E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Someone Please post a DIY For PROCEDE USB Glovebox



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-08-2007, 11:15 PM   #1
jthurs
Private First Class
8
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe, Black w/ Coral Red
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (1)

Someone Please post a DIY For PROCEDE USB Glovebox

I'm really interested in running the PROCEDE's serial cable connected to a USB cable through the firewall and into the Glovebox. PLEASE, PLEASE PLEASE, someone post this.
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2007, 11:21 PM   #2
schneid4323
Banned
United_States
52
Rep
1,134
Posts

 
Drives: 335i, M6
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dallas TX

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to schneid4323
+1
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:05 AM   #3
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

I wanna know too. Who did this?
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:12 AM   #4
teknochild
Your resident 4um troll
teknochild's Avatar
37
Rep
2,021
Posts

 
Drives: 335 coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fl

iTrader: (0)

im sure theres a gromet somewhere in the firewall.....
__________________
RAWRrrrr
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:16 AM   #5
Walked U
Brigadier General
68
Rep
3,118
Posts

 
Drives: RR sport s/c, E82, E89 3.5is
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA

iTrader: (5)

I think ADHD did it not sure. I know someone did it.
__________________
Previous - E90 335i, E82
Current - E89 / Range Rover sport Super charged.
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:20 AM   #6
scpage
Private First Class
1
Rep
179
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SEUSA

iTrader: (0)

It was jp335i, check this thread out..
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...t=54476&page=3

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
I wanna know too. Who did this?
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:33 AM   #7
///Matt
United States Marine
///Matt's Avatar
United_States
69
Rep
2,749
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Dodge Ram 1500
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to ///Matt
ADHD did it without actually running through the firewall...

He ran the cable out of the ebox, out the corner of the hood, behind the fender, through the door seal, into the back of the glove box.

No cutting, drilling, or modifying needed to any part.

Matt
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:37 AM   #8
NPDAN
Colonel
NPDAN's Avatar
31
Rep
2,570
Posts

 
Drives: AW DCT M3
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: So.Cal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 E92 M3  [4.00]
07' E92 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to NPDAN
shit, im gonna have to do mine this way
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:42 AM   #9
Walked U
Brigadier General
68
Rep
3,118
Posts

 
Drives: RR sport s/c, E82, E89 3.5is
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///Matt View Post
ADHD did it without actually running through the firewall...

He ran the cable out of the ebox, out the corner of the hood, behind the fender, through the door seal, into the back of the glove box.

No cutting, drilling, or modifying needed to any part.

Matt
Would doing it that way be safe in rainy situations? Because isnt the ebox cover used to keep water out?

I was thinking about doing the same thing. But drilling a hole in the back of the ebox.
__________________
Previous - E90 335i, E82
Current - E89 / Range Rover sport Super charged.
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:44 AM   #10
///Matt
United States Marine
///Matt's Avatar
United_States
69
Rep
2,749
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Dodge Ram 1500
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to ///Matt
No holes needed. You can run the cable through the rubber grommets on the ebox.
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:49 AM   #11
stressdoc
Moderator
stressdoc's Avatar
Dominica
139
Rep
10,169
Posts

 
Drives: F80 YMB
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MO

iTrader: (0)

This list rocks. All this cool stuff that all these creative geniuses worked out for the rest of us to imitate. I kove it.
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:50 AM   #12
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Awesome. I never looked there
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 12:52 AM   #13
Walked U
Brigadier General
68
Rep
3,118
Posts

 
Drives: RR sport s/c, E82, E89 3.5is
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///Matt View Post
No holes needed. You can run the cable through the rubber grommets on the ebox.
Nice, thanks matt. Im going to try that right now.
__________________
Previous - E90 335i, E82
Current - E89 / Range Rover sport Super charged.
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 10:27 AM   #14
jthurs
Private First Class
8
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe, Black w/ Coral Red
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walked U View Post
Nice, thanks matt. Im going to try that right now.
Please take photos.
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 10:35 AM   #15
turbocoins
Captain
turbocoins's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
751
Posts

 
Drives: '08 Z06, '07 MKZ
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warm Climate

iTrader: (0)

Thank-you!!
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 11:16 AM   #16
Ninjaneer
Shadow Warrior
Ninjaneer's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,097
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthurs View Post
Please take photos.
+1
__________________
335i E90 / Arctic / Gray / Burl Walnut / Steptronic / ZPP / ZSP / Paddles / CA / Nav / PDC / OEM Spoiler
Mods:
PIAA Angel Eyes, Rear Fog Switch, Escort X50 Blue hardwire, 30% Charcoal Llumar
Installing soon: Rear Power Outlets (Happy Robot mod!)
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2007, 11:43 AM   #17
M3to335
Whats that smell?
M3to335's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
1,701
Posts

 
Drives: 135i, m435
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Your basement

iTrader: (5)

Im a little lost. Gotta pic?
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2007, 01:23 AM   #18
jthurs
Private First Class
8
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe, Black w/ Coral Red
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (1)

bump
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2007, 09:45 AM   #19
leftcoastman
Lieutenant Colonel
23
Rep
1,710
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Near some canyons

iTrader: (1)

Why not just get a serial-bluetooth adapter? My laptop has bluetooth and can communicate wirelessly. No cable needed.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2007, 10:17 AM   #20
scpage
Private First Class
1
Rep
179
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SEUSA

iTrader: (0)

Do you know if pin 9 on the serial connector of Procede supplys power? I know most of the serial-bluetooth adaptors require external 9v supply or receive power via pin 9. Just curious if this has worked for you without external supply?

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftcoastman View Post
Why not just get a serial-bluetooth adapter? My laptop has bluetooth and can communicate wirelessly. No cable needed.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2007, 10:22 AM   #21
jthurs
Private First Class
8
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe, Black w/ Coral Red
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scpage View Post
Do you know if pin 9 on the serial connector of Procede supplys power? I know most of the serial-bluetooth adaptors require external 9v supply or receive power via pin 9. Just curious if this has worked for you without external supply?
Yes, if this gets power it sounds GENIUS.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2007, 10:26 AM   #22
ADHD
Brigadier General
ADHD's Avatar
United_States
73
Rep
4,057
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Magic Mountain

iTrader: (38)

Garage List
07 e90 335  [0.00]
07 335  [0.00]
06 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftcoastman View Post
Why not just get a serial-bluetooth adapter? My laptop has bluetooth and can communicate wirelessly. No cable needed.
+1 on that!!! so what we just need one bluettoh adaptor to keep in teh ecu box?
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST