E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Bought a TCU replacement with different VIN, how do I code my VIN?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-03-2015, 04:27 AM   #1
blisstik
Lieutenant Colonel
blisstik's Avatar
No_Country
54
Rep
1,580
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (14)

Bought a TCU replacement with different VIN, how do I code my VIN?

Bought a TCU replacement with different VIN, how do I code my VIN?

I have K+DCan cable, SP Daten 53.3 (all my modules are NOT updated to this version), BMW Tools (INPA, WinKFP, etc.).

Please help!
__________________

2016 Mazda 6 Touring: Daily Driver
FS: 2007 E92 335i MOTIV750 Single Turbo
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2015, 04:37 AM   #2
cryptomit
Captain
43
Rep
687
Posts

Drives: 320d 2012
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: AS

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

You can use Tools32 to change a VIN or program it using WINKFP.

c_fg_schreiben will change a VIN in Tool32.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2015, 12:30 PM   #3
blisstik
Lieutenant Colonel
blisstik's Avatar
No_Country
54
Rep
1,580
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptomit
Hi,

You can use Tools32 to change a VIN or program it using WINKFP.

c_fg_schreiben will change a VIN in Tool32.
Thanks. Would you mind detailing the steps? This is my first time.
__________________

2016 Mazda 6 Touring: Daily Driver
FS: 2007 E92 335i MOTIV750 Single Turbo
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2015, 03:12 PM   #4
cryptomit
Captain
43
Rep
687
Posts

Drives: 320d 2012
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: AS

iTrader: (0)

Connect with you car.

Open Tool32

Load SGBD

Select prg files, the same file which shows up in NCSEXPERT when you do select TCUM, it will probably be ULF60.prg or tele.prg or something similar

From the list locate and select c_fg_schreiben

In ARGUMENTS input write your VIN with a cheksum - it wil be 17 digits of your VIN + last one which also is shown up in NCSEXPERT when VIN is determined.
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2015, 08:40 PM   #5
blisstik
Lieutenant Colonel
blisstik's Avatar
No_Country
54
Rep
1,580
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (14)

How do I load TCUM in NCSEXPERT to determine which PRG file I need to modify?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptomit View Post
Connect with you car.

Open Tool32

Load SGBD

Select prg files, the same file which shows up in NCSEXPERT when you do select TCUM, it will probably be ULF60.prg or tele.prg or something similar

From the list locate and select c_fg_schreiben

In ARGUMENTS input write your VIN with a cheksum - it wil be 17 digits of your VIN + last one which also is shown up in NCSEXPERT when VIN is determined.
__________________

2016 Mazda 6 Touring: Daily Driver
FS: 2007 E92 335i MOTIV750 Single Turbo
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2015, 05:31 AM   #6
cryptomit
Captain
43
Rep
687
Posts

Drives: 320d 2012
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: AS

iTrader: (0)

Just select this ECU and see what files it uses to read it
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2015, 01:39 PM   #7
blisstik
Lieutenant Colonel
blisstik's Avatar
No_Country
54
Rep
1,580
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptomit
Just select this ECU and see what files it uses to read it
I was able to update using WinKfp. The UIF in Inpa now shows the correct VIN.

There are however some modules with yyyyy or 00000 as the VIN. Should I code those too?
__________________

2016 Mazda 6 Touring: Daily Driver
FS: 2007 E92 335i MOTIV750 Single Turbo
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2015, 02:19 PM   #8
cryptomit
Captain
43
Rep
687
Posts

Drives: 320d 2012
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: AS

iTrader: (0)

No, you don't have to do it. If you wrote a correct VIN during updates using WINKFP then all is fine. ISTA not always shows your VIN correctly but its fine. You can use Tool to read a VIN c_fg_lessen
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2015, 10:24 AM   #9
wkmyers
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 525i
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: SC

iTrader: (0)

Question Please help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by blisstik View Post
I was able to update using WinKfp. The UIF in Inpa now shows the correct VIN.

There are however some modules with yyyyy or 00000 as the VIN. Should I code those too?
I seem to be in the same position as you when you made this thread. I have purchased a used TCU Unit and a K+DCan cable, but now I need to code in the VIN. You know my position--there is very little information that specifically pertains to this, and the information that is there is very foreign . Could you please give a step by step run down of what it took for you to code this? I have coding experience, just not with cars.

I would greatly appreciate any help. The information in this thread already is probably the best I've found yet. Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2015, 02:35 PM   #10
blisstik
Lieutenant Colonel
blisstik's Avatar
No_Country
54
Rep
1,580
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (14)

Look for WinKFP tutorial. It's the same for all modules. I forgot how I actually did it step by step.
__________________

2016 Mazda 6 Touring: Daily Driver
FS: 2007 E92 335i MOTIV750 Single Turbo
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2016, 07:35 PM   #11
pak1s0ul
Enlisted Member
United_States
3
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW M3 E93
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

hey do i have to change the VIN on a used TCUM unit for it to work with my car? if im replacing it with the same part number.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2016, 07:37 PM   #12
blisstik
Lieutenant Colonel
blisstik's Avatar
No_Country
54
Rep
1,580
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (14)

It'll work without coding.
__________________

2016 Mazda 6 Touring: Daily Driver
FS: 2007 E92 335i MOTIV750 Single Turbo
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2016, 08:08 PM   #13
pak1s0ul
Enlisted Member
United_States
3
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW M3 E93
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

great thanks for getting back.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2017, 03:53 PM   #14
Vin_Ka
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: E53 X5
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Sorry for kicking this old thread, but I have a problem wich in my opinion fits in this topic.

I had a broken airbag module on my E53 X5. So I replaced it with a used part with the right BMW. nr.
Now I want to flash the right VIN in this module by using tool32.

I select SGBD file "MRS4" ( saw that this is the right 1 in INPA ) and want to choose the job "c_fg_schreiben" but it is not in the job list. "c_fg_lesen" is present. Does anzone have a clue?
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2017, 04:39 PM   #15
Sensible_
Major
124
Rep
1,461
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vin_Ka View Post
Sorry for kicking this old thread, but I have a problem wich in my opinion fits in this topic.

I had a broken airbag module on my E53 X5. So I replaced it with a used part with the right BMW. nr.
Now I want to flash the right VIN in this module by using tool32.

I select SGBD file "MRS4" ( saw that this is the right 1 in INPA ) and want to choose the job "c_fg_schreiben" but it is not in the job list. "c_fg_lesen" is present. Does anzone have a clue?
Do you have:
c_fg_auftrag

If so, try that. If not you can flash the module with winkfp in comfort mode which will write your VIN to the AIF.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST