E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > DIY USB Glovebox for PROcede



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-24-2007, 02:01 AM   #1
jusbechillin
/|/|uffin/|/|an
 
Drives: 2007 Space Gray BMW 335I coupe
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA

Posts: 196
iTrader: (0)

DIY USB Glovebox for PROcede

I might not be the most detailed person but its not brain surgery....

Now Im going to assume everyone knows how to get into the ECU box. So obviously do this first....
Name:  P1010063.JPG
Views: 1470
Size:  123.3 KB

Now connect your USB-Serial cable into the PROcede. I bought mine here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812156009
Name:  P1010065.JPG
Views: 1668
Size:  101.5 KB

The following step could probably be done better so someone go ahead and speak up if you did this without cutting... You need to get the cable outside of the watertight ECU box. I ended up poking a small hole in the rubber grommet closest to the passenger side of the car. I read that someone else did it without cutting.
Name:  P1010066.JPG
Views: 1442
Size:  86.7 KB

Put the rubber grommet back in place and run the wire towards the corner of the hood on the passengers side.
Name:  P1010071.JPG
Views: 1430
Size:  98.7 KB

Bring the wire out the corner of the hood and tuck it into the crack (yes thats the technical term) between the fender and the hood. It should end up only visible when directly above it. The wire will come out into the passenger door area. You will obviously need your door open for the next part.
Name:  P1010520.JPG
Views: 1455
Size:  57.0 KB

Gently pull part of the door seal so that you can put the wire behing it.
Name:  P1010074.JPG
Views: 1435
Size:  88.1 KB

It was a little tough getting my fat hands behind the glovebox but you'll need to reach back there in a minute. First there are two clips which you need to turn to remove the back of the glovebox. they are inside the glovebox on the far left and right.
Name:  P1010082.JPG
Views: 2441
Size:  58.6 KB
Name:  P1010083.JPG
Views: 1417
Size:  87.3 KB

With this removed you should be able to reach behind and find an opening to put the USB plug through. Pull all the extra cable you have into your glovebox and your good to go. Here is a picture from underneath the glovebox showing the only visible part once installed. You cant actually see it unless you look from below......
Name:  P1010077.JPG
Views: 1391
Size:  110.9 KB

Oh and of course its always a good idea to let your child play with metal tools by your nice new car!
Name:  4-20-07garage.jpg
Views: 1377
Size:  69.8 KB

GOOD LUCK!
jusbechillin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 02:06 AM   #2
rotaz
Captain
 
rotaz's Avatar
 
Drives: CaymanS
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: OC

Posts: 686
iTrader: (0)

that's awesome...thanks for sharing!
__________________
|Arrived 12/14/06| JP Vizage Kit| Gone 4/4/09 |
rotaz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 02:23 AM   #3
jon@themshop
Captain
 
jon@themshop's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles/Eagle Rock, CA

Posts: 759
iTrader: (8)

Cute kid!
jon@themshop is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 05:03 AM   #4
jreaton
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i Coupe Saddle Brown, Nav,
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Pray tell what new Mods did he perform with the ratchet??
__________________
335i Coupe Jet Black, saddle brown, nav, pdc
jreaton is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 07:11 AM   #5
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

Posts: 6,168
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
I thought the mod was supposed to be THROUGH the firewall, not around the door frame. Either way this is good (thanks for making the DIY) but theres gotta be another way. If Im planning on running a boost gauge, theres no way Im running a vacuum line around the outside of the A-pillar.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
HyperM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 07:28 AM   #6
RiXst3r
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: www.p3cars.com
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,459
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
i think a black usb cable would blend in better...
RiXst3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 08:48 AM   #7
ArmyBimmerDude
Major General
 
ArmyBimmerDude's Avatar
 
Drives: Lola
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Georgia

Posts: 5,503
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ArmyBimmerDude Send a message via Yahoo to ArmyBimmerDude
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
i think a black usb cable would blend in better...
+1

Cute kid. Go bash on daddys car
__________________
2007 E92 Montego Blue 335i
ArmyBimmerDude is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 11:23 AM   #8
lance
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 09 335i Coupe
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA

Posts: 269
iTrader: (0)

You definitly need to run that wire THROUGH the firewall. Come on now!! Good idea but dont run wires around door jams.
__________________
09 335i Space Gray
lance is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 11:35 AM   #9
jusbechillin
/|/|uffin/|/|an
 
Drives: 2007 Space Gray BMW 335I coupe
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA

Posts: 196
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lance View Post
You definitly need to run that wire THROUGH the firewall. Come on now!! Good idea but dont run wires around door jams.
No I didnt want to take it through the firewall.... This will be very easy to remove when going to the stealership. I do agree that a black cable would have been better. It didnt even cross my mind when I ordered the cable.

Either way it would be just wonderful if you could post a DIY on doing it through the firewall! Im sure there will be people that appreciate both ways!
jusbechillin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 01:29 PM   #10
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,626
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Thanks for putting this together. I will definitley try it out in a couple of months from now.

** The newegg link doesn't work, do you have the part number? How long was the cable?
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 06:28 PM   #11
BoostedBMW
Moderator
 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC

Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
Very nice write-up, thanks for taking the time to post this up. I think that I would have also gone through the firewall though, but i'm sure its a PITA in this car.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
BoostedBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 07:29 PM   #12
turbocoins
Captain
 
turbocoins's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 Z06, '07 MKZ
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warm Climate

Posts: 751
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jon@themshop View Post
Cute kid!
+1
turbocoins is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 07:53 PM   #13
jbake
OG
 
jbake's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Valley Jo

Posts: 920
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I  [0.00]
cute kid, cool mod....But clean your engine bay!
__________________
jbake is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 08:56 PM   #14
jp335i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta GA

Posts: 378
iTrader: (3)

You can pull the ECU and proceed out and off to the side. After that the yellow plastic box comes out and exposes the gromet in the firewall. You go right through that and you come out behind the glove box. Honestly by the time you expose the ECU your halfway there. You just have to not be afraid to pull out the ECU.
jp335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 10:07 PM   #15
schneid4323
Banned
 
Drives: 335i, M6
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dallas TX

Posts: 1,134
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to schneid4323
I wonder what my service advisor would say about that one
schneid4323 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 10:26 PM   #16
BoostedBMW
Moderator
 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC

Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
This is just an idea, but why not just keep the cable inside the engine bay after you run it out of the ECU box. If you are going to remove it anyway when you go in for service this would make sense since you can still update maps quickly by just popping your hood and not having to take the ECU covers off, and there would be no wires in your door jam.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
BoostedBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2007, 10:40 PM   #17
jp335i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta GA

Posts: 378
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
This is just an idea, but why not just keep the cable inside the engine bay after you run it out of the ECU box. If you are going to remove it anyway when you go in for service this would make sense since you can still update maps quickly by just popping your hood and not having to take the ECU covers off, and there would be no wires in your door jam.


This is very good sugestion...

Although, if you have a cable inside then you can take advantage of data logging and other monitoring options in the future.

But that can also be done by taking that same wire from under the hood and running it through to door jam temporarily since data logging is not an everyday activity for most.
jp335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2007, 07:46 PM   #18
M3to335
Whats that smell?
 
M3to335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Z06 Track / 135i Wifes Car
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC

Posts: 1,676
iTrader: (5)

I just tried to pull out the ecu from the box. For me there wasnt enough slack in the cables to get it completely out. Specifically the cables (red/black etc) coming out of the grommet closest the fender.

Also, since I couldnt pull the box out, I wanted to run it around the jam temporarily. Isnt it going to get smooched when the door is shut?
M3to335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2007, 08:10 PM   #19
l4wr3nc3
The Law.
 
l4wr3nc3's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rowland Heights, CA

Posts: 14,277
iTrader: (17)

Send a message via AIM to l4wr3nc3
Thanks for the writeup! Mods can you please add this link to the sticky of DIY's
__________________

2008 Lotus Exige S240 | 2007 BMW 335i
l4wr3nc3 is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2007, 09:01 PM   #20
lvwirelessguy
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3, 2012 Golf TDI
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 702

Posts: 947
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2005 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to lvwirelessguy
Wireless USB is the only way to go
lvwirelessguy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2007, 09:19 PM   #21
mesier1111
Banned
 
mesier1111's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe, titanium
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA

Posts: 1,628
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lvwirelessguy View Post
Wireless USB is the only way to go
I'm not great with computers or wireless stuff.....so please, how would you get a general wireluss USB that could connect to a computer?
mesier1111 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2007, 09:35 PM   #22
ChadE
Major
 
ChadE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i / ATR-72
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, Charlotte

Posts: 1,402
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to ChadE
Go through the firewall and thats a good ass DIY...thank for the post bro
__________________
"When you are passionate, you always have your destination in sight and you are not distracted by obstacles. Because you love what you are pursuing, things like rejection and setbacks will not hinder you in your pursuit. You believe that nothing can stop you!" - Coach K

ChadE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST