E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Fog Lights with AE DRL? (No Low-Beam?)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-08-2011, 03:45 PM   #1
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
No_Country
13
Rep
1,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
Fog Lights with AE DRL? (No Low-Beam?)

Thought I had found the value to allow for me to turn on the foglights when only AE DRLs are on with the switch set to Auto without the low-beams coming on. However it didn't work.

Does anyone have some input on this?
Would like to be able to roll with just my AE's on with the fogs.
Cheers!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 08:07 AM   #2
Thunder Dump
That tickles
Thunder Dump's Avatar
5
Rep
457
Posts

 
Drives: '09 328i E93 SGM/CR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Western MA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasperSYTFU View Post
Thought I had found the value to allow for me to turn on the foglights when only AE DRLs are on with the switch set to Auto without the low-beams coming on. However it didn't work.

Does anyone have some input on this?
Would like to be able to roll with just my AE's on with the fogs.
Cheers!
I know with my '09 if I put the switch to parking lights only, I can run just the fogs/parking lights with the AE DRLs. No low-beams needed. And no coding needed--that's factory setup.

EDIT: Saw you wanted to do this in the Auto position. Just pointing out it can be done manually without coding.
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 10:44 AM   #3
Imperator
Major
Imperator's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,128
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunder Dump View Post
I know with my '09 if I put the switch to parking lights only, I can run just the fogs/parking lights with the AE DRLs. No low-beams needed. And no coding needed--that's factory setup.

EDIT: Saw you wanted to do this in the Auto position. Just pointing out it can be done manually without coding.
+1 and activating Euro corners will essentially achieve the same results once the switch is in the 'Parking lights' position.
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 12:09 PM   #4
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
No_Country
13
Rep
1,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
Thanks guys but yea I already know about that and have the corner deletes. But I want the functionality of being able to have my fogs on for looks with the DRL but then in low light situations it would turn my headlamps on. Think it would be a really nice little option to have.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 12:17 PM   #5
MB135i
Major
MB135i's Avatar
34
Rep
1,005
Posts

 
Drives: Space Gray 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

also interested in doing this
__________________
Past: 2008 EVO X GSR |AERO|SSS|SPORT|COBB AP STAGE 1|
Past: 2008 BMW 135i |SPORT|COBB AP STAGE 1|
Current: 2007 BMW 335i E92 |SPORT|PREM|COLD|NAV|AS|COBB AP STAGE 1|
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2011, 02:17 PM   #6
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
81
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Any updates?
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2012, 11:51 AM   #7
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

To have foglights on as DRL along with your AE (assuming you have AE set as drl) only, do the following in you NFRM module:

DRL_TFL_MIT_NSW
nicht_aktiv --> change to "aktiv"

PWM_NSW_TFL
wert_01--> change to "wert_02"

This way, your fogs turn on as you drl along with your other drl lights (AE). It does not show on your cluster that they are on.
When you move the switch to your lowbeams, they shut off (can be toggled one via the foglight button, like before)

Last edited by DESI4life10; 03-15-2012 at 11:56 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2012, 01:50 PM   #8
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
81
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Desi I owe you a beer!
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2012, 02:32 PM   #9
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Anytime bro :-)

Sending you a PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2012, 01:50 AM   #10
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,471
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10
To have foglights on as DRL along with your AE (assuming you have AE set as drl) only, do the following in you NFRM module:

DRL_TFL_MIT_NSW
nicht_aktiv --> change to "aktiv"

PWM_NSW_TFL
wert_01--> change to "wert_02"

This way, your fogs turn on as you drl along with your other drl lights (AE). It does not show on your cluster that they are on.
When you move the switch to your lowbeams, they shut off (can be toggled one via the foglight button, like before)
I want to have my foglights on all the time (at least at night) would this do that.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2012, 07:35 AM   #11
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
I want to have my foglights on all the time (at least at night) would this do that.
If you read my post. This is for fog to come on auto when drl are on. So you can roll with drl on at night as well if you want and the fog will still be on.

There is another line to code if you want them on auto when your lowbeams are on. I believe grant has created a thread regarding that matter.

which is right here: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=614274

Last edited by DESI4life10; 03-16-2012 at 07:50 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2012, 11:58 AM   #12
Broendbjerg
New Member
Denmark
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E91 320d Touring
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denmark

iTrader: (0)

Does anybody know if it is posible to do the same with an old FRM module (FRM1 i assume?).

I can't find anything related to DRL in the trace file. See attached file for reference.

Is it possible to get working, or do I need to upgrade to FRM2 or 3 and at the same time have welcome lights and so on?

If not exactly clear I want the light switch to stay in the auto position and have angel eyes and my fog lights on when driving at daylight. At night my xenons should automaticly switch on.

/Broendbjerg
Attached Files
File Type: txt FRM - FSW_PSW.TXT (25.6 KB, 312 views)
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2012, 10:47 AM   #13
JimVR4
Second Lieutenant
JimVR4's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
289
Posts

 
Drives: 09 328i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Jose, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
To have foglights on as DRL along with your AE (assuming you have AE set as drl) only, do the following in you NFRM module:

DRL_TFL_MIT_NSW
nicht_aktiv --> change to "aktiv"

PWM_NSW_TFL
wert_01--> change to "wert_02"

This way, your fogs turn on as you drl along with your other drl lights (AE). It does not show on your cluster that they are on.
When you move the switch to your lowbeams, they shut off (can be toggled one via the foglight button, like before)
I coded this and it does work however I get an external lighting warning (yellow circle symbol) on my BC. With Tool32 I was able to read the errors in German and I ran that through google translator:

Quote:
E R R O R M E M O R Y
---------------------------------------

Date: 22.03.2012 20:29:54
ECU: FRM_70
JobStatus: OKAY
Variant: FRM_70
-------------------------------------------------------------

RESULT: 3 error in error memory !
-------------------------------------------------------------

A8C5 daytime left broken

No signal or value
Test conditions are met
Error currently exists and has already saved
Error would not cause a warning light flashes

Error code: A8 64 C5
-------------------------------------------------- -----------

A8C6 daytime right faulty

No signal or value
Test conditions are met
Error currently not available, but already stored
Error would not cause a warning light flashes

Error code: A8 C6 24
-------------------------------------------------- -----------

A8A8 beam cornering left or defective

No signal or value
Test conditions are met
Error currently not available, but already stored
Error would not cause a warning light flashes
I think the last error is stored from when my headlight was broken and replaced. I've coded NFRM back to defaults for now. When I get a chance I will try to clear error memory using Tool32.
__________________
2009 E90 328i ///M-Sport / Blue Water Metallic / Oyster/Black Dakota / PP / 6MT / 194M / Comfort / iPod+USB w/ProClip charging dash mount / $494 /
1995 3000GT Spyder VR4
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2012, 10:55 AM   #14
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVR4 View Post
I coded this and it does work however I get an external lighting warning (yellow circle symbol) on my BC. With Tool32 I was able to read the errors in German and I ran that through google translator:



I think the last error is stored from when my headlight was broken and replaced. I've coded NFRM back to defaults for now. When I get a chance I will try to clear error memory using Tool32.

I ran this for a week and never had any errors. Might be specific to your car setup then.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2013, 11:25 AM   #15
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
7
Rep
709
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington, DE

iTrader: (2)

Guess its not possible on frm1 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broendbjerg View Post
Does anybody know if it is posible to do the same with an old FRM module (FRM1 i assume?).

I can't find anything related to DRL in the trace file. See attached file for reference.

Is it possible to get working, or do I need to upgrade to FRM2 or 3 and at the same time have welcome lights and so on?

If not exactly clear I want the light switch to stay in the auto position and have angel eyes and my fog lights on when driving at daylight. At night my xenons should automaticly switch on.

/Broendbjerg
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2014, 02:13 PM   #16
nitehawk
Lieutenant Colonel
nitehawk's Avatar
Canada
20
Rep
1,638
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335i 6MT
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (15)

Garage List
Bumpity bump to the top we go
I'd also like to know if this is possible on earlier models?
I have a 02/2007 e92 335i
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST