E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Mobridge DA-2 PDC only Front Speakers?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-20-2013, 11:58 AM   #1
Swagger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York

Posts: 40
iTrader: (0)

Mobridge DA-2 PDC only Front Speakers?

I'm about to install a Mobridge DA-2 in my 06 330i with Logic7, I'll only be using front speakers. I've read that the DA-2 retains fade and balance. I'm guessing that if I don't use rear speakers, I'll lose the PDC beeps. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Also, I'll be using a Mosconi 4to6. Are their any issues with car sounds such as door chimes that anyone has experienced? I'm sure I can set an appropriate level for the car sounds, I'm just wondering if that will mess with the tuning.

Thanks!
Swagger is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2013, 02:49 PM   #2
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,780
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swagger View Post
I'm about to install a Mobridge DA-2 in my 06 330i with Logic7, I'll only be using front speakers. I've read that the DA-2 retains fade and balance. I'm guessing that if I don't use rear speakers, I'll lose the PDC beeps. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Also, I'll be using a Mosconi 4to6. Are their any issues with car sounds such as door chimes that anyone has experienced? I'm sure I can set an appropriate level for the car sounds, I'm just wondering if that will mess with the tuning.

Thanks!
With the DA1/DA2 the PDC beeps come out of all the speaker outputs. I have all my beeps and gongs still working.
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2013, 07:15 PM   #3
Swagger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York

Posts: 40
iTrader: (0)

Thank you! Have you had any issues with Bluetooth echo when using a phone. When I had the MS-8 being fed from the logic7 amp, the person on the other end of the call would hear a bad echo. I'm only using front speaker (Jehnert flatline kit) and no center so I'm hoping that the Mosconi doesn't create a BT echo issue.
Swagger is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2013, 07:50 PM   #4
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (3)

The BT echo isn't caused by the DA2 on its own. If you're using the Toslink out you can get some bT echo depending on the processor. The MS8 is the worst offender in this area.
VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2013, 11:38 AM   #5
Swagger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York

Posts: 40
iTrader: (0)

So, we replaced the L7 amp with a Mobridge DA-2. From the DA-2, a single set or RCA's connects to a Mosconi 4to6. It sounds great but the car sounds (Door chime / NAV voice) are VERY low and the gains on the 4 channel amp are just about maxed. I'm only using front speakers (Jehnert Flatline kit). Is there a way to boost the signal that's going to the amp so the car sounds will be a little louder and I can back off on the amp gains a little? Also, the PDC is gone. I'm thinking it's because they only used 2 channels from the DA-2 since I'm only using front speakers. Will it cause a problem by hooking up the rear channel from the DA-2 if I'm only using fronts. My wife relies on the PDC beeps... lol

Thanks!
Swagger is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2013, 12:25 PM   #6
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,469
iTrader: (4)

You can use a Y adapter to merge your front and rear channels back into your front channels prior to the amplifier
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2013, 01:37 PM   #7
Swagger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York

Posts: 40
iTrader: (0)

Good idea! Thanks, I'll try that. Now i just have to figure out if there is a way to boost the output of the Mosconi 4to6. It's seems too low which is causing the car sounds to be barely audible. The low output has my amp's gains just about maxed.
Swagger is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2013, 12:26 AM   #8
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,780
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swagger View Post
So, we replaced the L7 amp with a Mobridge DA-2. From the DA-2, a single set or RCA's connects to a Mosconi 4to6. It sounds great but the car sounds (Door chime / NAV voice) are VERY low and the gains on the 4 channel amp are just about maxed. I'm only using front speakers (Jehnert Flatline kit). Is there a way to boost the signal that's going to the amp so the car sounds will be a little louder and I can back off on the amp gains a little? Also, the PDC is gone. I'm thinking it's because they only used 2 channels from the DA-2 since I'm only using front speakers. Will it cause a problem by hooking up the rear channel from the DA-2 if I'm only using fronts. My wife relies on the PDC beeps... lol

Thanks!
Shoot me a PM, i might have a few firmwares that are louder on the PDC and gongs.
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2013, 01:09 AM   #9
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (3)

Yeah, the beep being gone is a firmware thing. As far as output, how do you have the 4to6 input levels set? And did you checck the high/low input level button?

And why didn't you get a 4to6SPDIF?
VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST