E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > Using Techron....



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-29-2011, 07:08 AM   #1
AllBlackBimmer
Major
 
AllBlackBimmer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i E90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central PA area

Posts: 1,368
iTrader: (0)

Using Techron....

OK, So I am taking my car in for service next week and getting an oil change, along with some other things. Figured this would be a good time to dump some techron into my tank...

Now, I have about a 1/2 tank of gas left, I am taking my car in next week, and want to run my car as low as possible on gas to get all of it out..

on the bottle it says:

"Pour the entire contents of one bottle into a nearly empty tank and refuel with up to 15 gallons of gasoline."

Can I just do half of this? Or should I just not even bother since I don't really have enough time to run a full tank?

Went to techron's website, but it really doesn't give instructions...
__________________
2008 328i E90 Jet Black:6MT:Premium:Sport:Walnut/Black interior:Xenon:MTEC V3 AEs:19" Beyern Mesh:35% Tint:Blacklines
AllBlackBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2011, 02:21 PM   #2
Glim
Captain
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Victoria, BC

Posts: 771
iTrader: (0)

I would put the entire bottle in and then fill the tank, fill up again immediatly after the oil change to dilute it.

Save your fuel filter - don't let your tank get below 1/4.
Glim is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2011, 02:23 PM   #3
AllBlackBimmer
Major
 
AllBlackBimmer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i E90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central PA area

Posts: 1,368
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glim View Post
I would put the entire bottle in and then fill the tank, fill up again immediatly after the oil change to dilute it.

Save your fuel filter - don't let your tank get below 1/4.
This is what I "plan" on doing, but may end up doing a 3/4 bottle of techron, 3/4 tank of gas.. just to get as much as the techron out of my gas prior to the oil change...

I may just scrap the idea all together as well, I should've made my appointment for a week later
__________________
2008 328i E90 Jet Black:6MT:Premium:Sport:Walnut/Black interior:Xenon:MTEC V3 AEs:19" Beyern Mesh:35% Tint:Blacklines
AllBlackBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2011, 06:27 PM   #4
queensfield
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal

Posts: 343
iTrader: (0)

I had communicated with Chevron couple of weeks back and got back the following response (lot of it is standard stuff but some is good to know info)-

"It is safe to use Chevron’s Techron Concentrate Plus in your 2006 330i BMW vehicle. Chevron takes care that its products are safe, appropriate for the uses intended, and labeled correctly. Techron products have been tested thoroughly, both in Chevron laboratories and on the road. Chevron has done extensive “harm-testing” on Techron products. This included compatibility testing with a car’s engine interior parts. Testing was done on both old and new vehicles and at concentrations much higher than would be the actual experience. Tens of thousands of bottles of the additive have been used with no problem. Chevron has sold millions of gallons of additives based on Techron technology. We are not aware of a single instance of harm to an engine when used as directed or of which is added to the gasolines we sell. No oil change is necessary after using the product once in three months"
queensfield is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2011, 06:31 PM   #5
tibra1
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 ZCP M3 - 2007 335i crashd
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,777
iTrader: (4)

Techron is great I use it regularily..just make sure to follow the instructions there is a 12 gallon bottle and larger 20 gallon bottle..fill up the exact amount of gas..if its too concentrated it will cause the engine to run a lil funky
tibra1 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2011, 08:19 PM   #6
Chriztofor
Colonel
 
Chriztofor's Avatar
 
Drives: '06 325i Auto
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 2,622
iTrader: (1)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=Techron
__________________
If no codes are being thrown use Chevron Techron fuel injector cleaner (concentrate). It solves rpm fluctuating upon cold start-up. Also, for most BMW problems start off by scanning your car with the Peake Research Tool. It contains the actual BMW codes. If you want to register a newly installed battery for free (just buy a $10 cable) and google/download BMWLogger
Chriztofor is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2011, 08:21 PM   #7
tibra1
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 ZCP M3 - 2007 335i crashd
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,777
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriztofor View Post
Very true..its a myth that you need to change oil...its fuel detergent not going to impact oil in any meaningful way.
tibra1 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2011, 08:23 PM   #8
Chriztofor
Colonel
 
Chriztofor's Avatar
 
Drives: '06 325i Auto
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 2,622
iTrader: (1)

And this is why I use it, http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=Techron
__________________
If no codes are being thrown use Chevron Techron fuel injector cleaner (concentrate). It solves rpm fluctuating upon cold start-up. Also, for most BMW problems start off by scanning your car with the Peake Research Tool. It contains the actual BMW codes. If you want to register a newly installed battery for free (just buy a $10 cable) and google/download BMWLogger
Chriztofor is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2011, 10:14 PM   #9
Glim
Captain
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Victoria, BC

Posts: 771
iTrader: (0)

A money saving tip: DI engines (335i) do not benefit from fuel detergents as the fuel never touches the valves or intake.

Last edited by Glim; 09-30-2011 at 01:27 AM.
Glim is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-30-2011, 01:27 AM   #10
edelossantos
EDS328i
 
edelossantos's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Space Gray 328i Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irvine, CA

Posts: 70
iTrader: (0)

Direct Injection

Not sure if this is just marketing, but check out the tab for direct injection

http://www.techron.com/
edelossantos is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-30-2011, 01:28 AM   #11
tibra1
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 ZCP M3 - 2007 335i crashd
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,777
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glim View Post
A money saving tip: DI engines (335i) do not benefit from fuel detergents as the fuel never touches the valves or intake.
Usinng techron in a DI engine is not meant to clean the intake valves..its meant to clean the fuel system..namely the injectors..I think we all know this by now..
tibra1 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      09-30-2011, 01:31 AM   #12
tibra1
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 ZCP M3 - 2007 335i crashd
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,777
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by edelossantos View Post
Not sure if this is just marketing, but check out the tab for direct injection

http://www.techron.com/
Right and their marketing clearly states that it cleans the injectors..its physically impossible for techron to clean the intake valves on a direct injection setup as it does on a port injection setup
tibra1 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      09-30-2011, 06:56 AM   #13
AllBlackBimmer
Major
 
AllBlackBimmer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i E90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central PA area

Posts: 1,368
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibra1 View Post
Techron is great I use it regularily..just make sure to follow the instructions there is a 12 gallon bottle and larger 20 gallon bottle..fill up the exact amount of gas..if its too concentrated it will cause the engine to run a lil funky


If I dump a half bottle of a 12 gal tank stuff into my HALF tank of gas, then top it off with a little more gas to mix it up, think I'd be alright?

I realize, with your other post, there is NO NEED to change the oil after a use of techron. However, since I am getting my oil changed anyway, why not have the freshest oil I can get.. without the injector cleaner (the very little amount) getting into my new, fresh oil right from the start.
__________________
2008 328i E90 Jet Black:6MT:Premium:Sport:Walnut/Black interior:Xenon:MTEC V3 AEs:19" Beyern Mesh:35% Tint:Blacklines
AllBlackBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-30-2011, 12:33 PM   #14
tibra1
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 ZCP M3 - 2007 335i crashd
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,777
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllBlackBimmer View Post
If I dump a half bottle of a 12 gal tank stuff into my HALF tank of gas, then top it off with a little more gas to mix it up, think I'd be alright?

I realize, with your other post, there is NO NEED to change the oil after a use of techron. However, since I am getting my oil changed anyway, why not have the freshest oil I can get.. without the injector cleaner (the very little amount) getting into my new, fresh oil right from the start.
Yep that will work fine..as long as you dont dump a 12 gallon bottle into 4 gallons of gas you will be fine
tibra1 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      09-30-2011, 01:00 PM   #15
AllBlackBimmer
Major
 
AllBlackBimmer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i E90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central PA area

Posts: 1,368
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibra1 View Post
Yep that will work fine..as long as you dont dump a 12 gallon bottle into 4 gallons of gas you will be fine
Ha, of course not.

My car is running fine, but it is about to hit 50k (i've only owned it since 38k) so not sure if there has ever been fuel system cleaner used before, and like i said I am getting an oil change next week, so I figure now is as good of time as any to dump some techron into the ole' tank and see what all the hype is about (I have a SLIGHT vibration on startup, very slight, perhaps this will fix it, if it doesn't I don't care, as I know it will atleast help flush my system)
__________________
2008 328i E90 Jet Black:6MT:Premium:Sport:Walnut/Black interior:Xenon:MTEC V3 AEs:19" Beyern Mesh:35% Tint:Blacklines
AllBlackBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST