E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Where did you put your boost gauge?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-18-2007, 04:08 PM   #23
jp335i
First Lieutenant
3

 
Drives: 2013 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta GA


Posts: 379
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
That guage is nice because it would be really simple to mount somewhere, but digital gauges are so much harder to read while driving. I use to hate how my wideband would bounce around with the digital display. Does that guage show vac also? It didn't say on the site.
It does show vacuum. It has a nice peak hold function as well, useful if you want to look back at what you max boost pressure was and it's associated AFR.

I find that I only really look at it if I suspec something is wrong or if the car does not feel as strong. I punch it... look at the peak function and see that everything is good. Other than that I never really intended on trying to watch it while I drive.

EGTs also a nice thing to have for keeping a safe eye on everything.
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 04:11 PM   #24
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
61

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
That guage is nice because it would be really simple to mount somewhere, but digital gauges are so much harder to read while driving. I use to hate how my wideband would bounce around with the digital display. Does that guage show vac also? It didn't say on the site.
Ok, I just spoke with Dan at this company. It DOES read vacuum but he said its not necessarily calibrated accurately for that. It will show up to 15lbs of vacuum though. He said its VERY accurate when reading boost. Im ordering one up and with the cover included seperately. He said without the cover, I could mount it inside something else.

Here goes nothing.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 04:25 PM   #25
BoostedBMW
Moderator
United_States
67

 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC


Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
Ok, I just spoke with Dan at this company. It DOES read vacuum but he said its not necessarily calibrated accurately for that. It will show up to 15lbs of vacuum though. He said its VERY accurate when reading boost. Im ordering one up and with the cover included seperately. He said without the cover, I could mount it inside something else.

Here goes nothing.
Very cool, keep us posted. What do you have in mind as far as mounting it goes? It would be nice if you could fit it inside the the gauge cluster, but that's not really an option. Its small enough where you could mount it on one of the AC vents with a clip and route the wire through the vent.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 04:27 PM   #26
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
61

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
Very cool, keep us posted. What do you have in mind as far as mounting it goes? It would be nice if you could fit it inside the the gauge cluster, but that's not really an option. Its small enough where you could mount it on one of the AC vents with a clip and route the wire through the vent.
Now that Im up to the page where it says "payment" Im having second thoughts.

Is this really worth $171.95???
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 04:50 PM   #27
BoostedBMW
Moderator
United_States
67

 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC


Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
Now that Im up to the page where it says "payment" Im having second thoughts.

Is this really worth $171.95???
Well, the cheapest boost gauge is around 100 bucks for a decent mechanical one (ie. need to run a vac line all the way back to the cabin) so I guess that's up to you. For 170 bucks I wish that the casing was nicer and that it was dead on even in vac, but I guess you pay more for the size.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 04:54 PM   #28
533ogetnom
Banned
17

 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida


Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
Well, the cheapest boost gauge is around 100 bucks for a decent mechanical one (ie. need to run a vac line all the way back to the cabin) so I guess that's up to you. For 170 bucks I wish that the casing was nicer and that it was dead on even in vac, but I guess you pay more for the size.
it almost looks like it IS running a line to the guage, thats pretty big for a "extremly low draw (amps)" power wire
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 05:27 PM   #29
BoostedBMW
Moderator
United_States
67

 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC


Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by 533ogetnom View Post
it almost looks like it IS running a line to the guage, thats pretty big for a "extremly low draw (amps)" power wire
I think that a vac line would be thicker then that, and it would also have to have a set of wires (power, ground, illumination) coming out of it in addition to that anyway, but it only has one wire coming out of it.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 05:29 PM   #30
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
61

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Its all speculation at this point. There werent any more pics on the website to look at. Ill take more pics for you guys when I receive it.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 05:41 PM   #31
BoostedBMW
Moderator
United_States
67

 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC


Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
Its all speculation at this point. There werent any more pics on the website to look at. Ill take more pics for you guys when I receive it.
Looks like you pulled the trigger on it... keep us posted.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 05:48 PM   #32
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
61

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
Looks like you pulled the trigger on it... keep us posted.
Yeh, I always try to justify my spending. Figured, I could be one of those guys who buys hookers, but I get my sex for free. Therefore, I just saved money to use on mods.

That works right?
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 06:33 PM   #33
BoostedBMW
Moderator
United_States
67

 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC


Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
Yeh, I always try to justify my spending. Figured, I could be one of those guys who buys hookers, but I get my sex for free. Therefore, I just saved money to use on mods.

That works right?
...Whatever helps you sleep at night.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 07:33 PM   #34
jp335i
First Lieutenant
3

 
Drives: 2013 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta GA


Posts: 379
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
Its all speculation at this point. There werent any more pics on the website to look at. Ill take more pics for you guys when I receive it.
The display connects to a brain via one phone style cable... the brain is what has power / gound / remote and is what you boost pressure sensor hooks into.

I put the brain in the ECU box and made all of the connections there so all I had to run through the firewall was the phone cable.
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 08:22 PM   #35
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
61

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp335i View Post
The display connects to a brain via one phone style cable... the brain is what has power / gound / remote and is what you boost pressure sensor hooks into.

I put the brain in the ECU box and made all of the connections there so all I had to run through the firewall was the phone cable.
So you already have this thing? Pics of your install and of the piece itself would be extremely helpful.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 08:30 PM   #36
533ogetnom
Banned
17

 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida


Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp335i View Post
The display connects to a brain via one phone style cable... the brain is what has power / gound / remote and is what you boost pressure sensor hooks into.

I put the brain in the ECU box and made all of the connections there so all I had to run through the firewall was the phone cable.
i hope that cable is really long lol, to bad its not accurate on vac? but by accurate are they talking .5 psi off or like 5 psi off
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 08:58 PM   #37
BoostedBMW
Moderator
United_States
67

 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC


Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
I think that JP is talking about the Zeitronix unit that he has, not the dynotune one.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 09:16 PM   #38
jp335i
First Lieutenant
3

 
Drives: 2013 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta GA


Posts: 379
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
I think that JP is talking about the Zeitronix unit that he has, not the dynotune one.
OOps... sorry bout that, I did think he was asking about Zeitronix.
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 10:03 PM   #39
thealbert
First Lieutenant
Philippines
3

 
thealbert's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i, E46 M3, E30 325is
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manila, Philippines


Posts: 393
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp335i View Post
I swapped out my ashtray for the sunglass holder and then put the Zeitronix in. Fits nice and it can even be tucked away. It displays Boost, EGT and AFR if you install the appropriate sensors (which i did) will also DATA log if you are so inclined.
THAT IS SWEET! Hope you don't mind but i'm gonna copy you on that. hehe :rocks:
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2007, 10:59 PM   #40
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
61

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by 533ogetnom View Post
i hope that cable is really long lol, to bad its not accurate on vac? but by accurate are they talking .5 psi off or like 5 psi off
Dont know yet but Im sure Ill keep everyone posted with a DIY.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2007, 12:22 PM   #41
ezatnova
Colonel
United_States
21

 
ezatnova's Avatar
 
Drives: C63 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Chester, PA


Posts: 2,188
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
Dont know yet but Im sure Ill keep everyone posted with a DIY.
Assume you got red? Could look sharp with the interior. I would love that thing mounted in the ash tray or somewhere where it could pop up when I wanted to read it and be hidden at other times.
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2007, 12:33 PM   #42
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
61

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezatnova View Post
Assume you got red? Could look sharp with the interior. I would love that thing mounted in the ash tray or somewhere where it could pop up when I wanted to read it and be hidden at other times.
Yes, got red. Anything else would have been a tad rice. Unfortunately, I already mounted my stealth v1 in the ashtray. Ill see what the actual size is when I get it and see where it will fit.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2007, 01:54 AM   #43
itsbrokeagain
United_States
157

 
itsbrokeagain's Avatar
 
Drives: E28 535, 1996 Dodge Ram Diesel
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Valley Stream, NY


Posts: 15,737
iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to itsbrokeagain
Im just gonna settle for a Defi BF gauge. Where I will put it? I have no idea...
__________________
AUTOCouture Motoring: Handling reflector installs to turbo upgrades and superchargers, and everything in between
15-01 Pollitt Drive, Fairlawn NJ 201-666-3500

<-Official Vehicle Transport for AUTOCouture
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2007, 04:36 AM   #44
FinInk
Second Lieutenant
2

 
Drives: 2000 Celica, Wanting 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fresno


Posts: 291
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp335i View Post
I swapped out my ashtray for the sunglass holder and then put the Zeitronix in. Fits nice and it can even be tucked away. It displays Boost, EGT and AFR if you install the appropriate sensors (which i did) will also DATA log if you are so inclined.

Wow, now thats cleannn
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST