E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior/interior) > anyone make a e90 halogen to xenon conversion harness?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-26-2011, 09:27 AM   #1
A4Andre
Private
 
A4Andre's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NYC

Posts: 49
iTrader: (1)

anyone make a e90 halogen to xenon conversion harness?

i'm in the process of doing the pre-LCI halogen to xenon conversion and do not want to modify any wires. If i understand the write-ups correctly, and excluding the bi-xenon mod, all you need to do is attach a ground wire and tap it to the factory ground wire.

Does anyone know if someone has already created a conversion harness? I did some searching but came up empty. it does not seem hard to make one, but it would save me a lot of time and a headache if i can just purchase it, lol.
A4Andre is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 09:49 AM   #2
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

There is a thread about this, but modifying the wiring is super simple. You can splice the wires inside the unit itself and not have to modify the connector (thanks DESI and all). What you do it splice the two wires together (IIRC, it's the black coming from the xenon ballast) to the brown ground wire going into the connector. Use a tap and it's 100% reversible. and no one sees it. If you want the xenon to work as high beams, you need to splice the other two wires that you reference.

It really is very easy and don't be afraid to try it out!
orangedawg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 12:45 PM   #3
A4Andre
Private
 
A4Andre's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NYC

Posts: 49
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
There is a thread about this, but modifying the wiring is super simple. You can splice the wires inside the unit itself and not have to modify the connector (thanks DESI and all). What you do it splice the two wires together (IIRC, it's the black coming from the xenon ballast) to the brown ground wire going into the connector. Use a tap and it's 100% reversible. and no one sees it. If you want the xenon to work as high beams, you need to splice the other two wires that you reference.

It really is very easy and don't be afraid to try it out!
And this wont give any errors if I use oem bulbs and ballasts?

The write-ups I see here both say to add a ground wire to the connector.
A4Andre is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 12:48 PM   #4
Delta0311
Brigadier General
 
Delta0311's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335xi E92
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NJ

Posts: 3,389
iTrader: (1)

Yes it will unless you use Canbus ballasts. My setup is d1s blubs running off of a Canbus ballast. Didn't throw errors except every now and then, so I added a pair of error cancelors and it's been good to go for over 2 years now.

And this week I'm going to install the Burgertunning 6000K halo bulbs.
__________________
Space Gray 2011 335xi E92
Delta0311 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 03:07 PM   #5
A4Andre
Private
 
A4Andre's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NYC

Posts: 49
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delta0311 View Post
Yes it will unless you use Canbus ballasts. My setup is d1s blubs running off of a Canbus ballast. Didn't throw errors except every now and then, so I added a pair of error cancelors and it's been good to go for over 2 years now.

And this week I'm going to install the Burgertunning 6000K halo bulbs.
If you dont mind me asking, which canbus ballasts do you use? I have a set for my fogs which i was going to test with, but they dont fit in the OEM spot and i dont want to drill holes.

Also which error cancellors are you using? I heard some like DDM's dont work (not sure how old those posts were, maybe they fixed the issue).
A4Andre is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 06:12 PM   #6
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

I think I misunderstood your question. You were asking about a harness. What I posted was an alternative to a harness. Error cancellors would still be needd. I'm going to code mine so I won't be using cancellers, just the wiring mod I posted.
orangedawg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 07:12 PM   #7
A4Andre
Private
 
A4Andre's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NYC

Posts: 49
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
I think I misunderstood your question. You were asking about a harness. What I posted was an alternative to a harness. Error cancellors would still be needd. I'm going to code mine so I won't be using cancellers, just the wiring mod I posted.
you understood it correctly and i was originally looking for a harness so i wouldn't have to splice wires.

I thought error cancellors wouldn't be needed since it didn't mention them in the write-ups. Do you know what error cancellors people use with the stock bulbs and ballasts?
A4Andre is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 08:48 PM   #8
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

If you are talking about OEM xenons, I'm not sure. I think most peole do coding. You can hit up the coding forum and see if someone can remote code them. Otherwise, I do hear mention of a canbus error cancellor that some are using with their non-oem xenons. I think vendors have them for about $35-40 or so.
orangedawg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 09:47 PM   #9
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

If you wish to do an OEM conversion using OEM ballast, using a canceller won't work well.

Those cancellers work with AFTERMARKET Canbus ballast that use non D1S bulbs (most of the time). On top of that, you won't be able to mount the aftermarket ballast to the headlight like the OEM way (you can mount it below it). This way is basically fooling the computer into thinking it is still running halogen lights. I ran this setup for a while and only had errors during cold nights.

Now for the OEM way, you can do what orangedawg pointed out. After that you can "code" the car so that it realizes that it is running OEM xenons. Works just like out of the factory with no errors etc. If you don't have access to a coding cable or a place where you can get the car coded, this method probably won't work well for you.

But this is definately the OEM way to go. No fooling the computers, just programming it so that it knows xenons are installed.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 06:35 AM   #10
A4Andre
Private
 
A4Andre's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NYC

Posts: 49
iTrader: (1)

Thanks guys and i read your thread about coding some time ago. While i would love to do the coding, i dont want to mess with it for when i decide to trade the car in.

I'll definitely be tapping the lowbeam ground wire to the black ballast wire. I just need to find out where to put the resistor and which one to use.
A4Andre is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 09:53 AM   #11
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

I was just trying to present an alternative to a harness, that's all. If you want a harness, please by all means purchase one. The "splice the ground wires together" method is an alternative for those who wish to do so. Splicing the wires is very simple, you just splice two wires together, and if you like to code your car, it's simple too. If you visit a dealer and they update your car, you can just code your changes back over. You can also code a wide variety of things as well (such as windows up/down with remote, corner delete, add sirus to your car, etc.) all for free once you have the cable and the software, which there is a whole forum section on. Or, if you prefer, you can use the program SSS (what dealers use, search bimmerforums to get help to install it) and do a retrofit for xenon using that and no matter what the dealer does in their coding, it does not affect the retrofit.

All I was presenting was an alternative. If there is a harness out there that will work for your situation, by all means get it. I'm sure it is well worth the price and I think it's great that someone has come up with a harness! Great job guys!!
orangedawg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 01:51 PM   #12
A4Andre
Private
 
A4Andre's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NYC

Posts: 49
iTrader: (1)

Thanks for all the input guys. i'm going to try contacting Jay and see what the status of the harness is. I did see their youtube videos before, but at the end they always talk about getting a patent. So, who knows if they even produced finished copies for distribution.

If that fails, I guess i'll have to get by with the error for 5 seconds when I turn the lights on. I would code the car, but I dont want to mess with that stuff. Doesnt it or can it void your warranty? That's something I dont want to lose, lol.
A4Andre is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 02:03 PM   #13
UsnRoberts
Private First Class
 
UsnRoberts's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i sport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Jville

Posts: 151
iTrader: (0)

Im new here but in the same boat. Have a link to this "Jay" ??
UsnRoberts is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 02:10 PM   #14
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

LOL..Sounds like a sale pitch here.

Clearly your not familar with how the xenons get coded into yoru car. I am not going to run through it.

It's a preference. I rather go the oem way and only have to tap 1 wire as opposed to adding an aftermarket wire which messes around with the electronics of the car. The harness still means that the car thinks it is halogens.

Yea I heard about Damon and his business. He was supposed to replace a ballast for me which never happened.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 02:13 PM   #15
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by A4Andre View Post
Thanks for all the input guys. i'm going to try contacting Jay and see what the status of the harness is. I did see their youtube videos before, but at the end they always talk about getting a patent. So, who knows if they even produced finished copies for distribution.

If that fails, I guess i'll have to get by with the error for 5 seconds when I turn the lights on. I would code the car, but I dont want to mess with that stuff. Doesnt it or can it void your warranty? That's something I dont want to lose, lol.
Coding the car has a less chance of voiding your warranty compared to using a harness to fool the computer.


It is your choice at the end. You have options here. If you look at the coding section, you have members here that are willing to code your car for a small fee/of for free. I think a few are in the NYC area as well.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 03:24 PM   #16
A4Andre
Private
 
A4Andre's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NYC

Posts: 49
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
Coding the car has a less chance of voiding your warranty compared to using a harness to fool the computer.


It is your choice at the end. You have options here. If you look at the coding section, you have members here that are willing to code your car for a small fee/of for free. I think a few are in the NYC area as well.
I agree with you, but am reluctant to mess with the coding should I decide to trade in the car or something. It's still an option though.

Thanks for all the input and opinions btw
A4Andre is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 05:19 PM   #17
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

No problem. Good luck. :-)

What happens when you have to take your car in for service and have to remove the harness? That was what I was trying to get at.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 09:23 AM   #18
A4Andre
Private
 
A4Andre's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NYC

Posts: 49
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
No problem. Good luck. :-)

What happens when you have to take your car in for service and have to remove the harness? That was what I was trying to get at.
That was another one of my concerns. I think for now i'm going to try modifying the lights inside the housing so they wont see anything. I just need to know where to attach the resistors and what type of resistor.

i'm going to tap the brown lowbeam ground to the black ballast wires this weekend and see what errors i get.

Last edited by A4Andre; 04-28-2011 at 10:32 AM.
A4Andre is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2011, 07:50 PM   #19
e90sexion
E 9 0 S E X I O N
 
e90sexion's Avatar
 
Drives: like old times
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver/WA

Posts: 6,151
iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
There is a thread about this, but modifying the wiring is super simple. You can splice the wires inside the unit itself and not have to modify the connector (thanks DESI and all). What you do it splice the two wires together (IIRC, it's the black coming from the xenon ballast) to the brown ground wire going into the connector. Use a tap and it's 100% reversible. and no one sees it. If you want the xenon to work as high beams, you need to splice the other two wires that you reference.

It really is very easy and don't be afraid to try it out!
do you have pics? I can't imagine it w/o looking at it
__________________
2008 AW e92 M3
RPI | H&R | 2008 IB e86 M coupe (sold)
KW | VOLK TE37SL | RECARO | PE - 2008 AW e92 335xi (sold)
e90sexion is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2011, 07:52 PM   #20
e90sexion
E 9 0 S E X I O N
 
e90sexion's Avatar
 
Drives: like old times
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver/WA

Posts: 6,151
iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
If you wish to do an OEM conversion using OEM ballast, using a canceller won't work well.

Those cancellers work with AFTERMARKET Canbus ballast that use non D1S bulbs (most of the time). On top of that, you won't be able to mount the aftermarket ballast to the headlight like the OEM way (you can mount it below it). This way is basically fooling the computer into thinking it is still running halogen lights. I ran this setup for a while and only had errors during cold nights.

Now for the OEM way, you can do what orangedawg pointed out. After that you can "code" the car so that it realizes that it is running OEM xenons. Works just like out of the factory with no errors etc. If you don't have access to a coding cable or a place where you can get the car coded, this method probably won't work well for you.

But this is definately the OEM way to go. No fooling the computers, just programming it so that it knows xenons are installed.
hey DESI, aftermarket canbus ballast uses non d1s bulbs?
currently I am working on my conversion for my 1 series.
the xenon headlight uses OEM d1s bulb and I would like to use canbus ballast, which bulb HID kit should I use then??
thanks again,
__________________
2008 AW e92 M3
RPI | H&R | 2008 IB e86 M coupe (sold)
KW | VOLK TE37SL | RECARO | PE - 2008 AW e92 335xi (sold)
e90sexion is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2011, 08:20 PM   #21
e90sexion
E 9 0 S E X I O N
 
e90sexion's Avatar
 
Drives: like old times
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver/WA

Posts: 6,151
iTrader: (16)

Let me summarize,
black wire from ballast tap into brown wire that is wired into the connector, so making ballast and connector connected. This will plug and play but error on Dash.

Now, about the bulb/ballast. I know canbus ballast is error free but some might now I assume, but canbus ballast isn't able to use w/ d1s bulbs.
Am I understanding it correct?
__________________
2008 AW e92 M3
RPI | H&R | 2008 IB e86 M coupe (sold)
KW | VOLK TE37SL | RECARO | PE - 2008 AW e92 335xi (sold)
e90sexion is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2011, 09:30 PM   #22
e90sexion
E 9 0 S E X I O N
 
e90sexion's Avatar
 
Drives: like old times
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver/WA

Posts: 6,151
iTrader: (16)

please look at pictures.
only wire modification needed is this?
Attached Images
 
__________________
2008 AW e92 M3
RPI | H&R | 2008 IB e86 M coupe (sold)
KW | VOLK TE37SL | RECARO | PE - 2008 AW e92 335xi (sold)
e90sexion is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST