E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Is anyone unsure whether Procede is putting out full power?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-22-2007, 01:39 PM   #1
ericash
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2008 e93 328i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: HV, NY

Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)

Is anyone unsure whether Procede is putting out full power?

Have not had time to get to dyno, but it just doesn't "feel" like 50whp & 80-100rwtq increase. I had no error codes and installation went well. There is a definate increase in power, but I need to get to a dyno soon!!
ericash is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 01:51 PM   #2
wj4
Major General
 
Drives: E90 manual 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burbank, CA

Posts: 7,723
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to wj4
I think a valid question would be do you know what 50whp gain 'feels' like? I am sure that once you get it dyno'd, it will be magically faster since your mind will see the numbers and make yourself think it's 'faster'.
wj4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 02:10 PM   #3
sflgator
Major General
 
sflgator's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 MB C63 AMG & '08 MB GL450
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.

Posts: 5,389
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericash View Post
Have not had time to get to dyno, but it just doesn't "feel" like 50whp & 80-100rwtq increase. I had no error codes and installation went well. There is a definate increase in power, but I need to get to a dyno soon!!
Yes, it absolutely should be adding approx. +50+ WHP and + 80+ RWTQ.

FWIW, when Shiv installed the XEDE in my car back in Dec., '06, my car dyno'd +57WHP and +92 lb.-ft. RWTQ (322WHP and 378 lb.-ft. RWTQ). Then, I did some timed runs using my Beltronics Vector FX1 timer and got 4.58 sec. 0-60mph and 13.12 sec. @ 106.4mph 1/4 mi. with the XEDE.

After converting over to the PROcede, my best timed run thus far (and I know I can do even better ) is 4.50 sec. 0-60mph and 13.0 sec. @ 108.3 mph, timed during a 1/4 mi. run. My best 0-60mph timed run is 4.45 sec. So, without a true dyno with the PROcede, my "butt dyno" and my timed runs tell me that my PROcede-equipped 335i definitely has as much if not more HP/TQ than when I had the XEDE; or at the very least, it's faster!
__________________

|2009 RENNtech MB C63 AMG | Black/Black Leather/Black Maple | Premium II | MultiMedia | iPod |
| TeleAid | Charcoal Filter Delete | BMC High-Flow Air Filters | High-Flow Secondary Cats | Clear Side Markers |

Last edited by sflgator; 04-22-2007 at 03:17 PM.
sflgator is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 02:26 PM   #4
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

I have personaly installed and dyno tested well over 100 myself and have yet to see a car that didn't pick up at least 45whp and 80hp. And many have picked up as much as 60whp and 100lbft. We always recommend dyno verification and even supply the bypass plugs to make the before and after test easy to conduct.

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 02:28 PM   #5
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Bad gas maybe?
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 02:34 PM   #6
ericash
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2008 e93 328i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: HV, NY

Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)

I use mobil 93 oct gas - so shouldn't be a problem.

Shiv - can you send a bypass plug? I will PM you with my info?
ericash is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 02:38 PM   #7
bmwzimmer
Major
 
bmwzimmer's Avatar
 
Drives: 335
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 91 octane states

Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (0)

Procede comes with a bypass plug. Mabe your problem might be you have the bypass plugged in there the whole time and not the Procede?
bmwzimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 02:41 PM   #8
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericash View Post
I use mobil 93 oct gas - so shouldn't be a problem.

Shiv - can you send a bypass plug? I will PM you with my info?
the bypass plugs werw included in the kit. they were the two plugs that were in the harness that u had to remove when u plugged in your procede. did u not get them?
shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 03:04 PM   #9
ericash
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2008 e93 328i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: HV, NY

Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)

I have the bypass plugs. How do I use them when I dyno the car?
ericash is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 05:32 PM   #10
Ninjaneer
Shadow Warrior
 
Ninjaneer's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida

Posts: 2,097
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericash View Post
I have the bypass plugs. How do I use them when I dyno the car?
Just remove the connectors from the PROcede and put those plugs in place and you'd essentially be back to stock. Then when you want to get back to PROcede, just remove the plugs and hook the connectors back up to the PROcede for "light speed."
__________________
335i E90 / Arctic / Gray / Burl Walnut / Steptronic / ZPP / ZSP / Paddles / CA / Nav / PDC / OEM Spoiler
Mods:
PIAA Angel Eyes, Rear Fog Switch, Escort X50 Blue hardwire, 30% Charcoal Llumar
Installing soon: Rear Power Outlets (Happy Robot mod!)
Ninjaneer is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 05:33 PM   #11
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

to revert back to stock quickly (without actually removing the procede harness) just unplug the procede and plug in the bypass plugs in its place. A 5 second job. You can even leave the vaccum lines coupled when u dyno.

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2007, 08:59 PM   #12
jp335i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta GA

Posts: 379
iTrader: (3)

You could also load the stock map back in... I did this a couple of weeks ago just see what it used to be like. After re-loading the 1.4 map, there was no doubt the proceed was doing what it was supposed to.
jp335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2007, 08:57 AM   #13
mesier1111
Banned
 
mesier1111's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe, titanium
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA

Posts: 1,628
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericash View Post
I use mobil 93 oct gas - so shouldn't be a problem.

Shiv - can you send a bypass plug? I will PM you with my info?
That is your problem, go to shell V-power, after three tank fulls----get back to us and I bet things get to where you want them My car is stock (got no money for Proceed now) and when I went to Shell V-power, teh car seemed to get smoother, quicker and got slightly better gas mileage after about 3 tanks of it. Makes a difference!
mesier1111 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2007, 11:11 AM   #14
pikkashoe
Major
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335 Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 1,239
iTrader: (1)

ericash, i had that same exact feeling when i put my procede in. I thought I would be able to feel the power alot more. But the way the power comes on, its designed to feel like the power delivery of the car when its stock, its very linear. I also thought something might be wrong. Just to make sure, I bought myself an Escort Gt1 to confirm what times im running. That should put my concern to rest. Worse case scenario, I will get the car dynoed. I also have been using Mobil, and will be switching to Shell on my next fill up. People swear by the 93 octane from Shell.
pikkashoe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2007, 02:13 PM   #15
DrDomer
Major
 
DrDomer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 330ci ZHP, 1999 Miata
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Iowa

Posts: 1,349
iTrader: (0)

There should be no confusion. The power difference is massive. I have the v1.4 software and Shell V-power 93 octane. The difference from stock is staggering. I will say this, you should let your car completely warm up so the oil temp is around 200F before your doing a lot of WOT testing. I can tell a difference between a cold and warmed up car.
__________________
Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves. ~Albert Einstein
DrDomer is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2007, 11:55 PM   #16
335hopefull
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: thinking about 335 sdn auto sp
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: southern cal

Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)

fuel pump?
335hopefull is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 12:34 AM   #17
OC 335i
General
 
OC 335i's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 335D E90
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Irvine/Aliso Viejo, CA

Posts: 18,119
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to OC 335i Send a message via MSN to OC 335i
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
I have personaly installed and dyno tested well over 100 myself and have yet to see a car that didn't pick up at least 45whp and 80hp. And many have picked up as much as 60whp and 100lbft. We always recommend dyno verification and even supply the bypass plugs to make the before and after test easy to conduct.

shiv
Shiv, is this for 91 octane as well?
OC 335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 01:21 AM   #18
bmwzimmer
Major
 
bmwzimmer's Avatar
 
Drives: 335
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 91 octane states

Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDomer View Post
There should be no confusion. The power difference is massive. I have the v1.4 software and Shell V-power 93 octane. The difference from stock is staggering. I will say this, you should let your car completely warm up so the oil temp is around 200F before your doing a lot of WOT testing. I can tell a difference between a cold and warmed up car.
The difference literally feels like going from a 328i to a 335. Night and day
bmwzimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 01:22 AM   #19
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OC 335i View Post
Shiv, is this for 91 octane as well?
Yes indeed.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 09:30 AM   #20
pikkashoe
Major
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335 Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 1,239
iTrader: (1)

Difference should be like going from a 328 to 335? I dont know about that but mine doesnt feel that powerful, unless my car is just running like crap with the crappy Mobil gas. I still have not switched to Shell V Power, hopefully that clears it up for me. Also my car only has 400 miles, so with time hopefully it will get stronger as well. GT1 should be here by thursday, I will know then what my 0-60 and quarter mile times are running.
pikkashoe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST