E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Coding without stock audio components



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-12-2013, 08:13 PM   #1
gunda
0
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i e92
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga

Posts: 466
iTrader: (0)

Coding without stock audio components

I have ordered the $99 cable from one-stop-electronics and am anticipating it's arrival. I just wanted to know what problems I will come across with my audio system reconfigured. I have replaced my stock headunit with a Kenwood excelon dnx9980, the stock L7 amp with a alpine mrp-f300, and added an alpine mrx-m100 1000watt amp and Type-R SWR-1223d subwoofer. With all these modifications I get a SOS error on start up all the time. I know that by relocating the stock headunit to the trunk with extended optical cables I can potentially remove this error, but if I attempt to code my car immediately when the cable arrives will I ruin my cars programming? or will I be able to still code successfully with just a few error codes. What would procedures would you guys recommend I take in order to code successfully?

Thanks in advance, I really appreciate your help!
gunda is offline   Canada
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 05:37 PM   #2
gunda
0
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i e92
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga

Posts: 466
iTrader: (0)

Just encase people read this thread looking for an answer. I have been notified that coding features that do not involve the radio will have no problems. However, if you are going to get a software update from the dealership, then you would have to relocate the factory head unit to the trunk, otherwise the dealership will not be able to perform the update.
gunda is offline   Canada
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 06:17 PM   #3
Elliott@DetailAddict
0
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Sorry I wasn't able to get back to your PM faster!
Yes, a good way to think about dealer coding/updating is a one click method that won't complete if one errors out.

You should be fine coding other modules with NCS.
My apologies for the delayed response
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 11:36 PM   #4
gunda
0
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i e92
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga

Posts: 466
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the response!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
Sorry I wasn't able to get back to your PM faster!
Yes, a good way to think about dealer coding/updating is a one click method that won't complete if one errors out.

You should be fine coding other modules with NCS.
My apologies for the delayed response
gunda is offline   Canada
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST