E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Software/Daten Setup



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-01-2013, 10:30 AM   #1
Keebs64
New Member
United_States
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Software/Daten Setup

I have BMW Standard Tools 2.11 installed, and I have SPDatenV49 downloaded.

All of the DIYs say to update the following directories (which I have done):

c:\NCSEXPER\SGDAT
c:\NCSEXPER\DATEN\E89
c:\EDIABAS\Ecu

Do I need to do anything with the other data/folders from SPDatenV49? i.e.- \cfgdat, \data, \format, \kmmData

It seems like these other folders are important, since that is where the bulk of the 11gb of data resides.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2013, 10:48 AM   #2
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Standard tools 2.12 is the newest, works with Win 7.

DATA folder weights a lot, it is for updating your modules, you can import it to WinKfp as Assembly line data. Nothing else is important for you.

Last edited by pweber84; 05-26-2013 at 04:15 AM.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2013, 11:29 AM   #3
Keebs64
New Member
United_States
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
Standard tools 2.12 is the newest, work with Win 7.

DATA folder weights a lot, it is for updating your modules, you can import it to WinKfp as Assembly line data. Nothing else is important for you.
Thanks.

I'm guessing I'll need to use the files in the DATA folder with WinKfp, since one of my first tasks will be to program a replacement right AHL module (SMC control unit) to my car.

Do you know of any DIYs for that process?
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2013, 12:23 PM   #4
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
You mean frm module? Did you replace the module because was broken or on the newer one? Or you want to change it from frm1 to frm2?
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2013, 01:19 PM   #5
Keebs64
New Member
United_States
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
You mean frm module? Did you replace the module because was broken or on the newer one? Or you want to change it from frm1 to frm2?
No. My frm1 is original, and does not need any work.

I replaced my control unit for the Adaptive Curve Lighting (BMW# 63127189312), and the new unit is uncoded.

Apparently, I need to program/code the new unit to the car (vin#) in order for it to function properly & recognize all of the correct movement limits for the motors it controls.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2013, 01:43 PM   #6
yEBMW
Lieutenant
yEBMW's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
536
Posts

Drives: '11 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
I am also interested on how to program a ahl module. I did a halogen to euro lci ahl xenon conversion and I can't get the ahl modules to show in ncs exper. I think this is why my xenon projectors aren't facing straight.

Do they need to be coded some how?

I swapped pin 5 and 6 on the actual headlights in order to get the shutter to work for the xenons but I wonder now if I wasn't supposed to do that. Cause my cornering lights aren't working even after coding.

Sorry not trying to thread jack but I will also need to do some of the same coding as the OP. But I have installed a frm2 coming from a FRM1.
__________________
U.S. Army Veteran/Iraqi Freedom

11' 335i -M-Sport/LeMans Blue Metallic/Sport/Premium/AT - Current
06' 325i -Base/Arctic Metallic/MT - Retired
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 08:43 AM   #7
Keebs64
New Member
United_States
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Here's my update:

I have everything installed (fresh install, 1st time), and all of the data files are moved to the correct directories.

When I open INPA to do the compatability check, I show the two black circles. This tells me that the hardware is working properly. Although, I have no chassis options (F2-F10) to choose from.

I can manually update the INPA.ini file to show the chassis options, but when I do that & select E89, I get the error 'Couldn't find E89 configuration file, E89.eng'.

The install was BMW Standard Tools, from a disk, full install, all options.

I updated the three directories listed above with the V49 daten... is there something in INPA that I need to update and/or configure?

Thanks.

EDIT: Here is the actual error message ""Couldn't find INPA configuration file C:\EC-APPS\INPA\BIN\..\cfgdat\E89.ENG" I searched through the install, and through the V49 daten, and I couldn't even find a file with that name.

Last edited by Keebs64; 04-02-2013 at 08:55 AM. Reason: Added info
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 08:56 AM   #8
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keebs64 View Post
Here's my update:

I have everything installed (fresh install, 1st time), and all of the data files are moved to the correct directories.

When I open INPA to do the compatability check, I show the two black circles. This tells me that the hardware is working properly. Although, I have no chassis options (F2-F10) to choose from.

I can manually update the INPA.ini file to show the chassis options, but when I do that & select E89, I get the error 'Couldn't find E89 configuration file, E89.eng'.

The install was BMW Standard Tools, from a disk, full install, all options.

I updated the three directories listed above with the V49 daten... is there something in INPA that I need to update and/or configure?

Thanks.
Looks like CFGDAT files in INPA folder are missing. It has nothing to do with spdaten.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 09:14 AM   #9
Keebs64
New Member
United_States
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
Looks like CFGDAT files in INPA folder are missing. It has nothing to do with spdaten.
That's strange. I don't understand how they could be missing if it was a full install.

How do I get/find them? Can they be copied from someone elses install, or should I try to find a different version of BMW Standard Tools to install?

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 09:23 AM   #10
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keebs64 View Post
That's strange. I don't understand how they could be missing if it was a full install.

How do I get/find them? Can they be copied from someone elses install, or should I try to find a different version of BMW Standard Tools to install?

Thanks.
What version do you use?

Check the contain of INPA/CFGDAT there should be about 50 files. I don't know what is the version of your INPA.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 10:01 AM   #11
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
14
Rep
648
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Every time I've installed a new version of standard tools I've used the INPA cfgdat files from INPA 502 and it's worked fine, do you have that version? For whatever reason the new versions don't have all the cfgdat files. The link for bmwst 2.12 on page 5 or 6 of the NCSEXPER errors sticky thread also has the cfgdat files, you can download that.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 10:26 AM   #12
Keebs64
New Member
United_States
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
What version do you use?

Check the contain of INPA/CFGDAT there should be about 50 files. I don't know what is the version of your INPA.
INPA 5.00 from the .INI file.

I definitely don't have 50 files in the INPA/CFGDAT folder. Attached are screen shots of both.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 10:29 AM   #13
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
PM sent.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 02:44 PM   #14
Keebs64
New Member
United_States
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
PM sent.
Thanks again!

I'll try it when I get home tonight & let you know how everything works.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 02:47 PM   #15
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
No problem. Everything should be fine now.
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2013, 06:20 AM   #16
mjr
Private First Class
4
Rep
154
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Has anybody got the light version of the V49 files? All I need are the SGDAT, Daten and ECU folders
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2013, 08:31 AM   #17
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjr View Post
Has anybody got the light version of the V49 files? All I need are the SGDAT, Daten and ECU folders
PM sent.
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2013, 08:33 AM   #18
mjr
Private First Class
4
Rep
154
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
PM sent.
Thank you
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2013, 09:12 AM   #19
hgw512
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: My car is 3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fujian,fuzhou,china

iTrader: (0)

Appreciate 0
      05-25-2013, 07:20 PM   #20
mmlcrisis
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
47
Posts

Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Baltimore

iTrader: (0)

Little clarification please. You say work with Win7, I assume you mean it will work with Win XP or Win 7. Correct?

[quote=******84;13740585]Standard tools 2.12 is the newest, work with Win 7.
Appreciate 0
      05-25-2013, 11:25 PM   #21
Slickascanbe
Private
1
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
PM sent.
pweb, think you can help me out with the same issue? i think my Daten is outdated, went back to the dealer and it looks like they upgraded my system. going from V41 to V49 should be the remedy to the problem.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2013, 04:16 AM   #22
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
[quote=mmlcrisis;14053159]Little clarification please. You say work with Win7, I assume you mean it will work with Win XP or Win 7. Correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
Standard tools 2.12 is the newest, work with Win 7.
Yes, it will work with Win7/8 32&64 bit and also WinXP
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST