E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > v1.45 PROcede maps and new user software online :)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-02-2007, 08:32 PM   #45
CASHBY
United_States
60
Rep
2,117
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335 "done up"
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GARAGE

iTrader: (2)

did that and and checked harness just to be safe....everything is fine. i know the harness is fine because when i put the connecters on and take the PROcede off, all the lights go away

so its something with the map or the loading.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2007, 08:44 PM   #46
PresaMat
Major
PresaMat's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,170
Posts

 
Drives: 67 GT500,69 Boss 429, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston,TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Weird, Hopefully shiv can help out.

Mat
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2007, 08:51 PM   #47
CASHBY
United_States
60
Rep
2,117
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335 "done up"
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GARAGE

iTrader: (2)

Ok realoaded everything and let it idle for a second...... all the CEL's went away and im good to go.

dont know why it did that...but its gone now.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2007, 09:06 PM   #48
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Once you throw those codes, you'll need to key on/off power 5 times before they go away.

-shiv
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2007, 09:10 PM   #49
WilyB
Captain
WilyB's Avatar
8
Rep
671
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Once you throw those codes, you'll need to key on/off power 5 times before they go away.

-shiv
Shiv,

Are not you supposed to be harnessing your competitors?


(Just kidding)
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2007, 09:32 PM   #50
CASHBY
United_States
60
Rep
2,117
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335 "done up"
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GARAGE

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Once you throw those codes, you'll need to key on/off power 5 times before they go away.

-shiv
IN this case thats not true. I threw the codes, put to stock, and they went right away upon start up with no wait.....then put PROcede back in loaded new file, and codes were back instantly, then put to stock again, and they were gone instantly. Then tried one more time, i loaded my old file, and then loaded the new file again, and it worked.

dunno, sensitive little car. ahah
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2007, 09:38 PM   #51
Straz M3
Never Lose
Straz M3's Avatar
24
Rep
1,146
Posts

 
Drives: 2011.75 E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Windy City

iTrader: (2)

So how is it...

Shiv...I just went out to buy a cable and I bought the only thing from Best Buy that was USB to Printer looking thing but I think it looks bigger than the one you posted in your thread...It was honestly the ONLY USB -> Serial looking side
__________________
'11 Melbourne Red Metallic / Black/Fox/Fox 6MT E92 ///M3
ZCP | Convenience Package | Premium Package 2 | Heated Seats | Enhanced Premium Sound l BMW Apps
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2007, 09:51 PM   #52
CASHBY
United_States
60
Rep
2,117
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335 "done up"
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GARAGE

iTrader: (2)

not sure yet, i just had surgery last week on my shoulder so I can not drive at all.

if you guys have seen some odd post from me in the past week its because im drugged up on pain killers.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2007, 10:03 PM   #53
Ninjaneer
Shadow Warrior
Ninjaneer's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,097
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CEA 3 View Post
if you guys have seen some odd post from me in the past week its because im drugged up on pain killers.
Ahh... that explains the pics you posted of yourself in women's clothing...
__________________
335i E90 / Arctic / Gray / Burl Walnut / Steptronic / ZPP / ZSP / Paddles / CA / Nav / PDC / OEM Spoiler
Mods:
PIAA Angel Eyes, Rear Fog Switch, Escort X50 Blue hardwire, 30% Charcoal Llumar
Installing soon: Rear Power Outlets (Happy Robot mod!)
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2007, 10:15 PM   #54
CASHBY
United_States
60
Rep
2,117
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335 "done up"
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GARAGE

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaneer View Post
Ahh... that explains the pics you posted of yourself in women's clothing...
hey, i like how the silk feels.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 08:21 AM   #55
CaptOz
Captain
CaptOz's Avatar
Australia
12
Rep
833
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche 911 Carrera S
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

I am about to order a PROcede but I am still not sure about one thing.

Will PROcede version 2 have the identical hardware to version 1?

My concern is that in order to control VANOS, etc in later releases, a totally different type of PROcede hardware may be required. I would hate to think my version 1 could become redundant within a few weeks.

Am I safe to buy now?

Cheers.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 08:50 AM   #56
itsbrokeagain
itsbrokeagain's Avatar
United_States
173
Rep
15,737
Posts

 
Drives: E28 535, 1996 Dodge Ram Diesel
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Valley Stream, NY

iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to itsbrokeagain
time to get another job and buy a procede

All this hype makes me want one.

Yea sensitive cars. Sometimes it will take me 2-3 times of trying to enable something in the car (such as a seat mat or steering angle sensor) and it will boot the program 3 times before it finally accepts it. I consider it normal..
__________________
AUTOCouture Motoring: Handling reflector installs to turbo upgrades and superchargers, and everything in between
15-01 Pollitt Drive, Fairlawn NJ 201-666-3500

<-Official Vehicle Transport for AUTOCouture
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 09:27 AM   #57
RiXst3r
RiXst3r's Avatar
153
Rep
6,509
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptOz View Post
I am about to order a PROcede but I am still not sure about one thing.

Will PROcede version 2 have the identical hardware to version 1?

My concern is that in order to control VANOS, etc in later releases, a totally different type of PROcede hardware may be required. I would hate to think my version 1 could become redundant within a few weeks.

Am I safe to buy now?

Cheers.
Shiv said that the most you will need to do is add a few more wires into your harness, everything else will be software.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 09:29 AM   #58
335i4u2nv
Colonel
335i4u2nv's Avatar
30
Rep
2,760
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e9O sL0w
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: im right behind u

iTrader: (0)

so these come pretuned with all the maps and all right? and then afterwards u can get it fine tuned correct?
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 09:41 AM   #59
jonm42
Captain
United_States
10
Rep
615
Posts

 
Drives: too fast for conditions.
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Shiv said that the most you will need to do is add a few more wires into your harness, everything else will be software.
Actually, v2.0 is a s/w only update. No new wires.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 11:31 AM   #60
BayernMuenchen
Second Lieutenant
BayernMuenchen's Avatar
4
Rep
247
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Encinitas, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Straz 335 View Post
So how is it...

Shiv...I just went out to buy a cable and I bought the only thing from Best Buy that was USB to Printer looking thing but I think it looks bigger than the one you posted in your thread...It was honestly the ONLY USB -> Serial looking side
Does it look something like this?


This one, the one that I use and know that works, can be found at:
http://www.iogear.com/main.php?loc=product&Item=GUC232A
__________________
2007 335i Coupe
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 11:53 AM   #61
DrewKo
Lieutenant Colonel
DrewKo's Avatar
25
Rep
1,568
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Montego Blue Saddle Brown
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
I just loaded 1.45 and have some quick points based on my experience: 1. Make 100% certain your serial cable is plugged into the Procede. I thought mine was yesterday when I did this, but it wasn't. It should slide in to a click almost--give it some force (without pulling the wires on the procede) to assure it is inputed all the way; 2. Set the Coms link in the engine control software (the new version, under the menu item "Coms"); if you don't know your computer's Coms link, check under your device manager where you should find your cable identified; and 3. After all of that, go back to the Coms menu and select "Go Online/Offline". Then, the map will load up, assuming you loaded it into the software beforehand; if you didn't do that, open it now and it will load.

Going for a drive now!
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 01:02 PM   #62
DrewKo
Lieutenant Colonel
DrewKo's Avatar
25
Rep
1,568
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Montego Blue Saddle Brown
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Nice...very smooth. I like the update. Very natural is the best I can describe this map. The step shifting is a joy and car is running fine (fast) with the update--no codes.

Last edited by DrewKo; 05-03-2007 at 02:05 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 02:46 PM   #63
Ninjaneer
Shadow Warrior
Ninjaneer's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,097
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Straz 335 View Post
So how is it...

Shiv...I just went out to buy a cable and I bought the only thing from Best Buy that was USB to Printer looking thing but I think it looks bigger than the one you posted in your thread...It was honestly the ONLY USB -> Serial looking side
You need to get a USB to DB9 (male - ie. with pins) serial port cable. It is like the one shown in the post quoted below and isn't as large as the one for the printer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayernMuenchen View Post
Does it look something like this?


This one, the one that I use and know that works, can be found at:
http://www.iogear.com/main.php?loc=product&Item=GUC232A
Newegg.com also sells some for a cheaper price, can get one for about $15 shipped. But read the reviews, some people claimed to have probs with some of them.
__________________
335i E90 / Arctic / Gray / Burl Walnut / Steptronic / ZPP / ZSP / Paddles / CA / Nav / PDC / OEM Spoiler
Mods:
PIAA Angel Eyes, Rear Fog Switch, Escort X50 Blue hardwire, 30% Charcoal Llumar
Installing soon: Rear Power Outlets (Happy Robot mod!)
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 03:36 PM   #64
DrewKo
Lieutenant Colonel
DrewKo's Avatar
25
Rep
1,568
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Montego Blue Saddle Brown
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
I got my cable at Radio Shack for $35. Make sure you get the DB9, as stated above. Here is one on Amazon for $18. http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Serial-...8224519&sr=8-1
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 04:35 PM   #65
335i4u2nv
Colonel
335i4u2nv's Avatar
30
Rep
2,760
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e9O sL0w
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: im right behind u

iTrader: (0)

y has no one anwsered my question. does this come pretuned?
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2007, 04:37 PM   #66
CASHBY
United_States
60
Rep
2,117
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335 "done up"
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GARAGE

iTrader: (2)

PROcede comes with the latest map already loaded on it
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST