E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > 2f71 e-box fan



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-25-2011, 11:37 AM   #1
watoowatoo
Private First Class
Canada
8
Rep
168
Posts

 
Drives: 09 35i X6
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

2f71 e-box fan

I got the DME code 2F71 E-Box fan, input signal.
Car was at dealer for service and seems like they didn't care about it since it's still present. I cleared the code but it came back again.
Does anybody know where the E-Box fan fuse is located on 09 35i x6? I suspect it's a blown fuse, any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2011, 11:40 AM   #2
cwn23
Major
15
Rep
1,159
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Is that the ecu fan located in the ecu compartment?
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2011, 11:46 AM   #3
EastCoast335i
Colonel
EastCoast335i's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,069
Posts

 
Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NJ

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by watoowatoo View Post
I got the DME code 2F71 E-Box fan, input signal.
Car was at dealer for service and seems like they didn't care about it since it's still present. I cleared the code but it came back again.
Does anybody know where the E-Box fan fuse is located on 09 35i x6? I suspect it's a blown fuse, any ideas?
Had the same issue... Dealer never fixed it til I went in twice and told them to read the codes.
They told me it was a short in the wiring.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2011, 11:49 AM   #4
watoowatoo
Private First Class
Canada
8
Rep
168
Posts

 
Drives: 09 35i X6
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Yes, it's the fan that cools the ecu box.
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...96&hg=12&fg=35
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2011, 11:55 AM   #5
watoowatoo
Private First Class
Canada
8
Rep
168
Posts

 
Drives: 09 35i X6
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EastCoast335i View Post
Had the same issue... Dealer never fixed it til I went in twice and told them to read the codes.
They told me it was a short in the wiring.
If i can find the fuse for it I can check the fuse before taking it back to dealer. I have JB4 so Prefer to avoid unnecessary dealer checks in the ecu box
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2011, 01:06 PM   #6
EastCoast335i
Colonel
EastCoast335i's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,069
Posts

 
Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NJ

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by watoowatoo View Post
If i can find the fuse for it I can check the fuse before taking it back to dealer. I have JB4 so Prefer to avoid unnecessary dealer checks in the ecu box
Not sure which fuse it is. May even be a fuse in the ECU box since its related to the ECU fan.
But I did drive with that error for a good 10k miles before finally getting it fixed, so i wouldnt be too concerned about it hurting the car.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2011, 09:36 PM   #7
watoowatoo
Private First Class
Canada
8
Rep
168
Posts

 
Drives: 09 35i X6
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EastCoast335i View Post
Not sure which fuse it is. May even be a fuse in the ECU box since its related to the ECU fan.
But I did drive with that error for a good 10k miles before finally getting it fixed, so i wouldnt be too concerned about it hurting the car.
That's good to know, fried ecu is not what i like to see. Hopefully somebody can guide me to figure where the fuse is
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2011, 10:04 PM   #8
Bleep
First Lieutenant
Bleep's Avatar
3
Rep
370
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brooklyn NY

iTrader: (0)

I've had the same problem for a few months now, following this closely.
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2011, 07:26 AM   #9
Jake@MOTIV
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jake@MOTIV's Avatar
26
Rep
951
Posts


 
Drives: 135i, 335i
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MD & NC

iTrader: (7)

Same thing here. Rather annoying always getting this code. I am going to go into the dme box and the fuse panel behind the glove box today and see if any are blown. I will update if i find anything. The retarded diagram our fuse panel comes with isn't much help with just a bunch of squigly pictures...yay bmw.

Last edited by Jake@MOTIV; 08-29-2011 at 07:36 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2012, 08:56 AM   #10
E90SoFlo
Banned
53
Rep
2,675
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Naples, FL

iTrader: (9)

any update on this? How do you fix it?
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2012, 03:42 PM   #11
EastCoast335i
Colonel
EastCoast335i's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,069
Posts

 
Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NJ

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90SoFlo View Post
any update on this? How do you fix it?
Yeah i thought i posted it in an earlier post above...

It was a blown fuse... Dealership fixed it for free since I was still under warranty.

Not sure which fuse or which fuse box.
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2012, 04:35 PM   #12
E90SoFlo
Banned
53
Rep
2,675
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Naples, FL

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EastCoast335i View Post
Yeah i thought i posted it in an earlier post above...

It was a blown fuse... Dealership fixed it for free since I was still under warranty.

Not sure which fuse or which fuse box.
correct, i found it earlier as well here it is.

Appreciate 0
      06-29-2012, 05:27 PM   #13
510135
Captain
Australia
14
Rep
796
Posts

 
Drives: f32
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90SoFlo View Post
correct, i found it earlier as well here it is.

Is this picture taken from the ECU box in the engine bay. And was the faulty fuse the 10 amp near your fingers?
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 03:47 PM   #14
dylim
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
240
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

iTrader: (3)

When I was changing my spark plugs I took a quick look and didn't find the 10amp fuse. Maybe it's buried under one of the large connectors, and you'll have to take the connector out to see the fuse? I keep getting 2f71 too.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2013, 01:57 AM   #15
Simonnn
Private First Class
Simonnn's Avatar
1
Rep
160
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Apologies for ressurecting this old thread, but can anyone confirm the location of the fuse for the ECU fan?

Getting the 2F71 code in my N54 135i after installing a JB4.. hoping I can just replace the fuse rather than the entire fan
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2013, 08:18 AM   #16
roadkillrob
Brigadier General
United_States
58
Rep
3,911
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335Cic, 2011 X5 35i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simonnn View Post
Apologies for ressurecting this old thread, but can anyone confirm the location of the fuse for the ECU fan?

Getting the 2F71 code in my N54 135i after installing a JB4.. hoping I can just replace the fuse rather than the entire fan
The pic above is definitely a pic of the ECU box showing it buried down in there.
__________________

2008 E93 335i, GIAC Stage 2, HPF IC, Injen Intake, Defective AR Design DP's with useless cats
2014 X3 35i JB Stage 1
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2013, 05:49 PM   #17
Simonnn
Private First Class
Simonnn's Avatar
1
Rep
160
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

I opened my ECU box last night and although the box itself looks like the one in the picture, the cables inside are different.

Really stumped on this one, looked in the fuse box too but doesn't look it's the right area either
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2013, 03:18 PM   #18
335chi
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

The fuses in the picture above have migrated to inside the car on newer models. On a 2009 335 the ebox fan is on fuse #6 along with the DMTL pump and the exhaust fume flap.

Note that if you improperly installed a USB cable from a JB4 to inside the glove box, it could be touching the ebox fan itself and making the fuse blow. There are 2 holes from the ebox to inside the car, one is lower and is empty air duct, and the higher one feeds into the fan blade. If you missed and pushed the cable thru the fan it would likely seize and cause the fault and/or blow the fuse.

Check the one in the picture marked in red if your fuse panel looks like this one.



If you route wiring down by the red line here, you're going to break your ebox fan/blow fuses.

You need to lift the DME up and route at the green marker instead.


Last edited by 335chi; 08-26-2013 at 03:26 PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2013, 08:49 PM   #19
Simonnn
Private First Class
Simonnn's Avatar
1
Rep
160
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for such a detailed repsonse, I did route the usb cable down the green line so hopefully my fan isn't dead.

Will have a look at the fuses tonight!
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2013, 05:08 PM   #20
Julian2485
Private First Class
2
Rep
169
Posts

 
Drives: Black lci e90 335 xdrive
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New york

iTrader: (0)

E-box fan code

I just got the same code a few days ago I have a lci e90 335 and I checked the fuse behind the glovebox but it looks to be fine. I cleared the code and it came back. What else do you guys think it can be. Please don't say the fan itself lol
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2013, 05:41 PM   #21
BD_F22
BD_e92
United_States
21
Rep
1,125
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 m235i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julian2485 View Post
I just got the same code a few days ago I have a lci e90 335 and I checked the fuse behind the glovebox but it looks to be fine. I cleared the code and it came back. What else do you guys think it can be. Please don't say the fan itself lol
I have had that for probably close to 1k miles and had it at the dealership with it and it didnt seem to be of concern to them
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2013, 06:59 PM   #22
Simonnn
Private First Class
Simonnn's Avatar
1
Rep
160
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys,

Just a bit of an update from my end.. I pulled the fuse out of the fuse box then pushed it back in and the code went away for me!

In my case it looks like the fuse wasnt sitting in the slot properly or something.. (not too sure exactly, the code came up after I installed a JB4 with usb cable). Hopefully some of you guys can try the same thing or even replace the fuse and see if it fixes the code.

Good Luck!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST