E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > DIY - Register new battery



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-17-2011, 05:08 PM   #1
xxxjecxxx
Captain
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
66
Rep
809
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

DIY - Register new battery

This is not new information but I've had a few questions about it. Straight copy and paste from another site for instructions.


Procedure to register new battery using INPA:

Step 1: select BODY from the left hand pop-up menu
Step 2: select POWER MODULE in the right hand list
Step 3: select ACTIVATE from the next menu
Step 4: Select ACTIVATE2 from the next menu
Step 5: Then select F7 - Register battery replacement. Almost instantly you get the message: "Register battery replacement Activated properly."
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 05:22 PM   #2
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
No_Country
13
Rep
1,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
hmm doesnt INPA not work with newer Bimmers for Battery Registration? Power Module won't exist.

In that case you open up Toolset 32 (under EDIABAS folder):
1. Open MSD80.prg
2. Look up steuern_batterietausch_registri. (near bottom of job list)
3. Go to Jobs menu
4. Select Run Job

(May alternatively be under MSV70 or MSV80.prg)

Also, and this is important:
THIS IS ONLY FOR REGISTERING AN OEM BATTERY FROM BMW! Alternate replacements will need additional coding to match voltage etc differences
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 06:08 PM   #3
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
This is not new information but I've had a few questions about it. Straight copy and paste from another site for instructions.


Procedure to register new battery using INPA:

Step 1: select BODY from the left hand pop-up menu
Step 2: select POWER MODULE in the right hand list
Step 3: select ACTIVATE from the next menu
Step 4: Select ACTIVATE2 from the next menu
Step 5: Then select F7 - Register battery replacement. Almost instantly you get the message: "Register battery replacement Activated properly."
Does not work. We don't have the "Power Module" feature anymore.

The second post is the better way to get it done.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 06:30 PM   #4
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
No_Country
13
Rep
1,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
good to have both the older year method and the one for newer years all in one thread
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 06:45 PM   #5
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasperSYTFU View Post
good to have both the older year method and the one for newer years all in one thread
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 09:53 PM   #6
woodpecka
Major
woodpecka's Avatar
Canada
13
Rep
1,002
Posts

 
Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
This is not new information but I've had a few questions about it. Straight copy and paste from another site for instructions.


Procedure to register new battery using INPA:

Step 1: select BODY from the left hand pop-up menu
Step 2: select POWER MODULE in the right hand list
Step 3: select ACTIVATE from the next menu
Step 4: Select ACTIVATE2 from the next menu
Step 5: Then select F7 - Register battery replacement. Almost instantly you get the message: "Register battery replacement Activated properly."
does it works on 2006?
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 10:05 PM   #7
txusa03
Major General
118
Rep
6,567
Posts

 
Drives: TS330iPPSP6MT
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (2)

Thanks!
__________________
under construction!
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 10:54 PM   #8
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
No_Country
13
Rep
1,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
no worries guys. and wood, you'll need to use the Tools program to do it (in my post)
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 11:14 PM   #9
yakev724
Brigadier General
yakev724's Avatar
Russian Federation
64
Rep
3,559
Posts

 
Drives: 00 RX300
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ithaca, NY

iTrader: (49)

Anyone know about diff. capacities?

I believe there's an additional step or two if you're installing a battery that has a different capacity to the original. Might be an issue for me as I've got an aftermarket installed now and no idea what was originally there.

Thanks for the info!!! Saved me some $$
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2011, 10:19 AM   #10
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
No_Country
13
Rep
1,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
I'm looking into it
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2011, 10:53 AM   #11
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

There are different VO that specify battery type. I remember seeing a line where you can change the battery cap (CASmodule..line CLASS BATTERY)

But a lot of members have a VO code (-B090 eg) that specifies the battery capacity. (would be the best way in case other lines need to be modified)

Other battery VO codes are present (just can't remember them right now)
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2011, 12:16 PM   #12
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
101
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by CasperSYTFU View Post
hmm doesnt INPA not work with newer Bimmers for Battery Registration? Power Module won't exist.

In that case you open up Toolset 32 (under EDIABAS folder):
1. Open MSD80.prg
2. Look up steuern_batterietausch_registri. (near bottom of job list)
3. Go to Jobs menu
4. Select Run Job

(May alternatively be under MSV70 or MSV80.prg)

Also, and this is important:
THIS IS ONLY FOR REGISTERING AN OEM BATTERY FROM BMW! Alternate replacements will need additional coding to match voltage etc differences
If the aftermarket battery is the same spec (Ah rating and type, AGM or lead acid, non-AGM) as the oem battery that was programed in the car, then you can just register it using the same process for an oem battery.

If you change those specs, you need to have the car programmed. There's a few options ranging from 56Ah to 90Ah and the 2 types available for our cars are AGM and lead acid, non-AGM. AGM charging profiles are only available for 70-90Ah ratings. However, I've been running an Braille 21lb battery in my car for about 6 months with no problems. Car was programmed as a 70Ah, AGM. (Braille is 31Ah, AGM, 550CCAs vs stock 90Ah, lead acid (non-AGM), 900CCAs.)

CAs and CCAs should be kept similar to your oem battery.

After you program a battery (aftermarket), it then needs to be registered.

I don't beleive voltage can be set by the user. Only the charging programs that are available by BMW can be activated.

Also:

DDE6 = 318d, 320d, 325d, 330d, 335d (03/2005 - 09/2007)
DDE7 = 318d, 320d, 325d, 330d, 335d (09/2007 -)
MV946 = 316i, 318i, 320i, 320si
MSV70 = 325i, 330i
MSV80 = 328i
MSD80/MSD81 = 325i (N53), 335i
MSS60 = M3

Last edited by fdriller9; 05-22-2011 at 12:28 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2011, 03:24 PM   #13
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
81
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
If the aftermarket battery is the same spec (Ah rating and type, AGM or lead acid, non-AGM) as the oem battery that was programed in the car, then you can just register it using the same process for an oem battery.

If you change those specs, you need to have the car programmed. There's a few options ranging from 56Ah to 90Ah and the 2 types available for our cars are AGM and lead acid, non-AGM. AGM charging profiles are only available for 70-90Ah ratings. However, I've been running an Braille 21lb battery in my car for about 6 months with no problems. Car was programmed as a 70Ah, AGM. (Braille is 31Ah, AGM, 550CCAs vs stock 90Ah, lead acid (non-AGM), 900CCAs.)

CAs and CCAs should be kept similar to your oem battery.

After you program a battery (aftermarket), it then needs to be registered.

I don't beleive voltage can be set by the user. Only the charging programs that are available by BMW can be activated.

Also:

DDE6 = 318d, 320d, 325d, 330d, 335d (03/2005 - 09/2007)
DDE7 = 318d, 320d, 325d, 330d, 335d (09/2007 -)
MV946 = 316i, 318i, 320i, 320si
MSV70 = 325i, 330i
MSV80 = 328i
MSD80/MSD81 = 325i (N53), 335i
MSS60 = M3
Thanks for the additional info (This is CasperSYTFU)!
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2011, 08:36 PM   #14
xxxjecxxx
Captain
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
66
Rep
809
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Thanks for all the new info

I've had an aftermarket battery in my car with different specs. At the time I didn't have the tools to program and was not willing to pay stealership.

Installed without any errors and is still running in my car
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2011, 01:19 PM   #15
Sparky66
Major
Sparky66's Avatar
Australia
17
Rep
1,232
Posts

 
Drives: 335 E92 Coupe. Jet Black.
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

I found some info in the Bentley Service manual relating to Replacement battery registration that states:

1.)If a higher rating battery is installed, recode CAS with correct battery specifications.

2.)Register battery

So the first thing I did was to process and read the CAS module and I found a line which read:

KLASSE_BATTERIE
70ah

Since my new Federal 694RMF battery was now rated at 80ah, I changed it to 80ah.

Other options for this CAS setting are outlined below.
Obviously the first six are Wet Cell standard style of batteries and the others are the newer AGM style of battery.

The settings available are as such:

KLASSE_BATTERIE
46ah
55ah
70ah
80ah
90ah
110ah
40ah_agm
60ah_agm
70ah_agm
80ah_agm
90ah_agm

Once I recoded the CAS module with NCSExpert, I then proceeded to use the Tool32 program as described in CasperSYTFU's post above.

One other thing I also noticed is that there is a program within INPA that allows you to register your battery but it says "Stopped" in yellow at the bottom corner just before registration....>>> E90>>ENGINE>>MSD80>> Status(F5)>>PM-IBS>>B TAUSCH.

If it helps, I attached a document that shows the parameter options allowed for the various E90 modules. This is where I found Battery setting options.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf E90 Module Parameters.pdf (169.5 KB, 5054 views)
__________________
Sticky is an Idiot
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2011, 11:32 AM   #16
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
101
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky66 View Post
I found some info in the Bentley Service manual relating to Replacement battery registration that states:

1.)If a higher rating battery is installed, recode CAS with correct battery specifications.

2.)Register battery

So the first thing I did was to process and read the CAS module and I found a line which read:

KLASSE_BATTERIE
70ah

Since my new Federal 694RMF battery was now rated at 80ah, I changed it to 80ah.

Other options for this CAS setting are outlined below.
Obviously the first six are Wet Cell standard style of batteries and the others are the newer AGM style of battery.

The settings available are as such:

KLASSE_BATTERIE
46ah
55ah
70ah
80ah
90ah
110ah
40ah_agm
60ah_agm
70ah_agm
80ah_agm
90ah_agm

Once I recoded the CAS module with NCSExpert, I then proceeded to use the Tool32 program as described in CasperSYTFU's post above.

One other thing I also noticed is that there is a program within INPA that allows you to register your battery but it says "Stopped" in yellow at the bottom corner just before registration....>>> E90>>ENGINE>>MSD80>> Status(F5)>>PM-IBS>>B TAUSCH.

If it helps, I attached a document that shows the parameter options allowed for the various E90 modules. This is where I found Battery setting options.
If this is true, I may have to reprogram my car. When I had it programmed with an autologic tool, the lowest option for my vehicle was 70Ah AGM.

40Ah AGM would be better for my 31Ah AGM braille.....which I also found out is a highly marked up price for a motorcycle battery, rebranded....

I just order the obdII cable so I'll have to give this a shot.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2011, 02:58 AM   #17
Sparky66
Major
Sparky66's Avatar
Australia
17
Rep
1,232
Posts

 
Drives: 335 E92 Coupe. Jet Black.
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

To see at what rate your battery is charging at, open the INPA program>> E90>>ENGINE>>MSD80>> Status(F5)>>PM-IBS>>PM FIELD 2 . Under the PM Field option look at the ah reading registered, to see what it's set at to charge your battery at present. If it's incorrect, you need to code the CAS>>KLASSE_BATTERIE>>**ah to your battery spec. Once you have done this, re-register your battery using the Tool32 program. Then go back into INPA and check the PM Field 2, to see if the new ah reading has been registered.
__________________
Sticky is an Idiot
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2011, 08:22 AM   #18
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
101
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky66 View Post
To see at what rate your battery is charging at, open the INPA program>> E90>>ENGINE>>MSD80>> Status(F5)>>PM-IBS>>PM FIELD 2 . Under the PM Field option look at the ah reading registered, to see what it's set at to charge your battery at present. If it's incorrect, you need to code the CAS>>KLASSE_BATTERIE>>**ah to your battery spec. Once you have done this, re-register your battery using the Tool32 program. Then go back into INPA and check the PM Field 2, to see if the new ah reading has been registered.
Nice thank you. I got my cable and have been coding various modules, successfully!

I'm concerned that this isn't the only value you have to change though. When I had my battery programmed, the autologic tool told us that the FRM and CAS modules would be reset and to reinitialize the windows (all the way up and all the way down...that's it).

I had my DRLs off before programming. They turned on after programming, verifying that the FRM module was reset. I wish I had before and after files to compare.

So I'm going to check the FRM (NFRM) module as well and check to see if anything needs to be changed in there as well.
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2011, 09:28 AM   #19
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
29
Rep
1,075
Posts


 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
There are different VO that specify battery type. I remember seeing a line where you can change the battery cap (CASmodule..line CLASS BATTERY)

But a lot of members have a VO code (-B090 eg) that specifies the battery capacity. (would be the best way in case other lines need to be modified)

Other battery VO codes are present (just can't remember them right now)
VO codes for batteries below, I wouldn't recommend just changing the line in the CAS, if you default the settings on the module and forget to change it back, it could cause problems. I would just edit the VO to have the right VO code for the battery you are installing.

Code:
E B046                  BATT_46AH                         //46 Ah-Batterie
E B055                  BATT_55AH                         //55 Ah-Batterie
E B070                  BATT_70AH                         //70 Ah-Batterie
E B080                  BATT_80AH                         //80 Ah-Batterie
E B090                  BATT_90AH                         //90 Ah-Batterie
E A070                  BATT_AGM_70AH                 //70 Ah-AGM Batterie
E A080                  BATT_AGM_80AH                 //80 Ah-AGM Batterie
E A090                  BATT_AGM_90AH                 //90 Ah-AGM Batterie
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2011, 10:35 PM   #20
Power Hungry
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
48
Posts

 
Drives: '07 328i E90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tri Cities, WA

iTrader: (0)

I have a question. I have an 07 328i. I need to register my new battery that has same specs as OEM. So i tried to use the toolset 32 option. I can get through step 3 just fine, but in the job menu my options are ecu info, jobauswahl, job einmal ausfuhren, and job dauernd ausfuhren. So the closest option to "run job" is job einmal ausfuhren which means "job to run again." So I tried that option. But how do i know if it worked??
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2011, 09:55 PM   #21
Power Hungry
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
48
Posts

 
Drives: '07 328i E90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tri Cities, WA

iTrader: (0)

Anyone know?
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2011, 03:05 AM   #22
tavher
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

 
Drives: 530D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Slovenia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky66 View Post
To see at what rate your battery is charging at, open the INPA program>> E90>>ENGINE>>MSD80>> Status(F5)>>PM-IBS>>PM FIELD 2 . Under the PM Field option look at the ah reading registered, to see what it's set at to charge your battery at present. If it's incorrect, you need to code the CAS>>KLASSE_BATTERIE>>**ah to your battery spec. Once you have done this, re-register your battery using the Tool32 program. Then go back into INPA and check the PM Field 2, to see if the new ah reading has been registered.
I have replaced my 90Ah AGM battery with new BOSCH S5 110Ah and tried to register it:
- in NCS Expert I changed the value KLASSE_BATTERIE in CAS module to 110Ah (if I read the module again the new value is set and correct)
- in Toolset 32 I opened MSD80 and executed jub steuern_batterietausch_registri and the status was OK (I also tried with MSV70 and MSV80)

But when I check the PM Field 2 in INPA there is still 91Ah as it was before. I also tried B TAUSCH in INPA and also repeated the process.

I dont know why it is 91Ah when it was 90Ah battery installed, but shouldnt I see 110Ah now?

I have E61 2006. Is the procedure different? Or where could be the problem?

Thank you for your suggestions!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST