E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Phone numbers issue after fitting cic.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-20-2013, 04:39 PM   #1
Robin330i
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
370
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cheshire

iTrader: (2)

Phone numbers issue after fitting cic.

I recently retro fitted cic and had it all coded however the phone book doesn't work meaning I have to use my phone to select who I want to call rather than being able to do it through idrive - also voice activation for the phone book also doesn't work.

Didn't have this problem when I was running ccc - the voice activation worked as it should etc.

Anyone know what it could be?
__________________
E90 330i M Sport - Mk4 Golf R32 - Mk3 Polo G40
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2013, 05:01 PM   #2
CustomColours
Banned
7
Rep
792
Posts

 
Drives: 335i SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hertfordshire

iTrader: (0)

It may need seperate coding for that. My cic went up the pictures a while back and needed seperate aspects of the system recoded.

Two people tried and failed. Then makkan00 worked his magic and it was as good as new.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2013, 08:34 PM   #3
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
132
Rep
7,690
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CustomColours
It may need seperate coding for that. My cic went up the pictures a while back and needed seperate aspects of the system recoded.

Two people tried and failed. Then makkan00 worked his magic and it was as good as new.
Thanks bud for mentioning.
I've coded his car.
Robin, coding is absolutely spot on.
What phone are you using?
Every time when you connect the phone to CIC it updates the contacts in virtual memory and on disconnection, it resets it.
So when you go to phone book and press cic controller down, it should connect the call.
And voice guidance take 60-120sec to get activated after starting that car.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2013, 02:47 AM   #4
JP-76
Private First Class
1
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin330i View Post
I recently retro fitted cic and had it all coded however the phone book doesn't work meaning I have to use my phone to select who I want to call rather than being able to do it through idrive - also voice activation for the phone book also doesn't work.

Didn't have this problem when I was running ccc - the voice activation worked as it should etc.

Anyone know what it could be?
Don't know about the phone book but:

For the voice control, navigation and video in motion, do you have activation emulator or do you have actual activation codes inserted?

If you had it done right so you have the activation codes, then you need own FSC-code for each function.

Maybe you have only the code for navigation activation inserted?
__________________

335dA Individual MY2007 "LCI", Quaife LSD, power: Enough/ torque: Plenty.
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2013, 03:00 AM   #5
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
132
Rep
7,690
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JP-76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin330i View Post
I recently retro fitted cic and had it all coded however the phone book doesn't work meaning I have to use my phone to select who I want to call rather than being able to do it through idrive - also voice activation for the phone book also doesn't work.

Didn't have this problem when I was running ccc - the voice activation worked as it should etc.

Anyone know what it could be?
Don't know about the phone book but:

For the voice control, navigation and video in motion, do you have activation emulator or do you have actual activation codes inserted?

If you had it done right so you have the activation codes, then you need own FSC-code for each function.

Maybe you have only the code for navigation activation inserted?
OP is using emulator.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2013, 03:31 AM   #6
kev335i
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
290
Posts

 
Drives: E93 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Deleted after re reading post!
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2013, 06:19 AM   #7
Robin330i
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
370
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cheshire

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Thanks bud for mentioning.
I've coded his car.
Robin, coding is absolutely spot on.
What phone are you using?
Every time when you connect the phone to CIC it updates the contacts in virtual memory and on disconnection, it resets it.
So when you go to phone book and press cic controller down, it should connect the call.
And voice guidance take 60-120sec to get activated after starting that car.
Sam I am using an iphone 5.

It did try to import all my contact across and failed and gave up.

Interestingly as well there is a question mark over the signal strength as well

Appreciate 0
      09-21-2013, 06:36 AM   #8
CustomColours
Banned
7
Rep
792
Posts

 
Drives: 335i SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hertfordshire

iTrader: (0)

Thats very odd. Iv never seen that queation mark.

To be fair. (Without starting another phone war lol) iphones dont conply with everyones elses rules. Apple seem to be skynet in my eyes. Have you tried connecting another non apple phone.
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2013, 10:12 AM   #9
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
132
Rep
7,690
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

TBH, I am not sure what fault is that?

I have never imported my contacts to CIC. Every time it connect to iphone, it saves the phone's address book in Virtual memory.

Have to tried to delete the phone from the car and delete the car from the phone and pair again.

On few cars when I installed CIC on CCC cars, I had to delete the phone from the car and car from the phone and pair again for it to work.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2013, 10:27 AM   #10
Robin330i
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
370
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cheshire

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
TBH, I am not sure what fault is that?

I have never imported my contacts to CIC. Every time it connect to iphone, it saves the phone's address book in Virtual memory.

Have to tried to delete the phone from the car and delete the car from the phone and pair again.

On few cars when I installed CIC on CCC cars, I had to delete the phone from the car and car from the phone and pair again for it to work.
Yeah I have tried pairing again but didnt work but I think it will try it again. I will try it out with my work phone to see if it works with a Nokia.
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2013, 02:17 PM   #11
Robin330i
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
370
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cheshire

iTrader: (2)

Same issue experienced with my work Nokia phone.

:-(
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2013, 07:09 PM   #12
syfodias
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E92 325i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Same problem here!!. Retrofitted a few days ago. No contacts and question mark over signal strengt.......anyone???
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST