E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Boost leak and PROcede question...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-05-2007, 12:20 PM   #1
Spool
******
 
Spool's Avatar
 
Drives: A few
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DC Metro

Posts: 6,164
iTrader: (24)

sdfsdfsd

sdfsd
__________________


MKIV 6spd 1000hp Club

Last edited by Spool; 07-24-2007 at 09:58 AM.
Spool is offline   Vietnam
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 12:21 PM   #2
BoostedBMW
Moderator
 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC

Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
This is why a boost gauge is useful so there is no guess work involved with how much you are boosting.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
BoostedBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 12:29 PM   #3
Spool
******
 
Spool's Avatar
 
Drives: A few
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DC Metro

Posts: 6,164
iTrader: (24)

Yeah i got a DEFi boost gauge on the way...

I checked my work and everything seem to be intact...i'm just not getting the expected power out of my PROcede...

Might need to Dyno the car soon to see what numbers im putting down
__________________


MKIV 6spd 1000hp Club
Spool is offline   Vietnam
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 12:33 PM   #4
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
This is why a boost gauge is useful so there is no guess work involved with how much you are boosting.
Agreed. Im able to now see what normal operating boost/vacuum parameters are and keep a record of it. I can start seeing if temperature has an effect. I can even see what effects part throttle and WOT have.

Im getting used to the digital part of it and really like it now. Definitely something that should be in every forced induction vehicle.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
HyperM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 12:37 PM   #5
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Did you double check the map? Can't you use a laptop and the procede loader program to scan boost?
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 12:38 PM   #6
Spool
******
 
Spool's Avatar
 
Drives: A few
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DC Metro

Posts: 6,164
iTrader: (24)

HyperM3..i saw ur DIY, nicely done...i've used DEFi gauges on all my previous cars and they were always accurate so i stuck with them. Do u have PROcede?
__________________


MKIV 6spd 1000hp Club
Spool is offline   Vietnam
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 12:41 PM   #7
Walked U
Brigadier General
 
Drives: RR sport s/c, E82, E89 3.5is
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA

Posts: 3,118
iTrader: (5)

Defi gauges are nice.

Im going to go with them once the custom fab is finished for the pod.

Right now im using an autometer
__________________
Previous - E90 335i, E82
Current - E89 / Range Rover sport Super charged.
Walked U is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 12:46 PM   #8
Spool
******
 
Spool's Avatar
 
Drives: A few
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DC Metro

Posts: 6,164
iTrader: (24)

I got 3 gauges, Boost, A/F Ratio, and EGT...


I think those are vital to a turbo car to monitor what's going on...

I'm gonna dyno my car this week and see what i'm putting down...i think my lack of power through the butt dyno could be caused by lack of traction...first gear is useless at 50% or more throttle...2nd gear pulls the strongest...but even then, the car would fishtail
__________________


MKIV 6spd 1000hp Club
Spool is offline   Vietnam
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 12:55 PM   #9
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spool View Post
HyperM3..i saw ur DIY, nicely done...i've used DEFi gauges on all my previous cars and they were always accurate so i stuck with them. Do u have PROcede?
I do have PROcede. I never heard of Defi gauges before the talk about them on this forum. They look great but I was at a loss of where to mount or how to fabricate something for a round style gauge. Someone posted about the digital one and my mind went to work. So far Ive seen as high as 13.3lbs boost.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
HyperM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 01:01 PM   #10
BoostedBMW
Moderator
 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC

Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
I do have PROcede. I never heard of Defi gauges before the talk about them on this forum. They look great but I was at a loss of where to mount or how to fabricate something for a round style gauge. Someone posted about the digital one and my mind went to work. So far Ive seen as high as 13.3lbs boost.
Hey, do you think that you could fit a normal size 52mm boost gauge in the vent that you took out? The depth looks like it would fit.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
BoostedBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 01:07 PM   #11
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
Hey, do you think that you could fit a normal size 52mm boost gauge in the vent that you took out? The depth looks like it would fit.
Yeah it would definitely fit. I was considering that too. HOWEVER...the hardest part of a gauge like that is where to route the vacuum line. I took the whole underneath of the dash apart and couldnt find one place to get through the firewall. Thats the type of line I wouldnt want to route through the door jam. If anyone can find a place to get through Id love to see it.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
HyperM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 01:14 PM   #12
Spool
******
 
Spool's Avatar
 
Drives: A few
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DC Metro

Posts: 6,164
iTrader: (24)

Drill a hole through the firewall...no one is gonna see it..

U might even hear the turbos spool louder now ...
__________________


MKIV 6spd 1000hp Club
Spool is offline   Vietnam
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 01:22 PM   #13
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spool View Post
Drill a hole through the firewall...no one is gonna see it..

U might even hear the turbos spool louder now ...
I had debated that too but being that its a leased car, I wanted to do things that are not noticeable, and returnable to stock. The other problem is I didnt know how thick the firewall was(its different in certain parts) and if theres any layer of something(fire retardant) between the metal layers.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
HyperM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 01:30 PM   #14
Walked U
Brigadier General
 
Drives: RR sport s/c, E82, E89 3.5is
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA

Posts: 3,118
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
Hey, do you think that you could fit a normal size 52mm boost gauge in the vent that you took out? The depth looks like it would fit.
Ya they would fit.

Ive never been a fan of A pillars, so im mounting mine in the drivers side air vent.
__________________
Previous - E90 335i, E82
Current - E89 / Range Rover sport Super charged.
Walked U is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 04:26 PM   #15
CASHBY
 
Drives: E90 335 "done up"
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GARAGE

Posts: 2,117
iTrader: (2)

as far as a boost leak, I dont know. Most of the turbo piping through the system is hard piping opposed to hoses that most use. On Audi's boost leaks are common because the hoses would tear and start leaking.

On the 335 it looks like most of the system is all hard piping and would be hard to get a leak. However you still can get leaks from vacum hoses, or any hoses from your DV's.

if you can not get full boost, you will not always throw a CEL. Try loading a different map and see what it does for the car.
CASHBY is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 04:33 PM   #16
Spool
******
 
Spool's Avatar
 
Drives: A few
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DC Metro

Posts: 6,164
iTrader: (24)

CEA...so far i have not thrown any CEL...

However, from some of the posts, i think i was expecting too much from the car...i did notice a power increase, but it's not drastic enough to shit my pants or anything like some of the reviews in here i've read...

So i'm just wondering if my PROcede and car is operating at full capacity or not...

Dyno to come soon
__________________


MKIV 6spd 1000hp Club
Spool is offline   Vietnam
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 04:51 PM   #17
DrDomer
Major
 
DrDomer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 330ci ZHP, 1999 Miata
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Iowa

Posts: 1,349
iTrader: (0)

Yeah... I suppose it's not like a ride in the space shuttle, but it now feels like I'm riding in a properly powered sports car. That makes me go .
__________________
Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves. ~Albert Einstein
DrDomer is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 04:54 PM   #18
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

320-340rwhp is nice, but we need to find a way to get up to 400rwhp! I guess it's going to take bigger turbos?
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 05:41 PM   #19
BoostedBMW
Moderator
 
BoostedBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC

Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
Yeah it would definitely fit. I was considering that too. HOWEVER...the hardest part of a gauge like that is where to route the vacuum line. I took the whole underneath of the dash apart and couldnt find one place to get through the firewall. Thats the type of line I wouldnt want to route through the door jam. If anyone can find a place to get through Id love to see it.
Thanks for the info. Actually, you wouldn't have to worry about that IF you bought an electronic boost gauge. A mechanical boost gauge requires you to route a vac line from under the hood to the back of the gauge, but with an electronic one its just like the digital gauge that you have where you plug the vac line in under the hood to an electronic sensor with wires coming out of the other side of it that will be run back to the gauge itself.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
BoostedBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 05:45 PM   #20
DrDomer
Major
 
DrDomer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 330ci ZHP, 1999 Miata
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Iowa

Posts: 1,349
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry335 View Post
320-340rwhp is nice, but we need to find a way to get up to 400rwhp! I guess it's going to take bigger turbos?
That is at the wheels... Add 12-15%. Now you're talking a bigger number. 400rwhp is 460 at the crank. That's getting in Z06 range. I'd take it, but not if the car goes BOOM!
__________________
Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves. ~Albert Einstein
DrDomer is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 06:02 PM   #21
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDomer View Post
That is at the wheels... Add 12-15%. Now you're talking a bigger number. 400rwhp is 460 at the crank. That's getting in Z06 range. I'd take it, but not if the car goes BOOM!
Crank HP is like the tooth fairy to me. Fun to talk about, but doesn't exist. The short block will probably hold 400rwhp assuming the tune is good, probably going to take an efficent 17psi to get there.
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2007, 06:15 PM   #22
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
Thanks for the info. Actually, you wouldn't have to worry about that IF you bought an electronic boost gauge. A mechanical boost gauge requires you to route a vac line from under the hood to the back of the gauge, but with an electronic one its just like the digital gauge that you have where you plug the vac line in under the hood to an electronic sensor with wires coming out of the other side of it that will be run back to the gauge itself.
So who makes an electronic one? Guess I just didnt know all the different manufacturers out there.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
HyperM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST