E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Air Bag Warning light ON, How do I reset it?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-09-2011, 07:34 AM   #1
CobraMarty
Lieutenant
23

 
CobraMarty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA


Posts: 504
iTrader: (5)

Air Bag Warning light ON, How do I reset it?

Stupid me, when I was installing the power sport seats, I disconnected the battery(very important) and disconnected the seat cables and changed out the seats. I connected the drivers seat cable and in my rush to try the seats out, I forgot to plug in the passenger seat cable, and I reconnected the battery and got a air bag light.

I can not reset it with my reset tool. Who can reset this? Is the dealer the only one?
__________________
2007 328xi E92 Coupe // 6 MT-Crimson Red, Black Interior, Brushed Silver Trim//Sport Seats//BMW Perf. SW Alcantara//CF Roof, Front Lip, Trunk Lip Spoilers//18" 197, F-5mm, R-15mm Spacers//Akebono Euro Ceramic Pads//MGP Red Caliper Covers//BMW Alarm System//BMW CF Perf. Strut Brace//LUX H8 v3.0 AE//6k HID Fogs//BMW PE//Macht Schnell Intake Scoops//BMW EURO Intake//AA Tune//188AWHP-->196AWHP-->216AWHP//SOON- 3 Stage Intake Manifold!
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2011, 09:43 AM   #2
CobraMarty
Lieutenant
23

 
CobraMarty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA


Posts: 504
iTrader: (5)

All the air bag reset tools are only up to 2003. Does anyone know who makes one for 2007+?
__________________
2007 328xi E92 Coupe // 6 MT-Crimson Red, Black Interior, Brushed Silver Trim//Sport Seats//BMW Perf. SW Alcantara//CF Roof, Front Lip, Trunk Lip Spoilers//18" 197, F-5mm, R-15mm Spacers//Akebono Euro Ceramic Pads//MGP Red Caliper Covers//BMW Alarm System//BMW CF Perf. Strut Brace//LUX H8 v3.0 AE//6k HID Fogs//BMW PE//Macht Schnell Intake Scoops//BMW EURO Intake//AA Tune//188AWHP-->196AWHP-->216AWHP//SOON- 3 Stage Intake Manifold!

Last edited by CobraMarty; 05-09-2011 at 01:26 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2011, 10:38 AM   #3
index1489
Colonel
United_States
70

 
index1489's Avatar
 
Drives: Out of warranty BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chino, CA


Posts: 2,101
iTrader: (7)

You can reset it with the BT Tool, indy shops should be able to do it, I had mine reset that way.
__________________
Gotta pay to play.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2011, 10:40 AM   #4
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
119

 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ


Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Takes 5 seconds with INPA
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2011, 11:29 AM   #5
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
No_Country
18

 
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA


Posts: 1,180
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
^ +1 for INPA if yours functions correctly.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2011, 01:35 PM   #6
CobraMarty
Lieutenant
23

 
CobraMarty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA


Posts: 504
iTrader: (5)

BT tools looks nice but at $287 is a little steep.

__________________
2007 328xi E92 Coupe // 6 MT-Crimson Red, Black Interior, Brushed Silver Trim//Sport Seats//BMW Perf. SW Alcantara//CF Roof, Front Lip, Trunk Lip Spoilers//18" 197, F-5mm, R-15mm Spacers//Akebono Euro Ceramic Pads//MGP Red Caliper Covers//BMW Alarm System//BMW CF Perf. Strut Brace//LUX H8 v3.0 AE//6k HID Fogs//BMW PE//Macht Schnell Intake Scoops//BMW EURO Intake//AA Tune//188AWHP-->196AWHP-->216AWHP//SOON- 3 Stage Intake Manifold!
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2011, 03:40 PM   #7
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
173

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC


Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Get the OBDII cable off eBay. It's $120 and you can code and do diagnostics.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2011, 05:48 PM   #8
NinTenTom
lurker
United_States
9

 
NinTenTom's Avatar
 
Drives: lightly modded E46 325i
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bay area, CA


Posts: 202
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Takes 5 seconds with INPA
Can you elaborate on this process? I've only had experience with INPA in terms of testing if it sees the EU with the ignition/battery status lights on when coding my '11 Mini cooper S but that's about it. I usually go into NCS expert to start coding after that. I'd like to help my friend out who installed aftermarket seats who didn't get the module that costs $200 or something and was hoping NCS expert coding could disable the airbag warning light. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2011, 07:27 PM   #9
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
119

 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ


Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Choose your chassis, then go to Karro-something, go to airbag, press F4 to get error codes and F5 to clear them
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2011, 02:27 AM   #10
NinTenTom
lurker
United_States
9

 
NinTenTom's Avatar
 
Drives: lightly modded E46 325i
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bay area, CA


Posts: 202
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Choose your chassis, then go to Karro-something, go to airbag, press F4 to get error codes and F5 to clear them
Thanks! I just need to convince him that using INPA is safe now and won't make his car doa considering he's been out of warranty for a while.
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2011, 07:14 AM   #11
CobraMarty
Lieutenant
23

 
CobraMarty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA


Posts: 504
iTrader: (5)

I bought a used BT cable. It worked easily.
__________________
2007 328xi E92 Coupe // 6 MT-Crimson Red, Black Interior, Brushed Silver Trim//Sport Seats//BMW Perf. SW Alcantara//CF Roof, Front Lip, Trunk Lip Spoilers//18" 197, F-5mm, R-15mm Spacers//Akebono Euro Ceramic Pads//MGP Red Caliper Covers//BMW Alarm System//BMW CF Perf. Strut Brace//LUX H8 v3.0 AE//6k HID Fogs//BMW PE//Macht Schnell Intake Scoops//BMW EURO Intake//AA Tune//188AWHP-->196AWHP-->216AWHP//SOON- 3 Stage Intake Manifold!
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2012, 06:14 PM   #12
325xi-06
manifold conversion 325/330
Faroe Islands
3

 
325xi-06's Avatar
 
Drives: 325xi 06
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Faroe islands


Posts: 99
iTrader: (0)

Thanks onebadmofo
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 04:32 AM   #13
VirtuousWolf
Private First Class
10

 
Drives: 06 BMW 330i SP
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lubbock/Mission Texas


Posts: 144
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasperSYTFU View Post
^ +1 for INPA if yours functions correctly.
What can be done if it's not functioning correctly??

The dealer said they "reset" mine but every time I start it, it comes back on right away. Not sure if they are actually resetting it or they are trying to get me to hand over 700 bucks to fix it so that I don't try to reset it on my own?

How do I even check to see if mine is faulty

Sorry about the zombie post
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 07:59 AM   #14
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
207

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,383
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtuousWolf View Post
What can be done if it's not functioning correctly??

The dealer said they "reset" mine but every time I start it, it comes back on right away. Not sure if they are actually resetting it or they are trying to get me to hand over 700 bucks to fix it so that I don't try to reset it on my own?

How do I even check to see if mine is faulty

Sorry about the zombie post
You need to find out the cause?
What codes do you get?
You need to find those, sort out the cause, clear airbag light and you should be good to go really.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 11:44 AM   #15
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
101

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

They may in fact be clearing it but as makkan said, if the reason the code is there is because there is a fault in the airbag circuit and you haven't fixed it, it will not go away.
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2014, 02:33 PM   #16
marlau
New Member
1

 
Drives: 325XI
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Montreal


Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Inpa airbag F4 goes to another menu - need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Choose your chassis, then go to Karro-something, go to airbag, press F4 to get error codes and F5 to clear them
Went as far as F4 and got another menu in German with another set of F keys. Is there some of the sequence missing? Haven't tried F5 to clear codes as I would like to know what the codes are.

Anyone have the full sequence of reading and clearing codes in Inpa 5.02?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2014, 09:35 AM   #17
cryptomit
First Lieutenant
3

 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Rotterdam


Posts: 327
iTrader: (0)

Select your Chassis (E90)
Select (whatever you need - e.g. Airbag) Karosserie \ Airbag MRS5
Select F4 - Fehlerspeicher (codes)
Select F1 - Fehlerspeicher lessen (read codes)
Select F2 - Fehlerspeicher losen (Clear codes)
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2014, 01:05 PM   #18
duceswild
Private
United_States
1

 
Drives: 08 335i E90
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NorCal


Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Another post back from the dead lol
__________________
08 335i E90, BMW PE, Coded
99 328i E46 Sedan stock
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2014, 09:33 PM   #19
marlau
New Member
1

 
Drives: 325XI
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Montreal


Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Airbag reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptomit View Post
Select your Chassis (E90)
Select (whatever you need - e.g. Airbag) Karosserie \ Airbag MRS5
Select F4 - Fehlerspeicher (codes)
Select F1 - Fehlerspeicher lessen (read codes)
Select F2 - Fehlerspeicher losen (Clear codes)
Much thanks!
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2014, 02:59 AM   #20
Wickede92
Captain
12

 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal


Posts: 644
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Wickede92
I did a seat swap but did disconnect the negative terminal on the battery and still got the restraint system malfunction error. I did a scan and is getting fault codes 93AE and 93AF, can anyone help me figure out what they mean and now to fix them?
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2014, 04:32 AM   #21
cryptomit
First Lieutenant
3

 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Rotterdam


Posts: 327
iTrader: (0)

This codes are realted to active headrests - left and right, if you swap a seats without active headrest then this code will show up. You probably should code this out using NCSexpert, but not sure what commend is responsible for this.
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2014, 05:56 PM   #22
Wickede92
Captain
12

 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal


Posts: 644
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Wickede92
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptomit View Post
This codes are realted to active headrests - left and right, if you swap a seats without active headrest then this code will show up. You probably should code this out using NCSexpert, but not sure what commend is responsible for this.
what are active headrests? What's NCSexpert? Can i use INPA? Sorry, i am not too familiar when it comes to coding.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST