E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > TPMS disable



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-31-2011, 07:13 PM   #1
pnosker
ti fan
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ

Posts: 242
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [5.00]
TPMS disable

Background: 2008 135i

Tried changing VO by removing $2VB, removed TPMS fuse

TPMS light is still on!! What do I have to do?

Thanks in advance for your help!
pnosker is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-31-2011, 07:25 PM   #2
Hooy
Colonel
 
Hooy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 2,765
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2008 E92 328  [2.50]
Just buy TPMS and pay the tire dismount/remount fee??
Hooy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-31-2011, 09:46 PM   #3
pnosker
ti fan
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ

Posts: 242
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [5.00]
I could, but I have 4 sets of wheels that go on for different occasions (summer, winter, track, autocross) and it's silly to have 4 TPMS sets and have to reset it each time I mount a different set.
pnosker is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2011, 01:02 AM   #4
pnosker
ti fan
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ

Posts: 242
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [5.00]
Figured it out. In the KOMBI I had to disable "RDC_ALIVE." Doing that, plus changing the VO removed the light after I unplugged the RDC/TPMS module in the trunk.
pnosker is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2011, 09:49 AM   #5
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

You needed to change VO, set RDC_ALIVE and unplug module? Where module in trunk?
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2011, 12:50 AM   #6
pnosker
ti fan
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ

Posts: 242
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [5.00]
This one: http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=327609
pnosker is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2011, 07:48 AM   #7
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

That's emulation, no need. Can be done by coding.
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2011, 12:46 PM   #8
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

He's just showing you the DIY that points out where to unplug the OEM module.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2011, 05:08 PM   #9
mathematics
Captain
 
mathematics's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 328i e93 alpine white
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Queens, NY

Posts: 618
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by justa3series View Post
That's emulation, no need. Can be done by coding.
the coding guy from the Bronx that does a lot of coding says that the TPMS disable doesn't get rid of the light. id love to get rid of my TPMS light! can it really be done?
__________________
iPhone 5s (iTunes library/iTunes radio/Waze, etc) to Airport Express via AirPlay to Tru Technology SSLD6i via aux out of Airport Express to Helix A4S Competition. Dynaudio MD102, Esotar 1200, and MW152. Jehnert Door Cards and mid-bass'.
mathematics is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2012, 02:17 AM   #10
kiwi29
Team iTouge
 
kiwi29's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 M-Tech 328i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Beach, CA

Posts: 2,069
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mathematics View Post
the coding guy from the Bronx that does a lot of coding says that the TPMS disable doesn't get rid of the light. id love to get rid of my TPMS light! can it really be done?
it can done by some pros and track prep places. The only problem is that I heard that it messes with the stability of your traction system and how much power your wheels will slip out randomly/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by The HACK View Post
I'm going to use a very simple analogy, I hope you'll understand.
Driving is like having sex.
It really is. You can read up all you want about how to please a woman, you can look at all the diagrams in the world, but just like the clitoris, you won't know what the hell an apex is before you actually find it.
kiwi29 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2012, 03:37 PM   #11
rexsevn
Private
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

It can be done, I coded mine several months ago with no adverse effects (only the benefit of having the light completely off) and no effects on traction control.
rexsevn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2012, 10:35 PM   #12
jpirelli
Power is nothing without control
 
jpirelli's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 + E92
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast/Southwest

Posts: 752
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by justa3series View Post
That's emulation, no need. Can be done by coding.
+1
jpirelli is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2012, 08:49 PM   #13
EYE4SPEED
Ex-Quattro Driver
 
EYE4SPEED's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335d M-Sport LCI
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Coast... of Michigan

Posts: 1,987
iTrader: (22)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rexsevn View Post
It can be done, I coded mine several months ago with no adverse effects (only the benefit of having the light completely off) and no effects on traction control.
Did you have to unplug any fuses or just the coding? Does this affect warranty with dealer if it is not tpms related?
__________________
EYE4SPEED is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2012, 11:27 PM   #14
rexsevn
Private
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

I replied to your pm, I forgot to mention respond to your warranty question.
To my knowledge, I don't know if it will void any portion of your warranty, in my opinion, I don't think it will, I can't think of a reason for why it would adversely affect your vehicle.

I can say though is I have taken my car in to the dealership for service a few times and nothing was mentioned about tpms.
rexsevn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 10:14 PM   #15
mathematics
Captain
 
mathematics's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 328i e93 alpine white
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Queens, NY

Posts: 618
iTrader: (0)

can anyone do this in the NY/NJ area?
__________________
iPhone 5s (iTunes library/iTunes radio/Waze, etc) to Airport Express via AirPlay to Tru Technology SSLD6i via aux out of Airport Express to Helix A4S Competition. Dynaudio MD102, Esotar 1200, and MW152. Jehnert Door Cards and mid-bass'.
mathematics is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-30-2012, 02:52 PM   #16
pnosker
ti fan
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ

Posts: 242
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [5.00]
If you come down to New Brunswick, NJ I can try to do this for you. I don't see why it wouldn't work.
pnosker is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-16-2012, 11:18 AM   #17
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Gonna revive this thread, I'm attempting to disable TPMS in my 2007 E90.

I removed fuses 13 and 28, removed $2VB from my VO, did FA_WRITE to CAS, used Expertmode to reset CAS, BDSC, KOMBI, and NFRM. It was mostly successful. Before, I would get the light constantly, the one flashing on the dash and the big one in the cluster display. Now the light doesn't come on any more while I'm driving, but it still comes on just once right when I start the car then goes away. I did not try setting RDC_ALIVE to nicht_aktiv, or unplug the RDC module. I will try RDC_ALIVE right away, but I would prefer to not have to mess with the module in the trunk, just because from the DIY OP posted it looks like a hassle. Any insight?

Last edited by Bendercle; 03-16-2012 at 12:04 PM.
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-16-2012, 01:18 PM   #18
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
 
pinky_and_me's Avatar
 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

Posts: 272
iTrader: (0)

Is that when pretty much all lights come on even the check engine and traction ones or does the TPMS light stay on longer?
pinky_and_me is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-16-2012, 02:09 PM   #19
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky_and_me View Post
Is that when pretty much all lights come on even the check engine and traction ones or does the TPMS light stay on longer?
I'm talking about the big one in the cluster display, that's the one that comes on. I know what you're talking about, it's not the little ones in the upper area.
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-19-2012, 01:45 PM   #20
scorpnaz7
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 176
iTrader: (2)

What color is the light?
scorpnaz7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-19-2012, 08:00 PM   #21
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpnaz7 View Post
What color is the light?
It's yellow.

On a whim I decided to also recode the ABG module, because I figured it also holds a lot of safety/sensor info. I think it worked, because I didn't get the light starting up the car on the drive home from work. Unfortunately I then had to hop on a plane to go on vacation. I will of course know better if the solution stuck when I get back.

One last thing, even after all the steps I did, I still get the little orange exclamation point in my cluster. If I go to Check Control via the BC stalk it will throw up the TPMS light. So the car still "knows" that TPMS is not functioning correctly. Were people able to completely erase all trace of TPMS, or is this the best we can do?
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-19-2012, 08:06 PM   #22
scorpnaz7
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 176
iTrader: (2)

Try to also recode the DSC module. I can't remember the exact name, but I think its DSC.
scorpnaz7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST