E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > 335i Dyno Number



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-20-2007, 04:27 PM   #1
SilverState
Enlisted Member
4
Rep
46
Posts

 
Drives: Gas-powered
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

335i Dyno Number

.

Last edited by SilverState; 05-28-2007 at 11:30 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 04:29 PM   #2
Prodigy
Private First Class
1
Rep
168
Posts

 
Drives: 335i, Alpine White
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Yep, MSN.CA just tested the 335i. Dyno resullts were the same.

"The general rule is a 15 to 20 per cent loss is normal. Another published dyno test done on a non-turbo 2007 BMW 330i found an approximate 20 per cent loss at the wheels. So using that 20 per cent loss figure, the engine in this particular 335i actually produced 329 hp, and 331 lb-ft of torque. This horsepower rating is just a couple ticks below the outgoing M3, and absolutely humbles the M3ís 262 torque figure. "


http://en.autos.sympatico.msn.ca/gui...mentid=4134203
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 04:39 PM   #3
CASHBY
United_States
60
Rep
2,117
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335 "done up"
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GARAGE

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverState View Post
Just got a baseline run on a Dynojet Rear Wheel Dyno. I will post the printout later tonight.

RWHP: 287
RWTQ: 298

Air/fuel ratio started kinda high in the 14s and dropped to the 11s near the end of the powerband.

I don't know why BMW is telling people this car makes 300 horse at the flywheel, this thing makes more like 340 to 350 at the flywheel IMO.

BTW, I have dynoed three other cars at this same dyno and have dynoed some of those cars on dynoes in California. They are all within a couple horse of each other. The only reason I had to use California is because back then, my local place did not have wideband capability and I needed that for my tuning.
Good #'s are you on 93 octane?
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 04:40 PM   #4
BayerischeMW
Man with No Name
Norway
9
Rep
441
Posts

 
Drives: '07 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

impressive!
__________________

E92 335i coupe March 2007
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 04:45 PM   #5
junwoni
Private
0
Rep
87
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335i blue / 350Z
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: OR

iTrader: (0)

i thought they are around 260+wh/270lb+tq. this is the highest I have seen on this board.
__________________
2007 335i coupe--blue
2006 350Z--silverstone
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 04:52 PM   #6
CASHBY
United_States
60
Rep
2,117
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335 "done up"
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GARAGE

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by junwoni View Post
i thought they are around 260+wh/270lb+tq. this is the highest I have seen on this board.
little bit more than that.

I foget what i made, but i think it was like 279/28* ill have to look... but yea that is good power he made!
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 04:56 PM   #7
jbake
OG
jbake's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
920
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Valley Jo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I  [0.00]
hell yeah 335i, 330-340hp is awesome
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 04:58 PM   #8
WilyB
Captain
WilyB's Avatar
8
Rep
671
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I baselined (before PROcede) 279 RWHP / 297.7 RWTQ: your numbers are very good.

Last edited by WilyB; 03-20-2007 at 08:04 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 05:36 PM   #9
RiXst3r
RiXst3r's Avatar
153
Rep
6,509
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
I will be getting a before and after dyno run this weekend. 93oct, eurobahn tuner. I hope my stock numbers are close to that.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 06:00 PM   #10
itsbrokeagain
itsbrokeagain's Avatar
United_States
173
Rep
15,737
Posts

 
Drives: E28 535, 1996 Dodge Ram Diesel
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Valley Stream, NY

iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to itsbrokeagain
woot! These are the numbers I like to see! Info like this gives me the patience to break my car in nice and easy
__________________
AUTOCouture Motoring: Handling reflector installs to turbo upgrades and superchargers, and everything in between
15-01 Pollitt Drive, Fairlawn NJ 201-666-3500

<-Official Vehicle Transport for AUTOCouture
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 07:44 PM   #11
RiXst3r
RiXst3r's Avatar
153
Rep
6,509
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsbrokeagain View Post
woot! These are the numbers I like to see! Info like this gives me the patience to break my car in nice and easy

How do you know that he didnt do a hard break-in to get these numbers?
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 07:54 PM   #12
stressdoc
Moderator
stressdoc's Avatar
Dominica
139
Rep
10,169
Posts

 
Drives: F80 YMB
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MO

iTrader: (0)

The inside #s from Munich back in winter of 2006 were 328 hp. My guess is that is the version that we got. Amazing.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 08:11 PM   #13
teknochild
Your resident 4um troll
teknochild's Avatar
37
Rep
2,021
Posts

 
Drives: 335 coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fl

iTrader: (0)

wow most people are 270 -275 ish those are awsome numbers, you sure it wasnt a dynnopack or mustang dyno or w/e those two that read way high are
__________________
RAWRrrrr
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 10:41 PM   #14
grkm3
Lieutenant
9
Rep
455
Posts

 
Drives: m3
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA

iTrader: (0)

you have very strong numbers for a stock auto...That dyno is in sae and is using a 0 smothing factor....VERY nice looking run bro

I think your car is the one(neo lol)...and don't forget that it was with 91 oct...

are you planing on installing the procede?I'll take a stab and say this car will break 360whp with exh.procede,and 93oct
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 10:50 PM   #15
Evo8MRto335I
Captain
Evo8MRto335I's Avatar
Spain
15
Rep
968
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Mercedes Benz C63 AMG
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson

iTrader: (1)

Just curious, did you get the boost reading? you typically get the boost readings when dynoing. It would be nice to see the boost output.

Thanks!

Carlos
__________________
2009' C63 AMG, 2011' C300
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 10:58 PM   #16
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys,
Just one thing to look at. The correction factor down below. It says 1.06 which means that the actual, uncorrected numbers are 270whp and 281lbft (divide SAE corrected numbers by 1.06). Judging by the baro pressure at the bottom of the graph, the test was done well above sea level. This means that the dyno rightfully applied an altitude correction. The only problem is that altitude corrections are only reasonably accurate on naturally aspirated cars. Modern turbo cars, like the 335i, adjust boost pressure to compensate for thin air. So, in effect, the dyno results shown represent a double correction, once by the dyno and once again by the ECU. Nothing shady going on by any means. But the results are overstated in relative terms. It's just one of the things that happens when comparing dyno results taken in different conditions.

Cheers,
shiv

Last edited by shiv@vishnu; 03-21-2007 at 02:38 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 10:58 PM   #17
Evo8MRto335I
Captain
Evo8MRto335I's Avatar
Spain
15
Rep
968
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Mercedes Benz C63 AMG
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverState View Post
No. How do you suggest I get that from a dyno?
It takes like 10 second to do it. All you need to do is just plug a T fitting into any vaccuum/boost line. It depends on the dyno but most dynos comes with the boost sesnor reading unit so it should be standard on your printout.

I have dyno my turbo cars in many dynos:

Mustang dyno at vividracing(Phoenix)
Mustang dyno at IAperformance in Tucson
Dynojet at azdynochip (Phoenix)
Dyno Dynamic Dyno at Dynocomp(Phoenix)
Dynojet at Apexmotorsports (Tucson)

I always got a boost reading. You might got screwed or perhaps the dyno operator did not feel like messing around with your new engine due to lack of knowledge and/ or fear of messing things up.


Botton line, it cost nothing extra and can be installed in 5-10 seconds.

Carlos
__________________
2009' C63 AMG, 2011' C300
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2007, 11:28 PM   #18
Evo8MRto335I
Captain
Evo8MRto335I's Avatar
Spain
15
Rep
968
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Mercedes Benz C63 AMG
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverState View Post
I got exactly what I asked for. I asked to get a baseline run and that's what they gave me. I am not tuning the car and it is not modified, so why should I have them poking around under the hood when they can't even find the tach lead?

You do it your way and I will do it my way...
That is fine and dandy with me but just for your information, you can have $100000 in mods or have no mods(bone stock) and still takes 10 sec to hook up a boost line, in fact you often don't need any tools, just your fingers.

I am not blaming on you, like you say, you got a baseline, but a base line can also be with the addition of A/F ratios (you got that) and boost reading(at no extra cost).

Don't feel guilty, just ask for you boost reading the next time.

My .2c

Carlos
__________________
2009' C63 AMG, 2011' C300
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2007, 12:19 AM   #19
DrewKo
Lieutenant Colonel
DrewKo's Avatar
25
Rep
1,568
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Montego Blue Saddle Brown
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Here are some dyno vids from the Vishnu tune in Calhoun, GA at Dyno4mance. We got similar numbers using 93 octane. These were before installed use of Procede.

(dyno part 1) (millitek exh. 282.5)


(dyno part 3 stock 335i 284.6)
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2007, 12:33 AM   #20
Evo8MRto335I
Captain
Evo8MRto335I's Avatar
Spain
15
Rep
968
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Mercedes Benz C63 AMG
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverState View Post
Sounds like maybe you feel guilty about something...

What did your 335 dyno at?
Mine wouldn't be ready until July, but I will put the info whenever available.

Carlos
__________________
2009' C63 AMG, 2011' C300
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2007, 12:42 AM   #21
Evo8MRto335I
Captain
Evo8MRto335I's Avatar
Spain
15
Rep
968
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Mercedes Benz C63 AMG
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson

iTrader: (1)

Regardless I am very impressed with your numbers considering is an Auto and is bone stock.

Carlos
__________________
2009' C63 AMG, 2011' C300
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2007, 02:20 AM   #22
renasis
Captain
renasis's Avatar
8
Rep
664
Posts

 
Drives: 07 E92 335I
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

would love to have those # for my car
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST