E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > 07 e92 Coding Error



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-28-2011, 03:35 PM   #1
antiks
Lieutenant
 
antiks's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 Alpine White
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DFW Texas

Posts: 591
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2008 335i  [4.50]
07 e92 Coding Error

So we ran into an error while coding an 07 e92 w/ cobb installed; did the digital speedometer stuff in the Kombi; and got a "speedometer malfunction" error; it's still there even after coding the module back w/ the blank man file; and even after un-marrying the cobb to the car; the error still is there; none of the gauges work now; ie tach/speed/fuel/temp/etc.. all the analog ones; anyone run into this error before?
__________________

IG: realantiks
antiks is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 04:14 PM   #2
Motastic
Major
 
Motastic's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

Posts: 1,356
iTrader: (4)

Well on this specific car, a birdie told me the only thing that works is the speedometer lol

So anyone got any ideas...help a brotha out.

The gauges all kick in for a good 30 seconds and than the tach / temp / gas gauges all fall and iDrive says "speedometer display malfunction"
Motastic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 04:27 PM   #3
Motastic
Major
 
Motastic's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

Posts: 1,356
iTrader: (4)

Hey Antiks

I was reading on another forum and people have encountered the same error, they did the following

Quote:
Alright. I tried with a semi-maybe updated rar of NCSExpert, flashed blank kombi, this time it worked. Speedometer warning is gone and my cluster (rpm, fuel gauge) works again. Although I don't think I have the latest ncs because it can't read the CIC. I'll see if I can find an updated one in the search later.
also

Quote:
I got this same error after trying to code the m3 speedo on my 2008 e93, turns out I didn't properly read the kombi, so had the trc file from the whole car and then modified and wrote back, received error, rewrote with blank man file and then figured out my issue and did it right the second time. Usually if I have out of date daten files, I can't even read the modules.
wanna give one more shot tonight? i really do not want to take it to he stealership
Motastic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 04:45 PM   #4
Motastic
Major
 
Motastic's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

Posts: 1,356
iTrader: (4)

it also says

Quote:
You need latest daten files. Great to hear all fixed.
basically everyone said that you have to update the "daten" files which will fix the error
Motastic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 05:06 PM   #5
antiks
Lieutenant
 
antiks's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 Alpine White
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DFW Texas

Posts: 591
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2008 335i  [4.50]
k updated the daten stuff; gonna go start er up on the car and check for errors
__________________

IG: realantiks
antiks is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 06:00 PM   #6
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
 
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 1,180
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
Update? Hope it worked out for you. New daten and a blank flash should do ya.
__________________
CasperSYTFU is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 07:25 PM   #7
antiks
Lieutenant
 
antiks's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 Alpine White
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DFW Texas

Posts: 591
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2008 335i  [4.50]
yup that worked; however the new daten files won't read the nfrm anymore..lol..strange i know..but we coded all that w the old daten files
__________________

IG: realantiks
antiks is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2011, 01:28 AM   #8
Motastic
Major
 
Motastic's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

Posts: 1,356
iTrader: (4)

so now we will try to do that next week sometime lol
Motastic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2011, 02:20 PM   #9
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
 
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 1,180
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
I've actually tried to update daten and got a Faulty Chassis error and reverted back to my previous files.

Did you run into that error and fix it?
__________________
CasperSYTFU is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2011, 05:49 PM   #10
X2Board
Late Apex
 
X2Board's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 X5 M
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wake County, NC

Posts: 782
iTrader: (1)

I've coded my car with COBB installed and never had a problem. What version of NCS Expert/Daten files are you using?
X2Board is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-03-2011, 11:32 PM   #11
jyono
Registered
 
Drives: 2006 330i Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Detroit, MI

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Same Problem

Antiks,

I am facing the same problem with my analog gauges after coding the Kombi Module.

Now after updating daten files with either ista v34 or v40 I always get the "chassis faulty" error in ncsexpert.

Could you share with us which version daten files that you used and the process followed for updating them without errors? Thanks.


My Current Setup:
1. 2006 e90 (330i) - Had programming done at the dealership in mid April '11
2. Ediabas version: 6.4.7
2. NCSexpert version: 3.1.0
jyono is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2011, 09:43 PM   #12
jyono
Registered
 
Drives: 2006 330i Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Detroit, MI

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Talking

Update:
Solved my issue using ISTA v41 Daten Files.

1. Copied and pasted new daten files to [ C:\NCSEXPER\DATEN\E89 ] and ran laden.bat
2. Copied and pasted new sgdat files to [ C:\NCSEXPER\SGDAT ]
3. Copied and pasted new ecu files to [ C:\EDIABAS\Ecu ]

This time NCSexpert worked fine, no "Faulty Chassis" message!
Re-coded with a blank .MAN file and functionality my the analog gauges (rpm/mpg/fuel) were restored!
Attached Images
 

Last edited by jyono; 05-04-2011 at 09:50 PM.
jyono is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2011, 06:20 PM   #13
antiks
Lieutenant
 
antiks's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 Alpine White
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DFW Texas

Posts: 591
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2008 335i  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyono View Post
Update:
Solved my issue using ISTA v41 Daten Files.

1. Copied and pasted new daten files to [ C:\NCSEXPER\DATEN\E89 ] and ran laden.bat
2. Copied and pasted new sgdat files to [ C:\NCSEXPER\SGDAT ]
3. Copied and pasted new ecu files to [ C:\EDIABAS\Ecu ]

This time NCSexpert worked fine, no "Faulty Chassis" message!
Re-coded with a blank .MAN file and functionality my the analog gauges (rpm/mpg/fuel) were restored!
this is what i did also
__________________

IG: realantiks
antiks is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2011, 10:38 AM   #14
Motastic
Major
 
Motastic's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

Posts: 1,356
iTrader: (4)

antiks ready for another go sometime soon?
Motastic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2011, 02:53 PM   #15
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
 
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 1,180
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
great news! i'm updating to v41 today and seeing if my faulty chassis message goes away.
__________________
CasperSYTFU is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2011, 06:38 PM   #16
S1000RR
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E90 330i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Seattle

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Same thing happened to me. Where can I get the new Daten files?
S1000RR is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-24-2011, 09:23 AM   #17
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

Search other forum or google for ISTA V41 for latest daten available or ask member to send you E89 files. It's under 50mb.
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2011, 08:11 PM   #18
xxxjecxxx
Captain
 
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 773
iTrader: (1)

Quote:

This guide was originally posted by FAL, I just redid the images and created the entry in this wiki!

To update your system properly it is highly recommented that you use the tool Total Commander. There is a 30 days trial available.
If you copy the files manually - without Total commander - you might overwrite newer files with old ones. That's the difference between updating and doing it properly...

What you need checklist:

Total Commander
v40/v41/newer/older ISTA/P files, includes
daten - folder
ecu - folder
sgdat - folder
common sense and basic knowledge in computers


Difficulty: easy

Make a copy of your EDIABAS, EC-APPS and NCSEXPER folders. It's always good to keep some backups...
Start Total Commander
In the left window of Total Commander, head for your new daten-folder. In the right window, move to C:\NCSEXPER\DATEN\E89 (or another model you want to update). Now your screen should look like this:
Click on 'Mark' > 'Mark newer, hide same files'
As you can see on the following pictures, the newer files on the left will turn red. Drag one of these red files to the right windows and drop it there.
A windows will come up, just confirm it with 'OK'
Another window will pop up, now comes the clue: Here, select 'Overwrite all older'. All newer files will now replace the old ones, while equal versions or even newer files stay untouched.
Bibidi, babidi, boo - else updating is poo


Repeat this with the following folders:

C:\EDIABAS\ECU
C:\NCSEXPER\SGDAT
I did not write this but this is what you need to follow. If you copy over every single file you WILL run into issues.
xxxjecxxx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2011, 09:42 PM   #19
BRAISKI
Colonel
 
BRAISKI's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 335xi e92 M-Pak
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA/KW, Canada

Posts: 2,378
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyono View Post
Update:
Solved my issue using ISTA v41 Daten Files.

1. Copied and pasted new daten files to [ C:\NCSEXPER\DATEN\E89 ] and ran laden.bat
2. Copied and pasted new sgdat files to [ C:\NCSEXPER\SGDAT ]
3. Copied and pasted new ecu files to [ C:\EDIABAS\Ecu ]

This time NCSexpert worked fine, no "Faulty Chassis" message!
Re-coded with a blank .MAN file and functionality my the analog gauges (rpm/mpg/fuel) were restored!
When you recode with a blank .MAN did you use the "FSW PSW TRC"?
BRAISKI is offline   Spain
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2011, 06:26 AM   #20
._.
Colonel
 
._.'s Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Miami

Posts: 2,357
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRAISKI View Post
When you recode with a blank .MAN did you use the "FSW PSW TRC"?
Use expertmode.

Last edited by ._.; 09-04-2011 at 02:08 PM.
._. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-06-2011, 07:52 PM   #21
BRAISKI
Colonel
 
BRAISKI's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 335xi e92 M-Pak
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA/KW, Canada

Posts: 2,378
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by r45t4m4n View Post
Use expertmode.


Finally got the stuff back!
BRAISKI is offline   Spain
0
Reply With Quote
      09-06-2011, 08:53 PM   #22
antiks
Lieutenant
 
antiks's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 Alpine White
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DFW Texas

Posts: 591
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2008 335i  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRAISKI View Post


Finally got the stuff back!
lol..scary at first wasn't it?
__________________

IG: realantiks
antiks is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST