E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Programming with Aftermarket Headunit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-06-2014, 03:21 PM   #1
ShadeZeRO
Private
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: E90 328i 4D 6MT
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami Beach

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to ShadeZeRO
Programming with Aftermarket Headunit

Hi All,

I had someone install a Pioneer AVIC Z150BH in my 07 E90. LINK
I was on HiFi stock headunit (no fiber).

Used the standard Connect2 Harness to keep my PDC & Steering controls. LINK

My dealer called and said they need to program my car as my DSC module is defective.

My question is, what's the easiest way to go about this? And is there really no other option?

I've searched, and most people relocate their headunits for the chimes, not so much for the programming (as I can find very little information on it). LINK

Please advise.
__________________
'07 328i Sedan | Montego Blue | Black Leather | Sport | Cold |
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2014, 03:42 PM   #2
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,502
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

You could always swap the stock head unit back in and swap it back out.

Or relocate the stock headunit. You need Metra 71-9003 and a MOST termination loop. The only wires you need are switched power, and the 2 can wires. You can tap these at the connects2 harness and ground to the chassis in the trunk. You probably already have extra fiber optic wires in the trunk and you just need to swap them around at the MOST distribution block. You would use the MOST termination loop for the fiber optic cables in the dash.
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2014, 10:11 PM   #3
snaimpally
Lieutenant
United_States
6
Rep
578
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i MT
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
You could always swap the stock head unit back in and swap it back out.

Or relocate the stock headunit. You need Metra 71-9003 and a MOST termination loop. The only wires you need are switched power, and the 2 can wires. You can tap these at the connects2 harness and ground to the chassis in the trunk. You probably already have extra fiber optic wires in the trunk and you just need to swap them around at the MOST distribution block. You would use the MOST termination loop for the fiber optic cables in the dash.
I've heard several folks mention relocating the stock HU. Where do people normally relocate it to?
__________________
JB4 + Pure Turbo Stage 1 + Mfactory LSD + AA FMIC
Dynavin N6 + Mosconi AS100.4 + AS100.4 + AS200.2 + Morel Piccolos + Jehnert XE200 + Dynaudio 1200
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2014, 10:49 PM   #4
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,342
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

FYI

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
The above link has the harness and pictures of where people put the head unit what more do you need?

People with a coding setup can do repairs without the OEM head unit in place.
The BMW dealerships has a setup that does not allow them to select
individual modules to work on . I believe the first thing there unit does
is read the vin(VO) then begin a check of all modules the vin(VO) tells it should be there if doesn't find them
it can't proceed. Don't know if autologic does this or not but a coding
setup can update or write to individual modules because it operates
at a more basic level.
There was a guy on here that ran the cables but only puts the Head
Unit in when he goes in for programming/repair.

Last edited by ctuna; 05-07-2014 at 12:37 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 08:09 AM   #5
ShadeZeRO
Private
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: E90 328i 4D 6MT
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami Beach

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to ShadeZeRO
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
You could always swap the stock head unit back in and swap it back out.

Or relocate the stock headunit. You need Metra 71-9003 and a MOST termination loop. The only wires you need are switched power, and the 2 can wires. You can tap these at the connects2 harness and ground to the chassis in the trunk. You probably already have extra fiber optic wires in the trunk and you just need to swap them around at the MOST distribution block. You would use the MOST termination loop for the fiber optic cables in the dash.
Great info!

I do not have fiber optic cables running to my deck as far as I remember. There was one green fiber cord that is for an option iPod hookup (which is unused). If that's the case, I don't need the MOST loop, correct?

I'm assuming I can get the 71-9003 Harness & splice into pins:
9 (CAN Low)
11 (CAN High)
12 (ground)
15 (+12v)

I'll be ordering this from amazon: LINK
But it looks 'slightly' different from the one in the main thread. The second blue box is not there. It's the one that houses pins 9 and 11. I'm assuming I can just move the one on the right side over as I will NOT be using any of the speaker inputs.
__________________
'07 328i Sedan | Montego Blue | Black Leather | Sport | Cold |
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 10:15 AM   #6
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,502
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadeZeRO View Post
Great info!

I do not have fiber optic cables running to my deck as far as I remember. There was one green fiber cord that is for an option iPod hookup (which is unused). If that's the case, I don't need the MOST loop, correct?

I'm assuming I can get the 71-9003 Harness & splice into pins:
9 (CAN Low)
11 (CAN High)
12 (ground)
15 (+12v)

I'll be ordering this from amazon: LINK
But it looks 'slightly' different from the one in the main thread. The second blue box is not there. It's the one that houses pins 9 and 11. I'm assuming I can just move the one on the right side over as I will NOT be using any of the speaker inputs.
If you do not have fiber optic cables going the the headunit I see no point in relocating it. I'm not sure how the dealer does coding on cars without a MOST bus.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 10:18 AM   #7
ShadeZeRO
Private
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: E90 328i 4D 6MT
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami Beach

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to ShadeZeRO
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
If you do not have fiber optic cables going the the headunit I see no point in relocating it. I'm not sure how the dealer does coding on cars without a MOST bus.
My car was basically Base + Sport + HiFi.
The only fiber looking cable (green I believe) was the iPod hookup.
__________________
'07 328i Sedan | Montego Blue | Black Leather | Sport | Cold |
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 10:20 AM   #8
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,502
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadeZeRO View Post
My car was basically Base + Sport + HiFi.
The only fiber looking cable (green I believe) was the iPod hookup.
Are you sure that didn't connect to the stock headunit?
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 10:24 AM   #9
ShadeZeRO
Private
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: E90 328i 4D 6MT
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami Beach

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to ShadeZeRO
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
Are you sure that didn't connect to the stock headunit?
I'll double check when I open it up tonight/tomorrow. I distinctly remember the other end being in my trunk (pre-wire) with nothing attached.
__________________
'07 328i Sedan | Montego Blue | Black Leather | Sport | Cold |
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST