E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Angel Eye FRM disabled



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-02-2015, 10:31 AM   #1
fulltilt444
Private First Class
13
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Angel Eye FRM disabled

Hey, I have a LCI E90. Since I had the car, the passenger side angel eyes was out. I replaced both LEDs, however I still could not get the passenger side to light up. no voltage. I removed both LEDs and since have run without angel eyes, but I am finally looking to fix this.

I believe the FRM is disabled on the passenger side since it was run for so long without a LED. If that is the case, my driver side is probably disabled by now too.

I am new to coding, but have done plenty of reading and can probably do this on my own -- but can someone give me some short guidance as to what I will need to do to enable the angel eye again? For starters, am I going to use NCSExpert? What parameters do i need to enable? I might be way over my head here LOL, but I'm going to take my best stab at this.

Thanks all
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2015, 12:34 PM   #2
Sensible_
Major
98
Rep
1,309
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Sounds like you need to reset the short counter in the FRM. Tool32 is your friend.

This is the best guide available:

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=866044
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2015, 02:15 PM   #3
fulltilt444
Private First Class
13
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Sounds like you need to reset the short counter in the FRM. Tool32 is your friend.

This is the best guide available:

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=866044

Ok, I will download and check back here with my progress. This is ungodly complicated, but staying positive about it!

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2015, 02:54 PM   #4
fulltilt444
Private First Class
13
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

have software installed, cable works. now the hard part. doing it!

if anyone wants to remote in and walk me through this, i'll paypal a donation for a nice six pack.....

currently using as a reference:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=964804
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=625111

Can't find steuern_reset_kurzshlussabschaltung in FRM_70

but thinking positive here!

Last edited by fulltilt444; 09-12-2015 at 04:04 PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2015, 08:48 PM   #5
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
1,540
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by fulltilt444
have software installed, cable works. now the hard part. doing it!

if anyone wants to remote in and walk me through this, i'll paypal a donation for a nice six pack.....

currently using as a reference:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=964804
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=625111

Can't find steuern_reset_kurzshlussabschaltung in FRM_70

but thinking positive here!
Pm sent.
Appreciate 1
      09-12-2015, 09:20 PM   #6
Dtype
Second Lieutenant
Portugal
6
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

I've got same problem when I plug lci xeno headlights. With original headlights (2007 xenon) I've got no problem. I already have frm3 so it should be plug'n play right? I've tried 2 pairs of headlights and get always this problem. Could be coding since I have frm3 coded to car?
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2015, 09:46 PM   #7
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
1,540
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype
I've got same problem when I plug lci xeno headlights. With original headlights (2007 xenon) I've got no problem. I already have frm3 so it should be plug'n play right? I've tried 2 pairs of headlights and get always this problem. Could be coding since I have frm3 coded to car?
Did you default code it after transferring your VO from CAS?
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2015, 05:49 AM   #8
Dtype
Second Lieutenant
Portugal
6
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype
I've got same problem when I plug lci xeno headlights. With original headlights (2007 xenon) I've got no problem. I already have frm3 so it should be plug'n play right? I've tried 2 pairs of headlights and get always this problem. Could be coding since I have frm3 coded to car?
Did you default code it after transferring your VO from CAS?
Yes. I write my vin to frm3, copy VO from cas to frm3. (Had changed production date to can read nfrm instead of frm). Then just adjust some pwm lines because tail lights aren't ok, inner lights was brighter then outter lights. But was that. Works perfectly with non lci headlights, but with lci always get this error.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2015, 09:02 AM   #9
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
1,540
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype
I've got same problem when I plug lci xeno headlights. With original headlights (2007 xenon) I've got no problem. I already have frm3 so it should be plug'n play right? I've tried 2 pairs of headlights and get always this problem. Could be coding since I have frm3 coded to car?
Did you default code it after transferring your VO from CAS?
Yes. I write my vin to frm3, copy VO from cas to frm3. (Had changed production date to can read nfrm instead of frm). Then just adjust some pwm lines because tail lights aren't ok, inner lights was brighter then outter lights. But was that. Works perfectly with non lci headlights, but with lci always get this error.
Maybe the pin out on the headlights are different. That's the only thing I can think of...
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2015, 07:48 PM   #10
Dtype
Second Lieutenant
Portugal
6
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype
I've got same problem when I plug lci xeno headlights. With original headlights (2007 xenon) I've got no problem. I already have frm3 so it should be plug'n play right? I've tried 2 pairs of headlights and get always this problem. Could be coding since I have frm3 coded to car?
Did you default code it after transferring your VO from CAS?
Yes. I write my vin to frm3, copy VO from cas to frm3. (Had changed production date to can read nfrm instead of frm). Then just adjust some pwm lines because tail lights aren't ok, inner lights was brighter then outter lights. But was that. Works perfectly with non lci headlights, but with lci always get this error.
Maybe the pin out on the headlights are different. That's the only thing I can think of...
Pin out is the same, except for pin 6 on non-lci that is halogen high beams and lci don't have it, and pin 7 on lci that is the 3 Orange led. All the other pins is the same. Checked on ISTA.
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2015, 09:18 AM   #11
fulltilt444
Private First Class
13
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

SOLUTION: http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=866044

the other threads I posted above also lead in the same direction.

I was having trouble with the cable I bought on amazon. duh.

With a working cable, resetting the module and clearing code was easy!

thanks wildcatcrazy
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2015, 07:23 PM   #12
Dtype
Second Lieutenant
Portugal
6
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulltilt444
SOLUTION: http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=866044

the other threads I posted above also lead in the same direction.

I was having trouble with the cable I bought on amazon. duh.

With a working cable, resetting the module and clearing code was easy!

thanks wildcatcrazy
Not working for me. Every time I clear the shortcut, it returns again. But only with lci headlights. Had tried 2 pairs of them.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST