E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Working with angel eyes



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-11-2011, 12:16 AM   #1
sd23
Private
 
Drives: 2014 435i x-drive M-sport EBII
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

Working with angel eyes

Hello,

if anyone with knowledge of NCS codes for AE as DRL and welcome light for early e90 models, Please PM me. I don't have a NFRM module and when I look in FRM I don't see WL_* set of entries. Car specifications are in signature thanks in advance for the help.
My prod 06/05.
__________________
2014 435i x-drive/ EBII /M-Sport/Premium/Dynamic/Driving assist Package.
2013 X3/ M-Sport/ Premium/ Technology/
Former Owner: 330i RIP.

Last edited by sd23; 03-11-2011 at 12:48 AM.
sd23 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2011, 12:59 AM   #2
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd23 View Post
Hello,

if anyone with knowledge of NCS codes for AE as DRL and welcome light for early e90 models, Please PM me. I don't have a NFRM module and when I look in FRM I don't see WL_* set of entries. Car specifications are in signature thanks in advance for the help.
My prod 06/05.
Unfortunately, with the older models, coding of the AE to act as DRL cannot be done. I had to hardwire my AE to turn on as DRL.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2011, 01:31 AM   #3
yakev724
Brigadier General
 
yakev724's Avatar
 
Drives: 00 RX300
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ithaca, NY

Posts: 3,559
iTrader: (49)

I was a bit disappointed not being able to have them as welcome lights as well...

...oh well, I'm sure FRM3s will become possible for $100 from junkyards soon.
yakev724 is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2011, 01:53 PM   #4
scooby9
Major
 
scooby9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E90 BMW 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Posts: 1,120
iTrader: (6)

I coded my AE to be DRLs. Kinda cool in lower light situations but during a day when the sun is out you can't even see if the rings are on as they are quite dim in the pre-LCI models.
__________________
2007 BMW 335xi 6MT TiAg
scooby9 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-16-2011, 09:37 AM   #5
rarej
Registered
 
Drives: 320d e90
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: RO

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

so what coding did you do to enable ae as drl in your pre-lci e90?
rarej is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-16-2011, 10:05 AM   #6
Showsol2211
Blacked out
 
Showsol2211's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minnesota

Posts: 232
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rarej View Post
so what coding did you do to enable ae as drl in your pre-lci e90?
I would like to know this as well!
__________________
E90 330xi Sedan *SOLD*
2008 Evo X GSR SSS - Daily Driver - 407hp/434tq
1997 Eclipse GSX - Project Car - 601hp/475tq
Showsol2211 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-16-2011, 07:12 PM   #7
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

It's listed in the spreadsheet.
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2011, 01:20 PM   #8
scanboy
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 Montego Blue+Black Int.
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Torrance

Posts: 438
iTrader: (0)

VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL
change drl_h to drl_s, just did this yesterday and it worked, but your car's production date has to be after 04/07 so I heard.
search VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL for details in the coding thread.
scanboy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2011, 02:44 PM   #9
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

I did this yesterday as well. For my car, it's in the NFRM module. It's not too bright in the day time as DRL but it's good for accent lighting purpose.
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2011, 12:09 PM   #10
allerena
Private First Class
 
Drives: e90 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal

Posts: 124
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328xi  [0.00]
nice!, would you have to turn off the DRL halogens too right?... and one thing I noticed that when you delete the DRL halogens the adaptive headlights cease to work, and the xenon's stay on all the time, is that normal?
allerena is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2011, 12:39 PM   #11
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
I think the models with d-can can have the AE coded as DRLs/welcome lighting but the models with K-can (06 models, pre-march '07) cannot.

I had my AE wired to my cigg lighter for DRL operation and to my footwell light for welcome lighting.....they even faded on and off with the lock/unlock.

Took it off because my passenger side angel eye is out...
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2011, 07:12 PM   #12
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

This is interesting, and maybe someone can help out on this, but can I code the AE as DRL? Reason I ask is this post:

VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL
change drl_h to drl_s, just did this yesterday and it worked, but your car's production date has to be after 04/07 so I heard.
search VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL for details in the coding thread.

I have a 328xi E90 02/07 build date (I use the K-Line cable instead of DCAN) and I found this in one of my modules:

VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL_3R
drl_h

I haven't tried it yet, but can I get AE as DRL? It seems that all I would have to do is change the drl_h to drl_s. Is this correct? If so, maybe cars earlier than 04/07 can do this?
orangedawg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2011, 08:46 PM   #13
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

^Nice...

Try it out. Should work. I don't see that line in my FRM module though 11/2006.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2011, 10:21 PM   #14
scanboy
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 Montego Blue+Black Int.
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Torrance

Posts: 438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
...
I haven't tried it yet, but can I get AE as DRL? It seems that all I would have to do is change the drl_h to drl_s. Is this correct? If so, maybe cars earlier than 04/07 can do this?
There's only one way to find out, give it a try, I'm sure a lot of members here would want to know the result.
scanboy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-20-2011, 11:33 AM   #15
carlosalbertogui
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: bmw E91 facelifted by me
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: portugal

Posts: 235
iTrader: (0)

i have read somewhere that when retrofiting xenon on an halogen car you loose the DRL function is that true ???

i turn my drl on in idrive and nothing happens
just the tail lamps will oooohhhhhh i get it

still i dont have high beam at the moment i have not rewired yet
because of this i can not be sure if is true or not

i remember i read on
wds wiring diagram

pretty sure i have high beam as drl_h have to change to drl_s
i dont know how it happends
when i had halogen drl was AE and Low beam
carlosalbertogui is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2011, 03:41 PM   #16
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: canada

Posts: 216
iTrader: (1)

Thats the same line i had and i just changed it to drl_s and it works for me.
Just did it 2 days ago.

Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
This is interesting, and maybe someone can help out on this, but can I code the AE as DRL? Reason I ask is this post:

VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL
change drl_h to drl_s, just did this yesterday and it worked, but your car's production date has to be after 04/07 so I heard.
search VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL for details in the coding thread.

I have a 328xi E90 02/07 build date (I use the K-Line cable instead of DCAN) and I found this in one of my modules:

VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL_3R
drl_h

I haven't tried it yet, but can I get AE as DRL? It seems that all I would have to do is change the drl_h to drl_s. Is this correct? If so, maybe cars earlier than 04/07 can do this?
charles.soori is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2011, 06:29 PM   #17
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles.soori View Post
Thats the same line i had and i just changed it to drl_s and it works for me.
Just did it 2 days ago.
Which module is that line located in? I don't see it in the FRM module but it is in the big file of all the modules in one.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2011, 09:40 PM   #18
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

I'd like to second what DESI said, that line is in my big TRC file, but I don't know what module it is in. I have an 02/07 build but it's not in my FRM file. I note that when I select the main module in NCS, I have 3 choices; CAS, FRM, and NFRM. However, when I go to the sub modules, there is no NFRM.
orangedawg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 01:50 PM   #19
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: canada

Posts: 216
iTrader: (1)

Its in my NFRM..i don't have FRM
Maybe you guys need to update the software by going to the dealer.
charles.soori is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 03:07 PM   #20
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

I don't think you can update that unless you add a new footwell module, 2 or 3. I wonder what would happen if I jst changed that line in my big TRC file and then used "process car". Anyone know what would happen or side effects?
orangedawg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 11:10 PM   #21
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: canada

Posts: 216
iTrader: (1)

Try it and let us know...

Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
I don't think you can update that unless you add a new footwell module, 2 or 3. I wonder what would happen if I jst changed that line in my big TRC file and then used "process car". Anyone know what would happen or side effects?
charles.soori is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 06:43 AM   #22
suresh
New Member
 
Drives: E90 330d M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Swindon

Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
I'd like to second what DESI said, that line is in my big TRC file, but I don't know what module it is in. I have an 02/07 build but it's not in my FRM file. I note that when I select the main module in NCS, I have 3 choices; CAS, FRM, and NFRM. However, when I go to the sub modules, there is no NFRM.
Hi have teh same issue, I can find these options in the big .TRC file but not in the FRM module. I also do not have a NFRM module. My car's build date is Dec/05

Any ideas on what do try next ?
suresh is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST