   #4611
Itsed65
Major
Itsed65's Avatar
24
Rep
1,429
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 X1 28i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SF East Bay

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstep View Post
That new Sony mirrorless, full-frame has me thinking about it as a travel camera.

Dave
I will be very interested to read the reviews of that one. But since I just got the Nex this summer, and now have the 5D3 coming, I need to cool it on the photo gear! The only other thing I really want is a used super tele.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2013, 11:03 PM   #4612
dcstep
Major General
United_States
65
Rep
5,031
Posts

 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Itsed65 View Post
I will be very interested to read the reviews of that one. But since I just got the Nex this summer, and now have the 5D3 coming, I need to cool it on the photo gear! The only other thing I really want is a used super tele.
You could root for me to get a big year end bonus so that I could sell you my Series I 500.

Dave
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2013, 08:45 AM   #4613
vachss
Captain
15
Rep
791
Posts

 
Drives: Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstep View Post
You could root for me to get a big year end bonus so that I could sell you my Series I 500.

Dave
and get a 600 II? I've stopped my big white collection for now, but am not above vicariously enjoying the continued progress of others...
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2013, 10:59 AM   #4614
dcstep
Major General
United_States
65
Rep
5,031
Posts

 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by vachss View Post
and get a 600 II? I've stopped my big white collection for now, but am not above vicariously enjoying the continued progress of others...
Either the 500 or 600 II. I borrowed a 500mm from CPS and fell in love with the light weight and much improved IS (I hand held 1,000mm as slow as 1/80-sec.). After I buy my 1D X (soon) I'll borrow a 600mm to see if it tempts me as much. Having a 500/700/1000 arsenal may be enough. Of course, 840mm with all the AF points and 600mm quick as lightning may be impossible to resist. We'll see.

The 1D X comes first, because its ability to manhandle the AF of those lenses with TCs attached is ten-fold better than my 5D MkIII.

1,000mm hand-held at 1/80-sec.:


Gibbous Waxing Moon by dcstep, on Flickr
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2013, 09:57 PM   #4615
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
126
Rep
5,076
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstep View Post

The 1D X comes first, because its ability to manhandle the AF of those lenses with TCs attached is ten-fold better than my 5D MkIII.
Could you elaborate a bit on this, Dave? You've said numerous times that the 5D MkIII's AF blows away the 7D's, and now the 1Dx AF is 10x better than the 5D MkIII when used with TCs and super-teles? What situations highlighted this difference? I ask because I'm toying with the idea of getting either a late model 1-Series (like the 1Ds MkIII or 1D MkIV) or a 5D MkIII so I can use a MKIII 1.4x TC with my 400 5.6 and have AF @ f8. Amazon currently has the 5D MkIII body for $2699, which is the cheapest option of the 3 bodies.

EDIT: Was just rereading a review of the 5D MkIII and a comparison between it and the 1Dx. Even though they share AF systems, the 1Dx has a more powerful battery that drives AF motors faster on some lenses. Hence the faster AF. Is that what you mean when you say it manhandles the AF on the big lenses better, Dave?
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter

Last edited by M_Six; 10-21-2013 at 10:06 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2013, 10:30 PM   #4616
dcstep
Major General
United_States
65
Rep
5,031
Posts

 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Yes Mark, the higher voltage battery snaps the AF into place in about .1-sec. with either TC on and even at f/8. In contrast, the 5D3 might take up to a full second and not stay locked on as steady. With no TCs, the 5D3 is almost as fast.

From what I've read from others that have tried the 1D X, you want the 1D IV is you're looking to save some money and still get some of the benefit of the higher voltage battery. I've read that the 1D X is faster, but the IV is faster than the 5D3.

I really think that the 1D X only makes sense for those that need the performance with TCs or need the better weatherproofing or need the higher shutter durability or 12-fps. I plan to keep using the 5D3 as my backup nature body and primary travel and general photography body.

Dave
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2013, 10:39 PM   #4617
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
126
Rep
5,076
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Thanks, Dave. The 1Dx is well out of my price range, but the 5D MkIII and 1D MkIV are attainable. As tempting as the current Amazon sale on 5D MkIIIs is, I'm pretty happy with my 6D for everything except BIF shots, especially when using the 400 + TC combo. For that reason I'm leaning towards a used MkIV as my dedicated birding rig. It would give me the faster, more accurate AF, faster FPS, and a slight crop advantage.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2013, 10:49 PM   #4618
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
United_States
44
Rep
1,941
Posts

 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Once Dave plants the 1DX seed in your brain, it can not be unplanted.

__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2013, 10:50 PM   #4619
Itsed65
Major
Itsed65's Avatar
24
Rep
1,429
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 X1 28i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SF East Bay

iTrader: (0)

I can certainly vouch for the 1DIV. It is my go to bif camera, and the AF is pretty amazing, and it produces nice clean files. Also, you get a bit of extra reach with the 1.3 crop factor, and still have f8 autofoucs capability. I think I will have a great 2 camera system now with it along with my just received 5D3.
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2013, 11:52 PM   #4620
Weebl
Weebl wobbles but eats Pie
15
Rep
1,525
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i, 2000 740i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Lenny and Carl approved.
I've always toyed with the idea of a 1D4, military jets don't work well with the AF of a 7D.
Then again I don't get baller paychecks either. I'll just stick to buying lenses.
__________________
Kevingoto.smugmug.com
2000 740i-Annalisa and 2008 335i-Weebl. Weebl may wobble but has DTC
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST