E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > DIY - Register new battery



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-23-2011, 03:09 AM   #23
tibra1
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 ZCP M3 - 2007 335i crashd
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,777
iTrader: (4)

Get a BT tool..

Engine Module, Commands, Battery Replacement Adaption, Click Send Button..DONE
tibra1 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2011, 01:33 PM   #24
tavher
Registered
 
Drives: 530D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Slovenia

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Will it work with my INPA cable?
tavher is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2011, 07:51 AM   #25
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 420
iTrader: (0)

Did you solve this, have same battery in my M5 and now get high battery discharge rate warning, I need to code and register it me thinks

How do I do it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tavher View Post
I have replaced my 90Ah AGM battery with new BOSCH S5 110Ah and tried to register it:
- in NCS Expert I changed the value KLASSE_BATTERIE in CAS module to 110Ah (if I read the module again the new value is set and correct)
- in Toolset 32 I opened MSD80 and executed jub steuern_batterietausch_registri and the status was OK (I also tried with MSV70 and MSV80)

But when I check the PM Field 2 in INPA there is still 91Ah as it was before. I also tried B TAUSCH in INPA and also repeated the process.

I dont know why it is 91Ah when it was 90Ah battery installed, but shouldnt I see 110Ah now?

I have E61 2006. Is the procedure different? Or where could be the problem?

Thank you for your suggestions!
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      11-12-2011, 07:34 PM   #26
silvermist99
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i 6MT & X5D 6AT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Unionville, Canada

Posts: 274
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323I  [0.00]
2007 BMW 335I  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by CasperSYTFU View Post
hmm doesnt INPA not work with newer Bimmers for Battery Registration? Power Module won't exist.

In that case you open up Toolset 32 (under EDIABAS folder):
1. Open MSD80.prg
2. Look up steuern_batterietausch_registri. (near bottom of job list)
3. Go to Jobs menu
4. Select Run Job

(May alternatively be under MSV70 or MSV80.prg)

Also, and this is important:
THIS IS ONLY FOR REGISTERING AN OEM BATTERY FROM BMW! Alternate replacements will need additional coding to match voltage etc differences
I found the job, then selected job-select job once only then it gave me a bunch of lines. Is that it?? I installed a new oem battery


this is what i got

apiJob("MSD80","steuern_batterietausch_registriere n","","")

Satz : 0
OBJECT = msd80
SAETZE = 1
JOBNAME = steuern_batterietausch_registrieren
VARIANTE = MSD80
JOBSTATUS =
UBATTCURRENT = 1
UBATTHISTORY = 1
IGNITIONCURRENT = 1
IGNITIONHISTORY = 1
Satz : 1
JOB_STATUS = OKAY
_TEL_AUFTRAG = 8 Bytes
000 : 85 12 F1 31 30 00 10 00 ….ń10...
_TEL_ANTWORT = 5 Bytes
000 : 71 30 00 10 00 q0...
silvermist99 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-12-2011, 10:36 PM   #27
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tavher View Post
I have replaced my 90Ah AGM battery with new BOSCH S5 110Ah and tried to register it:
- in NCS Expert I changed the value KLASSE_BATTERIE in CAS module to 110Ah (if I read the module again the new value is set and correct)
- in Toolset 32 I opened MSD80 and executed jub steuern_batterietausch_registri and the status was OK (I also tried with MSV70 and MSV80)

But when I check the PM Field 2 in INPA there is still 91Ah as it was before. I also tried B TAUSCH in INPA and also repeated the process.

I dont know why it is 91Ah when it was 90Ah battery installed, but shouldnt I see 110Ah now?

I have E61 2006. Is the procedure different? Or where could be the problem?

Thank you for your suggestions!
There is no profile for a 110Ah battery. Largest is 90Ah.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-12-2011, 11:24 PM   #28
rambalu80
Captain
 
rambalu80's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lake Jackson TX

Posts: 987
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Am I all set now?

Yesterday morning with the temperature at 37 degrees, my car took a few extra seconds to start. Went to work and got back home without a hitch yesterday. After letting the car sit overnight, I checked the battery voltage and it read 11.8x volts but car started up just fine (and quicker than yesterday). Anyway, I replaced the battery with an in-kind OEM replacement and registered it using Tool 32. I got errors a couple of times trying to run MSV80 but realized I hadn't turned the ignition on. Final attempt with ignition on showed "JOB_STATUS = OKAY". Below is a screen shot. Am I all set now?

__________________
Alpine White/Terra | 6MT | Navi | Premium Package | OEM Chrome Tips | HO C30 Tint | OEM Aluminum Pedals | Rear Fogs Enabled | 17" OEM Style 159 Wheels | Hella Whitelines | USDM Bi-xenons w/ 4300k D1S HID Bulbs

rambalu80 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2011, 06:01 PM   #29
silvermist99
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i 6MT & X5D 6AT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Unionville, Canada

Posts: 274
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323I  [0.00]
2007 BMW 335I  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambalu80 View Post
Yesterday morning with the temperature at 37 degrees, my car took a few extra seconds to start. Went to work and got back home without a hitch yesterday. After letting the car sit overnight, I checked the battery voltage and it read 11.8x volts but car started up just fine (and quicker than yesterday). Anyway, I replaced the battery with an in-kind OEM replacement and registered it using Tool 32. I got errors a couple of times trying to run MSV80 but realized I hadn't turned the ignition on. Final attempt with ignition on showed "JOB_STATUS = OKAY". Below is a screen shot. Am I all set now?
we got the same results. reading post #2, i think thats it? I notice no difference to the car after running the job
silvermist99 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2011, 12:38 AM   #30
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posts: 584
iTrader: (1)

Hi everyone. I picked up my 06 325i on Wednesday and noticed it cranked over slowly, especially when cold. I just swapped out the battery for an aftermarket one I had in my e46 for a month. (Newly purchased a month ago). Group 48, 850CCA, 690CA, Reserve Min 110. Google tells me that I should multiply the Reserve Min by 0.6 to get the AH. (battery capacity). 110 x 0.6 = 66. So that puts me on the 70ah profile. (Stock?)

I have EDIABAS and INPA working on my car already. Just want to make sure I can follow the directions in post #2 (Except using the MSV70 profile since it's a 325i), and I should be good?

side note: still notice the car cranking over slowly when cold. wonder if my starter is dying.
ZZZZ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2011, 10:11 AM   #31
Goathog02
Private
 
Goathog02's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 330i E90 /Premium/Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by silvermist99 View Post
I found the job, then selected job-select job once only then it gave me a bunch of lines. Is that it?? I installed a new oem battery


this is what i got

apiJob("MSD80","steuern_batterietausch_registriere n","","")

Satz : 0
OBJECT = msd80
SAETZE = 1
JOBNAME = steuern_batterietausch_registrieren
VARIANTE = MSD80
JOBSTATUS =
UBATTCURRENT = 1
UBATTHISTORY = 1
IGNITIONCURRENT = 1
IGNITIONHISTORY = 1
Satz : 1
JOB_STATUS = OKAY
_TEL_AUFTRAG = 8 Bytes
000 : 85 12 F1 31 30 00 10 00 ….ń10...
_TEL_ANTWORT = 5 Bytes
000 : 71 30 00 10 00 q0...
Can anyone confirm this?
Goathog02 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2011, 10:53 AM   #32
rambalu80
Captain
 
rambalu80's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lake Jackson TX

Posts: 987
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goathog02 View Post
Can anyone confirm this?
I can. See post #28.
__________________
Alpine White/Terra | 6MT | Navi | Premium Package | OEM Chrome Tips | HO C30 Tint | OEM Aluminum Pedals | Rear Fogs Enabled | 17" OEM Style 159 Wheels | Hella Whitelines | USDM Bi-xenons w/ 4300k D1S HID Bulbs

rambalu80 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2011, 11:17 AM   #33
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posts: 584
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZZZ View Post
Hi everyone. I picked up my 06 325i on Wednesday and noticed it cranked over slowly, especially when cold. I just swapped out the battery for an aftermarket one I had in my e46 for a month. (Newly purchased a month ago). Group 48, 850CCA, 690CA, Reserve Min 110. Google tells me that I should multiply the Reserve Min by 0.6 to get the AH. (battery capacity). 110 x 0.6 = 66. So that puts me on the 70ah profile. (Stock?)

I have EDIABAS and INPA working on my car already. Just want to make sure I can follow the directions in post #2 (Except using the MSV70 profile since it's a 325i), and I should be good?

side note: still notice the car cranking over slowly when cold. wonder if my starter is dying.
can anyone give me some insight on this? would really like to register my battery without messing anything up..
ZZZZ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2011, 01:33 AM   #34
Goathog02
Private
 
Goathog02's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 330i E90 /Premium/Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rambalu80 View Post
I can. See post #28.
Thx.
Since it ended w/a question, I thought you were unsure.
Goathog02 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2011, 03:23 PM   #35
Advance501
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 e90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: socal

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

I am having a bit of a problem registering a new 80ah AGM battery to my E90 (02/2007 manufactured date). I read this thread and others regarding battery coding and registration many times, and it appears that changing the VO is the proper method to use when replacing the stock battery (90ah wet cell in my case) with a different type or rating. The problem I am having is after changing the VO for the new AGM battery and registering the battery with tool32, INPA is still telling me that I have a 90ah battery installed (Sparky66 procedure in post #17 of this thread). When I read the KLASSE_BATTERIE line in my CAS it still reads 90ah. Is there a step that I am missing between writing the new –A080 code to VO and registering the battery with tool32? Below is the exact step by step procedure I used:

Changing VO:

1. Open NCSEXPERT
2. File > Load profile > Select Expertmode > Click OK
3. Press F1 (VIN/ZCS/FA)
4. Press F3 (CS/FA f. EC) > Select E89 > Click OK > Select CAS > Click OK
5. Press F6 (Back)
6. Press F1 (VIN/ZCS/FA)
7. Press F2 (Enter FA) > Select E89 > Click OK
8. A window labeled “Eneter VIN” appears with your vehicles VIN number filled in > Click OK
9. A window labeled Enter FA appears > scroll to find VO for old battery (-B090) > highlight –B090 and press delete on keyboard
10. Enter –A080 is “Attribute” box > Click Add > Click OK
11. Press F6 (Back)
12. Press F4 (Process ECU) > Select CAS > Click OK
13. Press F2 (Change Job) > Select FA_Write > Click OK
14. Press F3 (Execute Job)
15. Verify that the write is complete “Job Ended”
16. Press F1 (Change ECU) > Select FRM > Click OK
17. Verify lines : get coded, FRM, JOBNAME = FA_Write
18. Press F3 (Execute Job)
19. Verify that the write is complete “Job Ended”
20. Press F6 (Back) > Exit NCSEXPERT

Register Battery:

1. Open Tool32
2. Datei > SGBD, Gruppendatei Laded > Select MSD80.PRG > Click Open
3. Highlight steuern_batterietausch_registri
4. Job > Job Einmal Ausfuhren (run job once)
5. The job runs pretty quickly and the results say Job_status = okay. The results are exactly like that of post #26 in this thread.

I have gone back and looked at the VO codes in both CAS and FRM modules using steps 1 – 8 in my above procedure. I have confirmed that the original VO “-B090” is not in the list anymore and “-A080” has been added to the list.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Advance501 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2011, 05:48 PM   #36
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advance501 View Post
I am having a bit of a problem registering a new 80ah AGM battery to my E90 (02/2007 manufactured date). I read this thread and others regarding battery coding and registration many times, and it appears that changing the VO is the proper method to use when replacing the stock battery (90ah wet cell in my case) with a different type or rating. The problem I am having is after changing the VO for the new AGM battery and registering the battery with tool32, INPA is still telling me that I have a 90ah battery installed (Sparky66 procedure in post #17 of this thread). When I read the KLASSE_BATTERIE line in my CAS it still reads 90ah. Is there a step that I am missing between writing the new –A080 code to VO and registering the battery with tool32? Below is the exact step by step procedure I used:

Changing VO:

1. Open NCSEXPERT
2. File > Load profile > Select Expertmode > Click OK
3. Press F1 (VIN/ZCS/FA)
4. Press F3 (CS/FA f. EC) > Select E89 > Click OK > Select CAS > Click OK
5. Press F6 (Back)
6. Press F1 (VIN/ZCS/FA)
7. Press F2 (Enter FA) > Select E89 > Click OK
8. A window labeled “Eneter VIN” appears with your vehicles VIN number filled in > Click OK
9. A window labeled Enter FA appears > scroll to find VO for old battery (-B090) > highlight –B090 and press delete on keyboard
10. Enter –A080 is “Attribute” box > Click Add > Click OK
11. Press F6 (Back)
12. Press F4 (Process ECU) > Select CAS > Click OK
13. Press F2 (Change Job) > Select FA_Write > Click OK
14. Press F3 (Execute Job)
15. Verify that the write is complete “Job Ended”
16. Press F1 (Change ECU) > Select FRM > Click OK
17. Verify lines : get coded, FRM, JOBNAME = FA_Write
18. Press F3 (Execute Job)
19. Verify that the write is complete “Job Ended”
20. Press F6 (Back) > Exit NCSEXPERT

Register Battery:

1. Open Tool32
2. Datei > SGBD, Gruppendatei Laded > Select MSD80.PRG > Click Open
3. Highlight steuern_batterietausch_registri
4. Job > Job Einmal Ausfuhren (run job once)
5. The job runs pretty quickly and the results say Job_status = okay. The results are exactly like that of post #26 in this thread.

I have gone back and looked at the VO codes in both CAS and FRM modules using steps 1 – 8 in my above procedure. I have confirmed that the original VO “-B090” is not in the list anymore and “-A080” has been added to the list.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Yes, all you did was modify your vehicle order. Now you need to code the whole car in expert mode for changes to take place.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2011, 06:38 PM   #37
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,153
iTrader: (0)

Stock battery 90ah

The closest Interstate is 84 ah .
Do you register or recode?
Also isn't processing the car a not recommended here.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2011, 06:43 PM   #38
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

If it isnt a match to your original, you recode.
Processing the car is fine as long as you do it the right way... expert mode, not a blank man. Don't know where you've heard that.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2011, 08:03 PM   #39
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,153
iTrader: (0)

Maybe I'm confusing it with reprogramming?

Maybe I'm confusing processing with reprogramming or updating?
I thought it was mentioned that only modules should be coded.
But it you are say adding the Alarm the VO had to be updated in the two
modules that the VO list is in then the car had to be processed .
Isn't processing the car same as reprogramming all modules?
The trouble with battery is the coding value for the battery profiles are in increments of 10 the list says 70 ,80 , 90ah etc
does 80 make more sense for in between or does 90 if the value for the battery
is 84ah.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2011, 08:07 PM   #40
Advance501
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 e90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: socal

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
Yes, all you did was modify your vehicle order. Now you need to code the whole car in expert mode for changes to take place.

Ok I got an error while coding the car. First of all the method I used to code the car was:

1. Open NCSEXPERT
2. File > Load profile > Select Expertmode > Click OK
3. Press F1 (VIN/ZCS/FA)
4. Press F3 (CS/FA f. EC) > Select E89 > Click OK > Select CAS > Click OK
5. Press F6 (Back)
6. Press F3 (Process Car)
7. Press F1 (Code Car)

The Error messeage I got while coding is:

Error CABD! Look at CABI.ERR and ERROR.LOG
COAPI-2000: EDIABAS or SGBD error
SYS-0008: JOB NOT FOUND

Any clues? I am using version 3.1.0 of NCSEXPERT and whatever Daten files that come with it in the .zip file located in the BMW Coding Sucess thread.

Should I try the so called empty .MAN file vehicle coding method?

Thanks
Advance501 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2011, 08:17 PM   #41
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

That error wont tell you anything. When it pops up close it the under View go to Error Log.
You may just need to code each module one by one in expert mode. That's the equivalent.

NO the empty MAN file is the worst way. Do it the right way.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2011, 10:16 PM   #42
Advance501
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 e90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: socal

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
That error wont tell you anything. When it pops up close it the under View go to Error Log.
You may just need to code each module one by one in expert mode. That's the equivalent.

NO the empty MAN file is the worst way. Do it the right way.
Ok I left my car on a trickle charger since my last coding session had it down to 12.3V. I tried to process the car again, just to see the error log and which module it got hung up on. The message from the error log is as follows:

ERROR! Modul: LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_CASK.IPS/IPO), Proc: CDHapiResultText, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 2000
COAPI-2000: EDIABAS or SGBD error
SYS-0008: JOB NOT FOUND

>>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI2.CPP, Proc: coapiRunCabd, LineNR: 06, ErrorNR: 2000
SG_CODIEREN

The module NCS was coding when I recieved the error was CTUNE.

I havent tried coding each module one by one yet, I am waiting for a near full battery. I have a feeling it will more than likely just get hung up again on the CTUNE module.

Any Ideas?
Advance501 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2011, 02:00 PM   #43
Advance501
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 e90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: socal

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Ok, I processed the modules one by one is expertmode and two modules gave me errors. Below are the modules and their respective error logs:

Module: CGATE
Error:

ERROR! Modul: LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_CASK.IPS/IPO), Proc: CDHapiResultText, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 2000
COAPI-2000: EDIABAS or SGBD error
SYS-0008: JOB NOT FOUND

>>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI2.CPP, Proc: coapiRunCabd, LineNR: 06, ErrorNR: 2000
SG_CODIEREN


Module: CAUDI
Error:

ERROR! Modul: LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_CGW.IPS/IPO), Proc: CDHapiResultText, LineNr: 01, ErrorNr: 2000
COAPI-2000: EDIABAS or SGBD error
SYS-0008: JOB NOT FOUND

>>> ERROR! Modul: COAPI2.CPP, Proc: coapiRunCabd, LineNR: 06, ErrorNR: 2000
SG_CODIEREN


I have checked the CAS module and it is now reporting the proper battery (80ah_agm). Inpa is also showing a 81ah battery is installed

Any ideas into how to resolve these errors? Do I even need to have the CGATE and CAUDI modules reset for my new battery VO (-A080)?


BTW, I am running version 6.4.7 of EDIABAS

Last edited by Advance501; 11-29-2011 at 02:48 PM.
Advance501 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2011, 11:10 AM   #44
rambalu80
Captain
 
rambalu80's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lake Jackson TX

Posts: 987
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goathog02 View Post
Thx.
Since it ended w/a question, I thought you were unsure.
Yes, I was unsure until silvermist99 confirmed that he got the same results.
__________________
Alpine White/Terra | 6MT | Navi | Premium Package | OEM Chrome Tips | HO C30 Tint | OEM Aluminum Pedals | Rear Fogs Enabled | 17" OEM Style 159 Wheels | Hella Whitelines | USDM Bi-xenons w/ 4300k D1S HID Bulbs

rambalu80 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST