E90Post
 


Horizon LED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Small problem with Procede



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-14-2007, 05:25 PM   #1
trickydick
Private
trickydick's Avatar
0
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 3351 e92
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: your mom

iTrader: (0)

Small problem with Procede

I have had the procede for a week and it is frikin unbelievable. One little problem and it has only happened twice. Under WOT I have had the engine cut back power to 50% and a symbol of an engine in yellow show up on my indicator screen. If I turn the car off and then on again, it goes away. The temp was only at 220 or so, I know it isn't overheating. I checked for error codes with the c reader and nothing come up says everything is fine. The owners manual says if that light comes up to "continue your journey, but moderate your speed and exercise due caution. Have the engine checked ASAP. Also, I have been a member on here for quite some time. I just don't want the world knowing I have the procede.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2007, 05:32 PM   #2
gonzo
Brigadier General
gonzo's Avatar
United_States
132
Rep
4,994
Posts

 
Drives: as many as possible
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TeXXXas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by trickydick View Post
I have had the procede for a week and it is frikin unbelievable. One little problem and it has only happened twice. Under WOT I have had the engine cut back power to 50% and a symbol of an engine in yellow show up on my indicator screen. If I turn the car off and then on again, it goes away. The temp was only at 220 or so, I know it isn't overheating. I checked for error codes with the c reader and nothing come up says everything is fine. The owners manual says if that light comes up to "continue your journey, but moderate your speed and exercise due caution. Have the engine checked ASAP. Also, I have been a member on here for quite some time. I just don't want the world knowing I have the procede.
Your ok. Mine is doing the same thing. You need the lower boost/ high rpm map from Shiv. Will not miss any hp. I just have not done it yet. Seemed mine did it on warmer days. If I nailed it and kept it down it went limp. Now I have adjusted and it is fine. I will do it, one day soon. Your car is fine. CONFIRM all my blah blah blah with Shiv.
__________________
Crazy Diamond
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2007, 05:34 PM   #3
jp335i
First Lieutenant
17
Rep
380
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta GA

iTrader: (3)

Mine did this same thing and I traced it back to a vacuum leak. If it's leaking the car does not reach it's pre-defined boost targets and will throw the code.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2007, 07:21 PM   #4
gonzo
Brigadier General
gonzo's Avatar
United_States
132
Rep
4,994
Posts

 
Drives: as many as possible
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TeXXXas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp335i View Post
Mine did this same thing and I traced it back to a vacuum leak. If it's leaking the car does not reach it's pre-defined boost targets and will throw the code.
Can you post a pic of where that leak was? I looked but I had it put in for me and am now wishing I would have taken an afternoon off to do it myself.
__________________
Crazy Diamond
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2007, 07:49 PM   #5
Insider
Captain
Insider's Avatar
8
Rep
710
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: 4,500 feet above sea level

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp335i View Post
Mine did this same thing and I traced it back to a vacuum leak. If it's leaking the car does not reach it's pre-defined boost targets and will throw the code.

Vacuum leak as in it has to be taken to the dealer to be fixed?
__________________
http://www.insiderpicks.com - The world's best stock picks.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2007, 08:49 PM   #6
jp335i
First Lieutenant
17
Rep
380
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta GA

iTrader: (3)

In my case it was the line going to the BOV... most likely it is leaking at one of your boost solenoids on the passengers side of the engine. Visit the Vishnu website for the install instructions and go over the steps so you can be fmailiar with what vacuum lines were touched... start looking their first. If you are unable to find the leak the new MAP that shiv has with slightly lower boost targets should work.

You should not have to go to the dealer for this fix.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2007, 08:55 PM   #7
wj4
Major General
United_States
120
Rep
7,723
Posts

 
Drives: E90 manual 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burbank, CA

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to wj4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insider View Post
Vacuum leak as in it has to be taken to the dealer to be fixed?
You can fix it yourself, if you don't want to take it to the dealership. Vacuum leak means that there is a hole somewhere in the vacuum line, similar to a boost leak.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2007, 09:01 PM   #8
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

word.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2007, 09:02 PM   #9
wj4
Major General
United_States
120
Rep
7,723
Posts

 
Drives: E90 manual 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burbank, CA

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to wj4
up.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2007, 09:14 PM   #10
trickydick
Private
trickydick's Avatar
0
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 3351 e92
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: your mom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
word.

Appreciate 0
      04-14-2007, 09:20 PM   #11
CoralRedPlz
restless
5
Rep
485
Posts

 
Drives: Space Grey, Coral Red 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: around town

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo View Post
Your ok. Mine is doing the same thing. You need the lower boost/ high rpm map from Shiv. Will not miss any hp. I just have not done it yet. Seemed mine did it on warmer days. If I nailed it and kept it down it went limp. Now I have adjusted and it is fine. I will do it, one day soon. Your car is fine. CONFIRM all my blah blah blah with Shiv.
my car has also done this a few times. which map do i need to download?

thanks
__________________
335i space, coral/gray poplar, step, loaded, but with no AS, AC or rear shade. Front lip painted and installed and springs going on this week. pics coming soon.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 03:39 AM   #12
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoralRedPlz View Post
my car has also done this a few times. which map do i need to download?

thanks
The map you want can be downloaded from here:
http://www.vishnutuningforum.com/for...9&postcount=23

Should take care of that problem. But first check for leaks. Especially if you are running an aftermarket blow off valve.

shiv
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 06:40 AM   #13
CoralRedPlz
restless
5
Rep
485
Posts

 
Drives: Space Grey, Coral Red 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: around town

iTrader: (0)

awesome, thanks shiv.

im pretty sure thats what it is, bc its never happened before stock, and only a few times with the procede. of those times it happened with the procede it was in fact a warmer day in florida (not sure if that should have much to do with it, but its a similar experiance to gonzo's).

ill report back to whether that fixes the problem.

thanks again.
__________________
335i space, coral/gray poplar, step, loaded, but with no AS, AC or rear shade. Front lip painted and installed and springs going on this week. pics coming soon.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 08:34 AM   #14
trickydick
Private
trickydick's Avatar
0
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 3351 e92
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: your mom

iTrader: (0)

I think I found my problem. It was the 2 vaccuum lines that have to be joined together. I didn't do a very good job of attaching them to the coupler. I didn't slide the hoses as far as they would go on the coupler, figuring they would be easier to take off later. I did a couple of runs at WOT, it seems to have fixed the problem. This frikin car is a beast!!!! If you are on the fence about the procede just do it. I didn't tell my wife I bought it, I took her for a few runs and she just about shit her pants. She asked me what I did to the car. hahahaha
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 09:18 AM   #15
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 01:27 PM   #16
gonzo
Brigadier General
gonzo's Avatar
United_States
132
Rep
4,994
Posts

 
Drives: as many as possible
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TeXXXas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by trickydick View Post
I think I found my problem. It was the 2 vaccuum lines that have to be joined together. I didn't do a very good job of attaching them to the coupler. I didn't slide the hoses as far as they would go on the coupler, figuring they would be easier to take off later. I did a couple of runs at WOT, it seems to have fixed the problem. This frikin car is a beast!!!! If you are on the fence about the procede just do it. I didn't tell my wife I bought it, I took her for a few runs and she just about shit her pants. She asked me what I did to the car. hahahaha
You really are tricky.
__________________
Crazy Diamond
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 02:09 PM   #17
FKNBD808BMR
FKNBD808BMR
United_States
0
Rep
79
Posts

 
Drives: e36,e46,e90
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: hawaii

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to FKNBD808BMR
Quote:
Originally Posted by trickydick View Post
I think I found my problem. It was the 2 vaccuum lines that have to be joined together. I didn't do a very good job of attaching them to the coupler. I didn't slide the hoses as far as they would go on the coupler, figuring they would be easier to take off later. I did a couple of runs at WOT, it seems to have fixed the problem. This frikin car is a beast!!!! If you are on the fence about the procede just do it. I didn't tell my wife I bought it, I took her for a few runs and she just about shit her pants. She asked me what I did to the car. hahahaha
...didnt tell you wife...ha hahahaaa...
__________________
"BI69AME"
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 05:01 PM   #18
jusbechillin
/|/|uffin/|/|an
United_States
3
Rep
196
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Space Gray BMW 335I coupe
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

I have also had this problem 2 times with Procede... I only received mine one week ago so I should have the most up to date map right? I hope this doesn't get worse and worse considering its only been 70-75 degrees the two times its happened and we hit 100+ regularly in the next few months.... sigh....
Anyways... I do not have the Oil cooler... do any of you having this problem have it?

... Anyways the car is AWESOME! I raced a C6 Vette and a 05 supercharged mustang yesterday and smashed them both... Cant wait to put on my new rubbers and really get some traction!
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 05:20 PM   #19
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

just double check the vacuum lined that u coupled together. Make sure there are no tears or leakes. Also, if u have an aftermarket bov. make sure you plumbed the vacuum lines correctly. If that is all good, u should not throw that boost-too-low code. I suppose if you live in outlanishly high elevations, we may need to adjust the boost targets. But we have many customers in denver who have had no issue. A couple have even tested as high as 11000 ft above sealevel on the standard map. If all else fails, go ahead and upload the lower boost target map as mentioned earlier.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 06:47 PM   #20
gonzo
Brigadier General
gonzo's Avatar
United_States
132
Rep
4,994
Posts

 
Drives: as many as possible
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TeXXXas

iTrader: (0)

No failures today. All Finicky maybe.
__________________
Crazy Diamond
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 07:43 PM   #21
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo View Post
No failures today. All Finicky maybe.
Nah... just borderline. If u use the map with the slightly lower boost target, it will give u a lot of headroom and u won't hit the fault again. Don't worry u won't feel any power loss.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2007, 08:10 PM   #22
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
HyperM3's Avatar
United_States
107
Rep
6,169
Posts

 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Shiv,

Ive read that youre not a fan of aftermarket BOV's(correct me if Im wrong). You think we should stick with OEM's? Whats your official take on this?
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST