E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > PROGMAN (CIP) v25.xx BMWNA SIB



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-09-2007, 04:12 PM   #111
David1
Colonel
 
David1's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E92 09 X5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: City With No Room For Ludicris Speed!

Posts: 2,520
iTrader: (0)

Does the factory use the same software upgrades that all of you are getting? I am asking since my 335 has yet to be built.
David1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-09-2007, 06:09 PM   #112
Greeney
Brigadier General
 
Greeney's Avatar
 
Drives: Jerez E90 M3
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Westchester, NY / Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 3,798
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Greeney Send a message via MSN to Greeney Send a message via Skype™ to Greeney
You will have the latest PROGMAN if your car isnt built yet...
__________________
11' E90 M3 6MT | Jerez Black | Black Ext./Carbon | ZCP | ZCW | ZPP | ZTP | 302 | 403 | 507 | 5AC | 655 | 6FL | 752 |
15' F80 M3 6MT | Black Saphire | Black Full | ZEC | ZLP | 2VF | 2VZ | 5DL | 688 |
Greeney is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 07:43 AM   #113
fidozoom
Private First Class
 
Drives: Monaco Blue 335i Sedan (ED)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cary, NC

Posts: 144
iTrader: (0)

Just dropped off

Dropped the car for the update. Don't know yet what version I am getting but I am told it is either .02 or beyond. Will report back tonight on what I find.
fidozoom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 09:56 AM   #114
sflgator
Major General
 
sflgator's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 MB C63 AMG & '08 MB GL450
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.

Posts: 5,389
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fidozoom View Post
Dropped the car for the update. Don't know yet what version I am getting but I am told it is either .02 or beyond. Will report back tonight on what I find.
You will no longer have RTTI as the update will break it. Then, you will have to go back in again for another update to fix the RTTI.
__________________

|2009 RENNtech MB C63 AMG | Black/Black Leather/Black Maple | Premium II | MultiMedia | iPod |
| TeleAid | Charcoal Filter Delete | BMC High-Flow Air Filters | High-Flow Secondary Cats | Clear Side Markers |
sflgator is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 10:13 AM   #115
ksfrogman
Major General
 
ksfrogman's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330i 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Torrance, CA

Posts: 6,751
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to ksfrogman
Quote:
Originally Posted by fidozoom View Post
Dropped the car for the update. Don't know yet what version I am getting but I am told it is either .02 or beyond. Will report back tonight on what I find.
And your voice recognition won't work anymore either.
__________________
ksfrogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 10:20 AM   #116
sflgator
Major General
 
sflgator's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 MB C63 AMG & '08 MB GL450
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.

Posts: 5,389
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksfrogman View Post
And your voice recognition won't work anymore either.
Not necessarily; I think the VR works fine with the 335i...mine works fine with the .02 update. Some of the 330i's that got the update lost VR, but none of the 335i's AFAIK. However, the RTTI will just show a "TI" (no + and no messages).
__________________

|2009 RENNtech MB C63 AMG | Black/Black Leather/Black Maple | Premium II | MultiMedia | iPod |
| TeleAid | Charcoal Filter Delete | BMC High-Flow Air Filters | High-Flow Secondary Cats | Clear Side Markers |
sflgator is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 10:21 AM   #117
fidozoom
Private First Class
 
Drives: Monaco Blue 335i Sedan (ED)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cary, NC

Posts: 144
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksfrogman View Post
And your voice recognition won't work anymore either.
Yep I am aware of those issues.

RTTI: I don't drive on the freeways to work and out here (near Raleigh, NC) we get RTTI only for the freeways so I can live without it for a few days. Not critical for me.

VR: I really use this thing but idrive being slow is more of a worry for me right now. If VR breaks, I hope they will have a fix for me soon and I don't mind taking my car in.

I got a 325xi loaner - it drives OK but looks pretty dirty inside and I miss the sports package and all the fancy gadgets.
fidozoom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 10:45 AM   #118
cdp1276
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i w/sport package
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fairport, NY

Posts: 150
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to cdp1276 Send a message via AIM to cdp1276 Send a message via MSN to cdp1276 Send a message via Yahoo to cdp1276
Quote:
Originally Posted by permesso View Post
Unfortunately, I found a new issue with my v25.xx update. I am assuming at this point I have v25.02. While taking the wife into our favorite Belgian bar Philly (Eulogy), I setup the nav to get us there using the already existing entry in my address book. I added this entry to my address book before (pre-v25 upgrade) by finding it in POI. We head out and I notice that it wants to take a different exit than I expected. I ignore the suggestion and it recalc to a different exit again than I was expecting. I pull back the map and the destination location looks wrong. I started to second guess myself that I knew where the bar was. I take the exit and head to the nav destination and of course, it is wrong. I check the address book entry and there was no "house number" in the entry. Meaning that it just took me the street but no specific address. I checked the other address book entries. All of the ones that I added from POI before lost their street numbers. I have no idea what happened here but it was consistent. Anyone else?
I just wanted to let you know Permesso, that all my navigation address book entries still contained the house #'s for entries after v25.00.04 install yesterday. But my VR is broken!
__________________
2010 335i Sedan xDrive Le Mans Blue | Gray | Glacier | ZMP | ZPP | ZCW | Nav | Auto | CA | AHB | Sat | iPod | Logic7
cdp1276 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 10:49 AM   #119
ksfrogman
Major General
 
ksfrogman's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330i 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Torrance, CA

Posts: 6,751
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to ksfrogman
That's interesting about the 335i and 330i difference with VR. Interestingly enough, the SA told me that there was a recall with my car to update the telecommunications module. However, after the update, it seems to take longer for the Bluetooth to pair.
__________________
ksfrogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 12:05 PM   #120
cdp1276
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i w/sport package
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fairport, NY

Posts: 150
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to cdp1276 Send a message via AIM to cdp1276 Send a message via MSN to cdp1276 Send a message via Yahoo to cdp1276
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksfrogman View Post
That's interesting about the 335i and 330i difference with VR. Interestingly enough, the SA told me that there was a recall with my car to update the telecommunications module. However, after the update, it seems to take longer for the Bluetooth to pair.
My TCU was replaced last summer. You must not have had service in awhile. I also agree that the Bluetooth takes longer to pair since that time/release of software. However I can confirm that mine, under V25 is a lot faster. I've read others agree too...
__________________
2010 335i Sedan xDrive Le Mans Blue | Gray | Glacier | ZMP | ZPP | ZCW | Nav | Auto | CA | AHB | Sat | iPod | Logic7
cdp1276 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 01:43 PM   #121
permesso
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW 328i
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenixville, PA, USA

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdp1276 View Post
I just wanted to let you know Permesso, that all my navigation address book entries still contained the house #'s for entries after v25.00.04 install yesterday. But my VR is broken!
Thanks for checking. Perhaps since I was on a older progman? No idea. I have already fixed them. There weren't that many.
permesso is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 04:06 PM   #122
335inSC
Private
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC

Posts: 91
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fidozoom View Post
Yep I am aware of those issues.

RTTI: I don't drive on the freeways to work and out here (near Raleigh, NC) we get RTTI only for the freeways so I can live without it for a few days. Not critical for me.

VR: I really use this thing but idrive being slow is more of a worry for me right now. If VR breaks, I hope they will have a fix for me soon and I don't mind taking my car in.

I got a 325xi loaner - it drives OK but looks pretty dirty inside and I miss the sports package and all the fancy gadgets.
I just got mine updated. I thought that my RTTI was fine but it wasn't. But like you I rarely use it so I didn't really care one way or the other.

My VR works fine... they even added some codes evidently b/c now "traffic info" works when it didn't before.
335inSC is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 05:29 PM   #123
fidozoom
Private First Class
 
Drives: Monaco Blue 335i Sedan (ED)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cary, NC

Posts: 144
iTrader: (0)

update

so like i posted before, I dropped my car off this morning at about 8 AM and was given a 325xi loaner. I got a call at around 3:30 and my SA tells me "we got through 3/4th of the update and then it conked on us and we have to start over again". so they are going to keep my car for one more day.

so is that reasonable? has anyone's update gotten stuck in the middle requiring them to start from the beginning again?

the 325xi is a nice car but i really want my 335 back! actually i really want to see what all trouble bought me in terms of idrive
fidozoom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 05:58 PM   #124
timn
First Lieutenant
 
timn's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Palo Alto, Ca

Posts: 321
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to timn
I dropped off my E92 335i yesterday and got it back today.

Everything works except RTTI, but that is fixable without the dealers help.

Otherwise, the new map graphics and searching by POI is great!
timn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 06:06 PM   #125
sflgator
Major General
 
sflgator's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 MB C63 AMG & '08 MB GL450
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.

Posts: 5,389
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by timn View Post
I dropped off my E92 335i yesterday and got it back today.

Everything works except RTTI, but that is fixable without the dealers help.

Otherwise, the new map graphics and searching by POI is great!
What???? Really...how is the RTTI fixable without another s/w update? How do you know this...please tell us as there are MANY ppl who got a 25.00.xx update and now do NOT have RTTI capability.
__________________

|2009 RENNtech MB C63 AMG | Black/Black Leather/Black Maple | Premium II | MultiMedia | iPod |
| TeleAid | Charcoal Filter Delete | BMC High-Flow Air Filters | High-Flow Secondary Cats | Clear Side Markers |
sflgator is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 06:42 PM   #126
user1
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 01 330ci; 07 335i
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Irvine

Posts: 309
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sflgator View Post
What???? Really...how is the RTTI fixable without another s/w update? How do you know this...please tell us as there are MANY ppl who got a 25.00.xx update and now do NOT have RTTI capability.
timn could be referring to the DVD swap fix. I have a thread about this problem and one of our German friends offered this suggestion: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...55488&p=847657
I dont have an old DVD to try so I need to swing by the dealership when I have time. Hopefully someone in the US will let us know if it works for them.

timn, is there another fix for this problem?
user1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 07:04 PM   #127
sflgator
Major General
 
sflgator's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 MB C63 AMG & '08 MB GL450
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.

Posts: 5,389
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
timn could be referring to the DVD swap fix. I have a thread about this problem and one of our German friends offered this suggestion: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...55488&p=847657
I dont have an old DVD to try so I need to swing by the dealership when I have time. Hopefully someone in the US will let us know if it works for them.

timn, is there another fix for this problem?
Yeah, but if timn got the Progman 25.00.xx s/w update yesterday and he says his RTTI is "hanging" or not working, I'm fairly certain that it won't work at all and is broken just like the rest of ours that got the update.

I might try taking out the DVD and putting it back in (the same DVD though; not an older version), but honestly, I think it's an RTTI problem related to the s/w update (since technically, it doesn't look at the DVD for traffic info...it's supposed to get RTTI messages from wireless transmitted messages from Clear Channel stations in the area).
__________________

|2009 RENNtech MB C63 AMG | Black/Black Leather/Black Maple | Premium II | MultiMedia | iPod |
| TeleAid | Charcoal Filter Delete | BMC High-Flow Air Filters | High-Flow Secondary Cats | Clear Side Markers |
sflgator is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2007, 07:13 PM   #128
timn
First Lieutenant
 
timn's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Palo Alto, Ca

Posts: 321
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to timn
Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
timn could be referring to the DVD swap fix. I have a thread about this problem and one of our German friends offered this suggestion: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...55488&p=847657
I dont have an old DVD to try so I need to swing by the dealership when I have time. Hopefully someone in the US will let us know if it works for them.

timn, is there another fix for this problem?


i'm talking about the dvd swap trick. I will try it tonight and see how it goes.
timn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2007, 02:21 PM   #129
cobradac
First Lieutenant
 
cobradac's Avatar
 
Drives: '05 645Ci Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Titusville, FLA

Posts: 374
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2005 645Ci  [0.00]
FOr those that may have Voice recognition issues

Be sure service center is aware of specific setup as this SIB alerts them to do.

SI B 09 02 07
Programming/Coding Explanations March 2007
Technical Service

SUBJECT
CCC: Enabling Code (FSC) Required for Voice Recognition System

MODEL
E90, E91, E92, E93 (3 Series) with CCC Navigation (SA 609)

E60, E61 (5 Series) with CCC Navigation (SA 609)

E63, E64 (6 Series)

E70 (X5) with CCC Navigation (SA 609)

Vehicles produced up to March 2007

SITUATION

Progman V25.00.00 or higher prompts the importing of an enabling code during programming.

Loss of Voice Recognition System (SVS SA 620) functions after programming with Progman V25.00.00 or higher.

CAUSE
Enabling codes (FSC) make it possible to link special functions to a vehicle. Without these enabling codes these functions will not operate. In this specific case, the enabling codes must be imported any time the Car Communication Computer (CCC) is programmed in order to ensure that SVS is functioning properly. If the enabling codes are not imported during the programming procedure, the SVS function will not be available.

PROCEDURE
A special DVD (labeled "FSC" V 1.0) is supplied together with the Progman V25 DVD set. The enabling codes contained on this DVD are for all vehicles with CCC and SVS.

After Progman has been installed on the SSS, place the FSC DVD into the DVD drive and leave it there. This will ensure that the enabling codes are available for every Progman session as needed.

Refer to the "Procedure" attachment which outlines the procedure on how to import the enabling codes with the SSS.

If an enabling code is not provided following this procedure, refer to the "Parts" information attached to this service information.

WARRANTY INFORMATION
No additional labor allowance, included in the allotted programming time.
cobradac is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2007, 03:09 PM   #130
bigcracker22
Private
 
bigcracker22's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 330i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to bigcracker22 Send a message via MSN to bigcracker22
i showed it to them .. they dont work apparently .. still ran into the problem.
__________________
'06 330i - Sparkling Graphite - Black
Premium Pkg | Sport Pkg | Navigation | iPod Adapter | OEM spoiler and lip | Blackline | PIAA angel lights | rear fog light | M Steering Wheel | LED license plate light
Coming soon ... Tints | CF Trim
bigcracker22 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2007, 04:09 PM   #131
fidozoom
Private First Class
 
Drives: Monaco Blue 335i Sedan (ED)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cary, NC

Posts: 144
iTrader: (0)

My SA just called me and told me the update is done and I iwll be picking it up in an hour. I also confirmed with him that VR and RTTI works and he said he checked it out himself with the mechanic. At this point I don't know what version I got. Is there someway I can tell from the paperwork I should be getting? Maybe I'll just ask my SA but he didn't seem to know for sure earlier.

So if all's well, I'll post photos tonight!
fidozoom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2007, 04:40 PM   #132
Phil335i
Private
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri USA

Posts: 82
iTrader: (0)

Just picked-up my E92 after a reprogramming and the RTTI does not work (no messages). I forgot to try the VR but will post my results on that later tonight. I can't tell from the paperwork what version of Progman they used. I'll try to find an example on this board of the identifier (I know I saw some here recently) to figure it out.

EDIT: I just checked and VR is working.
__________________
2007 335i | Crimson | Saddle Brown | 6MT | Sport | Dinan S1 Pkg | Active Steering | Premium | Nav | CA | PDC | Sat Radio

Last edited by Phil335i; 04-11-2007 at 06:08 PM.
Phil335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST