E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Figuring out how to add BMW Apps to 2011 E9X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-31-2011, 04:14 PM   #23
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
216
Rep
11,415
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_milo View Post
Yes you are correct and this is obviously understood. You can't add something that didn't exist. (Well actually you can but that takes a production date change and the issues that go with that.)

Although, if you read above the two people asking had an 05/11 build and an 07/11 build, therefore simply adding $6NR to the VO and updating as I stated would be sufficient.
Yes, you and I know that little detail of VO, production date and coding. Other forum members most probably will not.

Quote:
Considering the build dates of the two people and the fact that the option did exist at the time, is there an issue here? I don't think so but I could very well be wrong. I do believe that if BMW checked the VO to the factory VO they could see the change. Is that what you mean by "but warranty work may not later". And if so, how would it be any different with Patryk's implementation. Hell at least we'll stay OEM, unlike his "OEM solution" which uses OEM parts in a NON-OEM configuration.
The issue here is that the conversation is drifting towards changing the VO without any mention of the direct relation to production date and the consequences of doing so.

My clarification is simple... coding for VO is not the same as changing the VO.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2011, 03:49 AM   #24
graham999au
Private First Class
graham999au's Avatar
Australia
4
Rep
151
Posts

Drives: E92 335i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

I have been following this thread with keen interest. Can someone please confirm that a June 2011 built E92 does not require any additional hardware, such as a different USB port in the center console and/or wiring to the CIC? In other words, can 6NR be achieved purely by coding+BMW iPhone app+iPhone media snap-in??

Many thanks.
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2011, 07:17 AM   #25
srwatters
Camera Man
United_States
0
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: '11 E90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Plano, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [5.00]
2008 BMW X5  [0.00]
My experience says yes. All you need is the properly installed base plate, snap-in adapter, and coding. You also can get partial functionality without the base plate and snap-in. That's my situation using only the USB cable. I have web radio, twitter, Facebook, and Pandora working in my 7/2011 E90 using this setup and following the method described in this thread. What I don't have is the video capability that the base plate and snap-in adapter provide. Enjoy!
__________________
Current - 11 E90 335i, 08 E70 X5 3.0i
Gone - 04 E46 330i, 95 E36 M3
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2011, 11:51 AM   #26
mr_milo
Captain
mr_milo's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
670
Posts

Drives: 2011 E93 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SF Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (1)

Yes for now, but it looks like this might be changing with BMW's most recent update. Although if your car doesn't get updated you should be fine.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2011, 12:46 PM   #27
Abear
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

So, what exactly is need for a pre 3/11 production? From what I can see on realoem.com the Combox has completely changed in that production date. Other than that, everything is the same. If a person was to go and buy the new combox, would there be a way to update the car to know it has the new combox? A friend of mine has a 10/10 E90 and wants 6NR, just tryin to see what I can do for him. Ive called the dealer, seems a new combox is right at 500 dollars, so I doubt my friend would want to do it. But, maybe theres another option. More than likely you have to get the 03/11 combox to get the CIC.C16? Not sure, just wanted to pick some brains.
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2011, 04:49 PM   #28
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
216
Rep
11,415
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

BMW will be releasing an OEM BMW Apps retrofit (post-03/11 only, Combox-equipped) this fall... and with this retrofit BMW Apps will require a set of FSC.

Meaning: retrofitting BMW Apps other than thru BMW soon will require more than just coding.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2011, 10:44 AM   #29
Abear
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
BMW will be releasing an OEM BMW Apps retrofit (post-03/11 only, Combox-equipped) this fall... and with this retrofit BMW Apps will require a set of FSC.

Meaning: retrofitting BMW Apps other than thru BMW soon will require more than just coding.
How is it gonna require more than just coding though, or what I mean is what are they gonna do that will make it to where we cant just changer the VO? I know they did something though because on a bulletin for the V43 ISTA software it says do not update cars with the 6NR option because it disappears if you do. Still though, how would they code to the car to know not to add the appropriate options once the 6NR is coded to the VO? Hmmm..
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2011, 01:28 PM   #30
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
216
Rep
11,415
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abear View Post
How is it gonna require more than just coding though, or what I mean is what are they gonna do that will make it to where we cant just changer the VO? I know they did something though because on a bulletin for the V43 ISTA software it says do not update cars with the 6NR option because it disappears if you do. Still though, how would they code to the car to know not to add the appropriate options once the 6NR is coded to the VO? Hmmm..
See above: FSC = enabling codes.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2011, 05:47 PM   #31
Abear
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
See above: FSC = enabling codes.
Yeah, I know. But thats what I mean. As of right now, for people with a build date of 03/11 and on..we do not need a FSC to add 6NR, right? What you are saying is that we will need one after the V43 update. I dont understand what they can do to make it where we will no longer be able to just change the VO. Really, I guess the only way is get the update and try it.

To go back to my last post though about the bulletin stating not to do the V43 update to cars with 6NR, if BMWs coding erased it, I just wonder how. I also wonder what they did for the customers that had the update and lost their apps, lol. "We're sorry, we just erased your BMW apps...can we get you a complimentary key chain?" Haha.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2011, 10:16 PM   #32
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
216
Rep
11,415
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abear View Post
Yeah, I know. But thats what I mean. As of right now, for people with a build date of 03/11 and on..we do not need a FSC to add 6NR, right? What you are saying is that we will need one after the V43 update. I dont understand what they can do to make it where we will no longer be able to just change the VO. Really, I guess the only way is get the update and try it.

To go back to my last post though about the bulletin stating not to do the V43 update to cars with 6NR, if BMWs coding erased it, I just wonder how. I also wonder what they did for the customers that had the update and lost their apps, lol. "We're sorry, we just erased your BMW apps...can we get you a complimentary key chain?" Haha.
BMW have not finished the details of the new 6NR FSC.

Once BMW gets the 6NR updates (new FSC requirements) completed then any car with 6NR installed from factory that gets updated will get that new FSC generated for them, the same way that the Nav FSC gets generated.

This 6NR activation changes will only apply to OEM retrofits.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2011, 02:37 PM   #33
Bubulak
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi, 2012 X5d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Hello Technic,

Any idea how difficult would it be to add BMW Apps to an X5d comming off production like in the next few days? I have just placed an order, and forgot to add it, and now it's too late.
Appreciate 0
      02-29-2012, 01:42 PM   #34
detach8
New Member
Singapore
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2011 F10 N52B25
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Subscribed. I have a 01/2011 E90 and am curious how I can actually upgrade my CIC to C16 and enable 6NR. What are the tools/files actually required to do this?
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2012, 12:37 AM   #35
pc_boy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi E90
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Redmond

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srwatters View Post
My experience says yes. All you need is the properly installed base plate, snap-in adapter, and coding. You also can get partial functionality without the base plate and snap-in. That's my situation using only the USB cable. I have web radio, twitter, Facebook, and Pandora working in my 7/2011 E90 using this setup and following the method described in this thread. What I don't have is the video capability that the base plate and snap-in adapter provide. Enjoy!
Hi srwatters,
I have a 7/2011 E90 as well with Nav + premium package. Can you elaborate on the second part of your coding to enable BMW Apps?
First Part - I read "Using NCS to change VO.pdf" and understand how to add $6NR to CAS and NFRM.
Second Part - How to SG_CODIEREN CIC and MEDIA? Did you copy the FSW_PSW.TRC to FSW_PSW.MAN after the "Read ECU" or replace the FSW_PSW.MAN with empty file?

Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2012, 10:03 AM   #36
srwatters
Camera Man
United_States
0
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: '11 E90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Plano, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [5.00]
2008 BMW X5  [0.00]
It depends on your software version. If you've been updated since production, you most likely won't get it to work. Now requires FSC (feature code).
__________________
Current - 11 E90 335i, 08 E70 X5 3.0i
Gone - 04 E46 330i, 95 E36 M3
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2012, 10:19 AM   #37
icuc
Banned
0
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2012 X5 35i Premium
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wisconsin

iTrader: (0)

If your software version/ISTA level is beyond 42 then you need the FSC keys to activate them.
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2012, 10:13 PM   #38
hiter202
Captain
United_States
10
Rep
733
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

hey guys i have a 2011 335xi and i do have the 6NR on the car, how can i get the BMW Apps on the car?

edit: mine is 10/2011
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2012, 11:44 PM   #39
pc_boy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi E90
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Redmond

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by icuc View Post
If your software version/ISTA level is beyond 42 then you need the FSC keys to activate them.
Luckily it was 41 and I have the apps now
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2012, 02:07 PM   #40
hiter202
Captain
United_States
10
Rep
733
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

anyone? i am willing to do testing or whatever else is needed to get the bmw apps to work on my car please let me know guys, i have ncsexpert and all the other crap needed for coding including the cable, just need some assistance
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2012, 09:41 PM   #41
justa3series
Banned
1
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

iTrader: (1)

Looks like your located in NY. You can come down to Westchester and we can play and see if we can get it working.

If you know how to use NCS then read CIC and let me know version. PM ME if you have questiond.
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2012, 11:28 PM   #42
hiter202
Captain
United_States
10
Rep
733
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

well westchester isnt that close to me lol if i knew that we'd be able to get the apps installed, then i'd come, but otherwise, thats a far ride for me just to play around, as for the CIC version, how do i go about finding that?

F1 > F3 > E89 > CAS > F6 > F4 > CIC? please let me know so I can look this up tomorrow
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 08:40 AM   #43
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
216
Rep
11,415
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elitefusion View Post
hey guys i have a 2011 335xi and i do have the 6NR on the car, how can i get the BMW Apps on the car?

edit: mine is 10/2011
6NR = BMW Apps

__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 10:26 PM   #44
flux
Lieutenant
flux's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
461
Posts

Drives: E90 M3 LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Colony, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 E90 M3  [0.00]
2007 E90 335i  [0.00]
2006 325i  [0.00]
I want all of the new connected drive features, like anyone else reading here.
Just found this. Pretty pricey but I guess somebody does it.

http://www.bimmer-tech.net/index.php...rive-retrofits

If someone knows a more inexpensive way please elaborate.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST